We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating our 40th Wedding Anniversary, PRICELESS!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Hopkins Road | Hopkins-Airport Dangriga, Hopkins 0, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence 2014
East Bethel
2 reviews
“Celebrating our 40th Wedding Anniversary, PRICELESS!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We spent seven wonderful days at Jaguar Reef/Almond Beach Resort for our 40th wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Honeymoon suite that was beautiful and spacious. We had a private patio viewing the pool and Tika Bar looking straight out to the ocean. Inside our room an very comfortable king size bed, two large lounging chairs, small glass dining table and chairs, sunken bathtub. Their was a huge separate bathroom, double sink vanity, make up mirror, safe, coffee maker refridgerator, iron, clothing armior, and beautifully tiled walk in shower, toilet located in it's own room inside the bathroom. We felt totally pampered and comfortable. The staff are all so friendly and pleasant. The grounds are beautiful and kept up 24/7. The dining experiences from the high thatched ceiling and beautiful open views of the ocean in the dining room to the delicous meals at breakfast, lunch and dinner. We did use the coffee shop for the extra coffee lattes and snacks several times and the wi-fi. Enjoyed and afternoon massage and facial too. We used the resorts kayaks for an early morning exploration seeing, Manatee, pelicans, egrets, giant school of Skip Jacks, star fish. We also used the resorts bicycles to ride into Hopkins to see the village and it's people. The resort offers special side trips, we did the Barrier Reef Snorkel, fabulous. What an abundance of marine life. The Jungle Zipline amazing, the River Cave tubing and exploring even more exciting than imagined and the most special to us the Cayo Mayan Ruins, spectacular. Will be coming back again with family to share our experiences.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite even if your not Honeymooning!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    97
    31
    13
    1
See reviews for
108
181
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shamong
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I just got back from Jaguar Reef Lodge. We had a wonderful time and really didn't want to leave. The lodge staff was great. We did have a snorkeling tour that we had a problem with but the was completely taken care of before we left. We didn't eat there everyday we choose to go into town and spend money at little local cafe. The maintence guys at Jaguar are sooooo helpful we needed a hose and rags to wash rental car we got stuck. They totally went out of the way to help us. I would highly recommend Jaguar Reef Lodge as a place to go. The beach,housekeeping,maintence,breakfast and staff excellent. Anything they can do for you they will. Anyone reading this can e-mail me I will be happy to talk to you. The only thing I would change is the road to Hopkins is hell on the butt . It needs to be paved be careful if your driving. We used Sittee River Rd to get in Hopkins its not as bad few more miles down the road but worth it if you have back isssues like me.

Room Tip: The room was beautiful and cozy. We did find a couple of bugs but I swished them. Staff was told and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were greeted with a resort guide and car at the Dangriga airport for a 30 minute drive to the lodge. The guide was great in telling us about the agriculture and the people. When we got to the Jaguar Reef as I checked in our luggage was taken to the room and the A/C turned on. THe Jaguar Reef has a variety of styles for their lodging from Thatched roof Cabana's to Brittish influenced condo style rooms. We had ocean view near the pool, swim up bar and hot tub, also close to the Spa and Coffee bar. I was very happy with the room (beds are a little harder then what I like) A/C, coffee maker and mini frig. your own deck in front. There is a fully stocked bar and restaurant that serves meals all day. The hotel offers many activities as well. The lodge is a 20 minute golf cart (which can be rented across the street) ride to Hopkins town where you can find local art, food and friendly people. We truly enjoyed our 4 day stay at Jaguar Reef. A bonus was all the staff and Manager "Corrina". We will be back someday!

Room Tip: The rooms was very comfortable and centrally located. The rooms had names and numbers, ours was &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were at Jaguar Reef for a week in December 2012 for a wedding. Overall we had a very positive experience.
Things we loved:
-The food! You have a great selection every day. Everything is fresh and the staff is very accomodating if you have any dietary concerns. (the belizean breakfast with fryjacks is my favorite!)
- The room! We were in a garden view room. We were literally steps away from the ocean view rooms (and just a few more steps from the beach). We loved the hammock on our front porch. It was nothing fancy, but had all the amenities you might expect.
- The village! We rented golf carts from Belizean Dreams (for the price of $25US for 2 hours) and explored the town. Did some shopping. Went to the drumming center. Bought souvenirs. It was wonderful.
-The snorkeling Tour was awesome. Our guides were great and we saw a lot of marine life. There are a ton of tours to choose from at the resort and they seem to be priced in line with the rest of Belize.
-The wedding. The wedding was absolutely beautiful. The ceremony was set up on the beach with a lovely aisle and archway. The staff made the day very special for the bride & groom as well as all of the guests. We had a dinner and dance outside on the beach and it was very magical.
-The beach! The beach is very clean (the staff rakes the sand every single day). There are plenty of lawn beds and hammocks to laze around on. The water is gorgeous. The pier is beautiful. My only concern was the sand fleas that ate me alive. The resort has no control over them, but they were really bad while we were there.
-The staff! We had a wonderful experience with the staff. Everyone was very friendly and accomodating. Ruby was my favorite stealthy breakfast serving ninja!

Things we didn't love:
-Drink prices. The drinks were very expensive. Even with the drink package, we spent a lot of money drinking. Alcohol is cheap in Belize, but the drinks served at the resort were over priced.
-The sand fleas. There were so many sand fleas during our visit. I had literally hundreds of bites on my legs and feet. They are ITCHY and they last forever. (weeks and weeks). Try baby oil to keep them away. I would also recommend bringing benadryl pills & benadryl spray to try and ease the itch. That said, I would pack my bags tomorrow to be eaten alive again on that beach in the sunshine with King's Pina Colada in hand.

Overall, we had a great trip and would recommend Jaguar Reef to anyone who is traveling to Belize on a budget.

Room Tip: Garden View rooms are literally steps away from the Ocean View rooms. I would not pay the extra mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Many thanks to the staff of the JRL for making our trip a wonderful experience! We had the unfortunate experience of needing to change our reservations less than a day before and the resort was very understanding - they even took care of rescheduling our flights and transportation to Dangriga and allowed us to use our Living Social voucher a week past the expiration date. When we arrived 3 weeks later, we were greeted by a comfortable cabana, warm and receptive front desk staff, and plenty of options and excursions to choose from. During our stay we took the cave tubing and reef snorkel excursions. Both were very enjoyable and allowed us to experience activities outside the resort. Be sure to also take advantage of the on-site resort activities - we loved having the bikes and kayaks available for use.

The trip to Hopkins is a short drive, walk, or bike trip. Definitely make a trip into town for some of the great restaurants including Love on the Rocks and Driftwood pizza. The resort drivers will happily drive you into down and pick you up after dinner.

We loved the size of the resort and enjoyed seeing the same people on a regular basis. Everyone was incredibly friendly and seemed to have positive experiences with the excursions, staff, and activities.

While the food was acceptable and the service attentive, we discovered several other restaurants right down the beach. Be sure to check out Chef Rob's and Barracuda. We felt these restaurants offered a bit more variety for the same price as JRL.

Overall, we had a great stay and were very disappointed to leave. Thanks again for the warm and receptive service and staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, Belize
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just spent a few days of heaven at the Jaguar Reef in Hopkins Belize. The beach is beautiful. The staff was super courteous and friendly. The people here are soooo friendly. The manager Scott went out of his way to help up on a couple of occasions-- thanks Scott you're awesome:) The food was great and the drinks were very Island style. We really enjoyed the beach BBQ and there are lots of tours you can take right from the hotel. Loved the poolside bar and the general overall tranquil feeling of the set-up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The JRL was just as I expected - homey, charming, and bst of all. right on an extremely clean beach. The staff was very freindly and as helpful as possible. Our suite was perfect: two bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchen/dining area, and a nice sitting space. The veranda was large and comfortable - facing onto that clean bright beach.

Equipment is provided at the JRL - bikes, kayaks, snorkling masks and fins. Just pick it up and go!

The food is the unremarkable part of the lodge. We just signed up for breakfast, which was better than okay. The rest of the menu wasn't exciting and there are some very intersting places to eat otherwise.

Hopkins is a very small town. Take cash. The only ATM machine was broken when we visited. Most restauarants do not take credit cards. The JRL does.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa

Address: Hopkins Road | Hopkins-Airport Dangriga, Hopkins 0, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#6 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proud member of The Viva Belize Hotel Group, this beachfront resort offers a venture, romantic isolationism, and natural coexistence. Verdant rain-forests house thousands of species of wildlife and hide ancient Mayan ruins within their depths. The intricate coral reef systems just offshore are renowned for marine diversity and provide some of the best environments for underwater exploration. Taking full advantage of the adventure potential of this idyllic destination, Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa incorporates the comfort of exceptional accommodations into the beauty of its natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaguar Reef Hotel Hopkins
Jaguar Reef Resort
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa Belize/Hopkins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.