We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and enjoy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tipple Tree Beya

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tipple Tree Beya
Save
You added Tipple Tree Beya to your Saves list
Hopkins Village on the beach, Hopkins, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hopkins B&B and Inns
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This place is so beautiful and nice. We really enjoyed our stay here and trish was so nice and enjoyable. This is a place to kick back and relax and when its time to get something to eat there wasn't anywhere that we didn't like the food.

Room Tip: If you get a chance to go here you will not regret it. The rooms on the beach are great and very rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    33
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
68
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The main building is of two storeys, wider than it is deep. On the main floor is a veranda that runs across the front with four hammocks, and three sleeping units. Two have interior bathrooms; I went outside to the back deck to enter my toilet, and my shower was out in the yard. The only thing I’d wish for is a light (e.g. a battery-operated closet light) in the shower, so I took to showering at dusk. I rather liked looking up through trees and leaves while in the shower! My unit has a small fridge, a nice table, some kitchen and eating utensils. There’s a small cupboard with a lockable drawer. The bed is a wide platform double (perfect for sliding a suitcase under), with a single bed cross-wise overhead. The temperature at night is cool – and warm – enough that a sheet is required. All the basics are covered: when I wished for a broom, I realized there was one; ditto for bottle opener. A litre water bottle is refilled with drinking water for B$1. A bowl of water sits at the back step to wash sand off feet before coming in. The sand itself is coarse enough not to stick, but not so much as to be rough. In walking up and down the beach, I learned that this is one of the best, due to diligent raking. That really helps make the place idyllic. It`s right on the beach, with the constant rush of waves, and comfortable chairs to sit in the sand..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

You can't get much more relaxed than laying in the hammocks on the front porch and looking out to the ocean - gorgeous setting. Having a fridge in the room was a nice plus. We rented bikes there that we rode to Sittee River - a really nice little excursion. Also took a good 1/2 day snorkel trip. The beach at TippleTree is clean and very inviting. However, be prepared for lots of trash along other parts of the beach and around town. Tricia and Doug were very helpful with any needs.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

After 24 years of visits to Belize this was my first time in Hopkins and I believe I chose well in terms of accommodation. The village is just a bit off the beaten track as it is best reached on a local bus from dandriga. It stretches for miles along a pleasant bit of mainland coastline and the Tipple Tree is very well located in terms of both beach and walk-ability to local bars and restaurants. Hopkins is a garifuna community and so especially interesting on Nov 19, but relaxed and fun year-round one would presume, though lacking in the sort of wine-bar sophistication that has taken root in Placencia. There are several large, comfortable beach-facing rooms in the main wooden house, each featuring a fridge and other self-catering facilities. Tricia, the British owner is both knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a great location in a very laid back little town. The owner could not have been nicer or more helpful during my stay. The town is a very short walk down the road, and the bigger resorts are a bit of a walk in the other direction. I was here during the Settlement Day festival, and there was a LOT going on. I assume it is quiet most of the time compared to that.

For good food close by, there is the upscale Love on the Rocks with fabulous seafood, or the budget Tina's (the one of the beach side of the road) with awesome local cuisine.

Rent a bike and see the town, go on a snorkeling trip from one of the resorts, meet the locals at a bar in town, or just hang out and relax!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I recently stayed at Tipple Tree in Hopkins and have to say that it was one of my best guesthouse experiences. We stayed in room 3 which included a double bed, a single pull out with a fridge, coffee maker and hot shower. The room and property are clean and extremely well maintained by hosts Tricia and Doug; the location is ideal and within walking distance to restaurants, a grocery store and of course you cannot beat the backyard- the beach!!!!! Tricia and Doug work around the clock to ensure their guests are taken care of in every way; from maintaining the rooms, gardens and beach, to providing clean towels, filling water bottles, and most of all being available to answer questions and assist in any way in booking tours and excursions all while supporting and recommending local businesses. Tricia was extremely knowledgeable and helpful and truly made our stay in Hopkins totally comfortable and enjoyable

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great value at Tipple Tree! I stayed in Room 1, the cheapest option, which included a mini-fridge, coffeemaker, fan, and dishes/cutlery. There is a private outdoor cold shower, which I found very pleasant, especially at the end of the day when the water was a bit warmer. There was also a private "outdoor" bathroom (you have to go onto the back porch to get the bathroom door. Sounds like it used to be available for campers, but now it belongs to room 1.) The rooms are the first floor, and Tricia's home is upstairs. There is a porch full of hammocks with a beautiful view of the water. The cabin that is available at Tipple Tree is behind this set of rooms so they don't have a direct view.

Tricia was very knowledgeable and friendly. They keep the place neat. She provides a small composting bin (for all the banana peels and pineapple rinds that inevitably accumulate), and also offers to fill your water bottles for BZ$1 so you don't have to throw away bottle after bottle.

Now, this is Hopkins, so you have to be prepared for noise (roosters, drumming/music, cars, etc), bugs, and bumpy roads. So, prepare as needed with earplugs, bugspray, etc. Actually, I enjoyed waking up early to the sounds of roosters! They got me up in time to see the beautiful sunrises over the water.

The only "con" I can think of is that to use the wifi it cost extra (I think it was only BZ$10 though), and it was quite slow - enough to check your e-mail but that's about it.

Overall, I loved it. Yugadah's, Innie's, Laruna Hati, Thong's, King Cassava's all had good food. Caitlin's Bakery is also worth a stop or two (just follow the signs). I had a great time at a drumming lesson with Jabbar at the Lebeha Drumming Center. I would love to go back to Hopkins someday, and I would definitely stay at Tipple Tree again!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tipple Tree Beya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipple Tree Beya

Address: Hopkins Village on the beach, Hopkins, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach in Hopkins, Tipple Tree Beya has 3 apartments, 3 rooms, and 1 cabana. Our AJ Palms beach apartments are for those wanting a little more space and comfort. Our guesthouse has lodging that is simple, clean,and comfortable. Local tour guides provide snorkeling, fishing, reef, and jungle tours.See you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tipple Tree Beya Belize/Hopkins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tipple Tree Beya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.