We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vacation choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parrot Cove Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Parrot Cove Lodge to your Saves list
Parrot Cove Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   False Sittee Point, Hopkins, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off rooms- B'fast inc
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent vacation choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights in one of the suites at Parrot Cove. Our room included a queen bed, and a large closet, as well as a kitchenette (fridge, microwave, sink), and a seperate sitting area. The room opened on one side to the pool, and had a sliding door with a patio on the beach on the other side.

Everything about this hotel was excellent, but the service was especially worth mentioning. I contacted the hotel in advance via email to book the room, and was impressed from the first contact. Romeo in the front office went out of his way to answer questions and assist with our booking. He even set up transportation for us, to arrive at the hotel from another city in Belize.

When we arrived the service continued, from Romeo, Rob and Rob's wife. Anything we needed was provided, and I felt very comfortable during our entire stay.

The room itself was quite large and the bed was comfortable. The hotel is located on a pristine beach, with plenty of chairs to lounge. The town of Hopkins is by my estimate about 1.5 miles from the hotel. We walked in to town once, but it was a pretty long walk, so switched to biking the next time. I didn't feel comfortable biking or walking at night, so we did not eat dinner in town, but did some shopping and lunch eating during the day. One thing of note is that depending on the time of year, you may not find much open near the hotel. We were thankful to have brought breakfast food and our own snacks since the only other option was to go in to town for food. It's definitely a quiet place, there were a few others staying at the hotel, but I could go most of the day without seeing anyone.

In the evenings there are a couple restaurants that are walkable from Parrot Cove for dinner. We ate at the hotel next door twice, and we ate at the hotel restaurant on site once. It was declicious, with very large portions. I highly reccommend it!

Overall if I return to Hopkins I will plan to stay here again. The service was top notch, and the location was peaceful and tranquil.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    31
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
55
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We opted for this lodge kind of by happenstance after looking at the ridiculousness that were the prices of Hamanasi(sp?), Jaguar Reef, etc. We are so so so very grateful we ended up here! The hotel, restaurant, and dive staff is phenomenal at accommodating their guests since it's a smaller place, and we found ourselves just chatting with them whenever we stopped in the office. Our room was a little musty, but also extremely spacious. The bathroom was awesome. I loved that they had bikes for us to borrow free of charge to explore the surrounding resorts. We also took them into town one day, but I wouldn't recommend that unless you are used to bike riding daily. The beach was very clean while we were there also.

The only downside was the woman who cooked breakfasts in the morning. She was not friendly, but you could possibly chalk this up to a cultural divide or maybe a bad event in her personal life at the time. I'd prefer to give her the benefit of the doubt....but she really wasn't very nice. The food she cooked though, oh my, top notch! :) We stuffed eggs into our fried jacks and mmmmm!

Actually, there was one other thing. We noticed if we locked just the door to our room, it could be opened by doing the credit card trick. We used the deadbolt instead which wasn't a big deal, but we had to ask the maid to do it too, as the first day she only locked the door lock.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are the same. They all surround the pool. You could potentially ask for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I, along with our two friends had such an unforgettable Christmas at Parrot Cove. We rented the lower beach house, the ground floor of a large detached property opening onto the beach at Hopkins village, such a magical location. The house was well equipped, although a kettle would have been nice to go along with the coffee machine.

The integrated restaurant at Parrot Cove is "Chef Rob's". I cannot speak highly enough of Rob, the restaurant's patron and proprietor. If I was reviewing him alone, 5 stars would not be enough. He helped source fresh lobster tails for me to cook for Christmas Day lunch, with no surcharge. He cooked a delicious six course dinner for a packed house on Christmas Eve. He even gave the four of us a lift to Dangriga airport on our last day as he was going that way.

My only request would be a little bit more attention to detail by the Residential Manager, for example a very brief sit down to discuss the property and surrounding area on arrival would have been helpful. Also there was a slight discrepancy with our bill which was proving unnecessarily difficult to resolve, until Chef Rob stepped in to diffuse the problem perfectly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Wonderful Christmas at Parrot Cove. Excellent accommodations on the second floor of the Villa for our family. Great food and ambiance at the restaurant with Chef Rob and Corrie. Christmas dinner was an outstanding special six course meal. Office staff was attentive and accommodating.

Room Tip: The Villa has a kitchen with full size refrigerator if you have a family and want to prepare any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rock, Il
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent one night in the first floor of the beach house in November 2012. The house was very nice with a large patio that opened out on the beach. The staff was very friendly, and enjoyed one of the best meals of the trip ala Chef Rob. WE would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Small, intimate, personal, unimaginably good lodge. Service with a smile from truly happy people at your fingers without being obtrusive. Wow factor is off the charts!
Look no farther if all you want is a little slice of paradise.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is one of the more inexpensive resorts in Hopkins Village. We felt like we were the only ones at Parrot Cove. The laid back atmosphere was perfect. Chef Rob is the most amazing chef and I loved everything he prepared. We went fishing and he cooked our catch of the day that was incredible and unforgettable. Prices in the restaurant were reasonable. I recommend Parrot Cove if you're looking to get away from it all. They provided bicycles and kayaks for free. The marina is close and is a great place to hang out. They have a party where locals and tourists are invited about once a week. It's a lot of fun with a local band and good food with cheap drinks. I highly recommend checking out the Curve Bar at the marina. Parrot Cove is centrally located between the marina and the town of Hopkins. Since it's not in the middle of town it's very quiet. We rented a golf cart to get back and forth and it was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parrot Cove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Cove Lodge

Address: False Sittee Point, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parrot Cove Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beach just south of the village of Hopkins, Parrot Cove Lodge is a petit resort centrally located between the reef and the rainforest. Parrot Cove Lodge is the perfect location whether you are seeking offshore and inland adventures, or simply looking for rest and relaxation. We are the home of Chef Rob’s Gourmet Café one of Belize’s top ranked restaurants, and 'love on the Rocks' stone grill dining. Come enjoy the Caribbean breeze under the open-air thatch roof of our pier, relax at our fresh water pool and let your adventure begin as you explore the many wonders of Belize! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Parrot Cove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Cove Hotel Hopkins
Parrot Cove Lodge Belize/Hopkins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parrot Cove Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.