We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only complaint is... ANTS forced us to change rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papagayo Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Papagayo Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Papagayo Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arenilla, Costa Rica (Formerly Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Only complaint is... ANTS forced us to change rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

It is a beautiful resort. The restaurants were impressive enough. The all-inclusive nature was wonderful. We enjoyed the "swim-up" pool bar, the fitness center, the beach, etc. Our tour guide, named Hayner, was spectacular.

We found liteTONS of ants pouring out of a small crack in the corner of the room. We called the front desk. They sent up a guy with a can of raid. We explained that we did not want the room sprayed with chemicals while we were in there before sleep. We called the front desk again and were moved to another room.

JULIO is an OUSTANDING EMPLOYEE who came to our rescue many times (driving us to the new room, driving us around the property, helping whenever he could etc.)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica!!
Thank you for choosing Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa for your vacations.
I do thank you for providing a detailed account of your observations. We take all of our guests' feedback very seriously, and appreciate it as a valuable teaching tool and will discuss with our staff to make the necessary changes needed to improve our service.

Thank you for helping us improve!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    831
    318
    137
    92
See reviews for
724
1,086
25
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

All inclusives are usually only as good as the food and this resort did not disappoint. The food was very good. The rooms spotless, the hills that this resort is on will force the use of their very frequent shuttle service. The only thing that was not worthy of the description we signed up for was "ocean view" room. While we faced the ocean it was barely visible through the trees. That would not stop us from returning, it would only make me more diligent when requesting rooms. The staff was over and above with their service and everyone was very friendly and always made us feel welcome.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica!!
I am glad to read that you had great stay at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa and particularly we met and exceeded your expectations during your stay.
We can’t wait to see you again soon!!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

My husband and I visited the Hilton Papaguayo in May 2013 and went back a year later for our honeymoon. The service is excellent, the food is delicious, and the rooms are cool and clean. The staff is so accomidating and friendly, I can't think of a negative thing to say about them. Deffinately a first class resort, I highly recommend it. Both times we visited we made friends with other couples. There is a good mix of families and couples with an adult-only pool just incase the kiddos are splashing around too much.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica.

Thank you for your kind review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa. We appreciate the opportunity to host your for 2rd time!
We can’t wait to see you again soon!!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Very nice all-inclusive spot. The location of the resort is incredible, and private. Car rental on site was relatively in-expensive(. The service by everyone at the resort was superb. The food at all the restaurants was great. ( Be sure to wear mosquito repellent when eating at the outdoor restaurants.) It was our first time in Costa Rica and it was a great experience, thanks to the folks at the Hilton Papagayo. My wife and I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica!!

Thank you for choosing Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa for your anniversary – we’re happy to hear it was a success! I

We can’t wait to see you again soon!!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Hilton Papagayo is a huge, all-inclusive resort in a supreme location in Costa Rica. I stay there with my wife and 2 children (ages 4 and 6) and had a great time.

The good:
1. With the exception pf the roofs of some of the bungalows, the property was very nice and well-maintained and I found it to be very clean.

2. I found the room to be very clean with no signs of vermin. The cleaning staff came each day and were very diligent in cleaning and stocking the fridge. The children enjoyed the towels folded like animals.

3. There was a kids paradise to keep the children busy. The facilitator, Ruby, was great with the children.

4. The rocky shoals around the edges of the beach make for great snorkeling (which was included in the price).

5. Julio. The single most entertaining employee I've ever met. Incredibly friendly and enthusiastic and never once forgot our names. My son adored him.

6. Tons of activities we available at and around the resort.

The not-so-good:

1. The check in was unnecessarily slow. Resort should have had more than one employee working the front desk when expecting a large group of people arriving.
2. As noted above, the tile roofs of some of the bungalows were cracked and looked unsightly.

3. The showers in our bungalow were clean but the knobs did not work well and there was very little water pressure.

4. The rocky shoals around the beach were hard on the feet. Required some effort to avoid them.

5. The service at the snack bars was painfully slow.

6. Prices at the souvenir shops were outrageous for some important items like sunscreen (which you will need lots of) and bottled water.

Bottom line is, I really enjoyed this resort, I would stay here again, and I would recommend it to others.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica!!
I am glad to read that you had great stay at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa and particularly we met and exceeded your expectations during your stay.
We can’t wait to see you again soon!!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My family and I just stayed here for 5 days and by the end we wished we were staying longer! The food was delicious every single time- breakfast, lunch, dinner, and late night snacks from the very friendly bar staff. The shuttle drivers spent extra time finding the monkies on the resort so that we could see them and take pictures. (Thanks JJ!) The entertainment guides were excellent salsa teachers, especially Madelyn and Alberto! Lunch was wonderful at the adults only bar especially with Anais as our waitress. I definitely recommend taking the kayaks out for a ride around the bay. While at the bar, everyone was so friendly! Each time, they all took their time to get to know us and introduce themselves. By the last night, they already knew what drinks we would order! Everyone was great, and I wish I could remember everyone's name. Thank you Pablo, William, Willberth, and Oscar just to name a few. (We were at the bar a lot!) Overall we had a great stay and will definitely be coming back to this beautiful resort, next time with more people!

Room Tip: We had room 300, close to the beach and close to the adults only pool. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica.

Thank you for your kind review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will let Jairo, Madelyn, Alberto, Anais, Pablo, William, Wilberth and Oscar know they contributed to your one-of-a-kind experience.
We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniondale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Perfect for a family with young children and for couples. Lots of activites offered for children and adults. There is an adult only section and a kids club.The food was excellent!! You are always served by a waiter except at the buffet breakfast.We had a spectacular oceanfront view from our room!! But you definitely wanted to take the trolley ride service up the hill. The rooms are a bit small, but nice and serve its purpose. You could swim or go to the gym 24 hours but the music got quiet at 10p. They don't start serving liquor until the bar opens at 11am and stop at 1am, which meant no mimosas at breakfast, but other than that the staff was friendly and accomodating. Also only 20-25 minutes from the liberia aiport.

Room Tip: if you dont want to walk any significant distance and don't want to wait for bus/trolley service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica!!
Thanks for your comments. Whenever you’re in Guanacaste, stop by the Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa . We’ll take good care of you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Papagayo Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papagayo Resort & Spa

Address: Playa Arenilla, Costa Rica (Formerly Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Papagayo Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a bay surrounded by the Pacific Ocean at the Gulf of Papagayo in Guanacaste, our resort is the perfect place to let your worries drift away. The magnificent view of the tranquil waters, the surrounding lush tropical gardens and abundant wildlife will make you experience the true Costa Rican feel.This magical all-inclusive resort also offers:- Convenient location, only 20 minutes from the Liberia International Airport- Large property but with an intimate atmosphere and feel- New all inclusive concept with boutique-style service without the need of bracelets or towel cards and no limit in à la carte dining. - Private beach feel with calm tides year round- Casita-style bungalows perched hillside overlooking the bay. - World-class Spa offering full range of traditional and exotic treatments in a Costa Rican – inspired natural ambiance- Unforgettable setting for Honeymoons and Weddings - Venues which add a local flair to your meetings, incentives and other social gatherings.- Just minutes away from major local attractions, National Parks and beaches ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Papagayo Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort And Spa
Fiesta Premier Costa Rica
Hilton Gulf Of Papagayo
Gulf Of Papagayo Hilton
Fiesta Resort Costa Rica
Fiesta Premier Resort Spa Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papagayo Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.