We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience +++” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hopkins Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hopkins Bay Resort to your Saves list
Hopkins Bay Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 87 | North, Hopkins, Belize (Formerly Hopkins Bay Villas)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pay 4 Stay 5 + Free Perks
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Sherwood Park
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Experience +++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband, 3 children and mom spent 5 amazing nights at the Hopkins Bay Resort.
We staying in a stunning tri-plex ... absolutely beautiful. The view of the grounds, infinity pool, beach and Caribbean sea are difficult to describe in words and do them justice. The staff were so very kind and attentive. The Resort provided one magical dimension, however the Hopkins village and people were equally wonderful. The tranquility of the community was refreshing ... children playing, chickens wandering ... all very relaxing.
Our youngest son's Grade 5 class collected a shipment of school supplies that we were fortunate enough to deliver to the Hopkins school. The staff and PTA representative were very supportive and inviting. They gave us a tour of the school, which made quite the impression on us all. The pride was so evident in the pristine appearance of the students ...
We enjoyed an amazing day of fishing and snorkelling with Lucky Tours ... Lucky and his first mate, Monster Man, were so very knowledgeable and down to earth. Such characters ... this tour was one of our highlights! The various restaurants of Hopkins offer something for everyone when you are inclined to eat out. Driftwood Pizza restaurant on the beach, Chef Rob's and Love of the Rocks were hits with our family, all providing a unique experience and atmosphere. We enjoyed several excursion ... Lucky tours, Placencia, Bocawima Adventures for an afternoon of zip-lining as well as a day at the Kanatik Resort. We did have our own vehicle which allowed us a tremendous amount of freedom, allowing us to explore and make the most of our time in this little piece of paradise.
We loved our time at Hopkins Bay ... meeting other vacationers and getting to know the staff ... we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    40
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
84
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

As you travel down the dirt, pot hole road into a village of shacks, you wonder what you got yourself into.
But it doesn't take long for the smiles of these happy, welcoming people, to make you feel that you have found a special place to spend your vacation. The streets aren't paved, but kids play outside until after dark; just like the old days. Everyone says hello..........they all smile.
On to the resort , where we were welcomed by the staff in the same manner that the village welcomed us.
The villas were first class and very roomy. The view was spectacular out over the Caribbean Sea. The infinity pool, the gardens, the birds and the turquoise water...........I really am on vacation.
Wow, one of the best showers I have had............loved my shower.
It was an amazing week of adventure, good food and relaxation.
We highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins R, Manager at Hopkins Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for such a vivid account of what to expect in Hopkins. You were spot on with your initial thought of the village as many guests have shared the same sentiments. Like others, it is great to know that you were elated with the hospitality in the village once you got the chance to see the people and delve into their culture.

Our beach houses are aesthetically thought out to give you a feel of the local culture with all the modern comforts of home. We are happy to know that you appreciate our services, the adventure tours, our Rhum Shack and our friendly staff who have their own way of making every stay a little bit more intriguing.

We look forward to hosting you on your return trip to Belize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort St. John, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hopkins Bay resort for 3 nights. We had the one room suite, which was very nice and spacious. The resort grounds and pools were nice and clean. The beach bar was great place to have drinks and hang out. Rhum Shack Restaurant had good atmosphere and food. The only con to this resorts is that the ocean is cloudy looking and not very inviting. Overall I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins R, Manager at Hopkins Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. It’s always a pleasure to know that our guest are pleased with their accommodations. We’re happy to know you enjoyed our Drum Bar and Rhum Shack Restaurant as they really are great places to relax and enjoy good company.

Admittedly, Hopkins Bay Belize is located next to the river and weather conditions do affect the color of the water immediately off the beach. It’s one of those natural acts that we’ve started to embrace; nonetheless, we do look forward to hosting you on your return trip to Belize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hopkins Bay Resort Feb 1-8, 2014. The ride from Belize City airport to Hopkins took us 3 hours. We were a little culture shocked driving to the Resort. On part of the drive it is very desolate. I was hoping we wouldn’t get a flat tire! The drive was long but beautiful through the orange groves and Maya Mountains. When we finally arrived at the Resort we were pleasantly surprised, it was beautiful! Vilene at check in was very friendly and hospitable. Hopkins Bay Resort is very clean and pretty. We stayed in a one bedroom villa (2nd floor) which was perfect for us. We enjoyed drinking our coffee every morning on the porch watching the sun come up over the ocean.

There are two pools. I thought they were a little chilly. They were both very clean. Every morning you would see one of the crew cleaning them. I always saw the grounds keepers out and about raking the beach, trimming shrubs, cutting grass, etc. The Resort is very well kept!

The Restaurant was very nice. It is located on the beach with a thatched roof. It started to rain briefly and the staff quickly jumped to release the shade screens which blocked the rain. There is also a cute lounge area inside the restaurant to just hang out and have a cocktail. The bar is also nice. There is a swing that you can sit on while sipping on a cocktail. The food was really good and service was excellent and very attentive.

We loved the beach bar! Sherain was a delight to chat with. We had an afternoon snack in the bar and again the food at the Resort was very good. We ran into Sherain off property at one of the local places The Driftwood. She immediately recognized us and said hello. We had just come back to the bar to see if they found our iphone (yes we lost it!). We had been gone for about 15 minutes and they had already turned it into the police. We were shocked that it could have been turned in that fast! We were told that we could pick it up at the police station. Sherain was kind enough to offer to come with us to the police station but we did not want to impose on her. When we arrived at the police station Constable Meyers pulled up on his motorbike and turned over the phone. If we were in the states I doubt we would have ever seen that iphone again!

We took advantage of the free bikes that the resort offers and rode into the village for lunch one day. The roads are all dirt so it can be a little tricky trying to maneuver around the pot holes. It was a lot of fun and something different to do. The resort also offers free kayaks to use. You can use them by yourself or someone from the Resort will go with you.

Hopkins Village is very small and quaint. The locals are so friendly. I think we tried just about every restaurant there was to try and NOT once did we have a bad meal. Our favorite restaurant was Frog’s Point. Don’t get me wrong we loved every place we ate at but there was something about this place. We had recommended it to a couple (Gloria & Rick) that we had met at our Resort and ran into them at the restaurant (our 2nd visit). They loved it too!

Hopkins Bay Resort was a great place to relax. If you are looking for a lot of night life Hopkins Village is not the place for you. We were somewhat surprised by the remoteness of Hopkins, Belize but we loved our trip. It was perfect for us and what we were looking for. We do plan on visiting Belize again and will be checking out the largest island in Belize, Ambergris Caye.

One last thing I would like to mention, I had called the Resort (prior to arrival) to see what type of amenities they offered for anniversaries. Upon check in we were wished a Happy “30th” Anniversary. On the day of our Anniversary (5th) they put up a sign at the beach bar and also delivered chocolate covered fruit. Very nice touch! Thank you again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmopan, Belize
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

A true vacation resort. Very spacious, elegant, clean, friendly staff and fellow vacationers! the Caribbean sea is right at your door steps, can cook if you want, spacious kitchen fully functional. Words elude me in describing this resort, when you arrive there or make your reservations, tell them Earlin from A+ Computer Solutions in Belmopan referred you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins R, Manager at Hopkins Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Your amazing review is greatly appreciated. We are glad to know that you found our beach house to be well appointed and that our friendly staff and vacationers made your stay even more memorable. A stay at Hopkins Bay Resort is considered a stay away from home so we try our best to exceed the expectations of all our guests.

Additionally, we’re thrilled when our fellow Belizeans as well as foreign visitors think so highly of us and we look forward to hosting you again on your return to Hopkins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Very nice resort on the north end of the village. Super quiet. Two nice beachside pools, rooms are large and comfortable, grounds are pretty, and the restaurant serves decent food (breakfast was quite good). This was, however, the only place we stayed (out of four) that did have those little ants trailing around in the bathroom, so be sure not to leave any food items out!

Room Tip: Try for a room either center or by the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins R, Manager at Hopkins Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are happy to know that you found our property to be such a comfort with all its amenities and services. A stay at Hopkins Bay can be really relaxing and quite indeed as most of our guests spend their days exploring the jungles or Caribbean Sea.

Our apologies for the ants in your beach house, Mother Nature has its way of giving us sporadic invasions from time to time but we are taking all the necessary precautions to alleviate this issue.
If you are ever in Hopkins again, we do look forward to hosting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Rented 19bc right on the beach last 10 days of January. Wow, what a location. 10' to the water. Grounds are beautiful and clean as are the beach houses. Even the beds are comfortable. We were two couples and split our time cooking and chilling on the great veranda and taking in the sounds and views and visiting local towns, attractions and open air restaurants. Belikin, the best beer I have had in the Caribbean. We left feeling like there was still so much to see and do, awesome for such a small country.

One thing i wasn't prepared for were the "no see um". I don't react well to bug bites and i wish i was prepared for them from the start as i spent most of my time scratching myself to death. Bring and use bug spray before you get bit.

The unit lacked a number of utensils and household items when we arrived. I have stayed at many beachfront homes and this is a common problem that could be fixed if they just checked inventory and topped up missing items before guests arrived. Nevetheless, we brought a list of items we would like to the desk and they made no excuses and promptly started getting everything else we wanted. You could tell they even ran to the local village to buy some new things. Very much appreciated. They also brought a bbq around and charcoal for us to use. All the staff on the resort are great. Always smiling and saying hello.

The resort is in the little town of Hopkin's. They call it a "fishing village" but don't go looking for fresh fish. Had to go to Dangriga for that. While there take in the lively Farmer's Bar or as we found out Brothel also. Ha, check that off the bucket list. There are some great places to eat in town. A fun drinking spot is the Treehouse and hostel.

If you are just looking to get away from it all and want to go at your own pace it is perfect. It is located well to take in any attraction in the southern half if the country. The only real bad road is in Hopkin's, a real kidney buster that has to be the worse urban road i have experienced through Central America.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hopkins Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Bay Resort

Address: P.O. Box 87 | North, Hopkins, Belize (Formerly Hopkins Bay Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#7 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hopkins Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopkins Bay is an upscale Belize beach resort ideally situated on the Caribbean Sea near the Garifuna village of Hopkins in the Stann Creek District. Our private Belize beach resort offers comfortable garden and beachfront accommodation in a lush tropical paradise. Hopkins Bay Belize is the ideal spot where couples or families can enjoy a relaxing setting. Couples can enjoy a romantic getaway in a one-bedroom beach loft and families can make themselves at home in a two or three-bedroom beach house. Whatever accommodation you choose, you'll be just a stone's throw away from the beach and an unforgettable Belize vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hopkins Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopkins Bay Villas Hotel Hopkins
Hopkins Bay Hotel
Hopkins Bay Resort Belize

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hopkins Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.