We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaguar Reef Lodge and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jaguar Reef Lodge and Spa to your Saves list
Jaguar Reef Lodge and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Hopkins Road | Dangriga, Hopkins 0, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Milano
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

In my opinion, this must be the BEST place in Hopkins, which must also be the best place in Belize! If you are looking for a beautiful beach away from the crowds for a relaxing and highly enjoyable vacation, this is the place. The grounds are lovely and well maintained, right on the beach. Jaguar Reef and Almond Beach are virtually the same place and the restaurant and swimming pool ( both also right on the beach) are shared. We stayed in an Ocean view room in Jaguar Reef, which is a lovely thatched roof cabana, very large room and bathroom, with a couple of chairs and a hammock on the deck outside. We also visited some of the rooms of Almond Beach and thought they would be equally comfortable, The staff were all extremely welcoming and helpful.
Best of all was just relaxing or taking a walk on the lovely beach which is so long, you were never aware of there being many other people We took the snorkelling trip out to the reef arranged by the hotel, which I also recommend. They arrange a number of other trips which we didnt take as we had been travelling around Guatemala for 3 weeks and just wanted to relax.
The hotel restaurant is OK, but there are 2 or 3 other places just 5 minutes walk down the beach which were very good.
When we return, which we definitely will, I would rent a car and drive down from Belize city ,and then we would also have the car to visit other places nearby. Much more economical probably than taking the hotel tours.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    88
    27
    13
    1
See reviews for
102
170
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Traveled in a group of 4 people (two mid-twenties couples). (Found JRL through Living Social deal). Our trip was better than could have ever been expected! We had a 2BR/2Bath suite (Hibiscus). There is no stove/oven in the kitchen, but there is a microwave. There was plenty of space, A/C in all areas, and we overlooked the "family" pool as well as straight out to the ocean. I Think JRL is one of the few places I have traveled where the it's actually better in person!

We flew into Belize City and rented a car to have with us all week, which turned out to be great. The drive can be confusing but I had really good directions from a friend. There are bikes at the resort that are free, but they are first come, first serve, and only single gear bikes (also as many have mentioned, scooters and golf carts for rent).

The beach was pristine. We did not have any issues with bugs. Our beds were comfortable. Honestly we did not spend much time inside - why bother?!?! The pool bar was gorgeous, and we all made friends with Juan, Flaco and Swift. The Happy Hour deal (2 for 1 drinks from 5-6) is great and the "bar snacks" are really tasty (especially the cajun fried shrimp and the ceviche!). On Tuesday nights in Hopkins, all the way down to the other side of the town is the Driftwood Bar that is on the beach and has live drumming with pizza - an amazing time!!!!

There was an issue with water pressure, but as I understand it, the town of Hopkins was in a bit of a drought and the resort was getting more water than anywhere in town (some of the employees said they hadn't had any in 5 days!). Such is life in Central America during dry season!

We like to adventure to "local" eating places... delicious, authentic, and much more affordable than any kind of resort eating. We also had a fancy dinner at Chef Rob's (4 course meal for BZ 59pp (that is 29.50 US! I felt it was a really amazing deal). For local Belizean food we went to: Innie's, Tina's Kitchen, Iris' SunnySide Up Cafe, and King Cassava. They were all great and I recommend them.

For tours:
We did the Cave Tubing/Mayan tour which was $140pp but AMAZING. A full day with lunch included.

Bioluminescent lagoon boat tour - the salinity of the lagoon was just right when we were there and we got to see the bioluminescent activity... amazing. We even convinced them to let us swim in the water (originally "not allowed").

Snorkeling - two different spots with snacks on an island in between. A highlight.

Mayflower waterfall hike - our counterparts did this, they loved it. HOWEVER, if you have your own transportation, the entrance fee is only $5 pp and you can do it without a guide (as opposed to $70pp thru JRL).

Jaguar Preserve - Also a tour we did on our own, instead of through the resort (this is how the rental car expense actually ends up saving you money!). We drove the 10 minutes to Maya Center town to buy our $5 pp national park entrance fee and then drove to into the jungle. We rented tubes for $2.50 each and tubed the Stann Creek river through the jungle for about an hour, then hiked to a waterfall and Ben's Bluff to take in the stunning vista. We saw lots of beautiful butterflies, a snake, ants, a rubber tree (we think), and also possibly an ocelot!!!

Check out was a bit of a problem because we had two separate credit cards for room charges and they were completely incorrect. We eventually sorted everything out but it took a long time. I guess they have just implemented a new computer system so hopefully this becomes better! Despite this, I would not change my overall rating. We would love to go back any time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The grounds are kept so lovely & there is plenty of help around. The rooms are large and comfortable. It is nicer in person then from the Internet pics! The porches and hammocks with the ocean view and so many lovely birds singing make it so relaxing. And not to mention the ocean breeze! You can't get much closer to the ocean, this is truly right on the beach. We loved it and the village people. Great tour guides. If you want posh and to pay triple then go next door.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view you get it here! Even if you don't get ocean view you are still on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardena, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Jaguar Reef is paradasaic! Besides the beauty of the property, the staff was outstanding. They bent over back-wards and side-ways to make sure we were comfortable. Eugene, the General manager, took a person interest in us and made sure we were taken care of. My husband, daughter, granddaughter and niece stayed there for about 6 or 7 days. We invited some friends from another part of Belize to join us, and oh, how the staff welcomed them and made sure they were taken care of as well. Mary, in guest services was a phenomenal host as well. Gilroy and the rest of the front desk staff, whose names escape me, were very accommodating as well.
The place is always so clean, even the sand is raked every morning! I would highly recommend this place. As a matter of fact, I am planning a family, and I have a big one, vacation to Jaguar Reef. Be sure to talk to Eugene, he is the best! Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Suites have 2 bathrooms and are very roomy but no working spa tub.Only microwave and fridge so don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

You will not be disappointed! The resort is very clean and well maintained. The staff is extremely attentive and is always striving to make sure all your needs are being addressed. The bar staff is fantastic!! The Spa staff is over the top! I highly recommend the 1hr full body massage on the pier. It will leave you forgetting all the stresses of everyday life.

The town of Hopkins is very friendly and always welcoming to tourist. I recommend eating in as many local establishments as possible, as the food is fantastic! The market and various gift shacks are a must as well.

Look out for the no-see-ums! They will eat you alive unless you have plenty of bug spray with you at all time. If you don't like the smell, We learned that the best defense is Baby Oil. It doesn't allow the bugs to land on you. The locals swear by it and you'll see a bottle next to them wherever they work!!

Room Tip: Every room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed at Jaguar Reef Lodge in 2008 and wanted another vacation in a warm place this year. We looked at many, many places on the web that were in the Caribbean and finally decided that going back to Jaguar Reef was exactly what we wanted! We love the area of Hopkins and the people there. We enjoyed riding bikes into town to eat at a restaurant there and to buy things from the small gift shops. I don't believe there was an ATM in Hopkins when we were there in 2008, but we used it three times this trip! The staff at Jaguar Reef is wonderful--responsive to our needs, very friendly, and kind. We really love the beach cabana rooms; they are large and very pleasant, with a hammock and chairs on the porch. We liked to use our iPads, so we just sat on the beach, or at the pool, or in the lobby/restaurant area to do that and didn't find that a problem at all. Over the course of our two trips, we've gone on many of the tours. We've gone snorkeling twice and found that fascinating. The Mayan ruins trip was also wonderful, although it does take awhile to get there, but we expected that. This time we went horseback riding and loved that; looking out on the countryside from a ridge was lovely. Last time we did more hiking, but this time enjoyed swimming in the ocean with the large tubes that were provided, sitting on the lounge chairs under thatched roofs, and swimming in the pool. We rented a car (there is a great car rental place in Hopkins-Hopkins Car Rental--that the Jaguar Reef desk can call to make your reservations) and drove down to Placencia, since we'd never been there. It is much more touristy and we prefer Hopkins. We really like the way the country of Belize is interested in preserving the natural environment and has so many eco-tourism resorts. We thought the food at Jaguar Reef was much better than in 2008 (when it was okay, even so) and love the ambience of the restaurant, which is octagonal, and right on the beach, with doors that open up to it, so that you feel you're eating on the beach. One night we went to Chef Rob's, a few doors down, but liked the restaurant at Jaguar Reef better for the beauty of the location. The food was also much the same as at Jaguar Reef, we thought. We plan to go back next winter! Another note: If you want to help out the local people and animals, there is a Hopkins Belize Humane Society, a Clinic (for humans), a school for the kids, and a library. Last time we brought books in English for the school and this time visited the Humane Society when they had a spay/neuter clinic going on. All of these places can use donations. Easy things to bring for the Humane Society are leashes and collars for dogs, Revolution heart worm medication, and dry dog food (they give dog food to those in the area who need it for their animals). We didn't visit the Clinic, but I'm sure they need any kind of first aid supplies, latex gloves, and other items found easily in a drug store. We are not people who like a lot of "nightlife," so this area and resort are perfect for us. If you prefer much more excitement, this is not the place for you. It's peaceful and a wonderful, relaxing place to get away from a terrible North American winter!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I went here for our honeymoon. While we had a great, 4-dot experience, it should be mentioned that we got there on a Groupon/Living Social deal. This greatly increased the value and I am sure I would be less enthused if the deal was not so good.

The service is very cordial and the rooms are little more than the bare necessities, but they are tastefully furnished and comfortable. The beaches are beautiful and the whole resort is fantastically out of the way.

One note on the food: if you value convenience above all, go ahead and eat at the resort (if you plan to eat literally ALL your meals there, I suppose it's a good deal to get an eating plan. If you plan on eating at least once off property, it stops being worth it). But, just down the road/beach is another resort, Beaches and Dreams, which is run by a former chef, has better food at better prices, and happy-hour drink and food specials.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jaguar Reef Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaguar Reef Lodge and Spa

Address: Hopkins Road | Dangriga, Hopkins 0, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#5 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jaguar Reef Lodge and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The enchanting waters and lush landscapes of Belize create a land of rugged adventure, romantic isolationism, and natural coexistence. Verdant rainforests house thousands of species of wildlife and hide ancient Mayan ruins within their depths. The intricate coral reef systems just offshore are renowned for marine diversity and provide some of the best environments for underwater exploration. Taking full advantage of the adventure potential of this idyllic destination, Jaguar Reef Lodge incorporates the comfort of exceptional accommodations into the beauty of its natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jaguar Reef Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaguar Reef Hotel Hopkins
Jaguar Reef Resort
Jaguar Reef Lodge And Spa Belize/Hopkins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaguar Reef Lodge and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.