We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continues to shine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Continues to shine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was our (wife and me) second trip to this resort, and we will be returning again. First off, you need to understand that you are in the middle of a rainforest so for the most part, you need to come to terms that you will probably spend most of your time on the resort property. There is no close shopping (45mins to an hour away) or close off property dining (same amount of time away). That said, the resort has all you want for a relaxing time away from reality. The dining options are fine, the three pools and two beaches work well, and the sunset drinks and music on the beach end a great day. The golf course is very nice with some great scenery (monkeys and iguanas included along with jungle and water views). The standard rooms are nice. There are canopy rooms and rooms with private plunge pools. If you want your own private areas, these will work well. However, they require a golf cart ride to/from the rest of the resort (you will not want to walk at night). Also, if you are looking for some sun, their private balconies/plunge pools will be in the shade most of the time.
On Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Sundays they have a Catch of the Day experience (11:30am until noon). You will go to the beach, review a selection of freshly caught fish, select one, and talk to the chef right there. You can ask for the fish to be cooked any way you want, and served any time you want. You can’t miss this! It goes without saying, the staff is great, as is typical for a Four Seasons. We have already reserved a 2013 stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    154
    48
    18
    8
See reviews for
345
456
10
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Just returned--an award trip for sales attainment and then stayed over a few extra days for more R&R.

The service is outstanding--the rooms are comfortable and the grounds are well maintained but not overly-manicured. Housekeeping is as good as it gets, never saw the staff but room cleaned early and well.

The prices are steep for F&B, especially wine but very good quality food.

Service around the pool is stellar--they bring around cold towels, frozen mini-drinks, always available but not bothersome.

Saw a family of monkeys off of our balcony and the beaches are small but nice--sunsets spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

First, I do not usually write reviews, but this place warrants respect. It was an amazing experience at the Four Seasons Costa Rica. My wife and I felt this resort was by far the best place we have ever stayed. It was truly top notch! Everything about this Four Seasons was amazing. The booking communication from Denise Costa (Four Seasons) was perfectly simple – she made it easy for us to relax and begin the pampering received – setting the tone for the rest of the stay. From the time we arrived at the airport and were greeted by the vehicle service to the impeccable resort to the service upon departure, the first class treatment we received was very memorable. The staff was noticeably professional and most courteous. The suite in the rain forrest we stayed was to write home about - nothing short of amazing. Over our four night stay, we tried all the restaurants on the property. Not a bad meal to be found because all four restaurants were fabulous. Of note as well, is that the golf course was the best we have ever played. And my wife works in the golf industry, so we are avid players. After this stay, my wife and I stayed at the JW Marriott for a wedding. And I assure you, there is no comparison. The Four Seasons was far superior and not in the same realm with the second rated resort. If my wife and I ever visit Costa Rica again, we will only stay at the Four Seasons.

Room Tip: The Terraza room we stayed was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at the Four Seasons Papagayo for a business awards trip followed by our wedding. It was unbelievable. We stayed in a suite (1111) which was outstanding- but I would have wanted the upper suite so that I could have seen more of the water. (no big deal).

The rooms are incredible, the staff are friendly and helpful. The food was great but the service stood out as above all expectation. It is not an inexpensive place- breakfast alone could cost two people well over $75- but the service and attention to detail more than make up for that.

The two beaches are incredible. My wedding pictures are most beautiful because of the natural backdrops and believe that they go OUT OF THEIR WAY to guarantee the wedding of YOUR dreams. My fiancee and I had no friends or family join us, but thanks to the GM (great guy) and our coordianator (Susan) and staff we had alot of surrogate family.

If you want a get away with every sort of relaxation venue at your fingertips you should go here. The golf course will satisfy the novice and expert alike- it was incredible!!

But beware..it will cost you..but it's worth EVERY dollar!!

Room Tip: If you can get a suite on the hill go for it but ask to be in the high unit so you can see the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

What can we say other than we came back to our favourite place! We love it here and find the location, service, ambience totally inspiring. I love the spa and enjoyed several treatments, I find it hard to relax during spa sessions but not here, in their expert hands I drift away. My favourite thing is to enjoy breakfast on the balcony watching the monkeys and laying on the beach being waited on watching people come and go. The staff are incredible and remember your name from day to day and seem genuinely pleased to see you. Love it here!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We decided to splurge and spend one night at the Four Seasons before leaving Costa Rica (through Liberia). The property is lovely. The grounds are outstanding. We booked the hotel through American Express travel and received a few additional amenities: $100 spa credit, early check in, late check out, upgraded room category, and a full breakfast.
Of course upon arrival we were greeted with a face cloth and a cold drink and immediately brought to our room. They did indeed upgrade us to a beautiful king room with an ocean view. We were celebrating our honeymoon and they had a bottle of champagne and a fantastic little wedding cake for us waiting in our room. Such a great way to start the stay.
We spent the afternoon at the beach reading and relaxing. Service at the beach was a little slow, but the ceviche was excellent. The weather turned on us pretty quickly so I made a spa appointment to use that credit we had. The spa is awesome! Absolutely stunning. You can use the spa free of charge if you are a guest. They have plunge pools, steam rooms, etc..
We had dinner at the hotel which was good. Not great, but good.
Our only complaint was that the room below us was having some kind of gathering/party and we could hear everything; music, talking, it was just loud. - the rooms are definitely not sound proof.
We would however visit again - it's a beautiful piece of property.

Room Tip: The rooms can be a bit dark - ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed at the Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo for 5 days. What an absolutely delightful experience! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.