We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Ardmore PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An Excellent Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Last week we were again vacationing in Costa Rica at the Four Seasons. (Our 13th time). The facilities, staff, and dining were – as always - excellent. The resort is located on a beautiful peninsula, and is largely self-contained. It fronts the water on two sides. There are excellent restaurants (Characol- Steakhouse, DiMare – Italian, Papagayo – Costa Rican, as well as a wonderful bar/lounge named Ticos). There are wonderful exercise facilities, beach activities, pools, spa facilities, golf courses, the opportunity for Catamaran cruises as well as off campus activities such as Zip Lines and river boat rides - a perfect location for a wonderful vacation.

We were personally greeted by Ms. Camilla Ruckendorfer who not only warmly welcomed us, but also saw that we had a fabulous Canopy Suite with plunge pool, and checked in on us repeatedly during our stay. We could not have been better accommodated and felt truly welcomed – almost like a home away from home!

We are frequent guests at various Four Season properties and this time, even their typically high standards have been exceeded. Carlos Ugalde, our breakfast server was fabulous and is the “ambassador” of Papagayo. Henry at Tico’s Bar similarly serves in this capacity in the evening and Elvis also deserves high compliments. They made our stay truly personal and should be highly commended.

Oliver and Julio, who oversee the Pool and Cabana facilities, also were exceptional. Josue, our “Butler” at the Cabana was very helpful as well.

We plan to return soon, and similarly are glad to share our superior experience with others – since this resort has truly merited exemplary recognition.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    188
    64
    23
    10
See reviews for
406
542
11
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is best, most well trained staff I have experienced anywhere. They respond, anticipate and initiate. How many times have you been over promised and under served. The Four Seasons delivered and exceeded expectations. Call valet, my car was there in 2 minutes. Need an I-pod player, they delivered one to my room in 5 minutes. Staff knows how to ask and suggest, while being cheerful and deferential. Room was well appointed with rich dark woods, a marble bathroom, and screened porch that connects you to the lush tropical outdoor scenery and ocean waters. Yes, you hear the waves at night, which makes for great sleeping. Food was superior- sea bass steamed and wrapped in a bananna leaf was amazing. The golf course is top shelf and has the best views of the Papaguyo Penninsula. It's is also teaming with wildlife. Expect to see exotic birds and monkeys during your unforgettable 18 holes. The head golf pro Rod Cook is outstanding. A pros pro, he's a great player, teacher and representative of the Four Seasons. His personal touch was very appreciated. The 4 seaons offers great activities and excursions. That said, I rented a car at the airport and did my own day trips. I highly recommend the Papagayo Zip line, about 35 minutes from the Hotel and about 15 minutes past Witch's Rock zip line, the zip line that runs tours for the Hotel. I also recommend a day trip to Tamarindo and a 2 hour surf lesson. Tons of surf shops, you didn't need a rezzy in December. Take the highway getting there, or if you have a 4x4, take the "Congo tour route. The Congo route is mostly unpaved and unmarked, but your Garmin will show you the way. This route has pot holes, mud and even a few creek beds. Most of the staff laughed when I told them that's the route I took, but it was fun to do it one way. Can't wait to go back to the Four Seasons in 2013. A memorable experience with professional service beyond expectation. Now if they could just bottle it and bring it to the US ! Cheers !!

Room Tip: I stayed in a Cielo room, 3rd floor, building 4 ( I think). Height may or may not provide a better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed for 10 days over Thanksgiving. We were in Building 2 which was close to everything. The rooms were large, comfortable and nicely maintained. There were lots of families during Thanksgiving weekend so we appreciated being able to relax at the adult only pool which had a nice view of the bay.The highlight of this property is the friendly and attentive service you receive from every member of the staff. Linda Sobalbarro, Resort Assistant Manager was always around and checking to ensure that everything was going well. If there is one drawback to the resort it is the menu choices in the restaurants which also tended to be very expensive. However, when Rosman Marchena, the manager at Papagayo Restaurant sensed that my husband was having difficulty with the menu he offered to have the chef cook for him whatever he would like. We ate there several evenings and got to meet both the Chef and Assistant Chef who were both delighted to accommodate my husband's requests. We also enjoyed the restaurant at the beach club. It is always a pleasure to stay at a Four Seasons resort as you consistently receive outstanding and friendly service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

You expect excellence from the Four Seasons and you get it !! This was my second time staying here and I can't complain about one thing !! I trusted this establishment to handle my daughters destination wedding and all was PERFECT :D

Room Tip: I loved the 3 Bldg-- close to the pools /restaurants & a beautiful ocean view :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ND
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Amazing resort! Beautiful setting on the beach, swimming pools, all kinds of activities; snorkeling, kayaking, paddle boards, numerous other activities available! Food offered in the restaurants was delicious, and the staff were very friendly and helpful!
A great place to get away!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This was a great vacation for us. We wanted time alone to do whatever we wanted to do. In our case it was a time of relaxing. However, there is much to do for those who also want exciting activities (4-wheeling, ziplining, etc.).

Room Tip: We were on second floor of unit 4. It was quiet and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went with another couple and the experience was First Class. Service, Quality and Variety of food rated excellent, Accomodations excellent (particularly liked the open air aspect of the suite as well as the view). Transportation from airport timely, clean and friendly. Golf course is a little on the tricked up side with a couple of holes that are cute but not what I would call world class in challenge. Screaming monkeys on one hole were an interesting event. Would go back in a minute, can beat this location. The open air breakfast buffet was outstanding, can still smell the aroma. Recommended without hesitation. PS: Caught a fish too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.