We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home on the jungle beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Hopkins/Sittee River Road | Hopkins Village, Hopkins, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Hopkins
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home on the jungle beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

the place is absolutely beautiful, the room service is something you would expect at the Hayat and Hilton hotels. Never expected but it was nice for the beds to be turned down each and every night. The menu was very appetizing, and delicious. And the staff were awesome, very personal to all your wishes.
The scuba diving staff are excellent, especially C Dog. He's great, and Big Daddy, along with Sammy and the boat crew. They made feel very safe the entire time out on the water.
As for the land tours, Hartfield was very informative guide, when we went to the 2 Mayan Ruins, one being right on the border of Guatemala.
Most of all, everyone we came in contact in Belize were very friendly all the time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,147
    47
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
267
703
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hamanasi is a perfect Adventure Destination. I recently returned with group of divers and was so happy to see that what I thought was great, has gotten even better! Since my last visit, they have two new boats, and their staff is so nice and friendly, as well as acommodating. The food is delicious--we were there with the Full American Plan---Breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as coffee and tea. Even nicer is the eclectic people who comprise the guests at the resort. My first time stay was in the treehouse/. On this visit, we stayed in the beachfront rooms. Regardless, they are clean, spacious, well decorated (great pillows on the bed!!) We were there on a "Reef and Rainforest" package. This means we could dive 5 days of our stay or participate in any nmber of planned excursions--whether it was a Sitee River Kayak Tour or a Jungle Trek--they are all wonderful. The guides are very friendly and knowledgable and sensitive to the needs of the tourists. In addition to divers, we had a few "birders" and they went out with a guide and absolutely loved it!! The water was a little rough, but the dive staff brought us to a protected area to suit up and then brought us to the dive site. There were clean, dry towels on the boat and plenty of fresh drinking water. Our surface intervals were spent on one of the cayes where we enjoyed fresh baked cookies, fresh fruit and some sort of juice.
Hamanasi is an eco resort. In our room was an aluminum water bottle, which was ours to take. They supply shampoo and conditioner as well as locally made soaps. They encourage the guests to sort trash (plastic or paper sections in trash cans). We had made so many friends among the staff and other guests, that it was sad to leave.
I look forward to returning again next year.

Room Tip: Bring bug repellent, just in case. If there are any food sensitivities, just let them know. Travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hamanasi on January 2013 for 7 days. The resort and grounds are beautiful, the food was delicious, and the staff was always most helpful.

Our primary reason for picking Hamanai was to complete our diving certification. I am happy to report that they ENTIRE dive crew, including our instructor Tyrell was fantastic. Normally communicating in foreign languages doesn't worry me too much, but when it comes to visiting the bottom of the ocean, directions in English were much appreciated :). I never felt unsafe and the instructors were so helpful, even when I was quite nervous.

We also did the night hike with Golden and were lucky enough to see a JAGUAR, which obviously categorizes this as a once-in-a-lifetime trip. We were very lucky (Golder had only seen a couple in the park before), but even if we hadn't seen the big cat, tromping through the jungle at night was quite fun.

One thing we really enjoyed about Hamanasi is that the excursions are usually done by around noon, which leave each afternoon open for napping or reading on the beach - one of my favorite things to do.

The only thing that I was a little disappointed in was actually how "Americanized" the resort felt. While it was truly a relaxing vacation, sometime I had wished for just a little more adventure.

What to know:
- Treehouse rooms are secluded and recommended
- The roads are TERRIBLE - be ready for a few bumpy rides
- Most overland excursions include a long drive to get there (often 1-2 hours on dirt roads)
- The area is very safe - I went for a few runs into town by myself (28 year-old female) and never felt threatened at all

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were fortunate enough to stay at Hamanasi for 8 days this April. The resort exceeded our expectations (high) in every way. They really know customer service. We felt welcomed from the moment we landed at the airport to leaving on the last day. The entire staff would do anything to make you more comfortable or make your stay more enjoyable. We enjoyed both marine and jungle adventures. The diving was terrific and very professional. Great equipment and a clear focus on safety. Unfortunately, we missed the whale sharks, but may next time. Our favorite jungle adventure was the A.T.M. Cave exploration. Maybe one of my top five adventures ever. The week flew by and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This resort has to rank among the top in the world in terms of service. The service is impeccable--warm, caring, sincere. There were no requests too difficult, no desires unfulfilled. I have never experienced such a delightful human interaction which never, ever wavered from truly sincere.

Activities were top notch, guides tremendously knowledgeable and desirous of spending the day with you and giving you an experience you will remember forever. Whether touring Mayan ruins, diving on the gorgeous Belize barrier reef, or watching wildlife at the break of dawn, these guides are the best.

Accommodations were delightful. What is not to love about a stay in a treehouse in the jungle or beautiful room overlooking the ocean?

Oh yes....FOOD! Glorious, freshly prepared, locally sourced food cooked by chefs with great skills. Menus changing daily, fresh delights every day of your stay. The only thing you may regret from a stay at this paradise on earth might be the few pounds you gain, but it is worth every single ounce.

We have been gone one day and would return in a heartbeat; it was just that good. I cannot recommend this venue more highly. Do your soul a good turn and give a week to the joy of being in Hamansi and its remarkable staff.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our family trip to Hamanasi was spectacular. The treehouse room was beautiful and nicely secluded. Loud birds with the dawn each day but that goes with the "jungle terrirtory." The staff was faultlessly friendly and helpful. When one of our party fell sick they had the kitchen make some broth and plain rice and brought it to the room. They repeatedly inquired if all was ok and whether a doctor might be needed. The snorkeling and cave tubing were amazing. Horseback riding only so-so candidly. In retrospect I am glad that we did not do packages for food or adventures because (1) while the food at Hamanasi is great it is nice to experience other food (plus a not small number of menu items are not included in the package - hence an upcharge); and (2) 2 of our 3 adventures were not part of the package, which again would have been an upcharge. Also, do bring plently of bug repelant and use it faithfully each day. It is in the jungle, and bugs are a given. But be preparedto be amazed at Hamansi. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone without reservation!

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are in an arch around the dining area and pool. I was glad we chose the treehouse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We spent six blissful days at Hamansi and wish we had booked a longer stay. Just paradise from the moment of entry to our heavy hearted departure. In years and years of travel at high end resorts the world wide, we have never encountered such a consistently "perfect" experience.

The resort itself is a small boutique resort. We stayed in the treehouse freestanding suite. Spacious, well appointed, very comfortable.

The restaurant is in an adjacent lovely veranda clad building, open to the air and the sea breeze wafting in from the beach a few hundred feet away.

Nine of these makes the Hamansi special. It is lovely, to be sure, but its personnel...from the first person you meet to the lovely woman who tends your room will make staying here a highlight of your word travels. It is akin to being invited into a family of people who genuinely care about you, your family, your well being, who will assure that no request is too far fetched. The smiles are genuine, the warmth sincere. We know most of these people by name after our week here and will miss them.

Activities at the Hamanasi are fantastic. The Mayan ruins trek was akin to spending the day with a museum curator. The barrier reef trip was akin to having your personal Jacques Cousteau who patiently guided us through the reefs with the mission if showing us rays, barracuda, cuttlefish, lobster, and hundreds of bright colored reef dwellers. Our birding morning yielded 35 species and two massive crocodiles. Amazing sojourn!

Should I mention the food? heaven!! Beautifully prepared, changing menu every day, fresh meats and produce locally grown. That enough would draw you to Hamanasi, but the warmth of the people will keep you enthralled. This is a venue not to be missed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort

Address: Hopkins/Sittee River Road | Hopkins Village, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Belize on and offshore! Hamanasi is a secluded, casually elegant eco-resort. Unwind in spacious tree houses, beach front rooms and suites with AC, private porches and gorgeous hardwood furnishings. On property has a full service restaurant, bar, pool, lush gardens and a Gold Palm 5 star PADI dive facility. Onshore, explore Mayan ruins, Jaguar Preserve, caves, jungle rivers and rain forest waterfalls. All inclusive packages, Honeymoon and romance packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Hotel Hopkins
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Resort Belize/Hopkins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort to your Saves list