We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Verano

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Verano
Lot H Beachside Road | Sittee Point Phase 1, Hopkins, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Hopkins
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We traveled to Belize for New Year's and to celebrate my in-laws' 50th wedding anniversary. There were 14 of us (6 adults and 8 children) and we had the pleasure of staying at the Sea Grape home. The staff was incredible and the service perfect. Mary, the property manager, went out of her way each and every day to make sure that our experience was memorable. The housekeeping staff kept everything impeccable. Cheryl is the best thing to ever happen to Villa Verano! She especially went out of her way to treat us like royalty - cooking breakfast, making home made bread and muffins, etc. We felt like family by the time we left after our week. I hope the owners know what a gem they have in the house, the ability to privately rent it, and the service of the staff. I hope they never change a thing. The home was stunning, and everything that was promised on the website. The rooms were enormous - even with 14 of us, we had plenty of space. Martin kept the grounds in pristine condition, and was so friendly and kind to our children. We love everything about Villa Verano!

Room Tip: If you have a larger group, deifnitely rent the entire Sea Grape home. A house within a house and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElizabethD999, General Manager at Villa Verano, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
To your whole family it was wonderful to see family play and have fun together and it was an honor to be part of that special day. Thank you for choosing Villa Verano and we look forward to you return. Regards Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family and I went to Belize to celebrate Christmas and Villa Verano was excellent! The staff are friendly and helpful, the grounds are meticulously kept, and of course, you can't beat the short jaunt to the beach! The availability of bikes makes it easy to run into the village, which is just down the street. Mary, the resort manager, really made us feel like part of her family. Her daughter Maureen would provide our continental breakfasts (which consisted of delicious Belizean fruits). The entire staff was excellent and so amazing! Mary was very knowledgeable in how to experience the best the country had to offer, and helped us book a variety of excursions. Amenenties are top notch! If you're going to visit Belize, you must stay here!!!!

Room Tip: Room sizes vary. We stayed in the Penthouse, which was great for a small family or couple. Outdoor s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElizabethD999, General Manager at Villa Verano, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you. Great guest deserved great service. Thank you for being such wonderful guests and enjoying Hopkins and all it had to offer. Also for choosing to stay with Villa Verano for that family vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have stayed at Villa Verano a number of times over the last 3 years. I have always stayed in the seagrapes suite. Everything about the place is top notch right down to the last detail. The staff are friendly and helpful. Make sure to have Cheryl in one evening to cook you some Belizean cuisine. There are a number of great restaurants within a short beach walk. Looking forward to heading there again this spring.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

And looking forward to the next!! We are in love with Villa Verano and Hopkins!

Villa Verano: Every picture is accurate, you'll feel like a king/queen. Every person is incredibly helpful, genuine and pleasant, THANK YOU Mary, Paul, Martin and Maureen (we miss you!). We love riding the bikes to town, sailing lessons with Martin (on our own 3rd time out!! What an adventure!) and using the grill and hot tub on the roof. It's simply amazing.

The Barracuda restaurant is our favorite. We also enjoyed dining at Jaguar Reef and Hamanasi, all in 5 mins walk. There are a lot of restaurants in town as well, Iris's and Driftwood are top picks so far. We need another 5 trips to experience them all.

There are enough adventures to be active every day or just take in the amenities of the villa and relax! Having the games room, kayaks, windrider, bikes, pool, hot tub, grill and the amazing rooms are worth it all. Let's not forget the amazing beach, sunrise and set, snorkeling, swimming and fishing. See hgltours.com, you'll catch more fish than you could possibly eat!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and unique. Bring bug spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElizabethD999, General Manager at Villa Verano, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Rani and Nate, we thank you fr your great response and look forward to your next visit to Hopkins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I went to Villa Verano for our honeymoon and couldn't have been happier!!! We stayed in the penthouse, which was amazing and very spacious! The view and amenities included on the roof deck were so amazing!

The staff was incredible and made us feel right at home!! We enjoyed the time we had to talk and hang out with Mary (the manager) and Cheryl (the chef) & Martin (property maintenance) every day too-they were the BEST!!

Cheryl provided a delicious breakfast daily and a wonderful romantic dinner on the terrace. The remainder 6 nights we ate at Chef Rob's next door and it was unbelievable!! We highly recommend it!! The food, staff and location were outstanding!!!

We are definitely trying to plan another trip to Hopkins within the next year!! If you travel to Hopkins please consider Villa Verano and we may see you there!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I dont know what more I can say about this place that hasnt already been mentioned on all the other glowing reviews. We spend a week in June 2012 here and this place is just fantastic. Mary and staff took excellent care of us looking after all our needs. The place itself is as beautiful as the pictures and kept in immaculate condition by the staff. There is an incredible personal touch that you get staying here that we have never experienced before.

There is also no shortage of activities to do while staying here. We swam in the ocean, in the pool, went sailing, snorkeling and diving (Hopkins Underwater Adventures is right next door for all the scuba lovers). We also biked to the village (Mary actually arranged bikes for us) to check out some of the great restaurants in town.

Food was also a pleasant surprise (in Belize in general). While this hotel dosent have a restaurant, they can arrange for a private chef. Chef Rob's (one of the finest restaurants in Belize) is also right next door. Many restaurants are walking distance and the village is a 10 minute bike ride away.

Again I cant recommend this place enough. We absolutely loved staying here and cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at Villa Verano for 6 days in the Sea View Veranda room. The room is spacious and well decorated. The room has a king size bed and couch which are both very comfortable. The bathroom has a huge shower and a very large Jacuzzi tub. The staff was outstanding and took care of any of our needs promptly. The entire villa was excellent in every way. The art work adorning its walls were superb. The pool right outside of our room and the beach just a few steps farther provided relief from the heat. We used the rooftop terrace for a small party on our last night. I had caught a huge grouper earlier in the day and we all gathered to have dinner on the roof. The experience at Villa Verano was well worth the cost.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Verano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Verano

Address: Lot H Beachside Road | Sittee Point Phase 1, Hopkins, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#2 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Verano offers spectacular Belize luxury beach villas and exclusive access to elite guest facilities, including a fully equipped roof top gym, games room and hot tub. Also, our beachfront rentals provide sunning and garden spaces- hosting spectacular ocean and/or mountain views; seventy foot ocean side pool, outdoor showers, kayaks and a catamaran.Five restaurants are within five minutes walk. Local activities include, snorkeling, diving fishing, birding and hiking, Mayan Ruins and waterfall hikes, and are conveniently arranged by our concierge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Verano Belize/Hopkins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Verano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Verano to your Saves list