We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Fabulous resort, wonderful service, great food, lovely accommodations - just a perfect vacation spot! A great place to relax and enjoy the weather, food and coffee of Costa Rica! My 8 year old son loved the teen center (supposed to be 12+, but they were flexible), pools, miniature golfing and beaches on property. My husband and I enjoyed every second of our trip, including our excursions to the zip-lining (20 minutes away) and the rain forest (2.5 hours away).

If you have Amex Platinum, you can get the buffet breakfast for free ($100/day) and a room upgrade and a spa credit. Totally worth the price to upgrade your credit card!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    906
    167
    55
    19
    8
See reviews for
360
488
11
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Though quite remote from most of Costa Rica's attractions - such as Arenal and Manuel Antonio - this is a perfect place to get away from it all even if just for a long weekend. 4.5 hour flight from NY on Jet Blue to Liberia, which is only 25 minutes from the hotel. The beaches are lovely, and it's fun to see monkeys and all the other wildlife. The hotel design is gorgeous -- my 8 y.o. even commented on the cool bamboo ceilings in the public areas. We also loved the remote-controlled screens on our very large terrace -- this makes it a screened-in porch for extra living area.

The kids couldn't believe their luck our first night with the movie/dinner at the pool night for kids; lifeguards were in the pool with the kids, and they could even eat their dinner on the floating loungers. We were able to relax within sight just a few steps away with our own dinner and pitcher of sangria -- it was win-win for the whole family.

The game room was also appreciated; it is set up in a ballroom. Afternoon ping-pong tournaments were a perfect way for the family to get a break from the sun.

We combined our time here with stays in Manuel Antonio and the Poas Volcano area, which gave us a good taste of the different regions of beautiful Costa Rica. But with the ease of travel to/from Liberia and the luxury of the FS, we will definitely be back even if just for a short visit. And with the service level we experienced in all the areas of Costa Rica we visited, the Caribbean islands will no longer be on our get-away list.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This property is just as advertised..first class all the way!

The room we selected was on the ground floor with an enclosed patio. We had a great view of the ocean and were able to watch the monkeys on the ground outside of our patio. The bed was super comfortable and the patio had nice cozy furniture. The bathroom was spacious with a nice soaking tub as a bonus.

The property has several beautiful pools. One is all adult which we enjoyed since we were there alone. The pool staff is superb. They anticipate your every need. They even make fresh drinks poolside! The beach is nice but watch the sand during the day as it can get very hot.

There are several nice restaurants on the property and you can't go wrong at any of them. The prices are somewhat higher but you are at the Four Seasons.

The spa is award winning! W enjoyed massages and I had a great facial. Top notch all the way! The fitness center is nearby and has all of the tools you will need for a good workout. Classes are also available.

There is also a great golf course. The views are incredible and you're sure to see monkeys and iguanas!

Take an air conditioned car/bus to the property as it is a good 45 minutes from the airport. Also book your excursions through the hotel to ensure you are getting a legitimate company with a good reputation.

We will return to this property..just amazing!

Room Tip: Choose a higher level room for a better view or a ground floor room to see the monkeys better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Top notch resort. Our family of 4 enjoyed all this resort had to offer. The pools, beach access, the game room (for really hot afternoon breaks), the service, the food were all excellent. It's a wonderful place to visit. The staff and rooms were wonderful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Beautiful, beautiful resort smack in the middle of the jungle (monkeys included!) Our suite was lovely--spacious, private plunge pool, small kitchenette--waaaaaaaaaaaaay up the hill and quite a walk from everything (golf carts, however, are just a call away). The architecture blends magically with your surroundings. Public spaces are very nice--flora and fauna abound! Don't miss dinner at Caracol at the golf course. The food and ambience were terrific, as was the service (our waiter, Jorge Lopez was a doll!) The churascuria at Congo's was also fun. Best kept secret--go to the Prieta Beach Club, available to residents of the compound, members of exclusive resorts and Four Seasons guests. FANTASTIC!! The beaches were pretty to look at, but not my cup of tea--dark water and super hot sand--also red tide was in. YUCK. All is all, a winner of a place...though you certainly pay for it!

Room Tip: Be willing to call for transport or get on your sneakers if you're in a hilltop suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCos, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your views and kind words about the resort with us. Glad you enjoyed your time and dinner at Caracol as a highlight. You may be interested to know we are currently adding an all organic and biodynamic wine list at Caracol as well as a number of new desserts to the menu. We are sorry the red tide coincided with your trip. It is a naturally occurring phenomenon that we can't control but nevertheless regret it impacted your beach experience. We hope to see you again sometime, pura vida!

Jane Corrigan
Public Relations Manager
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

For couples traveling without kids and interested in relaxation and / or adventure then you will want to pass on staying at the Four Seasons. We have been all over Costa Rica and were extremely disappointed by the price and level of service at this hotel. Here are some pros and cons.
Pros:
- beautiful rooms and all have a view i.e. get the room on the 1st floor and save your money, they all have a view of the ocean
- Three restaurants on site, Di Mare has incredible italitan food
Cons
- Very expensive, we paid 855 for 1 night and our room was not even close to being as nice as the room we had at Nayara in Arenal for 250 a night
- With exception of Di Mare the other two restaurants had TERRIBLE service, there were plenty of people working but none of them seemed interested in waiting on tables
- The ice machine on our floor did not work
- Three pools, two of the pools had screaming kids all day long and the ONE adult pool was very small and covered in shade most of the day

The net is unless you have money to waste and/or have to play golf then you will want to consider skipping this resort and apply your savings to flying to Quepos where you can stay at Villa Caletas or head to Arenal and stay at Nayara or the Springs Resort. Good luck with your journey.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Wonderful place and warm people! Our family of four (teenagers 15 and 13) just returned from vacation at the fabulosa Four Seasons.

Our flight arrived over an hour late in the evening. We were greeted by the wonderful Four Season staff at the airport. My son was hungry so they arranged for room service at our arrival to our incredible villa.

Our villa was amazing. We enjoyed our private time at our plunge pool durning the day with the beautiful birds and ocean views and at night with the brilliant stars.

We loved our dinners at Di Mare (staff let my daughter and I split meals since we are not big eaters). Fresh fish and fruits were fabulous! Breakfast at Papagayo was amazing. My son loved the buffet and we ordered huevos rancheros. We wanted our kids to improve their Spanish and the staff was great about encouraging the kids to speak spanish. We did activities in the am, room service lunch at our plunge pool and then beach in the afternoon! Sunsets at Virador beach amazing and so different every night!

The staff...they were amazing and so warm! They went out of their way on the cart rides up and down from our villa to show us owls, monkeys, butterflies and birds. They called us by name and made us feel at home.

First day we went to the spa. We had the Rainforest and Costa Rican massages. They were amazing. My husband and son worked out every day and enjoyed the plunge pools and the service.

Second day we went zip lining and the kids loved it.

Third day we played golf in the am....breathtaking holes 3, 5 and 6 WOW! Golf cart driving was an adventure with all the hills and turns too! Staff again were wonderful and lots of wild life (monkeys, iguanas and birds). Food cart and sun screen/bug spray at course..we enjoyed the local beer Imperial!

Fourth day we just relaxed at both pools and went to the beach club which was fun!

Fifth day we kayaked with a guide to Monkey Island from playa blanca...amazing!

We bought souvenirs at the beach (US dollars OK; cash only). When we went to the airport to leave the same items at the airport were triple the cost as the beach vendors.

We had an amazing time! Our only wish was that we could have stayed longer. We will return!
Gracias y Pura Vida Costa Rica

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.