We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovey hotel in great settings.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Papagayo Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Papagayo Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Papagayo Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arenilla, Costa Rica (Formerly Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lovey hotel in great settings.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Could really be five star if the property were better maintained. It is a great place, just have sloppy painting and stuff that does not always work as expected. All inclusive resort with ok food. Good variety.

Room Tip: Closer to center, the better the wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapagayoResort, Marcela Zúñiga Social Media Coordinator at Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Ron B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for staying with us on your trip to Papagayo Resort & Spa.

I am thankful for both your positive comments as well as the 'negatives', which will help us focus on areas that are important for our guests. I will discuss your review with my team and address the areas that are in our hands to improve.

Should you decide to come back to Guanacaste in the future I would appreciate the opportunity to have you back with us.

With best regards,

Marcela Zúñiga
Social Media Coordinator
Papagayo Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    839
    320
    137
    93
See reviews for
732
1,091
25
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Papagayo (since renamed) for nine days in October 2014. It is a beautiful resort in a spectacular location. The resort faces a bay and backs up to the jungle. We saw howler monkeys and watched iguanas on the hotel property. The staff was friendly and efficient and did everything they could to meet our wishes. The restaurants were equivalent to fine dining establishments in the United States. The food was delicious, as were the specialty cocktails. We enjoyed the pools and loved the swim-up bar. The beach and bay were lovely and we went kayaking several times. In the evenings, we took Latin dancing lessons, listened to live music, and went on a walk through the rainforest. We used Swiss Travel for excursions. We would highly recommend this resort and hope to return someday.

One word of caution for travel to Costa Rica, use an effective insect repellant at all times, especially if you know that you are susceptible to insect bites.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapagayoResort, Marcela Zúñiga Social Media Coordinator at Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Bill K,
Grettings from sunny Guanacaste,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Papagayo Resort & Spa; with the tripadvisor travelers.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.
We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.
Best regards,

Marcela Zúñiga
Social Media Coordinator
Papagayo Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Hilton Papagayo (already renamed Papagayo Resort & Spa by the time we got there, in the time between acquisition and renovation) with my girlfriend in April for about a week. You would be hard pressed to find a friendlier, more attentive staff and I hope they keep everyone when the resort reopens.

Here's a story: I left our swimsuits on the deck balcony to dry. My trunks fell over (on the wrong side) and landed on a rock that was about 8 feet below the deck... and 12-15 feet above the road below. Later that day, while investigating my odds at getting my trunks back, some of the grounds crew drove by. I explained my situation and within 30 seconds, I had my trunks back.

And they get all the basics right, too: prompt shuttle service, good food (our biggest complaint was the desserts--not bad, but not great), drinks aplenty, beautiful grounds. The adult side was typically quiet, as advertised, though I imagine in the resort's forthcoming adults-only format, what was previously the spa/quiet side will be even quieter as there will be no reason for loud-prone adults to escape even louder kids at the main pool.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapagayoResort, Marcela Zúñiga Social Media Coordinator at Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear CLengua,

Greetings from Costa Rica!

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Papagayo Resort & Spa , and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience.

Best Regards,

Marcela Zúñiga
Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Papagayo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a 3 hour rainy hike and ziplining excursion on Arenal Volcano, we headed to the Papagayo Resort and spa where we were welcomed with friendly customer service, warm hand towels and refreshing fruit drinks. We were taken to our rooms via golf cart . Upon arriving at our rooms we had to hike up a long flight of stairs and had to walk down a fairly dark alley with quite a few bugs to reach the door that was in the back of the suites. The rooms were not large but we were pleasantly surprised with the good quality beds and linens. The air conditioning worked well and the rooms were very clean.We found the grounds to be very well groomed and the beach was small, but very nice.My husband did some snorkeling and said he spotted quite a few species of fish very close to the shoreline. The food was not gourmet, but we would consider it above average resort style fare. When driving around the grounds make sure to look up in the trees, you just may be able to spot monkeys or hummingbirds.

Room Tip: Unless you like to wait for transportation or walk hilly roads, request rooms closer to the hotel lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapagayoResort, Marcela Zúñiga Social Media Coordinator at Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear VagabondKim0313,

Greetings from the paradise!

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Papagayo Resort & Spa; with the tripadvisor travelers

We are happy to know your vacations were a success! I will let the staff know that they contributed to the one-of-a-kind experience.

We can’t wait to see you again soon at our resort once the remodeling process is complete.

Sincerely yours,

Marcela Zúñiga
Social Media Coordinator
Papagayo Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading some of these reviews, I was a little nervous at what I might find when I arrived. But we had a blast. We used Hilton points, but it is not a Hilton anymore, just FYI. We travelled with three other couples. I wouldn't mind going back after they renovate the hotel because I thought it was pretty nice to begin with. But yeah, it could use some refreshing. The staff really made the experience. Everyone is VERY nice and friendly. All of the rooms are spread out along the hill side, so bring shoes you don't mind walking in. I like to dress up for dinners, but honestly, this place is so relaxed, it would have looked out of place. Dinners are polo shirt and shorts for guys and cute summer dress for girls. They have a shuttle to pick you up from your room if you would like. People seemed to fuss at the drivers for making them wait #meanpeoplesuck. I packed $75 in ones and the staff were very pleasantly surprised. We would leave a couple dollars on the table after meals and tip the shuttle guys too. Which by the way, would get you some amazingly quick shuttle pick ups. ;-)

This resort is quiet and there is not much around. At first, we thought, maybe we should rent a car, but it was a little pricey. The answer to this dilemma (if you would like to go on an adventure) is Costa Rica Best Trips. Ariel is the owner. Email him before you leave and hang on to his phone number for when you get there. This company made our whole trip.

Costa Rica Best Trips has a pick up and drop off service for the airport- which sounds pricey, but was the same price as a taxi. Also, just tell them what you want to do and they will make it happen. The guides are highly educated and speak English perfectly. They will come pick you up from your hotel and then the adventure is yours to enjoy. No big group. Just you and your family or friends. For instance, three of us did the surfing adventure and spent all day having them drive us around to various spots (lunch, walking around town, coffee supplier). It was only $135 in TOTAL. We tipped the guides well though because they really made the whole experience. I would go back just to have this company show me around Costa Rica some more.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk all that much ask for a room maybe in the 200's. The 400's wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapagayoResort, Marcela Zúñiga Social Media Coordinator at Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear 5280CRNA,

Greetings from sunny Costa Rica.

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Papagayo Resort & Spa.

We were delighted that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we’ve been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team whom take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future; once the remodeling process is complete.

With best regards,

Marcela Zúñiga
Social Media Coordinator
Papagayo Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this place from April 12th - April 19th. It is a gorgeous place with very private secluded beach. The personal at the hotel for the most part was exceptionally friendly and very attentive. At the restaurants waiters would always inquire if any of us had a food allergy & would suggest substitution. The hotel has 4 restaurants & the food was ok (some days better than others). Our least favorite restaurant was Peruvian.
Our rooms were in 400's, beautiful views but somewhat of a hike to get to. However, hotel provided a shuttle on request and for most part we didn't have to wait more than 5 minutes. Wifi was free & worked well throughout the property.
We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapagayoResort, Marcela Zúñiga Social Media Coordinator at Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Costa1212,

Greetings from sunny Costa Rica!

It is a pleasure to read through such a detailed overview of your visit to Papagayo Resort & Spa .

We sincerely appreciate the time invested on writing this review.

Your comments will serve as an inspiration to our team to continue working with passion, ensuring our valued guests have an enjoyable and memorable experience with us.

We truly hope you can give us the opportunity to host you again once the remodeling process is complete. So we can offer you the truly remarkable experience that you deserve. Please do not hesitate to contact us personally prior your arrival, we will be happy to assist you.

Pura Vida,

Marcela Zúñiga
Social Media Coordinator
Papagayo Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our recent stay was the worst experience we've had traveling that we could remember. Upon arrival to the adult area we found the beach dirty and not groomed. The beach chairs were covered in towels and dirty glasses and it was hours before they were cleaned. Which was strange since the hotel was very empty. We were told by staff that Hilton recently (2 weeks) sold the hotel and that it was closing for several months to renovate. We were never contacted by hilton or pleasant holidays to let us know of the sale. When we bought we bought Hilto and received motel 6. I will say that our 3 rooms were nice and clean. The bar staff were barely friendly and most of them seemed put out to take orders. We encountered three Seperate weddings in the adult beach area from Wednesday to Friday. The first to we were not disturbed during the event. But to try to get us to move they completely closed the bar and grill. However the last one we were rudely asked to move from the area because they paid a lot of money to have a private event. We also paid a lot of money for out three rooms and we're never told about the events at booking. I'm not sure if this was something that Hilton set up or if it was the new owners. Either way we felt very inconvenienced. We did notice that the beach area was finally cleaned prior to the last wedding on Friday. The food was Mediocre at best. The drinks were watered down and several times we saw bar staff filling coke bottles from the dispenser at the main bar and using them at other bars and restaurants (very unsanitary). We were not able to get bottled water anywhere but our room. This is an all inclusive resort Lol. The waits for shuttles were long. On several occasions sometimes not at all. I feel bad giving this kind of review but do your self a favor and find somewhere else to stay. Shame on Hilton and Pleasant holidays for selling this bait and switch to us!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapagayoResort, Marcela Zúñiga Social Media Coordinator at Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Pipeline18,

Greetings from Costa Rica!

We appreciate the time that you have invested on writing an overview of your stay.

There seems to have been a number of deficiencies encountered which are very atypical and not reflective of our brand experience; if this stay was marred by irregular circumstances, we can only renew our apologies and assure you that we have in the meantime briefed the team at great length of your comments.

We can’t wait to see you again soon at our resort once the remodeling process is complete.

Sincerely yours,

Marcela Zúñiga
Social Media Coordinator
Papagayo Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Papagayo Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papagayo Resort & Spa

Address: Playa Arenilla, Costa Rica (Formerly Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#3 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Papagayo Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a bay surrounded by the Pacific Ocean at the Gulf of Papagayo in Guanacaste, our resort is the perfect place to let your worries drift away. The magnificent view of the tranquil waters, the surrounding lush tropical gardens and abundant wildlife will make you experience the true Costa Rican feel.This magical all-inclusive resort also offers:- Convenient location, only 20 minutes from the Liberia International Airport- Large property but with an intimate atmosphere and feel- New all inclusive concept with boutique-style service without the need of bracelets or towel cards and no limit in à la carte dining. - Private beach feel with calm tides year round- Casita-style bungalows perched hillside overlooking the bay. - World-class Spa offering full range of traditional and exotic treatments in a Costa Rican – inspired natural ambiance- Unforgettable setting for Honeymoons and Weddings - Venues which add a local flair to your meetings, incentives and other social gatherings.- Just minutes away from major local attractions, National Parks and beaches ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Papagayo Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort And Spa
Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Fiesta Premier Costa Rica
Hilton Gulf Of Papagayo
Gulf Of Papagayo Hilton
Fiesta Resort Costa Rica
Fiesta Premier Resort Spa Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papagayo Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.