We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good stay !!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Allegro Papagayo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Allegro Papagayo to your Saves list
Allegro Papagayo
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Manzanillo | P.O. Box 48-5000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overall Good stay !!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My stay at this resort overall was a very satisfying experience. You definitely have to put some work into the commuting around the resort but the views and the animals you see along the way make it a very interesting walk .Especially after all that eating and drinking you do on the resort the walks pay off . The food was pretty good I've stayed at numerous resorts and the food is always awful. Suprisingly here I enjoyed almost every meal. Since we come from New York City they had tough competition when it came to entertainment .The night entertainment was amazing the performers were very live and into their performances. I want to recognize the hotels DJ Manuel he had amazing mixes and beats and was very creative when it came to catering to everyone's taste in music. He kept us dancing all night . The whole staff was wonderful everyone was always smiling and very welcoming . I will definitely be going back to this resort for the prices and the view's it really meets up to its standards .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    545
    411
    249
    218
See reviews for
416
689
41
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I had a great time with my wife and 7 year old. The beer and food flowed like water and the staff was wonderful. Do yourself a favor, if asked by Marilyn, Karen or Enrique (in the fun club), to do an activity, do it! You won't be sorry! These folks are great with adults and kids. Good job, friends! Can't wait to return, hope to see you soon. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Building 11 is closest to the action. Tell the girls at the fun club, that "Crazy Andy" s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My best friend and I recently stayed at the Allegro Papagayo for a 9 night stay. After reading some of the reviews from the previous month we were worried about what we would find when we arrived. I will first say that this is not a 5 star resort, nor does it advertise itself as such so we went in expecting to get what we paid for, which we did. We had a wonderful experience at the resort. Our room was cleaned in a timely fashion every morning, towels were always replaced, and the air conditioner worked great. The only issue we ever had with the room was the occasional centipede crawling along the floor, but we were in the middle of the jungle so it was to be expected to see a few bugs. Plus we weren't in the room very often because we were out enjoying what the country had to offer. We took most of our excursions with Costa Rica Bestrips who I would highly recommend! They were wonderful and the tours are private and more affordable than the tours that the resort offers. You can also check them out on tripadvisor.

They have a buffet and two other restaurants to choose from for dinner. We only went to the Mexican restaurants once because the buffet was very good and had a ton of options. The breakfast was the same every day, but they always had a wide variation of dishes for lunch and dinner. The staff did a great job of picking up used plates and replenishing the buffet.

The staff was also great about keeping the public areas clean. The pool was always free of debris and they were on top of picking up drink glasses to keep the bees at bay. There were a lot of bees which is something we had read about and were worried about before arriving. We made it through our entire stay without getting stung or having too many run-ins with the bees. My tip to keep the bees away would be not to keep sugary drinks around your space, when you are done get rid of the cup or have the staff take it. Also, mint and peppermint are a natural neurotoxin to bees so before I left I filled a small spray bottle with about 1/2 mint and peppermint extract and 1/2 rubbing alcohol. It actually seemed to help. The bees would fly around us, but would not land if we had sprayed the mint.

There were some animals that wondered the resort in the evening looking for food, but in my opinion they were more entertaining than a nucense. There are also always spider monkeys on the beach that were hours of entertainment to watch, but make sure you don't leave your bag unattended around them, they will steal your stuff! Lol.

Overall we had a great stay at the resort and saved a lot of money by staying with them so we could do many of the exciting excursions around the area. I would highly recommend this resort if you are looking to make your money go further at an all inclusive resort. I would definitely consider coming back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The staff at Allegro Papagayo was amazing and we truly enjoyed our stay for mine and my girlfriend's birthday trip! Thank you Marilyn for being an excellent entertainer as well as a good friend! Looking forward to seeing all the staff again someday. Had an amazing time despite of the ever present bees, but that's not really the resort's fault.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Our room in bldg. 10 was very nice. Fantastic view. Thanks to Marvin for getting us "old people" a room at the bottom of the hill. Great AC, clean & plenty of towels. Our only complaint was the lack of bottle water in the room. The "teens" loved Christopher. He was a great entertainer. Carlos took good care of us on our side trips. We have been on over 50 all inclusive 3 to 5 star trips & the food here was some of the best. The small bees were a nuisance, but you could swat them away. The people that complain should just chill & enjoy the fact that the are in the tropics. We loved the monkeys. This resort was a bargain.

Room Tip: Less climbing in bldg. 10 & 11, but a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

This place is marketing to Canadian teenagers and brings bus loads of them every day. These were the most trashy group of kids we have ever seen. They were using horrible language, bad gestures and nasty sayings on their Tshirts. Would not want to take children here because of it. The maid service was horrible. They would forget to leave towels, wash rags and coffee. When we would call the front desk to ask that the forgotten items be delivered, it would take them Two hours to get it to the room. They have a bad bee problem that is out of control. The rooms need updating. A lot of people would stay one day then check out and go elsewhere. I would definitely visit Costa Rica again but will never stay here again and won't recommend that anyone else should stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I have booked for almost a week there from July 27 to juky 31st, however the first day was a nightmare, they don't have rooms available yet i have to wait 2 hours 5o receive the key, then the worst is the hotel dont have ramps for strollers or wheelchairs to get into public areas such as pool and restaurant. The " transportation internally" is a danger since they use a van with open door and no seat belts and road us too dangerous since hotel is within a mountain. The food is too bad to be an all inclusive option and the beverages on restaurant has tons of bees. I have cancelled my reservation the first night and run away to another hotel. The rooms are very old and uncomfortable and the bathrooms very bad plus many worms and mosquitoes within rooms. Please don't go there save your money and life. I still wait the hotel refund my money since they write me a letter that this will be done within a week.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allegro Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Papagayo

Address: Playa Manzanillo | P.O. Box 48-5000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Allegro Papagayo 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Allegro Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegro Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo Costa Rica
Allegro Papagayo Gulf Of
Allegro Papagayo Occidental
Costa Rica Occidental
Occidental Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allegro Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.