We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Spa Experience And So Much More” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arenilla, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ALL Inclusive+$50 credit
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
“Fantastic Spa Experience And So Much More”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I highly recommend the spa, spa pool and spa restaurant for all adults. The food is made to order and simply amazing. They also had daily specials! The Kayaking was so much fun. It's so easy to sign up for the kayaks and then hit the waters for an hour of fun. We had a group of 5 people and had a blast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Greetings from Costa Rica!!

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa.

I am happy to read that you had a great time and particularly we met and exceeded your expectations during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming to Hilton Papagayo again to Guanacaste - we enjoyed taking care of you.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    771
    296
    128
    80
See reviews for
664
1,002
21
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

If it were purely down to the aestethics of the resort and the efforts of the vast majority of the staff, I would give this resort five stars. The grounds are beautifully maintained, the housekeepers were excellent and responsive, room was very clean and always cool, spa was excellent. Those looking to be away from the families at the main pool can go to the spa pool every day- no kids allowed, full bar, peaceful. You do not have to use spa services to use the pool, and you can get food in that area, too.

Unfortunately, the deciding factor in our choosing this hotel for this part pf our trip to CR was that we were looking forward to being able to spend a little time together as a couple each day. The Hilton website advertises that "parents looking for some alone time can enjoy spa treatments, romantic walks, fine dining, and adult-only swimming while the kids are having fun in the Kids Paradise Club." Our boys are 4 and 7, and we were spending 12 total days in CR (6 at this resort), so we thought that a couple hours a day to relax together on the first part of the trip, take advantage of couples massages, etc, would be great. This is a treat we very rarely get, lol. We prepared the kids in advance that they would go to the Club for a couple hours after breakfast each morning, and be with us from late morning through bedtime. They were psyched and so were we. The first morning that we went to check it out, we were told that we could not leave them, because they have to be over six years old. The website states 2-11 years...

While this changed the face of our stay very much, we of course let it go immediately because we wanted to enjoy our vacation, not stress about anything. We did not complain, go see the manager, or anything else. When I got home a couple weeks later, though, I did contact Hilton and the manager because I felt the website was very misleading and that bothered me on principle.

I would have been happy with a "we're really sorry about that." We didn't ask for any compensation, we just really felt that the website should be changed to reflect what parents can actually plan for. To date, both from the manager of the resort and from Hilton, we have gotten nothing but lies and refusal to acknowledge the false advertising. As a loyal Hilton person for decades, I am beyond bummed by their lack of response.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are in the upper 300's, near the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Greetings from Costa Rica!!

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa.

I am happy to read that you and your family had a relaxing vacation and particularly that we met and exceeded your expectations during your stay.

According with our official website the ages for the kids club are from 2 to 7 years in our Groovy Zone and the Cool Kidz Area for kids from 8 to 14 years old.
This was clearly a miscommunication error regarding about the ages, and for that reason we took the strict procedure with our collaborators to ownership the Hotel information and our services in order to conquer our main goal which is exceed successfully the expectations from every single guests.

We look forward to welcoming to Hilton Papagayo again to Guanacaste - we enjoyed taking care of you.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I liked this hotel a lot. They have scuba diving on premises. They also wash and dry your equipment. All scuba trips start at 8:30. Kids club opens at nine. Because we went scuba diving, I had to drop my son at 8:30 for a couple of days and they were willing to let him in early. My son loved kids club. Not too many kids and individual attention. I also liked that they always had dry towels, no matter how hard it rained that day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Greetings from Costa Rica!!

Thank you for your nice comments. I am happy to hear that our Kids Club Staff made
your stay more comfortable. I will pass it on. Thanks for choosing Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great property. Great location. Great food and drink. The best staff of any Hilton property I have ever stayed at (and I have stayed at many!) Great place to vacation with your family. Lots of things to do !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Greetings from Costa Rica!!
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will let our team member know that they helped you have a great stay with us. All of us at Hilton are passionate about hospitality and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights @ the Hilton for a romantic get away. This did not meet our expectation. Mostly families, the hotel needs work, the service the front desk check in was poor the restaurants @ this all inclusive rushed, overall we were disappointed with our stay. Would recommend for families not for quiet..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Greetings from Costa Rica!!
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa.

We did take note in your observations that gives us hope and further drive in correcting our issues as we consider them improvement opportunities to seek excellence.

The next time you are in Guanacaste, we hope you will come back to see the changes we have made and tell us what you think. We want to provide you with the best guest experience. Thank you for helping us improves!


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, OH, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Get pool to get some sun. Wonderful staff, very attentive to make sure you are happy with results of your request. I wanted a bottle of Champagne delivered at a certain point of our dinner and it was done. Make sure to plan your excursions early in your visit. Result is spread out and they do a good job with shuttles to get you were you need to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Greetings from Costa Rica!!

Thank you for taking the time to send us the great review. We hope to see you again soon at the Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Before choosing this property, I reviewed all of the comments. The thing that one must consider is this is NOT the DR or Cancun. If you expect a resort that compares to those types of resorts, this is not for you. The resort is spread out but the shuttle service is very good. Just pick up the phone and call. Review the pictures, because what you see is what you get. The rooms are not extravagant or luxurious. They just cover your needs. The bed was nice and the showers had good water pressure. We didn't experience the bugs or musty smell in our room. Housekeeping did an awesome job. We basically just slept in the room so we were pleased. 3 of the days, the power went out for a couple of minutes around 5AM. The generators kicked on and it wasn't a problem. The A/C units worked fine and the room actually stayed cool. I chose a Bungalow with an Ocean View. This was nice early morning and early evening to watch the sky change. If you want peace and quiet, chose a bungalow near the SPA.
BRING BUG SPRAY. This made things enjoyable, and had to share our spray with others who were literally getting bitten alive. Sun Block is also a must. It starts to get light just after 5AM and dark around 630PM. They are in the Central Time Zone, but do not participate in daylight savings.
The resort has two beaches, however only one of them have activities. When the tide goes out, the beaches connect and make for an interesting walk on the black ash colored beach to collect shells, coral, and lava rock. This is an All-Inclusive Resort and no tries to sell you a timeshare. We were surprised that we didn't have to wear a wristband. The food is just "OK". Once again, this isn't Cancun or the DR. There are 3 restaurants (Seafood, Steak, Italian) that require reservations and should be made as soon as you get there. In my opinion, the Italian was the best. They also have a breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet that doesn't require reservations. The lunch and dinner buffet changes and the dinner buffet are themed. The bars are decent but the pool bar is awesome (ask for Pablo). Each evening, the resort holds some sort of event to bring people together and socialize. The Beaches are not owned by the resort, so people will approach you to sell tours and crafts. If you say no thank-you, they will move on.
The only CON is: Wi-Fi is $15-17 USD per day per device. CRAZZZZZZZZZY!!!!!!
Near the main pool, lobby and bar, it is free. They do have computers in the lobby and business center that are free to use.
Recommendations:
Reserve your airport transportation in advance. You can get private service (The car) for $50 one-way (Hotel Zone 1).
Book Tours before you get there and negotiate.
The hotel will give you water to take on your tours.
Bring Bug Spray and Sun Block.
Make dinner reservations ASAP.
The good chairs at the beach and pool go early, however you can find something.
If you need anything, ask the staff. They really aim to please.
Eat before you go to the airport. ($$$$)
Pay for your "EXIT TAXES" at the resort.
At the airport, you do not need use the Skycap. They make it seem as if you have no choice. They work for tips.

Room Tip: Rooms near the SPA are quieter (Garden View). The Ocean View Bungalows are in a place that you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Greetings from Costa Rica!!

Thank you for your comments. Whenever you are in Guanacaste , stop by Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa . We will take good care of you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa

Address: Playa Arenilla, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#3 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#4 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a bay surrounded by the Pacific Ocean at the Gulf of Papagayo in Guanacaste, our resort is the perfect place to let your worries drift away. The magnificent view of the tranquil waters, the surrounding lush tropical gardens and abundant wildlife will make you experience the true Costa Rican feel.This magical all-inclusive resort also offers:- Convenient location, only 20 minutes from the Liberia International Airport- Large property but with an intimate atmosphere and feel- New all inclusive concept with boutique-style service without the need of bracelets or towel cards and no limit in à la carte dining. - Private beach feel with calm tides year round- Casita-style bungalows perched hillside overlooking the bay. - World-class Spa offering full range of traditional and exotic treatments in a Costa Rican – inspired natural ambiance- Unforgettable setting for Honeymoons and Weddings - Venues which add a local flair to your meetings, incentives and other social gatherings.- Just minutes away from major local attractions, National Parks and beaches ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort And Spa
Fiesta Premier Costa Rica
Hilton Gulf Of Papagayo
Gulf Of Papagayo Hilton
Fiesta Resort Costa Rica
Fiesta Premier Resort Spa Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.