We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B and B Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Sittee River Road, Hopkins 00001, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 14 Hopkins B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best B and B Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My partner and I travel a lot. One trip alone we hit London, Istanbul, Abu Dhabi and Dubai. Our preferred accommodation is always a B and B. Caribbean Shores is now on our list for a return visit. It was perfect, not something that we say easily. The room was large, very clean and well outfitted. We stayed in the Seagull room. That's the room I want for our return visit. It faces the garden and beyond that is the main road traveling through Hopkins. At first glance, I didn't like the fact that we would be so close to the road but I quickly discovered that in the quiet town of Hopkins Village it was the perfect place to be. I would lay in the hammock conveniently placed outside our door, banana daquiri in hand, and watch the world go by. This shady spot was perfect place to get out of the sun after sitting by the pool or romping on the beach. Did I mention that the pool and hot tub are beautiful? The design is complete with waterfall and seats below it for a refreshing dip on a hot day. The beach, white soft sand and gentle waves, no undertow, no rocks, is only a two minute walk away. Really! The waves were bigger during high tide, late afternoon, so we got into the habit of doing our swimming at that time and finishing the afternoon with a drink at Joe's Place which is an open air bar on the roof top terrace of the B and B. They make the best "Dirty Banana" in town. actually you can get the best hamburgers in town at Joe's Place also. After a day of tubing through underground caves, a tour we were able to arrange at the B and B, we just crashed at Joe's Place for a relaxing dinner and lots of good conversation with other guests and local expats who like to come here also. Everyone is friendly in Hopkins Village. I don't know when I've met so many people, both tourists and locals, on a vacation.

Talk about full service! Joe and Cindy are the best. Nothing is too much trouble and Cindy has really thought of everything. The breakfast changes every morning, - fresh fruit every day and a hot, savory dish accompanied by all the juice and coffee you could want. The coffee could have been stronger. In the kitchen is a fresh water system where you can fill up your water bottles for free. That alone probably saves us at least $50. over the week, - it's hot in Belize. When you go on a tour or over to the beach you want to bring along a lot of water.

Cindy and Joe also have a large catamaran, the Utopia,for snorkeling trips. I think there were about 12 people on the trip the day we went and there was plenty of space for all. We went to two different sites where their snorkel guide made sure that we saw lots of fish. Within minutes of hitting the water I saw a trumpet fish and a puffer fish. The second site was much better than the first. The lunch Cindy served was amazing, - big pulled pork sandwiches in homemade buns, spicy cole slaw and two types of homemade cookies.

It was a perfect trip and Cindy and Joe deserve much of the credit for that. Forget fancy hotel rooms and renting an expensive villa, Caribbean Shores really is the best place to stay in beautiful Hopkins Village.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    6
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cherrylog, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The owners of the Caribbean Shores Bed and Breakfast are trying to get it right for their guests since they began less than two years ago. The breakfasts are wonderful with new items each day. I would not expect to eat any other meals, other than breakfast, because there are too many good restaurants around them. The catamaran that Cindy and Joe own is great. It was great wind out on the water and when they tried to use the sails, the crew could not get the sails set and had to abandon the idea of sailing which was disappointing but no big deal. The two spots that we snorkled were damaged from a past hurricane and had very little fish life. The crew did a wonderful job making sure everyone was safely in and out of the water. The food served aboard was adequate finger food and the service was great. I would recommend different floatation devices in order to snorkel comfortably. The life saving vests they offer were not snorkel vests and caused some uncomfort while in the water. Overall, our stay at Caribbean Shores B&B was very nice and we felt welcome during the entire trip. Cindy and Joe work very hard making sure each guest is enjoying themselves. The outside seating for breakfast was very nice and doubles as tables for night time enjoyment at their bar. They have an inside area for game playing and television watching on a big screen. The bar can get a little loud when the party gets going and there are a couple of rooms just beneath that area that could be bothered by the activity right above them. I would recommend that anyone going to stay here ask for a room toward the front of the resort, away from the bar. The bar is only open on certain days but games can be initiated each evening and the "corn hole" game seems to be one of the most popular. We played the game for an entire evening, ending around midnight with a grand champion team being named. The winning team consisted of Joe, the owner, and his teammate, a local young lady. Talk about local advantage! I could recommend Caribbean Shores Bed and Breakfast without any hesitation to someone going to Hopkins Bay in Belize. The catamaran trip is definitely worth the money and time invested and hopefully the weather will cooperate and you can get out to the really good reef Hopkins Bay has to offer. There are reefs, sponges and fish life that is plentiful on the outside reefs. And maybe by then they will have the kinks worked out with the boat and they can set sails. You become one with the ocean when the engine is turned off and the wind is your propulsion. While you are there, be sure to walk down the beach in both directions and eat at the various resorts that are along the beach. Chef Rob's Cafe, Baracuda, Love On The Rocks and many more restaurants serve fresh fish, beef, pork and vegetarian choices.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the front of the resort are quieter, even though these rooms are closer to the road, be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I had been to Costa Rica, Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico within the last five years. In Costa Rica, it was all inclusive, and I was dissapointed. In the V.I. it was cush and predictably nice but very, very spendy. Same in Puerto Rico. I liked Caribbean Shores in Belize because it was small, affordable and not pretentious with the same ocean, beautiful beaches, reefs and jungles. Just a great place to stay! You can get to know the locals in Hopkins (appreciate their culture) and it's not dangerous, but gratifying.The beach, hot tub, pool and good restaurants are all there. Even good pizza! Many activities nearby: hike, bike, zip and ride horses. Snorkel or sunrise cruise on the Utopia is a definte reason to return. Trip into Dangriga is bumpy but enlighteing and humbling.

The hospitality at Caribbean Shores, food and comraderie (including the birds,dogs and iguanas) is also pretty sweet. I was hesitant to share the Turtle Room with the next occupant. Kind of thought it was mine for keeps. :) I couldn't wait to open the French Doors to my veranda every morning to smell the fresh coffee brewing..and here the birds..

I'll be back! Thanks Cindy and Joe! Dont work too hard. Luv Ya, Vivion

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Cindy and Joe are totally committed to you having an exceptional vacation experience. They and the CBSBB staff always went the extra yard to accomodate any unique needs. The snorkel trip on the catamaran Utopia was better than our experience at the Great Barrier reef in Australia. You can't beat the Ziplining, Cave Tubing, and Mayan Ruins excursions for learning, fun, and personal challenge. The guides are supportive and encouraging to those who are daunted by doing things they never thought they would do; the nearby restaurants including Chef Rob offer memorable meals on the beach and sometimes had local dance/drumming for entertainment. The B&B itself is designed to be laid back, comfortable, and beach friendly. The town of Hopkins, its bumpy road, and first appearance is far from glitzy, but don't be deceived - there is smething real about the people who live there and the way they live life that you will miss when you leave. We are just grateful to Cindy and Joe and the people of Hopkins for hosting us.

Room Tip: Rooms are more cheery and homey than a resort style accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife & I along with my cousin & his wife had a terrific time at the Caribbean Shores B&B. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable, the pool was perfect and the upstairs breakfast area/bar was wonderful. The breakfast every morning was delicious. Cindy was very helpful with suggestions on where to go visit and what restaurants we should try in the area. We even did a one day snorkeling trip aboard their catamaran, the "Utopia", and it was fantastic.
Playing the bean bag (also known as the "Cornhole" game) tournament on Sunday night was a hoot!
We would highly recommend this B&B to all visitors to southern Belize.

Room Tip: Recommend a room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Mom and I stayed in the Iguana room right by the pool/jaccuzi. It was fabulous!!! Breakfast every morning was supremo. We did the day snorkel trip on the Utopia, a forty foot catamaran which had four bedrooms and two bathrooms. What a great experience, the food the drinks and the smorkeling were awesome!!! My mother is eighty and we got to check off one of her items on her bucket list. Cindy took us into the tropical Maya mountains to the longest zip line in Belize what a blast my Mom had. Thanks to Cindy and Joe Molitoris for showing us such a great time in Belize!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

As our second trip to Central Amrica this year, and our first dive trip together, Belize seemed like the perfect location. I stumbled upon a promotion on Living Social and from there we were on our way. The trip was scheduled around mysignificant other's birthday and Cindy and I exchanged several emails about a cake and suggestions for celerating the day.

On our arrival Cindy and Joe met us at the airport with cold libations and warm welcomes. As we drove back from Dangriga to Hopkins village they pointed out the sights and enticed us with their adventure story of how they came to move to Belizeand pursue their endeavor

September is off season in Belize and the week we travelled was actually Belizian independence day and many locals close up and take the week off. We were at first a bit concerned when we found out the neighboring dive resort was closed. However, all apprehension soon abated after Cindy's staff told us of a local who was available. Cindy made several calls and we took a trip to the marina and in no time we were set up with See More Adventres for diving the next morning.

The day was amazing and we were spoiled beyond belief. After a day of diving and making new friends. We were actually treated to an impromtu birthday party featuring the day catch and prepared by our dive guides.

In addition Cindy was able to arrange for us massages at the bed and breakfast and a day trip to the Mayan ruins Xunantanich near the Gutemalean border.

Hanging with Joe and the crew at the bar in the evenings was great fun. Breakfast was terrific and included as part of the room rate. Let me just say, it is not the waffle and juice of typical free breakfast. The aroma of coffee ticklled my nostrils and awakened us each morningThe room was clean and exactly what was advertised. We could not have asked for a more relaxing vacation or way to celebrate a birthday.

Cindy and Joe have made a Belizian dream and warmly share it with their guest. They are knowledgeable, accomodating, and a joy to stay with.

We highly suggest a stay with them as we hope to return in the near future

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sittee River Road, Hopkins 00001, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Hopkins
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful colonial style building with covered verandas, rooftop deck with ocean and mountain views, pool with waterfall, jetted tub and water slide. A large great room with full kitchen, big screen TV and game room with poker table. Great for groups to rent the whole resort, room for 14-20 adults and kids. Great diving, snorkeling, fishing, hiking, zip line, cave tubing available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast Belize/Hopkins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.