We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fifth Night Free!
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Livingston, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We just returned from a nine day trip to the Four Seasons, Costa Rica and we can't wait to go back. It was the first time my husband and I and are three children 16, 14 and 11 have been to this hotel and we all agree it was an incredible place. The rooms are spacious and clean, the grounds are immaculate and the restaurants are great. Our favorites were Marea and DiMare. The pools are beautiful and there seem to be enough chairs for everyone even during Christmas week. But, the most amazing thing about this hotel is the staff. These are the warmest, friendliest, most helpful people you would ever hope to meet. They truly made our vacation that much more memorable. A special mention to Roberto, Max and Charlie by the pool, Andreas at DiMare and Andrea at cocierge. We have definitely been to other wonderful hotels, including other Four Seasons, but the Four Seasons Costa Rica is definitely in a league of its own.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCos, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Wendi, what a lovely way to start the year by reading your review. I am glad to know that you and your family loved our property, and I totally agree on the fact that our staff is our most valuable asset. Our people always strive to give their best and always do it with happiness and pride. I will make sure to pass along your comments to Roberto, Max, Charlie, Andreas and Andrea. They definitely represent what a Four Seasons employee is all about.
Regards, Pascal F., General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    817
    146
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
319
439
9
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a great place. Fantastic food, great views, and an incredibly attentive staff. This was accentuated by the fact we were there in an off-season time, so the staff had extra time to lavish attention on us. We picked a pool to relax at our first day there, and the guy in charge of that pool, Santiago, talked to us at length and explained the whole Costa Rican "pura vida" philosophy. He greeted us by name the rest of our stay there, even if we were just passing by, and even knew what drinks we wanted before we ordered them. The room was great, and featured a screened-in deck that jutted into the trees. One morning we were awakened by the howling monkeys at 5:30 am. The golf course is incredibly scenic; after our tee shots on the first hole, coatimundis dropped from the trees and circled our golf balls. My summary is this: if I won a gazillion dollars in the lottery, I would take a million dollars of it, check in at this place, and tell them to kick me out when the money ran out.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCos, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Steve, I surely hope you win the lottery; maybe we can even make you stay longer than just for a million dollars!
We are very glad you were able to enjoy our property so well. We are very proud of our staff and the Costa Rican “pura vida” philosophy, which surely is put in practice among our guests on a daily basis.
I hope you can come back soon, “gazillionaire” or not, so you can experience a lot of new things that the new year just brought.
Pura Vida, Pascal F.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

OMG. Believe me. If you stay her you will fall in love. I CRIED ON THE WAY BACK HOME. Luxury is at top notch and the rooms are sophisticated and beautiful with modern costa rican flare. The food is delicious. The service is excellent. There are so many activities and kids clubs and such for younger people too;). YOU WONT REGRET STAYING HERE.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for a week October 21 2012 and everything was perfection. Staff is super friendly and accommodating. We ate at all the restaurants and the food was great everywhere. My granddaughter fell asleep during dinner at Di Mare and we asked for two chairs pushed together and within minutes they brought us a porta-crib. Breakfast buffet was delicious and choices were plentiful. Rooms were beautiful and spacious. I cannot say enough about this resort and I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This was our first Four Seasons Resort & it won't be our last. Great staff. They can't do enough for you. Our room was gorgeous. The property has a "quiet pool" for adults plus 3 other pools. The spa is to die for- simply gorgeous. Our food was always fresh & delicious. This hotel just pampers you.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have stayed at FS around the globe and this one is sipecial. The most outstanding piece of this property is the people. Everyone is freindly, caring, and on top of their position. Nothing was a problem and they were polite no matter what department or what was asked. Part of that is Costa Rican culture and part of it is management and training.
The food is amazing in every restaurant.
The views are spectacular.
With LIberia airport becoming more accessible, its becoming easier to get here.
There is really nothing but positive to say about this FS and we cant wait to get back.
Great Hotel, Great People, Great Vacation

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Four Seasons was amazing. We went as a family and had an unforgettable time. The rooms were outstanding and spacious. You will definitely need a car-it took about 20 minutes to get off the Four Seasons property. We only left to get groceries and go zip lining which is an absolute must!!! The beach and pool were paradise. The beach had may water sports to chose from for free. They also have many restaurants on site that you can choose from. The food was good in most of the restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.