We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Allegro Papagayo

Save Saved
You added Allegro Papagayo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Allegro Papagayo
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Manzanillo | P.O. Box 48-5000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

It's a great location in Costa Rica. The grounds are lovely, as are the views. Great swimming pool and a very good swim up bar service. Nice quiet beach. Plenty of monkeys, lizards, other animals, and birds on the grounds. We enjoyed the food, especially the fresh fruit. Our room was very basic, but clean and the bed was comfortable. Water stations throughout the grounds, never had a problem getting ice and clean water. We engaged in a number of activities and tours. Among others, we went on all-day tour, which included ziplining (11 lines), horse riding, lunch, waterfalls, sauna, mud bath, hot springs, rainforest canopy tour etc. Great value for $135 US per person. We went as a group of 5 people, which meant that we did things at our own pace, asked the driver to stop in Liberia at a grocery store (nice store, great selection of good quality products). Much better than the large, bus tours, which others staying at the resort did not like, and told us not to go on them. We enjoyed our small group tour and we would do it again. On another day, we enjoyed ATV riding, which was a fantastic experience. We stopped at a waterfall and went swimming. We had a great time. We will return to Costa Rica. Next time, we might try a different resort, however, if the price is right, we have no problem going back to Allegro Papagayo. We would recommend this place. The only criticism that we have is that if you go on a tour that departs at 7:30am, you have no opportunity to make a reservation for one of the two restaurants. We were quite upset that the resort promotes tours, however, does not provide an opportunity to make a reservation for an evening meal on the day of the tour. The desk at which you make reservations has no staff present until 9am, which is not acceptable in our opinion. Needless to say, we had no opportunity to try the two restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,521 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    493
    357
    229
    200
See reviews for
359
621
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Let me start with that no matter where we travel to, we DO try to make the best of any situation. I will start with the good - GREAT swimming pool - Great Swim up bar - Wonderful quiet beach area. Beautiful grounds - Amazing Views.

Okay - Now, the rooms were too run down and horrible. Maybe okay if it was a room for a High School Spring Break trip - everything had mold on it....Mind you, We had our 2 kids with us - and I was not allowing them to stay in a room like that. Fridge Empty and not working, Shower filthy. Broken soap and shampoo dispenser. Door didn't lock - back screen door didn't lock or shut all the way....SO we moved rooms - Not as bad but not the best. We knew what to expect because this is my husbands and I 2nd trip to Costa Rica so we knew about all the bugs but come on...... We had at least 100 centipede like insects crawling everywhere, Kids were crying every night wanting to go home. They crawled in through the walls and under the door - we blocked the doors with our towels on the inside and outside. The staff would spray each night for us but it didn't help. by the 3rd day, my little boys made a game out of how many bugs they could stomp on before bed.....
Due to NEW Years, not ONE hotel anywhere had a room so we were stuck there. Needless to say - as long as you stayed at the pool or took an excursion all day you were not being attacked by worms and bugs......Its affordable and great food - but be aware of how run down the room are. We will not return to the ALLEGRO - Good Luck!

Room Tip: Rooms with a higher number are closer to pool and not as a steep walk. BUT very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itze P, Reputation Management at Allegro Papagayo, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Sparky1122,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at Allegro Papagayo, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed our facilities like the pool, swim up bar, the beauty of Guanacaste beach. On the other hand, we are very sorry to hear about the shortcoming that you encountered with you room, we would like to confirm that there have been no complaints or evidence of bugs in any of our rooms. We at Allegro Papagayo take the prevention and treatment of insects and fumigations very seriously starting with a daily inspection by housekeeping staff to identify any evidence, we also train hotel staff on our fumigations protocol and work with a national pest control company to inspect and treat rooms.

Our relationship with our guests is of utmost importance. We thank you again for your feedback, as it is our wish to excel in every aspect of our operation and this can only be accomplished by correcting the deficiencies which are brought to our attention through your constructive comments.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We arrived at this resort on Christmas Eve. Two adults and 2 teens (13 & 16). We booked this hotel because the price was right. It is a beautiful location with excellent views of the bay. The black sand beach was lovely to stroll along in the morning and watch the sunset in evening. It was very quiet at the beach. The water was warm and shallow, great for wading in. We did encounter an algae bloom which made us all itchy, this can happen anywhere in our oceans, we immediately showered and were fine. The white faced (capuchin) monkeys are so entertaining and interactive.

The pool area is beautiful, lots of chairs, swim up bar, coatis and racoons. There was never a problem finding chairs, sun, shade. My 13 year old son and husband played pool and beach volleyball every chance they got.

The food at the buffet was very good (for a buffet), lots of variety, the highlights for me were the fruit and rice and beans. We never had to wait in line to eat. They open the restaurant a 1/2 hour before the buffet is ready for those who want continental breakfast and coffee. This works out great for the early morning tours. The Italian a la carte restaurant was awful, not recommended. The mexican restaurant was quite good.

We did not go to Costa Rica to be entertained so were not disappointed with the mediocre entertainment and also did not go to any of the evening "shows". The drinks at the bar were not good. The alcohol they used was of very poor quality. My teens both enjoyed playing pool in the bar area.

Both of our rooms were old but relatively clean. Acceptable for a 3 star resort in Latin America. Our beds were comfortable, sheets were clean. Towels were old, but clean and changed regularly by housekeeping. Our toilet in our room had functioning issues which they fixed the day we asked. Do not expect plumbing to work if you fill the toilets with t-paper - this goes for pretty much anywhere in Latin America - this was a common problem with the common area toilets.

There are iguanas all over the resort, and the racoons come out mostly as night, so awesome to have wildlife all over. The resort is built on a mountain side and the roads are steep. The shuttles run at least every 10 minutes so getting up and down from the lobby and rooms to the pool/restaurant areas is good. We mostly walked and got a lot of exercise! We booked our tours through Go Adventures Costa Rica before leaving Canada and they were awesome! You will have to meet your tour guide at the gate of the property if you book tours outside of the resort. Hotel security will not allow outside tour operators through the gates. We did go on the Rio Celeste tour which we booked through Nolitours at the hotel. We enjoyed the tour guide (Christian), he was extremely knowledgeable about the rain forest and animals, but preferred the private tours as we could do exactly what we wanted and did not have to waste time at the rendezvous point.

This resort was worth the price we paid. If you are expecting anything more than a 3 star, choose a different resort.

Room Tip: Building 6 was quiet, nice view. Rooms close to pool were very noisy but less walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We went with family and friends for xmas 2013. We had been there 6 yrs previous, so we knew what to expect. The location on the side of a hill is GREAT for the view, but tough to walk the slope. They do have a shuttle every 5 - 10 minutes, so that is very handy.
Room - Was nice, nothing exceptional , but clean and spacious. We had an upgraded room with an ocean view. Ask for a higher room to take in the amazing view.
Food - Not so great. It had gone down hill since our last visit. It was being a Cuban all inclusive.
But we all found something to eat.
Beach - Very nice. Keep in mind that it is black sand, so It looks much different that he Carribean white sand/blue water. Water is clear and warm to swim in.
Drinks - All " no name" inexpensive alcohol. Wine, was terrible. I tried it again and again hoping maybe it was just an off bottle, but no, same bad stuff. We went into town and purchased wine, beer and liquor to keep in our room.
Bar - LINE UPS ! 20 min wait when the pool bar opened. Maybe just because it was Xmas, and it was very busy.

Added fun .....Monkeys on the beach at the resort. They ask you not to feed them, but who could resist ?? We had fun feeding them fruit and bananas. They come right up and take hem from your hand. Also Coatis running around. They are like a mix between and badger and a raccoon.
One would make his way along the pool side, looking into beach bags and sticking his snout in peoples daiquiris beside the pool. Not sure how friendly they are . One guest petted him, he didn't seem to mind.

In all, we would return.

Room Tip: A higher level gets you a better view. But lots of stairs to get up,for those who may have trouble c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We booked this resort because it was very affordable so we could spend more on tours. Travelled with 18 yr olds to give you perspective.

The Good
The buffet...great variety and delicious always something new at the grill
The pool area... Best area of the resort always clean lots chairs and shade if you want it
The staff.... very friendly, great service, the resorts best asset by far
The shuttle....This resort is on a cliff and I really mean a cliff, don't despair if you get a room at the top of the hill, the shuttle is very frequent and the views and peace and quiet are worth it.
The view...great view of snake bay day and night. Take time to go for a walk at night to star gaze
Private time...always seemed to find an area for some alone time, lots of small areas on beach and resort area to hide away
Monkeys on the beach.....morning and afternoon entertainment at it's best
Iguana's... everywhere very interesting to watch their behaviour
The grounds...beautifully kept and very pretty
small resort :) gives you ample opportunity to get to know people or have some quiet time


The Bad
The show's....not very good, but the entertainment staff try hard
The beach... Black sand is interesting but not a great beach for swimming, take water shoes if you plan on going in, plus there is thorn like small branches that fall from the trees that are all over the beach and if you step on them in bare feet it hurts a lot
A/C in rooms.....works on and off and asking for repair falls on deaf ears
quality of alcohol....a lot of people comment on watered down drinks...I disagree I think it is the quality of alcohol. I saw the bar tenders open up several new bottles that were sealed. They poor a lot of alcohol in the small glasses but don't really feel the affects
Beer...only 1 choice Imperial, while it's a good tasting beer more than 1 choice would be good
Night life.....This resort basically shuts down at 11pm The only place to get a drink after the shows end is the disco which is Mexican restaurant after hours. The disco sucks and stinks badly of septic
provide a coffee maker in room but no coffee !!!!!! weird


The ugly
The women's bathrooms in the buffet area and Mexican/disco .....disgusting frequently out of TP and often flooding, ceiling is falling down avoid at all costs, use the small bathroom beside pool

Tips..... don't expect anything but a 3.5 star at best and you won't be disappointed we enjoyed this resort because we knew what we were paying for, exceeded our expectations based from reviews
Bring your own cups for the bar, glasses are very small
Bring your own soap/shampoo/conditioner and towel that way if they are not available or poor quality or not replaced it's not a big deal
Book your tours through CostaRicaBestrips yes this is spelt wrong but that is how it is Ariel will look after you and make it how you want them. highly recommend them
wear footwear at the beach at all times
Bring a water bottle, they give you 2 small bottles in your fridge and that's it, but lots of water jugs around resort to refill
If you go fishing you can ask at the buffet and they will cook the fish you catch.....amazing preparation and service tip the staff/chef so worth it :) +++++++
resort gets very busy with locals on weekends a good time for tours to avoid the crowded resort but everybody is always friendly and still fun to meet new friends

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onoway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had always dreamed of a trip to Costa Rica and the resort of Allegro Papagayo made this possible. We arrived New Year's Eve and was amazed at the fireworks show we had for celebrating our first night. A 15 minute show that was impressive.

We spent our mornings at the beach and had the Howler monkeys calling everyday, herons fishing on the beach and of course the white face monkeys that arrive everyday to play in the trees at the beach.

The food was great and staff around the resort.

The rooms are very simple but clean. There are certainly areas of the resort that are aged and look worn but overall we could overlook this and really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Hotel was not too bad. The salads and fruits were good, the staff was very friendly and fun, the beach and view was gorgeous. However, you don’t come to Costa Rica to lie on a plastic beach bed all day. It is a beautiful country and there is so much to explore and discover. For our week there, we booked 6 days of excursions, so we did not spend much time at the hotel.

We booked our trips through CostaRicaBestrips from Canada. We were two families traveling, with kids, so we wanted to be able to customize our private trip the way we wished. I recommend anybody wanting to see the country to book your trips at home, and not at the hotel, so you have your trip planned out beforehand. Our guides were very knowledgeable and friendly, and showed us the most beautiful sites. We went ziplining, white water rafting, horse back riding, volcano climbing, hiking and so much more. It was an unforgettable experience! CostaRicaBestrips is a great company if you want to see Costa Rica beyond the hotel pool. I strongly urge, if you are visiting this incredible country, to go out and see it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Allegro Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Papagayo

Address: Playa Manzanillo | P.O. Box 48-5000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Allegro Papagayo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Allegro Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegro Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo Costa Rica
Allegro Papagayo Gulf Of
Allegro Papagayo Occidental
Costa Rica Occidental
Occidental Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allegro Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.