We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Verano

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Verano
Lot H Beachside Road | Sittee Point Phase 1, Hopkins, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Hopkins
georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

My family and I recently returned from a one week stay at the Villa Verano and it is truly spectacular. From the moment that Liliana opened the door it was obviously a special place. She was such a gracious hostess as she showed us the villa that we immediately felt welcome. The house opens completely to the ocean so the views even just having breakfast are stunning. Our kids (ages 6 & 9) especially loved having our own pool. And when it was just a bit chilly at night we would all sit in the hot tub on the roof and gaze at the stars. It is also apparent that great thought and care went into the decoration and furnishings. You feel that the home is really an extension of the beautiful country. It is luxury without pretension and we felt very comfortable there. Going to sleep to the sound of the carribean ocean is something all should experience. There is a restaurant very close by that made great pizzas for the kids and we were also able to sign up for a tour to the Belize zoo and go hiking at the jaguar preserve. Another benefit is that the top floor of the villa is at the level of treetops for easy birdwatching with coffee in the mornings. I can't say enough about this unique place and would recommend it to everyone from a family vacation to a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: The "turtle room" has a balcony that opens to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

What can't I say about this place? Just that it's more wonderful than the pictures can show.

First, Hopkins is a cool little town. Yes Villa Verano is about a mile outside but going for a cruise in a golf cart with a cold drink in hand is not a bad way to spend an hour!

I stayed on the upper floor with my family and it is truly exquisite. The furniture and decor have clearly been hand selected to perfect each room. Each room has a theme by the way and it's super cool.

The kitchen is huge, living area ginormous, bedrooms are beautiful. bathrooms meant for a king, games room with pool and ping pong, workout room with new equipment, great TV room and the icing on the cake is the killer hot tub on the roof. My favorite thing was hanging in the hot tube and watching the sun go down over the mountains. It's unreal.

You have the choice to hire a chef which I highly recommend. Cheryl is a spectacular cook. There's also an endless list of hiking, birdwatching, caving etc for you to entertain yourself with around Hopkins. Villa Verano also has 2 kayaks and a sailboat catamaran. The water is so clear you can see starfish and rays right from the kayaks.

And the fishing! WOW the fishing is spectacular. You get picked up right on the beach about 20ft from the pool and you can do all sorts of fishing. I went Barricuda fishing, fly fishing and tarpin fishing down the river. It's paradise! And Cheryl will cook your fish hours after you caught it! Fantastic!

Bottom line: this place is perfect for weddings, reunions or just large groups of friends. We had 8 people and you could still get lost in there. Check this place out...it really doesn't get better than this.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Villa Verano is nothing but class. My wife and I stayed in the Seagrape unit (second floor). From morning to night we felt like we were in paradise, and we were ! Words cannot give this residence justice. We had everything we could possible imagine; pool, hot tub, gym, pool table, rooftop patio, ocean views, full kitchen, amazing rooms, and tons of room to just relax and enjoy the vacation. The attention to detail in the Villa Verano is stunning. They really spared no expense when they built this place, and it shows. We went scuba diving, hiking, fishing, floated a river through the jungle, and did a cave tour. Anything you want to do is at your fingertips. It was worth every penny. The Villa Verano is the place to go if you want the vacation of a life time. We plan on going back in 2012 for sure ! We would recommend the Villa Verano to anyone looking for a luxury vacation that you will never forget.

Room Tip: Every single room in the Villa Verano is gorgeous you cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We've traveled the world and Villa Verano is definately the nicest and most cared for 5-star residence we've ever vacationed at. If you think the pictures look nice, they don't begin to do this house justice. We rented the Seagrape unit which is the entire second floor, with access to all the amenities on the rooftop and the grounds. We had twelve people in our party and we had more than ample room. The beds and linens were as comfortable as home and none of us even missed our beds. The house is magnificently decorated with native themes and the level of detail is second to none. From the hand carved doors/beds/furniture to the beautifully inlaid floors, this house was built with the highest quality materials and workmanship. The property manager, Liliana, will take care of your every need to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We hired a chef (Cheryl) for the 14 days and the meals were fabulous. We had everything from local dishes of fish to homemade pizza. She even arranged a hunting party so that we could have the ultimate Belizian meal of Gibnut (it was good enough for the Queen). The pool is massive and it's the first time in my life that I was able to sit at the pool and the beach at the same time. The pool chairs are so comfortable, you will have a hard time staying awake when all you can hear are the gentle ocean waves. Don't miss out on taking the trimaran for a sail. The maintenance staff is trained to help you get started if you're a novice. The gym is large and has everything you need to keep in shape, including a gorgeous view of the jungle. The hot tub could easily accomodate all twelve of us at one time and the sitting area adjacent to the hot tub/billiards room was great for watching the stars at night while others played pool or relaxed in the tub. The billards room is fully equiped with a drink refrigerator and it's own comfortable seating area. Belize is a great area for exploring. We booked 5 tours and two fishing excursions through Janette at Second Nature Divers and the execution was flawless. The tour guides were trustworthy, experienced, and friendly which made for many enjoyable experiences. We went snorkeling, cave tubing, zip lining, walked amoung the Mayan Ruins, hiked in the Jaguar Preserve and took boats up the Monkey River. If you're used to being pampered, the Villa Verano is for you...it's worth every penny and you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We rented the Seagrape (entire second floor) and the ocean views are magnificent. All rooms facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Verano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Verano

Address: Lot H Beachside Road | Sittee Point Phase 1, Hopkins, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Verano offers spectacular Belize luxury beach villas and exclusive access to elite guest facilities, including a fully equipped roof top gym, games room and hot tub. Also, our beachfront rentals provide sunning and garden spaces- hosting spectacular ocean and/or mountain views; seventy foot ocean side pool, outdoor showers, kayaks and a catamaran.Five restaurants are within five minutes walk. Local activities include, snorkeling, diving fishing, birding and hiking, Mayan Ruins and waterfall hikes, and are conveniently arranged by our concierge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Verano Belize/Hopkins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Verano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Verano to your Saves list