We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fifth Night Free!
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Coral Gables, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My friends and I just returned to Florida from our wonderful trip to Costa Rica. We reserved a stay at the beautiful Four Seasons Hotel in Guanacaste. It was a wonderful experience as I am a big fan of golf and an avid golfer. The golf course there has a lot of nature and has beautiful views. When we arrived to the hotel, the hotel staff was very kind and they welcomed us with cold water and fresh fruit to help us recover from the heat of Guanacaste. It was hotter than we expected but with the gorgeous swimming pool and relaxing beaches, this helped us to combat the hot weather. We have nothing but compliments concerning the hotel and the staff as they always treated us well each step of our stay. On the third day of our vacation, we called Christian from Issys Tours. We decided to go see the scenic views of the active Arenal Volcano. We were very happy to see all kinds of flora and fauna along with the huge volcano. On the way to Arenal, we asked Alex our guide to stop at a Costa Rican restaurant to try a traditional Costa Rican breakfast. They took us to a rustic place and we enjoyed the typical food of rice, beans, sweet plantain, tortillas, sausage and sour cream. It was a great way to start the day. We even got the recipe to cook their special rice and beans called “pinto” so we could cook it back home. Alex took some fantastic pictures of me repeling down a little mountain wall and of all our experiences from our adventure. I was nervous but I still felt energy from the adrenaline. We also really enjoyed the unforgettable sky walk of la fortuna. It felt like we were walking through the clouds. What an amazing time. Thanks again Christian and Alex for helping us have one of the best times ever!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your insights with us about your recent stay at Four Seasons Costa Rica. In particular, I am grateful for your positive comments about our team. We are very proud of our staff and service and so happy you had a good experience. I hope you can return soon and again play our Audubon sanctuary golf course and enjoy the Pura Vida of Costa Rica! Pascal F., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    818
    147
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
320
439
9
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

As soon as you arrive at the main gate, you automatically see the lushness of the property and the preservation of its natural beauty. You can see the latin influences in the design with a touch of Bali on the furniture and layout. I enjoyed sitting on our enclosed patio and hearing the howler monkeys outside. My best treat everyday was to sit by the pool and order lunch from the restaurant. If you order sushi, you'll get a beautiful bento box lunch tray delivered to you while you catch some sun. There are two separate beaches and were ok; the sand was compact and not as fine as some beaches I've been. I recommend hiking the trail's property before sunset; it's a lot of steps up and down the forest, but you'll end up to a secluded beach with beautiful rocks. Dining at Di Mare was delectable. The spa was comparable to any Four Seasons spa; great service as always.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our first visit to a Four Seasons as well as to Costa Rica. My husband, myself, 18 year old daughter and 16 year old son went Spring Break 2013. The hotel was nice with larger than average rooms (that seriously need more lighting) and a huge patio. There are 3 pools (one is adults only), 4 restaurants, and a beach on both sides of the resort - one Pacific Ocean side and one bay side. The beaches are public, but because of the very remote location of the resort, practically the only people there are hotel guests and employees. The staff are VERY friendly and helpful, and are truly the best of any resort (of many) that we have every stayed at. We ate at every restaurant at the resort and did the following excursions through the hotel: surf lessons, Witches Rock zip line, Goombay Catamaran/snorkeling. The two biggest negatives to this trip were 1.) The exorbitant prices! The cost of food & beverages here is outrageous for decent (but not fabulous) food. Your options are limited because of the remote location of the resort being a 40 minute drive to anywhere. Take my advice - drink the tap water. It will not hurt you and bottled water is $10! Also the excursions (which were all great) cost an arm and a leg. I would recommend using Mainor at Tours UR Way. He transported us to and from the resort to the airport at half the cost of the hotel transportation. We really regretted not using him for tours as well. 2.) The celebrities! Apparently this is a resort where many celebrities vacation - which would be fine if some of them weren't so full of themselves. We encountered several (but one in particular whose name I will not mention because he will probably have this review removed like he did the posting from Twitter) was very full of himself. No matter what we did we could not avoid him and his "pit bullish" fiancee, who practically attacked anyone with a camera - assuming they were trying to take pictures of the celebrity and not vacation shots of family. It was very annoying and left a bad taste, even though the 2 other celebrities we encountered were very friendly. The location in Costa Rica is apparently drier than much of the rest of the country, so the trees weren't as lush and green as we were expecting, but it was still very beautiful and cleaner than any other beachy or island destination I've ever been to. I would go back, but I would try a different resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Fantastic may be an understatement.
We had an Amazing Time. Beautiful area. Great tour guides, very informative. Great Food and Fantastic People. We did a combination business/couples trip. Everything as made Easy and Everyone made you feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

What a wonderful location – ocean on one side and bay on the other with 3 pools in-between, who could ask for more? Our favorite part of our room (which was all-around great) was the screened in patio which allows us to leave the sliding door open and let the sounds of crashing waves in. We fell asleep most nights to this sound. We spent most days alternating between the pools and one of the beaches. Service was excellent and we were rarely without a fresh, cold drink in hand. The spa - We had a couple’s massage which was amazing and the spa facilities were wonderful. The men’s side (and women’s, too, I believe) had a hot tub that looks out over the ocean. We were there for 8 nights and tried almost every dining option at least once and had great food and service the entire trip! We really enjoyed the restaurant overlooking the golf course, but the highlight was our private dinner with friends on the beach. Off property experiences like zip lining and volcanic mineral baths were also great. Looking forward to a return trip soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel has a lot to do and that is absolutely great. We had a very good holiday and the beaches were fantastic and nice to have them private. Excellent pool and varied food. It really is though too much for the money paid and it does feel far too big and impersonal even too corporte to be charging rates of a very special hotel. crowd a bit older too... I like it but I am not sure i can really recommend this to a friend although i cannot really say there is anything really wrong about it either. Search a bit more before deciding to spend your money here

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this 4 Seasons 6 times over the past 4 years and it has never disappointed us. Two very different private hotel beaches, and incredible 18 hole Arnold Palmer design golf course, several excellent restaurants and Impeccable service. When you drive up to the veranda hotel entrance, the bellhops open your door calling you by your name. That is always a nice way to start. They even changed my flat tire on one occasion. Throughout our stays, the staff has always addressed us by our names whether it is poolside or at the morning breakfast with its' made to order omelets and fresh variety of juices. We have always upgraded our room to the upper floors. The rooms are spacious and outside screened patio is extremely comfortable to relax on while sipping a good cup of wine while looking out over the Pacific. We have traveled all over the globe and continue to return this one specific hotel. A warning, the hotel is expensive and the add-ons add up quickly- but if you want to relax in Costa Rican splendor while being pampered we do not believe there is a finer hotel anywhere.

Room Tip: Upgrade or book the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.