We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarkiki Reef Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sarkiki Reef Resort
Save
You added Sarkiki Reef Resort to your Saves list
Phase 4 | Sittee Point, Hopkins, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Tumwater, Washington, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise found!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The best place to stay!!!. We cant thank enough times how great Mike, Linda, Debbie, Damien, Eppie, Elton, Manuel and Herson (car rental) are, in addition to some of the family and friends that got involved in our wedding planning. My Fiance and I along with our parents joining us on our trip came to Belize and Sarkiki to have our Wedding "somewhere" in or around Hopkins. When we arrived at Sarkiki we had no question that we wanted to have our Wedding at the resort. "No problem" they said!! The grounds are for lack of any better word "Perfect"!!..the hosptiality/help/advice shown by everyone left us speechless and grateful beyond words. Our villas were amazing and have everything we needed and then some for dining in. Our Wedding paperwork we had that all figured out well in advance to arriving in Belize, we just had to go back to Belize city to get the license/register. We did have a rental vehicle (Buy-Belize rentals) and were prepared to drive but NO..once again Mike and Linda came to our rescue and booked round trip flight out of Danriga to Belize city on Tropic Air, drove us to Danriga since they were going anyway, called their go to driver Damien in Belize City to pick us up and get us to the courthouse and back to the airport. While in Belize City Damien took us to the courthouse (waited for us), then to the bank and to have a great lunch at Riverside Tavern in Belize City. All this took a few hours, we were in Belize city on a MONDAY!! when you would think huge wait times/delays, didnt happen! Mike had an idea about wedding decoration, so Manuel, his Father/relatives and resort staff made two hand woven arbors of palm leaves that were made into butterflys and a heart shaped braid with flowers from the grounds woven in as well, what a sight and AMAZING surprise for us to be married under! Eppie secured the Pastor for us, as he knew him personally. So again AMAZING! All the food we had was super great, the snokeling right out our front door in the morning/anytime and in the Ocean on a day trip is the best you'll find and diving the reef was another great adventure, so much beauty to been seen!!. Palencia for the Lobster festival was very kool and super fun, really nice area as well. We did stop by Catlin's Bakery for fresh muffins/breads, Chocolate/Zucini muffins are the best! Do take lots of bug spray/sun tan lotion/aloe for the burns. Anniversaries will be amazing there, we found home away from home

Room Tip: All the rooms have ocean views and access to the pools...cant get any better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed at Sarkiki for two weeks. The resort is a ways out of "town", therefore a rental car would be a great idea if you want to go anywhere. We didn't rent one and at times wished we had. The weather was not great a few days, and it would have been great to jump in a vehicle and go somewhere. Some of the other guests offered to take us into Hopkins when they were going so we could pick up groceries. And Deb, the manager, always came by our unit to let us know when she was heading into Hopkins or Dangriga and that was very helpful. The other staff were always very friendly and would help you out any way they could. With the bad weather came a lot of sea grass and debris from offshore, and every day the staff would rake the beach and remove the 'stuff', leaving the beach in a very pristine condition. We had stayed for a month up on Ambergris Caye and for the most part the beaches up there are terrible - not so at Sarkiki. Upon our arrival, we found our unit (#14) to be clean and as represented on the website. The small pool and ocean were just steps from our door - what a sight to wake up to each day! The larger pool was about three units away. The upper decks were great for daydreaming, reading, or looking out to the ocean beyond. Breakfast outside on our little lanai was most enjoyable. The kitchen was equipped with all new appliances and utensils, and the bedrooms and bathrooms were equipped with new towels and linens. We did all our own cooking, and would have found a few more containers to store leftovers very convenient, but that was just our unit, others may have had more. Deb, our manager, took us into Hopkins one night to listen to the drummers, then over to the pub at the marina where we met Steve the bartender who is quite a character. He invited us to sample his homemade 'bitters' - a definite MUST in our opinion. We enjoyed our time in Hopkins, but the bugs were not very pleasant. We had heard there was a big problem with them, but didn't think it would be any different than at Ambergris Caye. The resort sprays to control them, but they were still a huge nuisance, especially after dark or after a rain. Be sure to bring along lots of insect repellent and something to ease the itching, and think twice about sitting out at night. In spite of that, our stay at Sarkiki was very pleasant and we would certainly recommend it when staying in the Hopkins area.

Room Tip: Every room is slightly different inside, but all of them face the ocean and are only steps away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Quoddy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at Sarkiki Reef Resort for two months, mid-January to mid-March 2012, and enjoyed ourselves immensely. Our unit was a two bedroom, all on one level; very spacious and well appointed. As noted in another review, one of our beds was on a cement slab with a mattress on top which was very comfortable. The other bed was a wooden frame with a standard also quite comfortable. When we arrived at Sarkiki there were basic supplies of toilet paper, dishwashing liquid, coffee filters, etc. in our unit. I think what some people have forgotten is this is a Self-Catering not an All-Inclusive resort. The grounds, pool and beach are maintained to very high standards. The owners, manager and staff were all willing to assist in whatever way they could -- if you needed anything, all you had to do was ask! All the staff were very knowledgeable and could not do enough for you! We really miss them all. The only draw- back were the sand flies which were a torment for my husband--just curbed some of his activities--if it was sunny and windy, no problem...You can't fight mother nature...

Room Tip: A vehicle is definitely required as you are off the beaten path, although having said that we were w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We, a family of three, travelled to Hopkins last January and were absolutely blown away by the natural beauty and unspoiled, laid back atmosphere. Staying in a two bedroom suite was perfect for us. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a little patio overlooking the pool and the gorgeous beach!

We loved the fact that it was not like any of the other hotels because it gave us the chance to shop at the local market and get a taste of what was available for locals. Even though the rooms are very simple, they had everything we needed and the staff made sure our villa was always clean and fully stocked with towels, bedding and kitchen/bbq utensils.

The pool is awesome... not that big but always clean. It was most fun swimming at night time under the stars and in the rain! The beach is also small, but very private and was great for swimming because the water was mostly calm and kept shallow for quite a ways before dropping off over your head.

It's almost too far to walk to town from Sarkiki, but we had a car so we didn't mind driving in (it's only about 5 minutes into the main part of Hopkins). I would definitely recommend renting a car, as it's hard to get a taxi and too far to walk to town or Dangriga.

Yes this property is simple and doesn't have the amenities of some of the other resorts, but it was absolutely wonderful and we would go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Exactly the "homebase" we were looking for . A quiet, clean, safe facility, an amazing beach (raked every morning just in time for our sunrise swim!) and a very helpful staff. A perfect place to call home while exploring this amazing country. Honestly we didn't know what to expect after reading some of the reviews, but after having already booked, we decided to make the most of it. I dont know how much has changed since the reviews on here from January, but we have found no plumbing or water issues. There is more than enough water pressure to remove that residual sunscreen at days end (make sure you pack lots as the Belizian sun cannot go underestimated!) and all the hotwater you need. The hot water does take a minute or two to reach the upper shower, but once it does there's plenty. We're staying in one of the 3 level units with 2 bedrooms and three decks all on seperate levels. The beds are 6inch foam, firm and very comfortable. Like the previous reviewers, I too prefer a firm matteress. Being from Canada, the air condidtioning is a nightly godsend. I'm in the upper bedroom (warmer of the two) and all you have to do is pull the curtains mid day and turn on the AC in the later afternoon, shut the door and by nightfall, you'll be cool as a cucumber. All the fans help as well. They provide an extra, heavier blanet for the bed, but the sheets work just fine for me. The vegetation is much more established than the photos on their website. The gardeners here work all day and the results are obvious. We'll be back!

Suggestions:
- Rent a car. The bikes here work fine, but if you want to go further than Hopkins, a car is a must. This place was meant for day trips. From what we have heard the bus sytem is ok and a great experience, but can eat away at your daylight hours
- Grab groceries on the way in. There are several great stores in Hopkins. Buy a couple days worth of food, stock the fridge and relax. Dangriga is slightly cheaper for shopping. If you're stuck, the manager keeps a good stock of the basics to get you through to the next day.
- Fly into Dangrigia. It was $138usd 'open ended' return for this flight. It's a 20-25 minute flight, but saves you 3hrs of driving. We had the plane to ourselves and the views were breathtaking! Rent your car from Dangrigia or have it delivered to the resort.
- Ask the staff about the tours and sighseeing. We have learnt so much in the last few days about sightseeing oppotunities and experiences from the other people staying here as well as the staff. You'll pay way less and meet people who really care about their country. Ask, ask, ask!
- Bring bug spray. Not because of this beach necessarily, but the trips you may be taking. The staff spray the beach each night (apparently they just switched to a more 'eco' friendly product which is always nice) and it does help. I've only been bit twice that I can tell, my travelling partner a few more times (when she wasn't wearing any bug spray!) We've been told that the flies are a part of beach life in Belize at dawn and dusk. We were prepared for the worst, but the gentle sea breeze has kept them at bay.
- Be flexible with your schedule and don't plan/book everything before you get here. As I suggested above, ask around.
- Save some time for sitting on the beach, swimming in the ocean or the pools!

Room Tip: Every room opens to the pool deck and beach. Rooms 1 and 16 are at the ends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Sarkiki requires a little explanation. It is not a resort nor is it a hotel. It is a building of attached condo apartments. Each unit is mulitple stories tall with private balconies and roof top space. The apartments are huge with a kitchen, washer/dryer, A/C etc. You need to have your own supplies, not even a starter set of shampoo/soap is provided, but again this place is designed for indepent travelers who want the experience of shopping at the local market.There is no restaurant, no bar, no lobby etc..but there is a live on site manager who can help with whatever you need, book trips etc. She and the rest of the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to see you have fun (one even came running to get us from our room when he heard that there was a tapir in the village! the manager gave my daughters a good bye present of shells). The location is nice, right on the beach and across from the lagoon. It is not in the village nor walking distance really so a car is a must. it is about a 5 minute drive to Hamansi and the other big name resorts, another 5 min drive or so to Hopkins itself. As others have noted there are sand fleas (true everywhere on the coast) so bring bug spray. The beds are firm but we like firm beds and found them comfortable. The pictures are a little misleading: there are no flowers on the nightstand or bed (in fact no pictures/decorations on any walls, beach/pool chairs are provided but they are not the fancy colorful set in the pics, and the rooftop balcony is not covered with a thatched roof - it is completly uncovered - great for seeing the beatiful night sky, a bit bright for sitting out a reading a book though. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would go back in a minute. If you are looking for a self catered trip you will enjoy Sarkiki, if however you want a hotel setting and services this is not for you, head to Hamansi if you can - it was beautiful and the dive shop fantastic. Parrot Cove was nearby and nice as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

My sun on I fell in love with the Sarkiki. Perfect spot with a wonderful sandy beach not yet built up the big hotels. We stayed in one of the three bedroom suites which was very spacious, with four separate decks on different levels; unobstructed views over the gardens, pools, and ocean on one side, untouched and natural mangrove forests and hills to the rear. The staff was so good, we really miss them and are looking forward to heading back. The property was kept very clean, someone was always around to help. It was great being able to sleep with doors wide open, listening to the ocean and birds, and feeling completely safe. There was air-conditioning everywhere if you wanted it, but as there are also big ceiling fans in every room, we did not need it. It was so much nicer to have the option. We had a rental vehicle, which you want as there is so much to see in the area. This place spoils you for other spots. It was great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarkiki Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarkiki Reef Resort

Address: Phase 4 | Sittee Point, Hopkins, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property proudly sits on 3 acres of lush, fully landscaped Caribbean beachfront. Your 2 or 3 bedroom villa sits poolside and beachfront and comes with a fully equipped kitchen, BBQ and outdoor living space to maximize a tropical lifestyle. Tours to the rainforest, river, reef and ruins are available through our reservations desk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sarkiki Reef Hotel Hopkins
Sarkiki Reef Resort Belize/Hopkins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarkiki Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.