We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belize adventure center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarkiki Reef Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sarkiki Reef Resort
Save Saved
You added Sarkiki Reef Resort to your Saves list
Phase 4 | Sittee Point, Hopkins, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Lowville On
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Belize adventure center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I ventured to Belize for the first time on NewYears Eve. What a great way to ring in the new year!
Once we were settled into our suite we ventured into Hopkins for dinner. There are at least 3 restaurants that pamper and offer 5 star meals. We ate at Chef Rob's and were very pleased with the evening and fireworks show out on a barge in the ocean.( Be sure to try the numerous small eateries.The outside appearances are no reflection on the delicious food served inside.)
Our room at Sarkiki was clean and comfortable. No A/C was necessary as the ceiling fan and open windows were quite adequite. The frogs out in the garden sang us to sleep every night.
The resort offers free bicycles so we often went into town for supplies. There are at least 3 grocery stores and fresh fruit is so cheap we had smoothies and squeezed juice every day.
The staff was very happy,busy and ready to please.

Room Tip: all rooms face the ocean and are steps to the pools and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Sarkiki for two weeks over Christmas and New Years and it was perfect for us. Linda and Mike were super helpful with recommendations for everything from car rental to what spices to bring should the local stores not have what we needed/ were used to. It’s a self-catering resort - which suits us – anything/or any advice we needed we were able to just ask.
Sarkiki is relatively new and our suite was great – it was a 2 bedroom and we slept in the upper room. The beds were firm – which we liked – and very clean. Every room has a fan and AC and there was no problem sleeping! Sometimes too hard to get up – but hey – isn’t that what vacations are for!? The kitchen was very well appointed – fridge, stove, microwave, toaster, coffee pot, kettle and of course a blender! The tile floors were cool on the feet and super clean. We would venture that Belize is not a wine drinking culture - the rum and beer are however, excellent! When in Rome….
Each suite – aside from the ground floor unit has 2 upper decks that were great for daydreaming and napping by day – and starwatching by night. The sky was super clear and on the nights with a good breeze to keep the bugs away - even better.
3 linked pools - clean and refreshing – and at the most 10 steps from our door – not that big – but the ocean was no more than 50m away - very shallow here for a long way out
The shower was more than fine – water temperature the same as at home. It took a little more time to get warm water to 2nd floor, but not much. Shower was tiled and clean. The towels were clean and thick.
A word about Sarkiki – 5 years ago there was nothing here – none of the landscaping, buildings, pool, or infrastructure. Unlike a lot of places – they have put in a grey water recycling system and waste is dealt with onsite. It’s a refreshing change and important for us to leave a smaller footprint when possible - it’s obvious that they have become a vital part of the local community.
We enjoyed the company of our gracious hosts as well as other guests when we went into town for some of the local fare - these were the food highlights for us – never mind the larger resorts.
Other stuff :
Bugs – this time of the year they can be bad – all over Belize -and they seem to love pasty white Canadians. Bring bug spray - with Deet for the mosquitoes, and several people recommended baby oil or skin so soft for the sand flies/no-see-ums. Benadryl cream or equivalent for the itching. There are a ton of recommendations for dealing with severe itching - do your homework ahead of time. My wife had a strong itching reaction and once again Linda came to our aid with some cream that had worked for her, and also the location of a pharmacy in Dangriga. I barely itched although had twice as many bites– hard to figure out
The grocery stores in Hopkins had pretty much anything you could ask for – fresh fish we found in Dangriga fresh off the boat and enjoyed a fresh meal of snapper as good or better than in Vancouver.
Vehicle – need one here unless you really just want to stay close to home – we enjoyed getting out for some great hikes and exploring the region - make sure you advise the car rental that you will be going on unpaved roads

Room Tip: All the suites face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 10 days over Christmas 2012. Found the place on VRBO. Was what we expected. Great beach and pool; close to two parks for hiking; reef snorkelling 30min away; and Hopkins 5 miles away with good small grocery stores and places to eat. A rental car or motor bike would be recommended. Sarkiki condo we rented met all our needs; staff (especially Eppe and Elton) were very helpful and owners Mike, Linda,and Nate were there when we were and made our stay great. If you're looking for a self sufficient, quite place we would recommend Sarkiki.

Room Tip: Bring some bug spray for sand flies (evening and early morning they were out)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Sarkiki is a perfect place if you enjoy spending time on the warm sandy beach or just relaxing by the pool. For the more adverturous traveller there are many activities to do, snorkelling at the reef, zip lining through the jungle, hiking through the mountains, or checking out the howler monkeys. Sarkiki is the perfect place for independent travellers and a great place to come back and relax after a days adventure under the sun. The units are clean and comfortable, well air conditioned, with a great view of the ocean. We had the convienince of a full kitchen which made cooking at the resort a breeze and when we didn't feel like cooking there were many restaurants to dine at in Hopkins. All of the staff at the resort, and people in town are so friendly, they make every moment worth it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My family had never been on a family vacation before. We wanted to make our first one memorable, exciting and relaxing; and we took great care in searching for just that in a resort.. We most certainly found that in Sarkiki! As soon as we arrived, we were welcomed with big smiles and hospitality. Everyone who worked there was extremely approachable, friendly and helpful! The resort was breathtaking! Located right on the beautiful sandy beach, we were given the option to swim or snorkel in the ocean, relax under the palm tree's, or leisurely float in one of the three pools. The accomodations were pratical, very comfortable, clean and again beautiful. The beds were freshly laundered and so comfey! The town was lovely and friendly, and the restaurants were all so appetizing! But if we didn't feel like eating out, it was great to have our own kitchen in the suit to make homecooked meals. Overall it was an amazing trip! We would recommend it to anyone who is looking for both a good time and relaxing vacation in a sunny, friendly paradise!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumwater, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The best place to stay!!!. We cant thank enough times how great Mike, Linda, Debbie, Damien, Eppie, Elton, Manuel and Herson (car rental) are, in addition to some of the family and friends that got involved in our wedding planning. My Fiance and I along with our parents joining us on our trip came to Belize and Sarkiki to have our Wedding "somewhere" in or around Hopkins. When we arrived at Sarkiki we had no question that we wanted to have our Wedding at the resort. "No problem" they said!! The grounds are for lack of any better word "Perfect"!!..the hosptiality/help/advice shown by everyone left us speechless and grateful beyond words. Our villas were amazing and have everything we needed and then some for dining in. Our Wedding paperwork we had that all figured out well in advance to arriving in Belize, we just had to go back to Belize city to get the license/register. We did have a rental vehicle (Buy-Belize rentals) and were prepared to drive but NO..once again Mike and Linda came to our rescue and booked round trip flight out of Danriga to Belize city on Tropic Air, drove us to Danriga since they were going anyway, called their go to driver Damien in Belize City to pick us up and get us to the courthouse and back to the airport. While in Belize City Damien took us to the courthouse (waited for us), then to the bank and to have a great lunch at Riverside Tavern in Belize City. All this took a few hours, we were in Belize city on a MONDAY!! when you would think huge wait times/delays, didnt happen! Mike had an idea about wedding decoration, so Manuel, his Father/relatives and resort staff made two hand woven arbors of palm leaves that were made into butterflys and a heart shaped braid with flowers from the grounds woven in as well, what a sight and AMAZING surprise for us to be married under! Eppie secured the Pastor for us, as he knew him personally. So again AMAZING! All the food we had was super great, the snokeling right out our front door in the morning/anytime and in the Ocean on a day trip is the best you'll find and diving the reef was another great adventure, so much beauty to been seen!!. Palencia for the Lobster festival was very kool and super fun, really nice area as well. We did stop by Catlin's Bakery for fresh muffins/breads, Chocolate/Zucini muffins are the best! Do take lots of bug spray/sun tan lotion/aloe for the burns. Anniversaries will be amazing there, we found home away from home

Room Tip: All the rooms have ocean views and access to the pools...cant get any better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed at Sarkiki for two weeks. The resort is a ways out of "town", therefore a rental car would be a great idea if you want to go anywhere. We didn't rent one and at times wished we had. The weather was not great a few days, and it would have been great to jump in a vehicle and go somewhere. Some of the other guests offered to take us into Hopkins when they were going so we could pick up groceries. And Deb, the manager, always came by our unit to let us know when she was heading into Hopkins or Dangriga and that was very helpful. The other staff were always very friendly and would help you out any way they could. With the bad weather came a lot of sea grass and debris from offshore, and every day the staff would rake the beach and remove the 'stuff', leaving the beach in a very pristine condition. We had stayed for a month up on Ambergris Caye and for the most part the beaches up there are terrible - not so at Sarkiki. Upon our arrival, we found our unit (#14) to be clean and as represented on the website. The small pool and ocean were just steps from our door - what a sight to wake up to each day! The larger pool was about three units away. The upper decks were great for daydreaming, reading, or looking out to the ocean beyond. Breakfast outside on our little lanai was most enjoyable. The kitchen was equipped with all new appliances and utensils, and the bedrooms and bathrooms were equipped with new towels and linens. We did all our own cooking, and would have found a few more containers to store leftovers very convenient, but that was just our unit, others may have had more. Deb, our manager, took us into Hopkins one night to listen to the drummers, then over to the pub at the marina where we met Steve the bartender who is quite a character. He invited us to sample his homemade 'bitters' - a definite MUST in our opinion. We enjoyed our time in Hopkins, but the bugs were not very pleasant. We had heard there was a big problem with them, but didn't think it would be any different than at Ambergris Caye. The resort sprays to control them, but they were still a huge nuisance, especially after dark or after a rain. Be sure to bring along lots of insect repellent and something to ease the itching, and think twice about sitting out at night. In spite of that, our stay at Sarkiki was very pleasant and we would certainly recommend it when staying in the Hopkins area.

Room Tip: Every room is slightly different inside, but all of them face the ocean and are only steps away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarkiki Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarkiki Reef Resort

Address: Phase 4 | Sittee Point, Hopkins, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property proudly sits on 3 acres of lush, fully landscaped Caribbean beachfront. Your 2 or 3 bedroom villa sits poolside and beachfront and comes with a fully equipped kitchen, BBQ and outdoor living space to maximize a tropical lifestyle. Tours to the rainforest, river, reef and ruins are available through our reservations desk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sarkiki Reef Hotel Hopkins
Sarkiki Reef Resort Belize/Hopkins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarkiki Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.