We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tipple Tree Beya

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tipple Tree Beya
Hopkins Village on the beach, Hopkins, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hopkins B&B and Inns
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012 via mobile

We would certainly recommend Tipple tree to others; for the price it really can't be beat. Enjoy your own stretch of immaculate beach or swing in a hammock and read, at this sweet oasis in Hopkins.

We spent 3 nights at Tipple Tree and were very happy with all aspects of our stay. Tricia was a friendly, warm and knowledgable host. The rooms are cozy, comfortable, and stocked with basic kitchen supplies (plates, bowls, forks, knives, etc) to help you make your own meals if desired (mini fridge too).

The location is great (just toward the south edge of the small town), and the landscaping at the guest house is immaculate. Tricia and her partner take great care of the beach and their surroundings. They have a number of environmental initiatives in place, and also seem to be quite active in the community.

Yes, Hopkins is a 'real town' as others have noted, and there are sounds from around the area that you can hear, but it didn't bother us at all and we slept better there than anywhere else on our trip through Belize.

Excellent service, rooms and overall value. We left happy and relaxed!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    29
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
60
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a place to stay at a reasonable price, closer to the village, by the beach & some of Hopkin's best restaurants (Innies, Yagadah, Watering Hole, Love on the Rocks) this is it.

Rooms are basic but beautifully made & very very clean. The host is very helpful & always available to provide advice on activities & places to go to in the area.

The only problems (but you are given fair warning of these) are the roosters, which will wake you up at 5 am, & the neighboring dogs, which seem to bark at odd hours of the night, sometimes through the night. But ... we would probably still stay here again because this is overall a beautiful place to sleep in at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

The hotel was exactly what we were looking for in Hopkins. It's simple but very comfortable, good value, and on the sand. Tricia was an excellent source of local information, and helped us arrange a wonderful snorkeling tour. She also helped us with a taxi from the Dangriga airport. The only negative is that the walls are a little thin. But luckily there were no roosters nearby.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmopan, Belize
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

My friend and I really enjoyed staying in the cabin at Tipple Tree Beya. It was both comfortable and affordable and only steps away from the beautiful Hopkins beach. Tricia was very helpful and attentive. We even rented kayaks through the hotel and enjoyed exploring the coast and lagoon.

Room Tip: The cabin was a good deal and we chose the option to have the futon converted into a second bed. Ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We found the Tipple Tree to be a good value for our dollar. It was good by Belizian standards but is by no means fancy. We stayed in the cabin which was a pretty simple but functional space. The floor and ceiling fans kept the air moving good at night and having a simple kitchen was nice in the morning for coffee and the fridge to keep beverages cool.

The location is terrific in Hopkins, a very friendly village with wonderful people and simple but good restaurants. The beach and property at Tipple Tree are kept in very very good condition. Morning coffee on the beach is as sweet as it gets.

Tricia, our hostess was terrific. She answered all questions prior to our visit promptly via e-mail. She arranged cabs and even bookings for our flight from Dangriga to Belize city. When showed up on the second leg of our travelers with an additional guest with us and she quickly had another bed made up to accommodate them.

This is not directed at the Tipple Tree but when staying in Hopkins remember that this is a real world village which includes dogs barking at night and roosters that start crowing 2 hrs before sunrise. Ear plugs for sleeping are a good idea.

When we awoke our last morning we found we had been bitten pretty good by some bugs overnight and saw a number of tiny ants in a corner and later in our bags as well. Other than this I can only say positive things about our stay at the Tipple Tree Baya

Room Tip: The cabin was nice but if I stayed again I would probably just get one of the rooms that face the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tipple Tree Beya. Tricia was very helpful and friendly from the get go and a great source of information.
The rooms were comfortable with a great verandah for lounging about in a hammock. We really appreciated little extras like a fridge and coffee maker.
Tricia and her husband do a great job of maintaining their part of the beach, making it the most beautiful stretch in the area.
We were also highly impressed with their commitment to running an ecofriendly establishment.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ignacio, Belize
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Each and every time I have stayed at the Tipple Tree in Hopkins Village, my experience had been great! Patricia (owner) has lived there for several years, and has extensive knowledge on the area in general. She is very informative and has great recommendations for dining, excursions, etc. The hotel itself is located right on a beautiful sand beach, which is always manicured and clean. This is a wonderful spot for swimming, as the seabed is very clean and sandy... Manaatees frequent this area a lot, and I have seen several on numerous occassions. Truly a sight to behold (not to forget the wonderful sunrises). The rooms are very clean and comfortable. I appreciate having a coffee machine, fridge, and kitchen items there at my disposal. A good sized veranda covers the front of the hotel (complete with several hammocks), allowing guests a spectacular view of the ocean, plus protection from sun and showers! In summary, a peaceful and relaxing getaway... the people in Hopkins are very friendly and welcoming! Definately a place I will always return to! Lastly, GREAT dollar value!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tipple Tree Beya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipple Tree Beya

Address: Hopkins Village on the beach, Hopkins, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach in Hopkins, Tipple Tree Beya has 3 apartments, 3 rooms, and 1 cabana. Our AJ Palms beach apartments are for those wanting a little more space and comfort. Our guesthouse has lodging that is simple, clean,and comfortable. Local tour guides provide snorkeling, fishing, reef, and jungle tours.See you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tipple Tree Beya Belize/Hopkins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tipple Tree Beya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tipple Tree Beya to your Saves list