We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rica Hilton Papagayo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Papagayo Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Papagayo Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Secrets Papagayo Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arenilla, Costa Rica (Formerly Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Costa Rica Hilton Papagayo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Staffs were extremely pleasant, friendly, and helpful. Food presentation was consistently very good. Dinner was consistently salty to the point of my wife and I waking up in the middle of every night to drink water. Our 3 teenagers also confirmed they found food too salty. Breakfast buffet was rather sparse. For instance, there was an area with breads, and nothing else. Normally, in these kinds of resorts, one finds cream cheese, smoked salmon, fish, and a variety of cold cuts. At this location, there was ham, I think corn beef, butter. There was a chef preparing omelets, and we had those very day. We enjoyed the local white cheese (which was available for a few days) One kind of pastry. Had mangoes a couple of days, and then they were gone. However, there was a variety of other local fruits. Overall, as I said, we found breakfast, reasonable but not great. Lunch was also acceptable but not great. Again, food presentation on plate was very good, portions looked small, but in fact were appropriately filling, however, they tended to be lacking in quality; we found chicken, and other dishes overcooked; they were not to the point of being uneatable, but they could have been better. On the entertainment part, there is virtually none in the evening. Cuba is light years ahead on the night entertainment front, this resort is let’s say very “quiet”. My wife and I were very pleased that one of the pool areas was quiet during the day; the resort has 2 pools and one is specifically designated as the quiet pool; great idea. As it turns out, both pools were pretty quiet, probably also due to the very low occupancy at the time of our stay. My wife and I enjoyed this very much, our teenagers aged 15 to 19 were pretty happy to leave the resort after one week and said they would not have wished to stay two weeks; clearly it is hard to please all age groups. We booked 4 excursions for our family; all were provided by Swiss Travel. Fairly reasonably priced, very good service, guides have been very courteous and knowledgeable, buses have been on time, clean and new. Very pleased with their service. The resort location, in the golf, is amazing; it is probably the nicest I have seen so far. As it is probably clear by now from my feedback, if it was not for the so-so food, and the lack of night entertainment shows, I’d return to this resort in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Secrets Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Greetings from Costa Rica!!
I just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa !
I am happy to read that you and your family had a great time and particularly we met and exceeded your expectations during your vacations.

We are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed and I will let our team members know that they helped make your family trip great!

We look forward to welcoming to Hilton Papagayo again to Guanacaste - we enjoyed taking care of you.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    843
    320
    138
    93
See reviews for
735
1,095
25
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

we had a fabulous time at Hilton Papagayo- the service is standout and the food and drinks as well. lots of pool/beach time. the other guests were friendly as well. loved the umbrella huts by the beach- so relaxing and easy! we arrived after breakfast and went back to the room at 5:30 to shower for dinner! so much fun! skipped all the excursions just to lounge at the resort. nightlife here is minimal (DJ in the open air restaurant one night, karaoke another night) but the focus is getting to be early after a long day on beach to do it again. worked for us! the meals were outstanding and abundant. i would hightly recommend to anyone. there is also a secluded pool/beach at spa area for adults only -looked fabulous, but with kids we couldnt partake - ENJOY!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Secrets Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Greetings from Costa Rica!!

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay at the Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa.

I would like to invite you back to this Paradise to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the Costa Rica.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I highly recommend the spa, spa pool and spa restaurant for all adults. The food is made to order and simply amazing. They also had daily specials! The Kayaking was so much fun. It's so easy to sign up for the kayaks and then hit the waters for an hour of fun. We had a group of 5 people and had a blast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Secrets Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Greetings from Costa Rica!!

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa.

I am happy to read that you had a great time and particularly we met and exceeded your expectations during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming to Hilton Papagayo again to Guanacaste - we enjoyed taking care of you.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

If it were purely down to the aestethics of the resort and the efforts of the vast majority of the staff, I would give this resort five stars. The grounds are beautifully maintained, the housekeepers were excellent and responsive, room was very clean and always cool, spa was excellent. Those looking to be away from the families at the main pool can go to the spa pool every day- no kids allowed, full bar, peaceful. You do not have to use spa services to use the pool, and you can get food in that area, too.

Unfortunately, the deciding factor in our choosing this hotel for this part pf our trip to CR was that we were looking forward to being able to spend a little time together as a couple each day. The Hilton website advertises that "parents looking for some alone time can enjoy spa treatments, romantic walks, fine dining, and adult-only swimming while the kids are having fun in the Kids Paradise Club." Our boys are 4 and 7, and we were spending 12 total days in CR (6 at this resort), so we thought that a couple hours a day to relax together on the first part of the trip, take advantage of couples massages, etc, would be great. This is a treat we very rarely get, lol. We prepared the kids in advance that they would go to the Club for a couple hours after breakfast each morning, and be with us from late morning through bedtime. They were psyched and so were we. The first morning that we went to check it out, we were told that we could not leave them, because they have to be over six years old. The website states 2-11 years...

While this changed the face of our stay very much, we of course let it go immediately because we wanted to enjoy our vacation, not stress about anything. We did not complain, go see the manager, or anything else. When I got home a couple weeks later, though, I did contact Hilton and the manager because I felt the website was very misleading and that bothered me on principle.

I would have been happy with a "we're really sorry about that." We didn't ask for any compensation, we just really felt that the website should be changed to reflect what parents can actually plan for. To date, both from the manager of the resort and from Hilton, we have gotten nothing but lies and refusal to acknowledge the false advertising. As a loyal Hilton person for decades, I am beyond bummed by their lack of response.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are in the upper 300's, near the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Secrets Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Greetings from Costa Rica!!

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa.

I am happy to read that you and your family had a relaxing vacation and particularly that we met and exceeded your expectations during your stay.

According with our official website the ages for the kids club are from 2 to 7 years in our Groovy Zone and the Cool Kidz Area for kids from 8 to 14 years old.
This was clearly a miscommunication error regarding about the ages, and for that reason we took the strict procedure with our collaborators to ownership the Hotel information and our services in order to conquer our main goal which is exceed successfully the expectations from every single guests.

We look forward to welcoming to Hilton Papagayo again to Guanacaste - we enjoyed taking care of you.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I liked this hotel a lot. They have scuba diving on premises. They also wash and dry your equipment. All scuba trips start at 8:30. Kids club opens at nine. Because we went scuba diving, I had to drop my son at 8:30 for a couple of days and they were willing to let him in early. My son loved kids club. Not too many kids and individual attention. I also liked that they always had dry towels, no matter how hard it rained that day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Secrets Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Greetings from Costa Rica!!

Thank you for your nice comments. I am happy to hear that our Kids Club Staff made
your stay more comfortable. I will pass it on. Thanks for choosing Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great property. Great location. Great food and drink. The best staff of any Hilton property I have ever stayed at (and I have stayed at many!) Great place to vacation with your family. Lots of things to do !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Secrets Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Greetings from Costa Rica!!
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will let our team member know that they helped you have a great stay with us. All of us at Hilton are passionate about hospitality and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
410 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights @ the Hilton for a romantic get away. This did not meet our expectation. Mostly families, the hotel needs work, the service the front desk check in was poor the restaurants @ this all inclusive rushed, overall we were disappointed with our stay. Would recommend for families not for quiet..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Secrets Papagayo Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Greetings from Costa Rica!!
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa.

We did take note in your observations that gives us hope and further drive in correcting our issues as we consider them improvement opportunities to seek excellence.

The next time you are in Guanacaste, we hope you will come back to see the changes we have made and tell us what you think. We want to provide you with the best guest experience. Thank you for helping us improves!


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
0.9 mi away
El Mangroove by Enjoy Hotels
El Mangroove by Enjoy Hotels
#3 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
8.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#2 of 3 in Sardinal
4.0 of 5 stars 4,252 reviews
1.9 mi away
Occidental Grand Papagayo
Occidental Grand Papagayo
#7 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
3.5 of 5 stars 2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Papagayo Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Papagayo Resort & Spa

Address: Playa Arenilla, Costa Rica (Formerly Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in
#3 Romantic Hotel in
#7 Luxury Hotel in
#9 Top resorts Hotel in
#9 Spa Hotel in
#12 On the Beach Hotel in
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Secrets Papagayo Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the exuberant Arenilla beach, Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica will offer adults a stunning Unlimited-Luxury(R) getaway in Costa Rica's Gulf of Papagayo. The secure community around Secrets Papagayo provides striking views of native flora and fauna and miles of unspoiled Pacific Coast beach. This all-suite resort boasts 202 spacious suites, each with a private balcony or terrace as well as a superb Unlimited-Luxury(R) experience starting with 24-hour room service, a daily refreshed mini-bar and more. The Preferred Club will provide an enhanced level of luxury with 65 ocean view suites and additional privileges including access to a private lounge, upgraded bath amenities and mini-bar, concierge service, pillow menu and much more. Guests will enjoy limitless gourmet cuisine, without reservations, at four restaurants and one café in addition to five bars that will serve unlimited top-shelf spirits. Days and nights are filled with land, beach and water activities and live entertainment. Two pools and a pristine beach await. Rejuvenation reigns supreme at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia(R), offering massage, body and facial treatments in 13 treatment rooms and a full-service beauty salon. Follow up this rejuvenation at the fully equipped fitness center or by taking part in one of many daily and nighttime activities. Just 20 minutes from the Liberia Airport and a mere 15 minutes from the touristic town of Coco Beach, Secrets Papagayo offers guests a privileged location both within the resort and throughout the area for an ideal Unlimited-Luxury(R) getaway on the Pacific Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Secrets Papagayo Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort And Spa
Fiesta Premier Costa Rica
Hilton Gulf Of Papagayo
Gulf Of Papagayo Hilton
Fiesta Resort Costa Rica
Fiesta Premier Resort Spa Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Papagayo Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.