We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belizean Dreams

Save Saved
You added Belizean Dreams to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Belizean Dreams
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 49, Hopkins 00000, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Hopkins
Page, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great time!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This resort was beautiful! The staff was amazing!!! They went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable! They keep the grounds in perfect condition!! Our stay would not have been the same or as enjoyable without Jose!! He is one of the best bartenders we've ever had!! Super friendly!! Super fun!! Great drinks!! From the first encounter with your staff at the airport, to the end, it was perfect. Our dinners were awesome. Even the fresh fish we caught one day that was prepared for us in your kitchen, couldn't have been better!! Our rooms were cleaned each day with great care! We felt safe, secure and as snug as one of your little beach creatures each day!! Many thanks to Jose, Ed, Arnol, George, Houstice & Justin for a wonderful vacation!!!

Room Tip: Our villa 3a/b was awesome!! Only thing that would have been better is the villa RIGHT on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    31
    7
    8
    4
See reviews for
53
116
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

What a trip! My boyfriend and I travelled to Belizean Dreams from Nov7-18th. We heard about it via the Groupon deal. What a steal! I was a bit nervous at first buying a vacation through Groupon but boy did this Resort deliver! It exceeded our expectations.
We stayed in 3A which is a one bedroom suite overlooking the Caribbean sea. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and clean. Loved having a balcony with a view. The housekeepers did a fantastic job each day and were very friendly.
The staff at Belizean Dreams is what makes this resort a standout. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were so very well taken care of. Thank you to Ed, Felipe, Jose, Arnol, Huestes, Naomi, and Stephen for taking care of our needs and ensuring we were having a great time. Everyone hear remembers your name and is so friendly and social. They go out of their way to make your vacation memorable.
Jose- hands down the best bartender ever! He makes a mean Coco Loco and has great stories to tell!
Stephen- you were our favorite server! Thanks for everything!
We had most breakfasts at the resort - the huevos rancheros was our favorite. Definitely try Love on the Rocks and Chef Robs while in Hopkins, and Innie's for some local cuisine!
We did three tours through the resort - snorkeling, Mayan ruins and the Monkey River Tour. We were happy with all of them. The snorkeling tour took us out to Coco Plum, a must see island paradise. We saw tons of fish, lobster, coral, got to hold a sea cucumber, and even saw a nurse shark! Ben was our tour guide for the Mayan Ruins and he was fantastic. Very knowledgeable about Mayan history but also provided a lot of info about Belize. Terry took us on our Monkey River tour which was great for seeing Belizes wildlife. We came face to face with crocs, tons of birds, howler monkeys and manatees!
Overall an awesome experience! Be sure to take in the local culture and relax beachside! Great place to travel as a couple or a family! We met a lot of new friends and had an unforgettable vacation! Thank you Belizean Dreams!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at a hotel nearby, but had a great time at the beach bar at Belizean Dreams. Jose the bartender was awesome!! He made some fantastic Coco Locos and Dirty Bananas. He was also very helpful in giving us suggestions for some cool spots to check out in the town of Hopkins. We had such a blast the first day that we made sure to return to the bar every day of our trip. It was the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the beautiful weather and scenery.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I wanted to write this review while everything is fresh in my mind. My husband and I are leaving Belizean Dreams today. As I write this I'm sitting at the restaurant overlooking the ocean. Not a bad view at all! I will preface my review with saying that my husband and I have visited several all inclusives in Mexico, we went to Costa Rica last year, and did our first trip to Belize this week.

We have been very impressed with Belizean Dreams. This is a resort that takes their customer service very seriously. The service was awesome, the resort very clean and maintained, and the food outstanding. We chose the all inclusive package. I do want to point out that the resort hired a new chef beginning of November to improve the restaurant. Based on past reviews and our personal experiences with other all inclusives, our expectations for food were quite low. We were in for a treat! The chef Luis has done an excellent job. All of the seafood we had was outstanding and their wine selections were good as well.

My favorite part of my stay was getting to know the other people staying here and the staff. The staff has been able to share with us so much history on Belize and helpful tips. I can't stress enough how great they all have been. Jose at the bar is an all out entertainer ( attn Management keep him on nights!!!!). Houstice, George, Arnold, and Ed have made sure all of our needs were taken care of and answered any questions we had.

The resort is pretty small. A full house is about 20 visitors. A full restaurant at the resort is 4 or 5 tables. Some nights you might even be there by yourself. With it being so small you really get the chance to befriend some of the other guests. We have gotten to know people from all over the US and Canada. Most of the guests are families or other couples. The ages range from newlyweds to empty nesters.

The only thing about our trip I would change is to stay longer next time.

Tips:

Bug spray is a MUST.

The roads are quite bumpy if you get motion sickness, bring something for it.

The showers run out of hot water quickly. Shower first and fast. Maybe this was just our villa, we never asked.

Bring change because its hard to find anyone to break big bills for you.

Everyone speaks English.

The women walking up and down the beach with backpacks are going to try and sell you stuff as well as children in the town.

Have fun and enjoy your stay!!!!

The Currey's

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, MO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We cannot say enough about this wonderful resort! We arrived in Belize City and were immediately greeted by representatives for our short flight on Tropic Air which was already arranged. We landed in Dangriga and a van from the resort was waiting for us and we began the drive to our resort (not the best roads but it was the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow we discovered)..well worth a few bumps in the road! We were shown our rooms and treated to a rum drink at the bar which was just steps from our room! The rooms were so nice, very clean and great views. We rented all three bedrooms. The top floor had a bathroom with double tiled sinks, king size bed, balcony, mini frig and microwave. Downstairs we had two more bedrooms each with their own bathroom, full living room area and full kitchen. A wrap around porch on this level with reclining chairs to sit out and watch the sunrises and the sunsets and just enjoy the beauty all around us.
Our first day the guys rented a golf cart and went in to the village to pick up a few things. We ate breakfast at the resort and dinner every night but one. The food at every meal was delightful..Make sure you try a lobster dish and go ahead and calorie splurge on the desserts, you won't regret it!! The grouper is also to die for! The wait staff of George and Hustus were fantastic! We wanted to bring them home with us. They are so friendly and eager to tell you about the history of their country. They were so attentive to every detail. One night we were tired and really didn't feel like a big dinner, so one of us asked George if they could just fix us a burger or pizza and he came right over and took our order while we sat on the couch and then delivered it to our door.
We took 2 tours, the river cave tour and a snorkeling tour. I highly recommend both! On our snorkeling tour with Captain Rojo the guide dove down and picked up conch and while we were eating our lunch on a private island (CocoPlum) they pulled the meat out of the shell and packaged it up for us and told us to take it back to the chef and have him prepare conch fritters and civiche. We did and the chef prepared the two dishes and served them as our appetizers with our dinner that night. On our cave float the guides carry our lunch in with them and we have lunch sitting in a cave. We heard so much history of the Mayan Indians and the culture of the people then and now. The best history lesson you could ever have!
The beach at the resort is wonderful and the ocean is warm. You do have to watch out for the nosee'em's(small biting bug) in the sand. We were told to just put baby oil on your legs and they can't bite through. Some of us were bothered by them and some were not! We brought bug spray and did use it some but we didn't find the bugs, mosquitoes or flies to be too bad at all.
Our bartenders Charles (why not, you're on vacation) and Hosea were great! I also have to mention Felipe, as mentioned in earlier reviews, so professional, organized and helpful with whatever we needed. We found the people of Belize so friendly, their english is so good so you don't have a problem communicating and they just seem to love to have the tourists. There are other resorts up and down the beach and we enjoyed walking in and looking around and even enjoyed a dinner at one of them. If you are looking for a relaxing place to vacation where they will try to please you in every way Belizian Dreams is the place! It is an amazing resort, the people are wonderful and the country is beautiful. You won't be dissapointed!

Room Tip: We had building 9A,B,C...wonderful location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had an AWESOME time! Everything was coordinated well and went so smoothly. When we arrived in Belize, our local transfer to the resort was already arranged. We took a short flight to the local Dangriga Airport where the Resort Manager was waiting for us. We traveled by van to the resort and he gave us a history lesson of the country and various cities/villages. It was fascinating!

Upon arrival to the resort, we were greeted by Felipe who is extremely professional, organized and helpful. The room was nice and clean. It's set up like a house with a full kitchen, large bedroom, living room and deck. The view of the ocean was breathtaking. The wait staff and the bartenders are great, especially George, Hustus & Charles. Breakfast and lunch are really good. Be sure to try the fry jacks and omelets!

Unfortunately dinner was disappointing most nights. Things are either undercooked, overcooked or overseasoned. We ended up eating dinner in the village a couple of times. I highly recommend Driftwood Pizza. If you get a chance to go on a tour, check out Benny's Kitchen. It's definitely one of the best restaurants there!

Speaking of tours, check out the Mayan Ruins and the Monkey River trip. They are great! Meals are included on both tours, but take cash for souvenirs. Be sure to dress comfortably, take tennis shoes, sunblock and bug spray. Actually you need sunblock and bug spray if you plan to just hang out at the resort. It's not unbearable, but you will definitely regret it if you leave yours at home.

If you are looking to shop, I recommend waiting until you go on the tours. They have a large selection of items. The village is limited and some of the prices are inflated. If you want to purchase Marie Sharp's Hot Sauce, (which is a really good sauce in the country) the best prices are at the Asian Market in the village. Even if you don't buy anything, you should still go into the village just for the experience. The Village people are very friendly. Everyone waves at you and English is spoken widely so you don't have to worry about language barriers.

There are a few other resorts on the beach. If you are looking to get a massage or participate in other activities like snorkeling, horseback ridding, etc., be sure to check them out.

Overall this was an amazing trip! The people of Belize are great, the staff at the resort are stellar and the country is absolutely beautiful! Enjoy! We sure did!

Room Tip: If you're on the lower level, you can hear your neighbors walking around above you. It's no...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We went to Belizean Dreams for our 1-year anniversary trip, and it did not disappoint. We were there from October 12-19, 2012. The weather and the water were perfect. It was a little windy and choppy the first two days, which caused the water to be cloudy but after a few days, the wind calmed down, and the water was like glass & crystal clear! Perfect for snorkeling right off the beach - we saw several starfish, conch, and lots of fish. Be sure to slow down and enjoy your travel companion, the staff at Belizean Dreams, and the people of Hopkins Village; it will make your trip 'unBelizeable.'

Here's a rundown of everything we enjoyed:

Staff: We felt like we were staying with friends and family. Everyone was so knowledgeable about the town, local culture, and history. They went out of their way to make sure you had a nice stay; we did not meet a single staff member we did not enjoy. However, we did have a few favorites. :) JOSE the bartender was always smiling, super friendly, and always listened to your requests for which music you wanted to listen to (and would even put on TV what you wanted to watch). MARIA, the bartender/waitress, is a little shy (so please don't mistake her for being rude) and warms up very quickly. By the way, any recent reviews about Jose & Maria are completely inaccurate. We spent our entire week with the people who wrote the review and know firsthand that they spent very little time with them and definitely not enough time to get to know them. JORGE, a waiter, is seriously so cute!! We loved our time with him; he will get so excited about a topic and will start talking really fast, we enjoyed it. He is funny and also very knowledgeable. HUESTES, a waiter, looks out for each guest to make sure they are fully taken care of, even if it is not his table. He would be absolutely perfect in a management position and we would highly recommend him for one. He is extremely funny and quick witted too. We thought ETZEL was so professional and very polite. He made sure everything we well taken care of (he even found us on the beach to let us know about our dive trip planned for Wednesday). CHARLES the bartender had an infectious smile. ALFONZO "BALL" took us on the Mayflower hike and was an incredible guide. BUT, our most favorite of all was the beach mascot, a black lab/beagle mix (we think?), Pork Chop!! Her name is actually Buffy, but only her mom calls her that (the owner of Diver Sity). Pick up some dog treats at the supermarket or give her some of your bacon and she will be your forever friend. If you meet Mia, a huge Rottweiler (or her mom, an even bigger Rottweiler), or a pitbull strolling the beach, don't be alarmed, they just want to play fetch or walk with you.

Accommodations: The villas are beautiful! Don't leave the interior light on by your bed or the bugs will find their way in, and they WILL bite you! There is plenty of hot water and the a/c works great. The rooms are cleaned daily. The beds are deceptively comfortable, they keep lulling you back to sleep long after you want to wake up. WiFi is available in the office, dining area, and the bar (even on the beach!). Blow dryer, soap, shampoo/conditioner are available in the bathrooms too. Be sure to bring lots of bug spray with high deet content & sunscreen. Our room had a TV, but we never turned it on. However, there is a TV at the bar & the bartenders are very open to turning it on any channel you wish to see (it is USA satellite TV) or they can turn it off too (which we preferred). Music is played at the bar and requests are taken for volume and style of music. Also in regards to a previous review, the music is hardly loud enough to hear it beyond the beach bar. (If you're looking for a lively bar scene, check out Coco Plum, an island about 30-min off shore from the resort.)

Food: A really good mix between local Belizean and American with a gourmet twist. If you catch it, they will cook it! Jose, the Chef, (or Jos"B" as we called him!) did a great job with the Barracuda caught while out diving. Our favorites included the Healthy Morning Blast with a side of eggs and bacon, the chips and salsa are amazing, the pizza is pretty good, the fry jacks (or, to quote one of the other guests, "Heavenly Pillows") were delicious, the bananas are super fresh, and the jerk lobster was very tasty, but very spicy!

Hopkins Village: If you're willing and able, we would suggest walking into Hopkins (instead of taking a golf cart or a bike) as you'll catch plenty of local gems along the way. It is a long walk (about 4-miles to the very end of town, one-way, but well worth it!). Check out Maureen at Iris' Sunny Side Up, she is great and can tell you a lot about the area. Alex (who is located right across from Maureen) makes some very nice local jewelry - coconut bracelets, shell necklaces, etc. Driftwood Pizza is everything everyone says it is - Delicious!!! Try the Hawaiian Pizza (coconut shavings are sprinkled on top!). Innies - we heard it is simple, but tasty. Shop & Save Super Market is nice!

Other Places to Check Out: The Sittee River Marina (to the left when you leave Belizean Dreams). Curve Bar, located at the Marina, is a great spot for a Belikin and has a fantastic view of the Monkey River. It is approximately 2-miles from the resort. Hamanasi is next door; Franklin is a great waiter and will greet you on the beach ready to take your drink order. It is quiet, peaceful, and relaxing! Chef Rob's & Barracuda Grill are yummy.

Diving: Check out Hamanasi and C-Dog for a structured, organized diving trip. It is perfect for newbies to old pros alike. Coco Plum & Scuba Steve are great if you know what you're doing and you just a need a means of getting out to the reef. They have a more laid-back approach.

Bottom Line - we had a FANTASTIC trip. Truly wonderful & everything we could have ever hoped for. We recommend coming with an open heart and an open mind to really soak in the local culture; you will not be disappointed. If your vacation time allows, go to the Belize Zoo - it really is "the best little zoo in the world"!! A must see!

Katie & Jason

Room Tip: If you must have a TV, kitchen, or a living room located in your room, upgrade to the Executive Suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belizean Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Dreams

Also Known As:
Belizean Dreams Hotel Hopkins
Belizean Dreams Hotel
Belizean Dreams Hotel Dangriga
Belizean Dreams Dangriga
Belizean Dreams Belize/Hopkins
Address: PO Box 49, Hopkins 00000, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#7 Family Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belizean Dreams 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, intimate Belizean Owned and Managed Resort nestled on the coast of Hopkins Village, southern Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Belizean Dreams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belizean Dreams, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.