We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vacation place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papagayo Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Papagayo Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Papagayo Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arenilla, Costa Rica (Formerly Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice vacation place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Everything was wonderful. We were there for our honeymoon. Mostly couples or families.

One doesn't have to leave the property to enjoy. Staff and people were friendly. Average rooms/villas but one hardly stays in the room but excellent private access beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica!!
Thank you for choosing Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa for your honeymoon – we’re happy to hear it was a success! We look forward to welcoming again to Guanacaste. We enjoyed taking care of you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    830
    318
    137
    92
See reviews for
723
1,085
25
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Great hotel, friendly service. They went out of their way to help us plan a dinner on the beach for our son who was getting married the next weekend. The lady in the sales and catering dept that helped us (an't remember her name) was fantastic. The beach was great, food good. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room with an ocean view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica!!
Thanks for taking the time to write the great review. We are happy to know your vacation was a success! I will let Doralicia from the Sales Catering Department know she contributed to your one-of-a-kind experience.

We can’t wait to see you again soon!!
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This resort was amazing. Everything that I read on the Hilton website was completely true-including the beautiful pictures of the property! The food was good. I recommend La Cosecha for dinner as it is the most authentic Costa Rican food.
Rubi at the kids' club made the trip most memorable for my kids. Each day they could not wait for 9 am so the club could open and they could see her. She was great with all of the kids-and even helped foster some relationships, so that my kids actually came home with friends who we discovered live close to us.
If you are going to do the kayak tour, make sure Jafeth is the guide. His tour was EXCELLENT! He provided such a detailed tour of the forest and Costa Rican history/wildlife. Just make sure to bring LOTS of bug spray.
We will definitely go back to this place again!!

Room Tip: All rooms are bungalow style
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica.

Thank you for your kind review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will let Ribi and Jafeth know they contributed to your one-of-a-kind experience.
We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Wonderful hotel. Extremely nice staff, especially Julio. All inclusive well worth the money. Food was wonderful. Beautiful little tide pools to explore on the beach. Only complaint is that the AC didn't work so well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica!!

I just wanted to say thanks for your recent stay here at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa! I’m so glad you were able to experience our warm Hiltonality. We can’t wait to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicante, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Just back home from a 'Costa Rica' tour. We did the 'Rain-forests'. The 'Cloud-forests. The 'Volcanos'. And Then----- we finished our journey at the Papagayo Hilton.
I suppose at this point we should say this is our third stay at this particular Hilton, so, you have to know that we like it.WHY?? well like all trips, nothing is ever without its hiccups and our Costa Rica trips have been no exception, BUT! the way that this Hotel and 'most' of its staff handle problems is a lesson to many other service based businesses!!!, enough of that! The Papagayo Hilton is situated on a private beach with the accommodation situated in the surrounding trees and vegetation, amid landscaped gardens and lanes, access to the cabins is achieved by very frequent shuttles. at this point we have to mention Julio and Diego two of the shuttle drivers, exceptional adverts for the hotel, nothing is too much trouble and always with a smile.
the rooms are perfect for the situation, the choice of restaurants is good.we found the buffet breakfast to be really good and lunch at the 'Boccadillo' was always a joy. the guys in the restaurants were always on hand to advise and explain, in fact the general level of service was exceptional, and we would like to especially thank 'Dennise' and Señor Vincente for their help.. Guess What??? we will be coming back!!!

Room Tip: If noise is a problem for anyone in your party, maybe somewhere away from the bars and pool, as ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica!!
Thanks for taking the time to write the great review. We are happy to know your vacation was a success! I will let Julio, Diego, Denisse and Vicente know they contributed to your one-of-a-kind experience.

We can’t wait to see you again soon!!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington pa
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Went with my boyfriend and we had a amazing time! The resort is breath taking we had room 246 I could see the water from my bed! The Maids and The staff were so nice and a especially the shuttle driver Julio he will make your day he climbed and got me a coconut and inserted a straw he finally found us the howler monkeys behind the kids club they were so cool and very loud yes! iguanas roam the property they are harmless and will eat strawberries out of your hand The family of raccoons visited us nightly the are not aggressive in costa rica and were enjoying some apples we gave them we did do the resorts jets skis it was 60 us for 30 mins it was fun!! The Arenal volcano/ zip lining/hot springs tour was great!!! 336 us a couple was far away but stopped for lunch a boat ride and dinner and even to see a sloth climb a pole so worth it! We also did a half day ATV tour 129 a couple drove to two beaches and visited a local bar was a blast! we did the catamaran sunset tour was 200 us per couple beautiful sites great day swimming/snorkeling dinner open bar seeing dolphins was a great time!
The resort staff work so hard and so many travelers were rude and demanding drinks brought down to the beach over and over without even a dollar tip I was shocked if you stop and talk to the people there cost of living is very high sometimes paying 9 dollars a gallon of gas some only making 800 a month working 26 days in a row then off 4 to be with there family cut them a break they all work so hard! and will bend over for you with a little gratitude we will definitely return and visit more places! Thank you Hilton Papagayo for a Wonderful Time!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica!!
Thanks for taking the time to send us the great review. We hope to see you again soon at the Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Hotel had very friendly staff, good restaurants, nice pool and poolside bar, activities every day and was set in a picturesque surrounding. this was overall a very decent pick for a vacation stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view room but use the in house transport for getting between rooms, pool etc in the night. A g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica!!
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa. I’m happy to hear that restaurants, staff and the pool made your stay more comfortable. We look forward to seeing you the next time you travel to Guanacaste area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Papagayo Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papagayo Resort & Spa

Address: Playa Arenilla, Costa Rica (Formerly Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#3 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Papagayo Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a bay surrounded by the Pacific Ocean at the Gulf of Papagayo in Guanacaste, our resort is the perfect place to let your worries drift away. The magnificent view of the tranquil waters, the surrounding lush tropical gardens and abundant wildlife will make you experience the true Costa Rican feel.This magical all-inclusive resort also offers:- Convenient location, only 20 minutes from the Liberia International Airport- Large property but with an intimate atmosphere and feel- New all inclusive concept with boutique-style service without the need of bracelets or towel cards and no limit in à la carte dining. - Private beach feel with calm tides year round- Casita-style bungalows perched hillside overlooking the bay. - World-class Spa offering full range of traditional and exotic treatments in a Costa Rican – inspired natural ambiance- Unforgettable setting for Honeymoons and Weddings - Venues which add a local flair to your meetings, incentives and other social gatherings.- Just minutes away from major local attractions, National Parks and beaches ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your Papagayo Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort And Spa
Fiesta Premier Costa Rica
Hilton Gulf Of Papagayo
Gulf Of Papagayo Hilton
Fiesta Resort Costa Rica
Fiesta Premier Resort Spa Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papagayo Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.