We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Good Morning Costa Rica'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arenilla, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ALL Inclusive+$50 credit
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
alicante, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“'Good Morning Costa Rica'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Just back home from a 'Costa Rica' tour. We did the 'Rain-forests'. The 'Cloud-forests. The 'Volcanos'. And Then----- we finished our journey at the Papagayo Hilton.
I suppose at this point we should say this is our third stay at this particular Hilton, so, you have to know that we like it.WHY?? well like all trips, nothing is ever without its hiccups and our Costa Rica trips have been no exception, BUT! the way that this Hotel and 'most' of its staff handle problems is a lesson to many other service based businesses!!!, enough of that! The Papagayo Hilton is situated on a private beach with the accommodation situated in the surrounding trees and vegetation, amid landscaped gardens and lanes, access to the cabins is achieved by very frequent shuttles. at this point we have to mention Julio and Diego two of the shuttle drivers, exceptional adverts for the hotel, nothing is too much trouble and always with a smile.
the rooms are perfect for the situation, the choice of restaurants is good.we found the buffet breakfast to be really good and lunch at the 'Boccadillo' was always a joy. the guys in the restaurants were always on hand to advise and explain, in fact the general level of service was exceptional, and we would like to especially thank 'Dennise' and Señor Vincente for their help.. Guess What??? we will be coming back!!!

Room Tip: If noise is a problem for anyone in your party, maybe somewhere away from the bars and pool, as ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica!!
Thanks for taking the time to write the great review. We are happy to know your vacation was a success! I will let Julio, Diego, Denisse and Vicente know they contributed to your one-of-a-kind experience.

We can’t wait to see you again soon!!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    770
    296
    128
    80
See reviews for
662
1,002
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington pa
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Went with my boyfriend and we had a amazing time! The resort is breath taking we had room 246 I could see the water from my bed! The Maids and The staff were so nice and a especially the shuttle driver Julio he will make your day he climbed and got me a coconut and inserted a straw he finally found us the howler monkeys behind the kids club they were so cool and very loud yes! iguanas roam the property they are harmless and will eat strawberries out of your hand The family of raccoons visited us nightly the are not aggressive in costa rica and were enjoying some apples we gave them we did do the resorts jets skis it was 60 us for 30 mins it was fun!! The Arenal volcano/ zip lining/hot springs tour was great!!! 336 us a couple was far away but stopped for lunch a boat ride and dinner and even to see a sloth climb a pole so worth it! We also did a half day ATV tour 129 a couple drove to two beaches and visited a local bar was a blast! we did the catamaran sunset tour was 200 us per couple beautiful sites great day swimming/snorkeling dinner open bar seeing dolphins was a great time!
The resort staff work so hard and so many travelers were rude and demanding drinks brought down to the beach over and over without even a dollar tip I was shocked if you stop and talk to the people there cost of living is very high sometimes paying 9 dollars a gallon of gas some only making 800 a month working 26 days in a row then off 4 to be with there family cut them a break they all work so hard! and will bend over for you with a little gratitude we will definitely return and visit more places! Thank you Hilton Papagayo for a Wonderful Time!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica!!
Thanks for taking the time to send us the great review. We hope to see you again soon at the Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Hotel had very friendly staff, good restaurants, nice pool and poolside bar, activities every day and was set in a picturesque surrounding. this was overall a very decent pick for a vacation stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view room but use the in house transport for getting between rooms, pool etc in the night. A g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica!!
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa. I’m happy to hear that restaurants, staff and the pool made your stay more comfortable. We look forward to seeing you the next time you travel to Guanacaste area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a six-day stay in Costa Rica from August 19 to 26th, which we took for our two-year anniversary. First let me say that we stayed at a 5-star hotel in Cancun for our honeymoon, and, based on the reviews I read and that Costa Rica doesn't have true 5-star hotels (as far as I know), I adjusted my expectations prior to coming to the hotel. All in all I would give our stay a 3.7 out of 5. My husband would give it a solid 4.

Great things:The food/drink staff are super nice/cordial (loved David!) and the entertainment staff are exceptional. You should definitely take the kayak tour with Jafeth and the bicycle tour with Imer--both are fun and very knowledgeable about their country (Japeth likes to give quizzes so pay attention). Kevin is also awesome and we participated in his and Imer's video dance competition. Rubi is great with kids from what I saw and so sweet and professional.

We loved that the hotel was in front of a bay instead of in front of the ocean and you could walk along the rocks to more secluded parts of the bay. Saw monkeys!

Things to be improved: We didn't like staying in our room because it was smallish and very plain. They need to upgrade all the bungalows (included the oldish decks) to be considered a 4-star hotel. As some people have noted, if you will balk at seeing ants in your room, iguanas casually walking past you, and raccoons eyeing your food from time to time, you might not be happy. Considering the hotel's (super nice) location, we didn't mind the ants too much and got a kick out of the raccoons. There are also two cats on the property (one is called Huevos). No one minded as they seemed to be everyone's pets and we actually liked when Huevos came to sit near our chair by the pool.

The food at the restaurants was good but not great (the bar food is pretty bad and TexMex night at the buffet was bad too, frankly). The menu (onion rings, hamburgers, fish sticks, etc are okay for kids but not for adults paying all this money). My husband, however, thought most of the dishes at the restaurants were good and loved the steak El Dorado and Bocadillo. Breakfast was ok for a buffet.. .

Most important, maybe: It's not a super fun or romantic resort and is not within walking distance to other fun resorts. It's more so suited to families with kids under 12 (I think) and laid back couples. Not girl/guy trips or honeymoons. If you are going to have "fun," you better book at least two excursions.
--Making reservations for dinner was easy. Great shuttle service and nice drivers.

Room Tip: If you don't feel like catching a shuttle when you are feeling lazy, then ask for a room either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica!!
Thank you for choosing Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa for your vacations. I will let David, Jafet, Kevin, Imer and Rubi know that they helped you have a great stay with us.
We will be utilizing the review as a valuable teaching and training tool to discuss with our staff to make the necessary changes needed to improve our service.
Thank you for helping us improves!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We had a lovely 4 nights here and wish we could have had more. We were in room Ocean View Bungalow 201, which was right up the hill from all of the main areas. The hotel shuttle was wonderful and fast any time we needed a ride. The pool seemed small when we 1st got there, but never really found it over crowded. Oscar at the Pool Bar was wonderful, a highlight of our trip. And he makes a wonderful "Howler Monkey" drink that you must try. By the end, we'd tell him to surprise us and he he was spot on with us and the kids for their virgin drinks. The beach is lovely and we walked all around the rocky areas during low tide to explore. We took out the kayaks and had some fun on one of the other beaches exploring too. We did not do a tour throught the hotel but chose to do a boat trip with Jose on the beach, his boat was called "Bahamas". His son drove the boat to take us snorkeling for 3 hours. We saw sea turtles, humpback whales, and got a nice history of the area. He had drinks for us & his english was perfect. Back to the hotel-The food is good, and it's all inclusive, so if you want more, you order it! The plates are typically tiny, but you just get more. We really enjoyed breakfast at La Cosecha and we had dinner at all of the other places. El Dorado was our favorite, we went there twice. Great staff, very friendly and helpful. The evening activities were nice. The Saturday night local show was wonderful and wish there was more of those types of activities, although the dance nights were fun too. Thank you Hilton Papagayo for a wonderful stay in paradise!

Room Tip: If you want to be near the action, ask for a 100 or 200 level room. If you want a quiet vacation, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica!!
Thank you for your review. We at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed and I will let Oscar know that he helped make your trip great! We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My son (8 years old) and I stayed here last week and we absolutely loved it. There were minor issues, but they were all resolved in a timely way. Note - if you are freaked out by bugs, insects, iguanas around, this might not be the place for you. I don't know if it was just our room, but pretty constant bugs in the room.
Everything else was great. The staff was amazing and I thought truly cared about the guests. Everyone seemed to be having a good time and the staff as well as the guests were very friendly. I met some lovely people every day. They had activities like water arobics, bingo, bike rides to keep everyone entertained. Also had live music at night.
The food was good, not spectacular. And yes, small portions, but I saw a lot of people ordering another portion and the staff seemed totally fine with that.
Definitely recommend the tours offered by the hotel. The guides were knowledgeable and wanted to make sure you had a good time. The mega tour has zip lining, a water slide, horse back riding and hot spring all in one day. It was totally amazing!! This is exactly why we went to Costa Rica! The guides also told us a lot about the history of this beautiful country and the biodiversity, combining education with fun for my son.
Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel if you are traveling alone with your kid(s).. Lots to do for both of you!

Room Tip: Front rooms near the main pool area are nice because you don't have to wait for the shuttle bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica.

Thank you for your kind review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COSTA RICA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Papagayo area is in Guanacaste (North) Costa Rica, in the Gulf of Papagayo, waters of Pacific Ocean. Very relaxing place, all rooms are in a bungalow style, only the hotel shuttle are authorized to drive into the place to pick you, and move you around the complex. Swimming pool, wet bar, 4 types of restaurants, tennis court, beach, water sports. When you arrive be sure to make an appointment to have dinner in "El Dorado Restaurant" its a must! If you want to make the bike tour appointment is necessary and only few bicycles, so rush. Room bar with bevarages included. If you ask for room service it will have extra cost!

Papagayo se enceuntra en la provincia de Guanacaste, en Costa Rica. En el Golfo de Papagayo cuyas aguas son del océano pacífico. Un lugar relajante, habitaciones limpias, estilo bungalow, tienen un mini bar con bebidas. Si pide comida a la habitación recuerde que eso si tiene costo adicional. Cuenta con 4 restuarentes, cancha de tenis, deportes acuáticos (snorkeling, kayak sin costo adicional). Tan pronto ingrese haga las reservaciones para las cenas. Debe comer en "Rest. El Dorado" es muy bueno. Si quiere hacer el tour de bicicletas, reserve con tiempo, son pocas.

Room Tip: Rooms near the swimming pool are noiser but walking distance to restaurant, bar and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica.

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa

Address: Playa Arenilla, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#3 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#4 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a bay surrounded by the Pacific Ocean at the Gulf of Papagayo in Guanacaste, our resort is the perfect place to let your worries drift away. The magnificent view of the tranquil waters, the surrounding lush tropical gardens and abundant wildlife will make you experience the true Costa Rican feel.This magical all-inclusive resort also offers:- Convenient location, only 20 minutes from the Liberia International Airport- Large property but with an intimate atmosphere and feel- New all inclusive concept with boutique-style service without the need of bracelets or towel cards and no limit in à la carte dining. - Private beach feel with calm tides year round- Casita-style bungalows perched hillside overlooking the bay. - World-class Spa offering full range of traditional and exotic treatments in a Costa Rican – inspired natural ambiance- Unforgettable setting for Honeymoons and Weddings - Venues which add a local flair to your meetings, incentives and other social gatherings.- Just minutes away from major local attractions, National Parks and beaches ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort And Spa
Fiesta Premier Costa Rica
Hilton Gulf Of Papagayo
Gulf Of Papagayo Hilton
Fiesta Resort Costa Rica
Fiesta Premier Resort Spa Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.