We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay, friendly staff, lovely beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Hopkins Road | Hopkins-Airport Dangriga, Hopkins 0, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Get up to 60% Discount !
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay, friendly staff, lovely beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Lets face it, if you're looking at Belize, you're not looking at Cancun as an alternative. Hopkins is a remote part of a remote country. So those internet/email addicts will have to adjust. But that said, if you're looking for a relaxing and laid back time, this is the place for you. Staff are super friendly and nice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    104
    32
    13
    1
See reviews for
114
198
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bellmore, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed at jaguar reef resort for our honeymoon Nov 12-19. We purchased their ultimate honeymoon package. I encourage anyone thinking of going here for a honeymoon to do this. It includes everything and anything. Amazing meals, all your drinks, large comfy rooms as well as a plethera of free trips... Horseback riding, cave tubing/exploring, snorkling, mayan ruins trips, bird walks, hikes and more. Add to that included massages, mani/pedis and much much more. But it was the little things. Flower petals on our bed. Chocolates put there when we were at dinner. Wait staff and others who take time to know your name. Staff who treat you like family or close friends. If you are looking for a atlantis bahamas type trip, belize isnt it. The country is very undeveloped. No tourist traps, no commercial stuff. If you cant live without cell service, wifi,starbucks, clubs and constant artificial stimulation, belize might not be for you. But if you want a nice resort with 5 star service and enjoy the outdoors, rain forests, kayaking, tubing, horseback riding,hiking, SCUBA and meeting great people, belize is it. The local village, hopkins, is great. The people are beyond friendly. As a NYer, i was like , OK, whats their angle? There is none. Just happy, friendly people. Everyone waves, everyone says hi. Lots of great artisans selling all sorts of handmade items. Great pizza place/ bar right on beach at north end of village. Dont miss it. Pizza that would give any NYC pizza place a run for its money. We rented a car one day. The front desk arranges it. Its not hertz and the cars arent new, but do it. Drive up to san ignacio and see the mayan ruins. Stop at the blue hole. Theres only like 3 or 4 paved roads in the country. Now the only negative. Roads stink. The ride from dangria airport is rough, bumpy but fun. 99% of roads are hardpacked dirt. With potholes. Lots of them. But that is part of charm and in a way protects places like jaguar reef from becoming what many of us dont want. A overcrowded tourist trap. If youre contemplating belize, go for it and stay at jaguar reef. Get your scuba. Do pool at home and go down for open water dives with Declan at hopkins underwater next door to jaguar reef. Rent a golf cart from lady accross road from jaguar reef and check out hopkins. Do the trips. Enjoy the 5 star food. Drink some Belikin beer ( the only beer,usually listed as just "beer" on menus) Or just lay back on the empty beautiful beach. Stargaze. see the sunrise. Either way, you will have a great time at jaguar reef.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The resort was amazing! They had great food and entertainment with everything available at the resort. They let us use the sailboats and bikes for free to explore. They offered multiple tours everyday with transportation. The room was beautiful and right on the beach with lots of privacy. There was lots to do around the hotel as well. My friend and I rented a dirt bike in Hopkins and managed to see most of Belize during our stay there. It was a great experience and without a doubt one of the nicest places to stay in Belize!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fryeburg, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I travel each year or at least try to do so and I've got to say our stay at Jaguar reef was as relaxed of any vacation I can recall. The staff and facilities offer nothing short of a great experience. Someone would be available for whatever we could imagine anytime and the resort and area offers plenty to keep young and old smiling for the entire time of ones visit. We were in Central America for a few weeks and returned to Jaguar reef for an additional 3 nights before returning home, it was that good ! The food,staff,property and on and was just great. No big crowds just a small village with a wonderful beach and a resort that knows how to get it done.

Room Tip: on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just a few weeks ago, we had the privilege of staying at the Jaguar Reef Resort located just south of Hopkins Village. Situated right on the beach, Jaguar Reef was conveniently located near a variety of adventures including snorkeling/diving the barrier reef, zip lining, jungle hikes, Mayan ruins explorations, kayaking, fishing, and biking. The opportunities were endless and best of all, the friendly, helpful staff were more than eager to help us line up our excursions. The property is well-maintained and the rooms are spacious. The staff is truly what made our experience exceptional though. All staff members, bartenders, and desk staff were friendly, courteous and helpful! We were always greeted with a smile and all staff members knew our names from Day 1. It was truly a personalize experience! The staff was attentive and they always offered to go out of their way to make our experience amazing. I cannot say enough good things about the food. What a terrific dining experience! We enjoyed mouth-watering lobster, fish, and even ribs! Every meal was a hearty portion, seasoned to perfection, and a visual masterpiece. Jaguar Reef provided everything we could want and more. I highly recommend the Jaguar Reef Resort for the ultimate Belizean experience!!

Room Tip: All rooms are conveniently located near the beach and dining area. There wasn't a bad room at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a wonderful experience and it's not just because Scott asked us to say that. The staff over pampered us, especially our bartenders, food servers and desk staff. If we did not see or know about it, all we had to do was ask and they made it happen. Drivers, tours or special trips, they came and fetched us when it was ready. We fished, snorkeled, horseback riding, cancelled ziplining twice, cave tubing, bicycle riding, mountain climbing, waterfalls, kayaking, sailing, river tours, pools, hot tubbing, pool playing in town and just visiting with the most unpresumptuous people on earth. No hounding by street vendors. They will show you their wares if you ask but would just as soon talk about the weather or the fishing. Hopkins is an undiscovered jewel.
Special shout out to King, Girraud, Laurel, the basketball player and Craig. See you guys soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We enjoyed two weeks at this resort and were very happy. Every effort was made to make us welcome and comfortable. From the fantastic front desk staff to the wonderful waiters and waitresses, to the great bartenders, everyone was friendly and always ready with a smile and great service. The Management would check on you as well to see if you needed anything. The quality of the food and drinks was always great and well presented. Our room was spacious and clean and the facility was well maintained. We would happily recommend Jaguar Reef mostly because of the incredibly nice and efficient people who work there. It is a quiet place to relax and stay. We would love to name each and every one of the staff by name to thank them for their great service and friendship during our stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
0.1 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#4 of 12 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
22.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 554 reviews
20.4 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
#13 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
5.7 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 12 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa

Address: Hopkins Road | Hopkins-Airport Dangriga, Hopkins 0, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proud member of ViVA BELiZE, the leading Hotel Group and Adventure Company in Belize for the past 20 years. This beachfront resort is- A Diver's Paradise offering a unique Jungle and Sea Venture. It is an oasis of relaxation, with sunny skies, panoramic views of the ocean and just minutes away from the Garifuna Fishing Village of Hopkins. Other features of Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa: -WINNER 2015 TripAdvisor HALL OF FAME Award -PADI 5 Star Dive Shop -FULL Service Spa In-house -Longest & Finest Beach in Belize -Pool with Swim up Tiki Bar -Kids pool -Beachfront Dining -Water Sports & Land Adventure Tour Desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaguar Reef Hotel Hopkins
Jaguar Reef Resort
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa Belize/Hopkins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.