We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 3 star resort thats for sure...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Allegro Papagayo

Save Saved
You added Allegro Papagayo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Allegro Papagayo
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Manzanillo | P.O. Box 48-5000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Alberta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not a 3 star resort thats for sure...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The room itself was alright and the view was absolutely beautiful but the resort seemed run down and the service was not the greatest (especially the lobby staff). Shuttle service was shut down from 11 pm to 6 am... so if you have a very early excursion you will be walking up that hill to the lobby. The week I was there was right before they started the renos, and there wasn't too many people at the resort so they closed the buffet and opened the a la carte restraunts up not giving people the choice, the snack bar wasnt even open! On the plus side we did complain to one of the managers and he did have the chef make us anything we wanted as we had kids that would not eat mexican food(they served mexican twice that week). To top off our experience at this resort, when we checked out they tried to charge us for phone calls that we did not make, we warned some friends beforehand and of course the lobby staff tried that exact same scam on them as well.

Absolutely loved Costa Rica but would not go back to this resort!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Allegro Papagayo, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear redtaz,

Thank you so much for taking your time to give us your feedback on your recent stay at Allegro Papagayo.

We have noted each point you have raised and would like to apologize for an experience which left you with dissatisfaction. Please rest assured, your feedback has been raised up to the management team and concerned departments to rectify the problems.

I hope you would give us the opportunity of welcome you back once the rennovations are completed and gain your trust and confident again.

We thank you for your valuable feedback as it helps us in driving our standards to the best.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    502
    359
    236
    205
See reviews for
371
628
34
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our room was very adequate and had a great view of the pool and the bay. The best thing about this resort is the friendliness of the staff. The waiters in the main dining area are very friendly and helpful, but understaffed. The 2 specialty restaurants were closed 2 of the 3 nights we were there and on the third night the Tex-Mex restaurant opened but the main dining room closed - and I don't really like Tex-Mex food, but had no choice. Didn't always get that warm fuzzy feeling that facilities were clean, and they were definitely showing age (see photo of table and napkin).
The entertainment staff do an energetic show at night, but during the days they are best at playing Hide and Seek - they hide and guests try to find them. In fairness, one of them told me that they work 9 a.m. to 11 p.m., so I can understand being tired. Activities could be better managed, i.e., if they're trying to gather people to play pool volleyball when it's scheduled at 10 a.m., they would probably be more successful if they would make an announcement over the loudspeaker and then go to where the pool volleyball net is. Instead, they stand on the far side of the pool near the stage and wait for guests to come there, but since guests don't know to do that, no one or only a few show up and then the staff cancel the activity because there's not enough interest. Very frustrating!
The facilities are pretty run down and not well maintained. The pool water was cloudy the entire time we were there and had lots of crud floating on the surface. Staff manually skimmed the water once or twice a day, but it did not seem like the pool filtration system was working. It was too bad because the pool would have been very inviting. There was a gigantic pair of men's Calvin Klein briefs on a pool lounger the entire time we were there (see photo), even though I did see staff straightening up and collecting cups and plates each evening. It was gross!
Our first sight of their ping pong table on the beach was a surprise (see photo), but then we found out they have another one that they can set up in the amphitheater. You should bring your own balls though, because both of the ones they put out to play with were dented and one was cracked (see photo). That did make for an interesting game.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Allegro Papagayo, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Sue T,

Thank you for sending us your comments. I’m glad to read that you enjoyed your room and the friendly service that our staff provide; however I’m saddened to know that we did not meet your expectations overall. I’ve discussed your comments with our housekeeping manager to review your comments about the cleanliness of our resort and I assure you that measures will be taken to improve our standards. Also, please know that we’re renovationg our property and refreshing our grounds to improve the guest experience.

I’m concerned by your experience with our restaurants and reviewed this with our food and beverage manager and executive chef, as they are always looking for ways to improve our offerings and service.

I’ve addressed your comments about our entertainment with the Fun Club manager, as his team typically works very hard to organize a variety of activities and contests during the day.

We hope to have the opportunity to demonstrate our high standards of quality during your next visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations given the grumpy reviews about the hills and black sand beach. There is nothing about the black sand that a pair of sandals doesn't solve. You may want to bring a pair that stays on so you can wear them right into the water, otherwise just kick of the flip flops and toss them a bit upbeach out of the waves. As for the hills, there is one steep one so perhaps those complainers didn't realize there are also low- slope switchbacks? In any case the shuttle runs regularly. We found the food better than the three stars we stayed at in Ocho Rios, Jamaica and Varedaro, Cuba - neither of those offered fish and the Allegro had beef/pork, chicken and fish everyday. Our week was made even more special for having included Easter weekend as the hotel was full of lively and loving Tico families who were very friendly. Do not write this one off.

Room Tip: The terraces are such that even some first floor rooms have an ocean view; we lucked out in 614. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I came here with one of my best friends last June. It was a part of a JetSet vacation package. We didn't really have a choice of where to stay, this was a part of the deal. We are both in our late 20s and were looking for a relaxing trip filled with food, drinks, and a few adventures. We are both low budget travels so our expectations were set pretty low. This place, just like most in Costa Rica, was special because of the people who work there. My best advice is to stay here knowing that while this is no 5 star resort, you can really have a great experience by getting to know the locals.

RESERVATION RESTAURANTS:
These are included in the all-inclusive deal, you just have to make a reservation even though when I went in June, both places were empty. I thought the food and selection was better at the buffet, but if you want something different than it's worth it. I'd have to say the food was altogether not really the highlight of Costa Rica.. until we splurged and made a reservation at the 4 Seasons that kind of overlooks this resort and the Bahia Culebra. If you rent a car and want to have a really good meal, call there and make a reservation. Get the ceviche.

POOL:
The pool is massive and shallow so you can grab a drink from the pool bar and wade around. The activities team try their hardest to get people to join various games in the water. The biggest issue I had with the pool is that it's only open until around 6pm. It's such a tease to go out at night and see this beautifully lit pool and find out you can't go for an evening swim. I'm sure it has to do with being understaffed.

BAR:
There is only 1 kind of beer: Imperial, which is fine because I really liked it. The drink menu is kind of a smorgasbord, lots of different kinds of drinks using canned fruit juices. I'd recommend sticking to the beer! They have pool tables and Foosball.

ACTIVITIES/EXCURSIONS
Definitely sign-up to take the "ferry" to the white sand beach, but be prepared to wade into the water about chest-deep to get into the boat. NO ONE informed us of this, so thankfully i didn't have a lot of stuff with me, I had to hold it over my head to get to the boat. The snacks they serve you are better used to feed the Coatis and Raccoons. You come back to the resort in the afternoon, right when it's white-face monkey feeding time!(rab a banana from the buffet)

We also signed up for a river float trip through Charlie's Adventures.. we KNEW we were probably spending double what it should have been, but honestly, it was worth it for how convenient everything was.

Overall, I'd say if you're expecting a luxurious resort with dreamy rooms, incredible cuisine, and impeccable cleanliness, you probably wouldn't like this place (but then again a lot of the resorts are like this so maybe Costa Rica isn't for you) If you want a memorable trip filled with the most wonderful people and sites, then this hotel not so bad.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We arrived on 3/31/13 and were told the hotel is shutting down for renovations in a week...which was a few years too late! Don't expect a pampering experience...the bathrooms have no bathtubs; only dingy showers. Our a/c went out 2 nights out of the 6 we were there. The food variety was horrible...rice and pasta everyday. They only opened the ala carte restaurants after half of the guests complained for 3 days straight. The kids "activities" are a joke! ...they ask the kids what they want to do, then the staff plays with them...not much organization to that. On a better note...The staff works hard, but just so little to work wiht! Playing with the monkeys on the beach make you forget some of the disappointments from the resort.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a beach view; 2nd and third floors are the best and Bldg 10 had a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Allegro Papagayo, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear EdB26,

Your experience was beneath the standards that we set for ourselves, and for this I apologize. Feedback like yours in how we improve our service and coach our team so that we may prevent errors in the future. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the service for which we are known for and make you have unforgettable vacations with us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very hard working staff! Especially the waiters! They could use more help! Owners cheap out and take advantage of the staff by making them run their butts off to the point of exhaustion in that heat! Don't use Charlies Adventures...I cancelled a dive trip because of very poor visability (don't plan to dive here) and they "said" they refunded me but I will now have to fight for the refund. Great spot. Ignore poor comments about the hill because you never have to walk due to the shuttle every few minutes. No ATM and 20 mins. cab ride to get cash or anything else. Food was very good! Bring enough sunscreen because they charge $25 for it in their giftshop! If your drink of choice is white wine it is not......tastes like an apple cider(which I don't prefer to drink). You must say "with rum" or you get your drink without...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

we stayed Friday to Friday 3-22 thru 3-29.....yes it was Holy Week and spring break.

Really enjoyed our stay with a couple suggestions for improvement. Very hot - in the 90s every day. clean and staff is friendly but not 4 star service
would recommend they open all the restaurants when the resort is even half full to give better dining options. like the free pool and games in the bar area by the pool.

we loved the swimup bar but would have liked to have it staffed a bit better late afternoon. we did pull our own beers a couple times as one bartender was working the swim up bar and the pool side bar.
liked that they had a designated quiet area of the pool but this fell by the wayside by Thurs as the resort got fuller each day. the monkeys came out in the late afternoon to get bananas from the kids. people fed them despite all the signs saying " do not feed the animals".

if you are from the US, be aware you will be in the minority, behind Costa Ricans and Canadians. There's no Splenda or light beer at the resort and they use local liquor brands - Costa Rican or Panamian rum. They tried to charge for WiFi but told us we could get a refund if it didn't work, which it didn't. you can get internet access in their business center. didn't understand why the lobby bar wasn't open at all. it had great views and would have been a nice place for a drink in the evening.

we did 2 snorkeling trips thru Charlie's Adventures and went to CoCo Beach on our own in a cab, which was fun. Ttrips were fun and food was good. One snorkeling trip almost went awry due to drunken misbehaving Americans who had to be rescued from a cave on the beach by our guide. they were very lucky Bruno is a good swimmer.

overall a good vacation and a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view was great but be aware you might hear the nightly show until 10 or 11 pm some nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allegro Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Papagayo

Address: Playa Manzanillo | P.O. Box 48-5000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Allegro Papagayo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Allegro Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegro Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo Costa Rica
Allegro Papagayo Gulf Of
Allegro Papagayo Occidental
Costa Rica Occidental
Occidental Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allegro Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.