We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What do you mean I have to check out?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“What do you mean I have to check out?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

wow, wow, wow! I've been going to this resort since 2005 right after they opened and have been in residence MANY times and each time, I've never wanted to leave. The area has two seasons, Green and Gold, green being the rainy season and Gold being the dry season, I've done both and each season is completely different and not one is better or worse, do your home work as to what you want to see and do.

Speaking of activities, go zip lining, suck it up and live there is no feeling like flying through the trees, there is one I like the best and silly me I can't remember the name, the staff at the Four Seasons will know where to send you.

Now my favorite place to be after a long tireless day of turning front to back like a rotisserie chicken SPF 30. I would walk to my suite take a long soak in the amazing tub and watch out my private balcony and listen to the holler monkeys. Now about 5PM it's time for an adult beverage or four and Sushi at the gold wall bar, I will try to attach photos, but if you go you will know exactly what Im talking about.

From the lobby, to the lobby bar below, to the three different pools one for adults only the beach, the palm trees, blah, blah, blah this resort is pure luxury and the staff flawless.

Now the spa, world class, will want to take the robes, towels, slippers etc. all you have to do is go to the shop and buy exactly what you want, and take home a bit of paradise.

All rooms face water, the way they designed this property is flawless! The rooms are above anything you could want for your holiday, the sheets are sheets that you do not want to ever get out of bed. But you must, because breakfast is waiting and the pool is beckoning you...

Listen, I am a true Luxury resort traveler, this place will wow you, from the front gates to the 10 miles of hand laid pavers right up to the lobby, there is not one strand of grass un cut and not one staff member that does not care about you stay.

Love, this resort. Travel Safe, Enjoy. B

Room Tip: Not a bad one to be had!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCos, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
You do not need to check-out, please stay!” Wonderful to read your compliments about our teams and such positive feedback after this many years! And in return from all of us, a BIG Thank You for being so loyal to the resort. We look forward having you back soon again. Until next time – Pura Vida, Pascal, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    167
    55
    19
    8
See reviews for
360
489
11
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at a one bedroom Canopy Suite and the living room was a little bit dark. The services at the resort were impeccable. Food at the restaurants is excellent. Staff is friendly and informative. We are planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii, USA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The Property here is amazing. Staying on this peninsula gives you a chance to experience the Costa Rican Jungle and Ocean Front Living in Style. You wake up to the sound of Monkeys, all types of animals wonder the property and the resort gives you all the comfort you are accustomed to from four seasons. The food is excellent here and everything you could ever want is available (just be prepared to pay top dollar for it). If you don't want to use the four seasons for transport, Ecotrans is excellent - they speak English, are reliable and cost a fraction of what the resort charges. We also used North Pacific Tours for Surfing Charters and Marciello was a spectacular captain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a great stay at the end of August, for a family of 4 (8 year old twins). We booked a 1 bedroom Canopy Suite and the room was very nice. The pools were great, 2 beaches on the resort, although I would recommend going to the Prieta Beach Resort which is their affiliate beach club for big waves and a different pool scene. The food was good, the kids club was very welcoming and my son loved it! Alonso was one of the staff members there who was particularly good. Overall, a great stay, the service was as to be expected from a Four Seasons.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCos, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
In just a few lines, you described our resort so perfectly well. Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and I am glad to know, you and your family enjoyed our little slice of paradise. And whenever the twins want to come back to play at KFAS -Alonso is just a quick five hour flight away.
Pura Vida!
Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Absolutely wonderful. The Four Seasons catered to your every needs. The room was clean every day. There is no breakfast plan, about $89 USD for breakfast for two. Expensive for food. Its out on a peninsula so you are basically stuck at the resort if you don't have a car. There are two beaches at the resort. The resort also offers a shuttle to two local beaches. We went in August 2012, which is the rainy season, beach water was warm and swimable, no waves. The staff is also wonderful. They go out of there way to get you anything you need, super friendly. The resort offers a golf tour and daily hiking around the property. I would definately go back. Value is good if you can affod it. Very expensive but you pay for what you get and the experience is well worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean but with the foliage you cannot see the ocean. We had no trouble with noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCos, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review – I am glad to read that your experience was well worth it and that our staff has been wonderful. Glad to know you enjoyed the activities we are offering, next time; make sure to try out the snorkeling tour as well as the grass tennis court – how fun is that! So much more to discover on the Peninsula – come back soon!
Regards,
Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Amazing location, but in the middle of no where. Rooms a bit dark for my taste. Service, the best as always. Beautiful clean beach right by the pools. Lots of food options but basic Good to take tours so you can see the great vegetation and wild life. Rains every day at around 2 pm in the rainy season. A good break from the Sun.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCos, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
You are absolutely right, those afternoon showers are a great break of the sun – and a perfect moment to finish reading that vacation book. Thank you for your feedback on the food quality. Basic is of course not good enough for us - we will make sure to impress you during your next trip to Costa Rica.
Best regards, Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just returned from ten days at the Four Season's Costa Rica. We had a wonderful time. We spent the first two nights in a canopy suite and them moved to a pacifico villa. What a marvelous property with spectacular views and plush grounds. The staff was amazing, service impeccable and food delicious. Be sure to visit the spa, golf course and tennis center. Both beaches are wonderful for swimming. Playa Blanca has great snorkeling and water activities. Be warned that this is a "Four Season's" so food and drink are expensive, but well worth it. We hope to return one day. If you are hesitating, don't. It's a vacation of a lifetime.

PS: be sure to go on a tour of Arenal volcano. It's a long drive from the resort, but can't be missed.

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful. we has hoped for an ocean view but were delighted to see monkeys outside o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCos, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
“A vacation of a lifetime” - that says it all. With a great review like yours, there is not much I could add but that I look forward welcoming you the next time around and thank you in person for your beautiful words. .
Pura Vida!
Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.