We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Friendly and Good Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parrot Cove Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Parrot Cove Lodge to your Saves list
Parrot Cove Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   False Sittee Point, Hopkins, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Incredibly Friendly and Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We opted for this lodge kind of by happenstance after looking at the ridiculousness that were the prices of Hamanasi(sp?), Jaguar Reef, etc. We are so so so very grateful we ended up here! The hotel, restaurant, and dive staff is phenomenal at accommodating their guests since it's a smaller place, and we found ourselves just chatting with them whenever we stopped in the office. Our room was a little musty, but also extremely spacious. The bathroom was awesome. I loved that they had bikes for us to borrow free of charge to explore the surrounding resorts. We also took them into town one day, but I wouldn't recommend that unless you are used to bike riding daily. The beach was very clean while we were there also.

The only downside was the woman who cooked breakfasts in the morning. She was not friendly, but you could possibly chalk this up to a cultural divide or maybe a bad event in her personal life at the time. I'd prefer to give her the benefit of the doubt....but she really wasn't very nice. The food she cooked though, oh my, top notch! :) We stuffed eggs into our fried jacks and mmmmm!

Actually, there was one other thing. We noticed if we locked just the door to our room, it could be opened by doing the credit card trick. We used the deadbolt instead which wasn't a big deal, but we had to ask the maid to do it too, as the first day she only locked the door lock.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are the same. They all surround the pool. You could potentially ask for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I, along with our two friends had such an unforgettable Christmas at Parrot Cove. We rented the lower beach house, the ground floor of a large detached property opening onto the beach at Hopkins village, such a magical location. The house was well equipped, although a kettle would have been nice to go along with the coffee machine.

The integrated restaurant at Parrot Cove is "Chef Rob's". I cannot speak highly enough of Rob, the restaurant's patron and proprietor. If I was reviewing him alone, 5 stars would not be enough. He helped source fresh lobster tails for me to cook for Christmas Day lunch, with no surcharge. He cooked a delicious six course dinner for a packed house on Christmas Eve. He even gave the four of us a lift to Dangriga airport on our last day as he was going that way.

My only request would be a little bit more attention to detail by the Residential Manager, for example a very brief sit down to discuss the property and surrounding area on arrival would have been helpful. Also there was a slight discrepancy with our bill which was proving unnecessarily difficult to resolve, until Chef Rob stepped in to diffuse the problem perfectly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingfoodie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Wonderful Christmas at Parrot Cove. Excellent accommodations on the second floor of the Villa for our family. Great food and ambiance at the restaurant with Chef Rob and Corrie. Christmas dinner was an outstanding special six course meal. Office staff was attentive and accommodating.

Room Tip: The Villa has a kitchen with full size refrigerator if you have a family and want to prepare any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptJohn315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rock, Il
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent one night in the first floor of the beach house in November 2012. The house was very nice with a large patio that opened out on the beach. The staff was very friendly, and enjoyed one of the best meals of the trip ala Chef Rob. WE would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardSleeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Small, intimate, personal, unimaginably good lodge. Service with a smile from truly happy people at your fingers without being obtrusive. Wow factor is off the charts!
Look no farther if all you want is a little slice of paradise.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiverDownAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is one of the more inexpensive resorts in Hopkins Village. We felt like we were the only ones at Parrot Cove. The laid back atmosphere was perfect. Chef Rob is the most amazing chef and I loved everything he prepared. We went fishing and he cooked our catch of the day that was incredible and unforgettable. Prices in the restaurant were reasonable. I recommend Parrot Cove if you're looking to get away from it all. They provided bicycles and kayaks for free. The marina is close and is a great place to hang out. They have a party where locals and tourists are invited about once a week. It's a lot of fun with a local band and good food with cheap drinks. I highly recommend checking out the Curve Bar at the marina. Parrot Cove is centrally located between the marina and the town of Hopkins. Since it's not in the middle of town it's very quiet. We rented a golf cart to get back and forth and it was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaraAnn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a nice quiet vacation in very nice surroundings this is a great spot. The rooms are not opulent but they clean and comfortable and good value. Chef Rob has an outstanding restaurant on site and the food is excellent and highly recommended (we caught fish which he cooked for us). We took a tour with Happy Go Lucky tours and would recommend them for a great fishing/snorkeling tour or Hopkins Underwater Adventures for diving. Romeo was a great host as well.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
10.6 mi away
Thatch Caye Resort
Thatch Caye Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
5.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
16.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
22.5 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
#13 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#5 of 12 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
5.9 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 12 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Cove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Cove Lodge

Address: False Sittee Point, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Parrot Cove Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beach just south of the village of Hopkins, Parrot Cove Lodge is a petit resort centrally located between the reef and the rainforest. Parrot Cove Lodge is the perfect location whether you are seeking offshore and inland adventures, or simply looking for rest and relaxation. We are the home of Chef Rob’s Gourmet Café one of Belize’s top ranked restaurants, and 'love on the Rocks' stone grill dining. Come enjoy the Caribbean breeze under the open-air thatch roof of our pier, relax at our fresh water pool and let your adventure begin as you explore the many wonders of Belize! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Parrot Cove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Cove Hotel Hopkins
Parrot Cove Lodge Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing