We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super convenient - real excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hydro Hotel Penang

Save Saved
You added Hydro Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hydro Hotel Penang
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Miami Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Penang, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Super convenient - real excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Stayed in the hotel, which is now trading just as HYDRO Hotel Penang, with our 3 kids. Depending on the budget, this hotel can offer several room types and a suitable type is easy to find at an extremely reasonable price. The weekend was full and the staff were running up and down, like bees. Still they were friendly and helpful. Yes, the beds were made up a bit later than normally during the week, but that's understandable. Overall the hotel was very clean and more like a private place to feel good, letting us breathe and experience space, which resultet in relaxation eventhough the kids were with us. The massage tent by the pool offered phantastic service, the limo & tour counter had fabulous offers and there was a watersport counter for those who were keen to experiences. The beach - called Miami Beach - is just phantastic for pictures, sandy and cosy with beautiful scenery due to boulders all along. Pool service was good most of the time and we enjoyed the ice cool fresh coconuts on offer. Weekend buffets were excellent and during the week merely Malaysian standard I guess, but also very much affordable. Alltogether, the prices paid were not expensive at all and even the kids were allowed to join us during evenings in the breezy lounge watching the lively band with their smooth songs.
We can definitely recommend that hotel as it has wonderful staff, a great location with superb views from the rooms, is easy accessible by public transport (and really cheap),not far from the town and also from the night market (5 - 10 min by free shuttle). It is comfortable and spacious, really giving excellence.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    146
    115
    48
    39
See reviews for
96
138
27
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kl
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights. The reception staff were unfriendly and difficult. We booked via Air Asia 3 rooms with two adults and one child per room. There was not enough towels, breakfast vouchers. We were told we would have to pay extra. The booking was accepted for teh party so should have been properly provided for. Service at the pool side was non existent - we had to search for a waiter every time we wanted a drink. On the plus side the food was of a high standard. It was too far from the beach. We went on the monkey island trip which was very very good. The highlight of the holiday. The room was in need of upgrading (as was the rest of the hotel). Would definitely not go back and would try one of the hotels on the beach. It was ok price wise though.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

The hotel room we had was old, poorly maintained and dirty. Safe was broken, but fixed in a hour. Bed was small and very uncomfortable. Add to that a poor location/a rather high price/mediocre breakfast, you'll find that it's not worth your time and money to stay here. Nevertheless, some of the staff i've encountered are friendly and helpful, despite the fact that they don't seem adequately trained to live up to international service standards. Whether a room has been cleaned just means whether the bed has been made or not - that a traveller expects more seems to be asking for too much in this hotel.

I'd like to add that i've had a much more comfortable stay at a hostel (Old Penang Guesthouse in Georgetown, Penang) than at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

I arrived rather tired and in need of rest and so was the Hotel.
Beware there is no air conditioning in any public areas lobby,restuarants etc. You either have to sit under a fan and freeze or swelter in the humidity.There is awful loud music played throughout the Hotel which will remind you of a funeral.
The bed was so soft its like a water bed the slightest movement and eveyone moved ! Air con in the room very loud. Deluxe room has a nominal sea view but a better one of the condo balconies which all overlook you.
I had booked for two nights only but left after one night .This is not a 4* Hotel.
It is also in the middle of no where do not go without a car.A plus point is free parking.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Hydro hotel is a nice hotel, it really is a hidden gem at such a low price! Each hotel room has a balcony, the room was spotlessly clean with simple but modern design, it came out exactly the same as the pic shown in the hotel website. The location is nice, beach can be assessed via the swimming pool of the hotel and it didnt take long for us to drive to Georgetown from the hotel.
The hardware of this hotel is 4-star, but i think the service is merely 3-star. Check in and out were kinda slow, probably they dont have enough people at the front desk, but the staff was polite, so its okay. Yet the buffet service was really a disappointment, they did have many varieties of food, but the waiters weren't truly helpful and the buffet duration can be a little longer in my opinion, at least finish at 11am. The staff started cleaning up and carrying all trays of food away right at 10:30am sharp, but there are still many guests having their breakfast at that time, I think they can be more considerate since this act was kinda forcing the guests out of the restaurant, which was quite a pressure.
Apart from this, this hotel is really nice, hope this can be improved later so this hotel will truly be a 4-star.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

lousy service, staff are not attentive to the guests. room was only clean up in late evening, and after many request!! no suttled bus service as my observation, the hotel staffs only serve western guests in good manner. i will not stay again in this hotel and not recommended anyone to stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Hydro Majestic is now under New Management & after a few bad years has returned to being the excellent hotel that we all know & love. All off the staff are as usual kind attentive & happy to help, Mr Sun the massage man is still working his magic around the pool & the new Manager Rudi & his family are doing everthing possible to to make the guest feel welcome, they have been laying on various events during the day, whilst we were staying they had easter egg hunts for the children along with egg painting, they have snacks in the bar in the early evening & are working hard on offering special food events in the restaurant in the evenings. All of you that moved to other hotels come back & for those of you that have not yet visited the Hydro Majestic come & stay & enjoy the relaxing friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hydro Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydro Hotel Penang

Address: Miami Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hydro Hotel Penang 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive and luxurious Hydro Majestic Hotel Penang is located in Penang, along the renowned Batu Ferringhi beach stretch. The property is surrounded by a wonderful landscape with a breathtaking view of the Andaman Sea. On-site facilities include a restaurant, a bar, outdoor swimming pool, pool table and table tennis. This Penang beach hotel is the perfect place for all those looking for an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hydro Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Majestic Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Hydro Majestic
Hydro Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hydro Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.