We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all inclusive location, some buildings need an upgrade!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arenilla, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$139/person ALL INCLUSIVE
Ranked #5 of 16 hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great all inclusive location, some buildings need an upgrade!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Make sure you are happy with the room before you unpack! If not request a different room! Stayed 4 days at this location and the water to our room was shut on and off for the first 2 days! Stayed in room 432 and they tried to fixed the AC on the first day which move the temp down from 78 to 72 degree but couldn't get it colder. Had some friends with us too, they switched rooms because their room was to warm.

Room Tip: Rooms 432-439 have very old AC and can't get the room below 72 degrees!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,004 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    854
    694
    263
    117
    76
See reviews for
589
915
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Excellent time at Hilton Papagayo. Very friendly staff, especially Pablo, Haber and Arturo. Arturo spent time talking about Hilton and how they operate.

Nice bike ride with pleasant guy (forgot name). May have been best part of trip. Not too strenuous.

Monkeys were in evidence. IT IS HOT THERE. Excellent food. Very relaxing. Just right for us, maybe not so much for thrill seekers.

Room Tip: we stayed in 118. down low and convenient. these are big hills throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in write about your recent experience at the hotel.

I was glad to read from your review that you had a " Pura Vida " vacation with us.

I hope that if you choose to return to this part of the world, please contact me directly for my personal attention to your reservation and any other need you may have.

The Hilton Papagayo family looks forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This resort has an awesome location, very idyllic. It is a big property and the cottage style rooms are nicely spread apart from one another. There is a nice spa, two great very different beaches, and a party pool. But appreciate this for what it is - an older resort that will one day get the update it deserves. It is only affordable to you and I because it is slightly worn. The staff is nice enough, because they are living Pura Vida. The breakfast is outstanding, but beyond that average. The drinks are mostly well, well. The rooms are, well, worn. Everything needs updating and modernization. The bathrooms are, well, bare, like you.

My recommendation is to come if it looks too good to be true, but expect to get what you pay for. This is not the Four Seasons, though the location is as good, which is mostly what you came for, anyway. And soak up the sunset over the bay!

Room Tip: It is quieter by the spa and still a short beach walk to the main resort pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in write about your recent experience at the hotel.

I was happy to read from your review that you enjoyed our rooms style, Spa, the hotel atmosphere and our “ Pura Vida Staff”

I sincerely apologize if you found our rooms and bathrooms with lack of maintenance. In fact, we are currently working in the maintenance of them. Our guest satisfaction is very important to us.

Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The all-inclusive package made it worth it. The restaurants served excellent meals although the menu options were very limited. I'd recommend making reservations for one of the 4 restaurants available around lunch time to ensure you get the place you want. Pool was amazing, room temperature. Staff was incredible!!! Buses/shuttles ran 24 hrs and all you have to do is call the front desk and ask to be picked up :) There were some issues with our room and our block of villas had water problems for a few days which is why I could not rate it excellent. I don't have anywhere in the area to base my comparison against but our 3 night stay wasn't great but decent. Other than the food and staff friendliness, the place didn't exceed our expectations. We stayed in other areas of Costa Rica and felt Hilton didn't quite meet other hotels' (none of which all-inclusive but same price range) standards of guest treatment. Simply - we didn't feel catered to or special, just another guest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel.

I was glad to read from your review that you enjoyed the food, the pool, the room temperature and our friendly staff.

I sincerely apologize that we did not meet or exceded your expectations.We took note of your comments and definitely believe that we could consider some of your suggestions and your observations will be helpful.

Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I can't believe people pay to stay here... it seems that it was last updated in the 80's and the "all inclusive drinks" aren't even blended and they don't add any real fruit! how can you stay at a resort in the tropics and not have blended drinks? This is a very outdated and neglected hilton hotel- Hilton, you should be ashamed.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for the new rooms (the ones that have been updated since 1980).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in write about your recent experience at the hotel.

I would like to express that in our hotel serve blended drinks such as classic recipe from Piña Colada, Stanberry daiquiri, smoothies as well our home made recipe like a Oasis , Palapa or the favorite one from our guest the Hurley Monkey.

Also we would like to remark we’re not consider our cocktail are updated since the 80's. Our signature cocktail menu we future Caribbean Carnival made with local run, mandarin lime juice and ground cherry from the Caribbean Coast ; The Juve morning cocktail is made from dark run , pineapple juice lime juice and fresh strawberries and apple.

I sincerely apologize if you thought we cannot meet your expectations; however our International standards demand to have and fit every guest meet.

Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My spouse and I vacationed at the Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort with my sister and her partner at the end of February, beginning of March. What a wonderful, picturesque, peaceful, soothing get-away. It totally met all our needs. I found the staff to be very friendly and attentive. It was great to have the 24/7 shuttle as the hilly surroundings would have left me a little short of breath....however, these same hills added to the resort's beauty.

The location was great as we did not have to travel tiresome distances when we went on several tours off resort. And for those days when we stayed put, there was plenty to do. I especially enjoyed the full body massage at the Spa Vida, listening to the soul stirring sound of the waves.

The food was delicious. I tend to be a picky eater, and found so much variety to enjoy along with several healthy options. Though I have not travelled extensively, this is probably my best yet. My favourite place to eat was La Cosecha. The breakfast buffet was delicious...crisp bacon, egg whites, fresh fruit and juices and the list goes on...great start to my day. It was my preferred place to eat because of the many options and because of Anais, a delightful young lady who worked there, who became our friend. She shared pictures and stories of her home and made us a special Easter desert with mangoes from her yard.

The night life was somewhat limited. This was fine with us. All in all, a place definitely worth going to!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
First of all, thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I appreciate you selecting our hotel for your recent stay.

I am pleased to know your comments and particularly than that we met and exceeded your expectations.

I hope that if you choose to return to this part of the world, please contact me directly for my personal attention to your reservation and any other need you may have.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place quiet and set in the jungle. We have an "ocean front" room (thank god) because some rooms are a huge hike away!!! They have shuttles that run all over so I'm sure that helps bit we are so happy we upgraded. We're in room 100 so that's the closest to everything!!! Howler monkeys right here!! Very cool. Food is really very good. I had a whole red snapper for dinner and it was perfect and fresh! This must be a good time of year because the place is empty! I love that!!! We read reviews on excursions and I think we will book wih the "guy on the beach" Issus tours. Trip advisor ratea them #1 and the kid on the beach was sure to tell is that. compared to the hotel option were booking something wih issus. I'll let u know. I only get Internet for an hour at a time which is good so I get my butt outside!! Lol

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Eugene, General Manager at Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in write about your recent experience at the hotel.

I am pleased to know your comments and particularly than that we met and exceeded your expectations.

I hope that if you choose to return to this part of the world, please contact me directly for my personal attention to your reservation and any other need you may have.

The Hilton Papagayo family looks forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa

Address: Playa Arenilla, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#3 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a bay surrounded by the Pacific Ocean at the Gulf of Papagayo in Guanacaste, our resort is the perfect place to let your worries drift away. The magnificent view of the tranquil waters, the surrounding lush tropical gardens and abundant wildlife will make you experience the true Costa Rican feel.This magical all-inclusive resort also offers:- Convenient location, only 20 minutes from the Liberia International Airport- Large property but with an intimate atmosphere and feel- New all inclusive concept with boutique-style service without the need of bracelets or towel cards and no limit in à la carte dining. - Private beach feel with calm tides year round- Casita-style bungalows perched hillside overlooking the bay. - World-class Spa offering full range of traditional and exotic treatments in a Costa Rican – inspired natural ambiance- Unforgettable setting for Honeymoons and Weddings - Venues which add a local flair to your meetings, incentives and other social gatherings.- Just minutes away from major local attractions, National Parks and beaches ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort And Spa
Fiesta Premier Costa Rica
Hilton Gulf Of Papagayo
Gulf Of Papagayo Hilton
Fiesta Resort Costa Rica
Fiesta Premier Resort Spa Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.