We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almond Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Almond Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Almond Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Almond Beach, Hopkins, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
99 USD Ocean View Rooms
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Hopkins
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We purchased a jungle and beach package from the Ian Anderson caves branch and we were transferred to Almond beach resort. The transfer is seamless as well as checking in.we stayed at the craboo suite which was excellent.we even have a hot tub on the patio overlooking the beach.i had a dock massage which was fantastic and went snorkeling as well. The service is fantastic as I had to scan something to send for work and they helped me among other things. I would come back to this great resort.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    59
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
53
148
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

A very enjoyable and restful
Vacation. Thanks to Corrina Sawers
Other Managers and Staff for making our stay so comfortable.Great activities during the day, fabulus buffet dinners at night. We also enjoyed the champyne and Fireworks on New Years Eve.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Almond Beach resort is part of the larger resort Jaguar Reef. Both hotels are part of the exact same check in, reception, and share restaurants, pools and amenities. Almond beach is located at the southern end of the Hopkins hotel beach area where it is near a few other standard and dive specialty resorts and restaurants. Hopkins itself is a small village on the ocean in Belize that is accessible by one of several dirt roads that are roughly 3-5 miles from paved roads. Hopkins village itself is about 1 mile north of Almond beach and is accessible by walking, bikes (from the resort) or by golf cart rental directly across the street ($10/hr).

Check In:
The check in process at Almond beach is pretty painless. On arrival you will be given some information papers to fill out, liability waivers to fill out and some information on the resort. No credit card was required on check in. Once that paperwork is filled out they retrieve a welcome beverage from the bar for you and explain the resort layout, tour info, dining options and pool information. After this is explained they take you to your rooms where your bags are already waiting.

One odd item: They offered us a drink package at check in for $180 USD. We jumped on this but did not fully understand what it covered (our fault). At the end of the trip it appears they just deducted the $180 from our drink bill (odd). If you are thinking of doing the drink package have them explain exactly what you are getting.

Rooms:
I can only speak for our specific room (beach from casitas) which were awesome! They were right on the beach with porches right out to the sand and water (see my pictures). The rooms were well appointed with TV, air conditioning, indoor and outdoor showers, small fridge, and a coffee maker. These rooms were above what I would consider for a 3 star resort, more like 4. My only personal complain on these rooms is that our had a warped entrance door that was very difficult to close all the way. Some people may want to ask for one of these units away from the pool as two of them border the pool area. WiFi is not available in any of the rooms best we could tell with WiFi in the lobby and the main pool area only.. All in all the beach front casitas are excellent and very much recommended.

Pool:
There are 2 pools, 1 small shallow pool for kids and one infinity adult pool with a sunken swim up bar. We only utilized the infinity pool which was always clean with free sun loungers, music at a reasonable volume and plenty of alcohol and booze served up by a great bar staff. Pool bar opens at 11am and closes at 6pm.

Excursions:
Almond beach can provide a number of close tours (zip lining, fishing, Belize Zoo) and far tools (Jungle adventure tours, repelling, cave tubing, etc. We chose to use them for the zip-lining tour which was well organized and a blast (also reasonably priced). They run tours on a daily basis with 1-4 tours being offered daily so figure out what you want to do when you get there.

Food:
We only chose to eat at the main restaurant on resort (as most people). The food was always very good although there was a bit of inconsistency in certain meals from day to day. All in all the food was good/above average. Their main lunch menu consists of grilled fish, burgers, sandwiches, and other lunch fair. Prices were reasonable at $10-14 USD/entrée. Dinner menu changed nightly and everything we had was very good. Some items off the lunch menu also appeared available on the dinner menu.

Town:
The town of Hopkins is small, quaint and authentic. It has multiple beach bars and restaurants in the town which is rustic but has a really nice charm. All of the locals we met were very nice and accommodating. Everyone appeared 100% genuine wherever we went. Rent a golf cart or take the bikes in during the day for lunch and a few drinks.

Misc:
There are 2 very close beach restaurants (Chef Rob’s and Barracuda’s) we ate at both and they were both very good (especially chef Rob’s).

Depending on season there can be mosquitos so bring good spray. See my comment above

regarding Almond Beach drink packages; they don’t appear to be worth it.

Rent golf carts across the street to go into town. Check out the Pizza shack on the other end of town, but only do this by bike or cart.

The main pool bar has a potent coconut rum drink that comes in a coconut, check it out.

The beach front Casitas are the room to choose (see photos)

Room Tip: The beach front casitas are gorgeous and worth the extra money. You may want to ask for the one away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at the Almond Beach Resort over Christmas. We had a general idea of what the property and area was like but were very surprised on our arrival. We really had no expectations of the place as it is in an area that is a bit off the beaten path. The Ocean view luxury room we booked was extremely spacious and very well appointed. Likely the biggest shower we have ever had in a room! The place was at full capacity but there was never a feeling of being overcrowded. At any time we needed anything there was a member of the staff that was willing to happily help. Can't get that service at any mega AI resort! Being active people, tours were a must for us and the front desk had all the answers and made things very easy to book. For us touring Mayan ruin sites, jungle walks and cave tubing were a must and all were very enjoyable. The main thing on all of the tours that are exceptional is that the guides were not only knowledgeable but really cared about what they do. In particular a great deal of care was given on connecting Belize's Mayan past with the Mayans of the present.

The other part of the area that is terrific is simply getting out and walking. Hopkins is a wonderful village with friendly people. The restaurants around the village are first rate. Simply going into the village and having a snack and visiting with the locals was excellent. No matter where we found ourselves we were at ease. For anyone who wants to see the Caribbean in a laid back way this is the area and resort for you! There are too many staff members to thank. So thanks to all for a truly perfect week.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We brought our entire family to Almond Beach to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary over Christmas. It was 7 beautiful days and the wonderful thing was that we felt safe that our four grand-children, ages 7 thru 12, could wander the area safely and we didn't need to worry about them. The bartender at the Tiki Bar even knew them on a first name basis -- that's how friendly this place is.
And the maids created floral decorations on our bedspread and created sculptures with the towels for our anniversary. Truly a special touch that was amazing!
I'm now back on a diet -- the food was amazing! Different food selections each meal so I usually had different choices every meal. Naturally the children had more fussy food desires and the staff created items that met their particular wants. Sometimes the food service wasn't as prompt as you would find in a fancy resort but it never really bothered us and it did get better as the week progressed. The food was always great, it just occassionally took a bit longer than we expected -- but we were on vacation and weren't really is a hurry. I think it was nice to linger at the table and have time for conversation -- and the kids simply went outside and played while the adults waited for the food to appear.
We did discover that the sand fleas (?) were agressive if you lounged on the beach but learned that they sell baby oil in the little gift shop and that helps deter these little beasts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have been to many places in Mexico and South America. Some were nicer but none were as friendly. Everone knew our first name by the 2nd day. But here is the reason why you should go here. I left a money belt in my room and did not realize it until halfway to Dangriga. To make a long Story short, we contacted the Resort, talked to Ashley and 45 minutes later the money belt with all several $100.00 in tack, arrived. These folks may never see me again and could have easily kept the money . Thanks to Craig, Emerson, Laurel and especially to Ashley. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Choose Adonai or Serpra rooms great view and close to pool and ttiki bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife, two teenage kids and I just got back from a week at the resort over Christmas. We had a wonderful time. Outside of a fitness facility and a casino, this small resort has it all. Friendly staff, wonderul food, spacious and clean rooms, direct acess to the beach and a launching pad to the wonders from Belize: from scuba diving to river cave tubing and zip-lining. Because Almond Beach and its companion hotel (Jaguar Reef) only have 73 rooms in total, there is a family feel to the property and you actually have a chance to get to know and spend time with other guests. That's a real plus for kids who are always looking for someone to hang out with. Also, with the town of Hopkins just a short bike ride down the road, shopping and meals off-property are an option. I look forward to going back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Almond Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond Beach Resort

Address: Almond Beach, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#6 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Almond Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Hotel of the Year in 2010, our superb beach location with custom designed rooms providing more than 20 different choices, from honeymoon casitas to family suites, wonderful private wedding locations and a long golden beach that stretches for miles. Our guests say our biggest treasures are our warm and friendly staff, and our superb guides who will take you to explore the reef and Cockscombe basin Jaguar Preserve, plus Mayan and Garifuna cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Almond Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Beach Hotel Hopkins
Almond Beach Resort All Inclusive
Almond Beach Resort Belize/Hopkins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almond Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.