We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Friendly and Good Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parrot Cove Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Parrot Cove Lodge to your Saves list
Parrot Cove Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   False Sittee Point, Hopkins, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off rooms- B'fast inc
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Incredibly Friendly and Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We opted for this lodge kind of by happenstance after looking at the ridiculousness that were the prices of Hamanasi(sp?), Jaguar Reef, etc. We are so so so very grateful we ended up here! The hotel, restaurant, and dive staff is phenomenal at accommodating their guests since it's a smaller place, and we found ourselves just chatting with them whenever we stopped in the office. Our room was a little musty, but also extremely spacious. The bathroom was awesome. I loved that they had bikes for us to borrow free of charge to explore the surrounding resorts. We also took them into town one day, but I wouldn't recommend that unless you are used to bike riding daily. The beach was very clean while we were there also.

The only downside was the woman who cooked breakfasts in the morning. She was not friendly, but you could possibly chalk this up to a cultural divide or maybe a bad event in her personal life at the time. I'd prefer to give her the benefit of the doubt....but she really wasn't very nice. The food she cooked though, oh my, top notch! :) We stuffed eggs into our fried jacks and mmmmm!

Actually, there was one other thing. We noticed if we locked just the door to our room, it could be opened by doing the credit card trick. We used the deadbolt instead which wasn't a big deal, but we had to ask the maid to do it too, as the first day she only locked the door lock.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are the same. They all surround the pool. You could potentially ask for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    31
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
55
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I, along with our two friends had such an unforgettable Christmas at Parrot Cove. We rented the lower beach house, the ground floor of a large detached property opening onto the beach at Hopkins village, such a magical location. The house was well equipped, although a kettle would have been nice to go along with the coffee machine.

The integrated restaurant at Parrot Cove is "Chef Rob's". I cannot speak highly enough of Rob, the restaurant's patron and proprietor. If I was reviewing him alone, 5 stars would not be enough. He helped source fresh lobster tails for me to cook for Christmas Day lunch, with no surcharge. He cooked a delicious six course dinner for a packed house on Christmas Eve. He even gave the four of us a lift to Dangriga airport on our last day as he was going that way.

My only request would be a little bit more attention to detail by the Residential Manager, for example a very brief sit down to discuss the property and surrounding area on arrival would have been helpful. Also there was a slight discrepancy with our bill which was proving unnecessarily difficult to resolve, until Chef Rob stepped in to diffuse the problem perfectly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Wonderful Christmas at Parrot Cove. Excellent accommodations on the second floor of the Villa for our family. Great food and ambiance at the restaurant with Chef Rob and Corrie. Christmas dinner was an outstanding special six course meal. Office staff was attentive and accommodating.

Room Tip: The Villa has a kitchen with full size refrigerator if you have a family and want to prepare any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rock, Il
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent one night in the first floor of the beach house in November 2012. The house was very nice with a large patio that opened out on the beach. The staff was very friendly, and enjoyed one of the best meals of the trip ala Chef Rob. WE would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Small, intimate, personal, unimaginably good lodge. Service with a smile from truly happy people at your fingers without being obtrusive. Wow factor is off the charts!
Look no farther if all you want is a little slice of paradise.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is one of the more inexpensive resorts in Hopkins Village. We felt like we were the only ones at Parrot Cove. The laid back atmosphere was perfect. Chef Rob is the most amazing chef and I loved everything he prepared. We went fishing and he cooked our catch of the day that was incredible and unforgettable. Prices in the restaurant were reasonable. I recommend Parrot Cove if you're looking to get away from it all. They provided bicycles and kayaks for free. The marina is close and is a great place to hang out. They have a party where locals and tourists are invited about once a week. It's a lot of fun with a local band and good food with cheap drinks. I highly recommend checking out the Curve Bar at the marina. Parrot Cove is centrally located between the marina and the town of Hopkins. Since it's not in the middle of town it's very quiet. We rented a golf cart to get back and forth and it was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a nice quiet vacation in very nice surroundings this is a great spot. The rooms are not opulent but they clean and comfortable and good value. Chef Rob has an outstanding restaurant on site and the food is excellent and highly recommended (we caught fish which he cooked for us). We took a tour with Happy Go Lucky tours and would recommend them for a great fishing/snorkeling tour or Hopkins Underwater Adventures for diving. Romeo was a great host as well.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parrot Cove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Cove Lodge

Address: False Sittee Point, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parrot Cove Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beach just south of the village of Hopkins, Parrot Cove Lodge is a petit resort centrally located between the reef and the rainforest. Parrot Cove Lodge is the perfect location whether you are seeking offshore and inland adventures, or simply looking for rest and relaxation. We are the home of Chef Rob’s Gourmet Café one of Belize’s top ranked restaurants, and 'love on the Rocks' stone grill dining. Come enjoy the Caribbean breeze under the open-air thatch roof of our pier, relax at our fresh water pool and let your adventure begin as you explore the many wonders of Belize! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Parrot Cove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Cove Hotel Hopkins
Parrot Cove Lodge Belize/Hopkins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parrot Cove Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.