We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun/food at the Hamanasi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Save
You added Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort to your Saves list
Hopkins/Sittee River Road | Hopkins Village, Hopkins, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great fun/food at the Hamanasi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

The Hamanasi resort was a great experience for our whole family. Facilities are excellent, clean and well taken care of. Food is very good with different specials every night. Beach and pool are meticulous as are the surrounding gardens. Did some of the excursions from the hotel....guides were excellent, friendly and would do anything that you need done. Can't say enough good stuff about this resort. Would do it again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — The most friendly staff
  • Disliked — internet locations were iffy at best.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,218
    47
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
287
740
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Hopatcong, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2008

My husband and I came to Hamanasi for our honeymoon. In a word- this place beautiful!! As everyone has pointed out, it is located in a remote beach in the Stann Creek District. If you read every word on the Hamanasi website- ie: bugs, rules, prices, package structure- you should NOT encounter any problems or surprises. With that said- you should only encounter pleasant surprises and magical moments to forever remain in your personal diary called "life."
We stayed in a tree house, which was secluded and so clean. We felt like we had the resort to ourselves at times. If you are on your honeymoon, there is plenty to do...leave your book reading at home! Share some quality intimate time together....listen to the wildlife around you, go for a stroll on the beautiful grounds or beach, soak up the beauty and graciousness of the Garifuna people..EVERY local we encountered were helpful. very pleasant..I never felt unsafe at any time, nor would Hamanasi and their staff leave you anywhere if they felt you would not be safe...take time to learn about another culture, go on the excursions into the jungle, Monkey River, waterfalls, diving, snorkeling, bird watching- we saw @40 scarlet macaws migrate into the mountains of Red Bank, walk under a tree filled with howler monkeys, approached a curious crocodile by boat, fished snappers and barracuda with local fishermen, went diving on the Barrier Reef-saw amazing eagle rays and octopus, were educated by the very knowledgeable tour guides which treat you with utmost respect and care, were fed by an awesome chef and her staff- meals were never boring- you need to understand the remoteness of this place and the challenge they would face if they had much more on their daily menu (you are not on a Carnival Cruise with the endless buffets). Honestly, the focus of this place is not the white sandy beaches, and the swim up bars, dancing til dawn, and shop til you drop! It is a place for people who love adventure, have an open mind, don't drink a lot (drinks can be pricey and not included (read the web site) , who want to reconnect with their mate (no TV, cell phones ringing- AWESOME!!), need peace and quiet, need not to be awaken by kids screaming at the hotel pool, a place where you can actually here the small waves hit the shore from your tree house...We can't wait to go back to Hamanasi and dive the whale sharks.
Thank you Hamanasi for leaving a lasting impression and wonderful memories of our honeymoon in Belize!!
Life is what you make of it.

  • Liked — Quiet, calm atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas area, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

Just got back from a 4 night stay. My kids (11 and 13) and I stayed in a tree house that was gorgeous on the inside, roomy and immaculate. My mom had a beach front room that was very nice and convenient to the main building. The grounds are like a botanical gardens. But by far their best feature is their friendly and accommodating staff. My husband and I have traveled to many places in the world and nobody beats the Hamanasi staff!! We just got in the door and are already planning what weekend we can return.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2008

Although the majority of reviews on Hamanasi are excellent, a few make it sound just horrible. I have to say that a trip to Hamanasi is not for everyone. You have to realize that you are going to an eco-resort in a remote area in an underdeveloped country. That being said, Hamanasi is a beautiful resort with 5 star service, amazing, genuine and attentive staff, a relaxing carribean vibe and a good variety of tours.

The resort is very small, enabling the staff to provide individualized service to each guests. Each day, there would be a boxed lunch provided on the tours. As I'm a vegetarian, the guest services manager approached me each night at dinner, asking what I'd like for lunch the next day, then sent it with the other meals, labelled so that no one would "accidentally" get my vegetarian lunch (as is fairly normal with boxed lunches). One night my husband informed her that he doesn't eat mayo, and the next day he got a lunch packaged especially for him with no mayo!

One night, one of our waiters was at a local bar that we were at, and he asked some men in the bar to do some garifuna drumming for us, then found another bar patron to teach us the dancing that goes along with the drums. They seemed happy to share their culture with us, and not at all resentful of tourists invading their quiet little town.

If you're looking for night life, shopping or fancy restaurants, Hamanasi is not your place. But if you want a relaxing, romantic or family vacation with an opportunity to experience both the jungle and ocean, and to learn about local culture, Hamanasi is terrific.

  • Liked — excellent service, genuine people
  • Disliked — wish liquor was included in the all-inclusive price
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

What an amazing trip. The Hamanasi Resort is an incredible piece of Belize that is rich in hospitality. The staff is truly delightful. From the moment you arrive at the airport ( I didnt know they made runways out of dirt!) and are greeted by your driver (ours was "Boots" who made the drive informative and fun!) you are welcomed. By the second day the entire staff knew our names. My boyfriend is diabetic and I have to say we were concerned about the food! What a waste of brain power! Sheridan and her kitchen crew took care of him as if he was their own! From additional menu choices to special packed lunches for our excursions they never missed a beat. You feel like they run almost effortlessly but know that couldnt be true. The diving was fun and I did my open water dives for my PADI certification on site with a dive master ("Boss"). It was comfortable and relaxing with no stress. He allowed my boyfriend to dive with us (he has 150 dives) and made it a fun adventure. The rest of the diving was great. We took 10 dives over a week to different sites including a famous dive site "Tobacco Caye". The visibility could have been better but the sites were still nice. Turtle, reef shark, spotted eagle ray, lobster, barracuda, parrot fish, spotted drum, trunk fish, tons of jelly fish (almost harmless type), eel, and lots more were daily sightings on most dives. The reef is in great shape. Reef preservation is a serious practice here- no touching!
The resort is quiet at night and has no TVs so bring some cards, books, puzzles or ? Sitting on the pier at night with a glass of champagne was our favorite. We caught a lightning show that went on for hours in the distance. I would reccomend that you bring pure Deet spray. It is available from any pharmacy and works even on jungle excursions. We were the only ones on the Monkey River Tour that didnt get ANY bites. Just do it... Book the trip.... You will love Hamanasi. We cant wait to return. *Please bringsoft cover books to Hamanasi for the local schools and make your trip about giving back to a wonderful community.

  • Liked — Beautiful tropical grounds
  • Disliked — Slat doors in bathroom provide little privacy
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

This place is great. We stayed at Hamanasi the last week of November for the second time in as many years. We generally look for small isolated places that provide a quiet getaway and offer great diving. We’ve travelled to many places throughout the Caribbean and this is among tops on our list along with Little Cayman.

The staff is exceptionally warm and makes you feel at home from the minute you arrive. Everyone remembers your name, is genuinely friendly, and goes out of their way to help you. For divers, the dive staff takes care of your gear from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave.

The resort is small and very nice without being pretentious. We’ve stayed both times in the isolated tree houses which are up on stilts and surrounded by established trees that you can reach out and touch. The grounds are filled with natural flowering plants and kept immaculate.

The quality and selection of food at the restaurant is very good which is a good thing since choices outside the hotel are slim to none. The covered and uncovered dining areas outside are romantic and cozy.

A major reason we chose Hamanasi over one of the island resorts is that they offer a variety of land activities in addition to diving. Diving is very good along the inner barrier reef which is about 30 minutes away. On our dive at the 5th cut, we were surrounded by hawksbill turtles and large eagle rays. If there is a downside to Hamanasi, it’s that the best dive sites in Belize are an hour or more boat ride away and you pay a premium for these on top of the package cost.

We’d very highly recommend Hamansi to those looking for a quiet getaway and more than just diving.

Dave & Tori, Cincinnati, OH

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Long distance and expense to get to the best dive sites
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

My wife and I escaped our teenagers for an amazing and relaxing week at Hamanasi. Romance and adventure were the mainstream events. We dove the nearby reef 3 days - great divemasters & crews, beautiful sealife and coral. Two other long days cave tubing and at Maya ruins were fun and unexpectantly educational. Afternoons in the warm sun by the pool reading or on our treehouse porch in the hamock prepared our souls for dinner with newly made friends. The entire staff was warm, friendly and always available. You can't find a better place.

  • Liked — Private, peaceful treehouse, relaxed professional atmosphere
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort

Address: Hopkins/Sittee River Road | Hopkins Village, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Belize on and offshore! Hamanasi is a secluded, casually elegant eco-resort. Unwind in spacious tree houses, beach front rooms and suites with AC, private porches and gorgeous hardwood furnishings. On property has a full service restaurant, bar, pool, lush gardens and a Gold Palm 5 star PADI dive facility. Onshore, explore Mayan ruins, Jaguar Preserve, caves, jungle rivers and rain forest waterfalls. All inclusive packages, Honeymoon and romance packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Hotel Hopkins
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Resort Belize/Hopkins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.