We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hydro Hotel Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hydro Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Hydro Hotel Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Miami Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The housekeeping service too slow.. Took them 6 hours to deliver towels to our room.. & that was after our 3rd call to the front desk & they say "going now"
Room facilities a bit old with not functioned remote control..
Others so far okay...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris6800, Public Relations Manager at Hydro Hotel Penang, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for choosi
ng to stay with us at the Hydro Hotel during your recent visit to Penang.

Your comments posted in your review have been acknowledged and will be looked into. We, at Hydro Hotel Penang are constantly looking for ways to improve and enhance our products and services of which your positive feedback on the product will be taken note of for our future renovation programs.

We have also taken note of your feedback with regards to the housekeeping services which did not meet your expectations and have since been highlighted to the Head of Department concerned. It is with feedback from valued guest like yourself which will further help to improve our product and service standards.

Once again, our sincere thank you for your comments and feedback and look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Best regards,
M. Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    152
    119
    48
    39
See reviews for
99
140
28
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Room is quiet to be stayed in. The room is clean and spacious enough. However the parking need to be improved as the space for us to make turning is very limited. Besides, variety of breakfast is not as good as per comment

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris6800, Public Relations Manager at Hydro Hotel Penang, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for choosing the Hydro Hotel during your recent holiday in Penang.

The commendable feedback expressed in your review have certainly help to ensure that we, at Hydro Hotel constantly improve or maintain our services and facilities to ensure that all our guests enjoyed and have a pleasant stay while they are on holiday.

We have taken note of your feedback with regards to the parking facility available within the surrounding of the hotel and will be looked into to ensure assistance are provided whenever the hotel is running on a high occupancy for our guests.

Thank you once again, and on behalf of my entire team at Hydro Hotel Penang, we look forward to your next trip back with us in the near future.

Best regards,
M.Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our room has a good view facing the pool & the sea, it was splendid! We spend most our time either in the pool or at the beach. Massage & spa is available right next to the pool. The location is perfect. just nearby Batu Feringgi town which is so happening during night time.

The room was very clean and tidy, with plenty of towels and robes for everyone (note: robes won't fit the larger family members but let's face it - we probably need a diet anyway!). Room-service is fast and efficient and the restaurants are great.


A 20 minute drive will take you to Gurney Drive to sample Penang's glorious hawker fare.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with my wife :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris6800, Public Relations Manager at Hydro Hotel Penang, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent holiday in Penang !

First of all, we would like to express our sincere thank you for the great and commendable feedback expressed in your review as your feedback will definitely help us to keep moving further towards improving our product and service standards.

It is with comments from valued guest like yourself which will further help us to progress towards ensuring that all guest enjoyed themselves while on holiday and as the General Manager of the Hotel, it was indeed a great joy that you have enjoyed your stay here with us at the Hydro Hotel.

On behalf of the entire team at Hydro Hotel Penang, we look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Warmest regards,
M. Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langkawi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

first about food, not much choice, not tasty. Got a bird's droping on the chair and table , so not clean. How can the waiter & waitress did'nt se that. Second about room, got a crack sink. But i very like the view, seaview. Very nice. Hope the hotel make some improvement.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris6800, Public Relations Manager at Hydro Hotel Penang, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hydro Hotel during your stay in Penang.

We, at the Hydro Hotel thank you for your feedback expressed in your review which certainly help us to review what we as a hotel needs to improve and progress forward. Your comments with regards to our Food & Beverage as well as the cleanliness of the Coffee House been acknowledged and directed to the Head of Department concerned.

We have also taken note of your feedback with regards to the cracked sink in the room allocated for you with the Engineering team of which will be replaced accordingly.

It is with valuable and positive feedback and comments from guest like yourself which will help us to ensure that we provide the best product and service standards to all our guests.

Thank you once again and we, at Hydro Hotel Penang look forward to seeing you with us again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
M. Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hello everyone, we stayed (3 adults and 2 small kids - 4 & 1 y.old) for 3 nights in this hotel. Although we were the only guests, the check in took over half an hour with crying children, at least they allowed us to get into the room at noon (usually room is free at 3pm). Very big clean rooms with confortable beds, tea/coffee/waterboiler and water bottle free, small fridge, quiet, bathroom needs renovation. We stayed on the 4th floor. Room 428 would get very warm very quickly and the air con is quite old so it would freeze you in a second because it comes directly on the beds (even if it's on the minimum). Room 427 (on the other side) stayed cool almost all night long even without air con.
Swimming pool : is not very big but nice.
Food: we only had breakfast: good food, a lot of choice (croissants, cereals, chinese and indian malay food, sprinrolls, 4 sorts of bread, fruits, fresh scrambled eggs, porridge,...)
We were EXTREMLY disapointed with the beach that is next to the hotel. Firstly for a family with small kids it's quite impossible to get there with a strolley (from the hotel there is a bridge over the road and then MANY stairs), the beach itself is OK (more or less clean) but there were wild dogs near to the street and on the beach (almost everywhere in Penang actually we saw those wild dogs even in the city center). The water wasn't very clear and it would get very deap already near to the beach so not good for children or even adults. (could not play in the water because of the uneven ground). The hotel is far from everything so you need to spend some money on taxis if you want to go anywhere (eat, beach, sightseeing).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris6800, Public Relations Manager at Hydro Hotel Penang, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for selecting the Hydro Hotel during your recent visit to Penang.

Thank you for your posigtive feedback expressed in your review which have since been acknowledged and certainly helps us to ensure that the hotel is progressing towards the right direction in order to maintain and further improving our product and service standards.

We have taken note of your feedback with regards to your arrival experience which was highlighted to the Head of Department concerned. It is with feedback from valued guest like yourself which will further help to improve our product and service standards. .

We, at Hydro Hotel Penang hope to welcome you back with us in the near future.

Best regards,
M. Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Pros:
- Amazing Service, one day they fed 700 people in a very professional and organized manner :)
- Clean Rooms
- Amazing Pool and clean too
- Great View
- Helpful professional Staff
- Good Food
The Hotel is very very Good, i would recommend it to anyone and i would certainly go there again :).. love u hydro

Cons:
- The bathroom in the room doesn't have a door to close, it has a curtain instead, which was really odd ...
- Ac was a bit too high, we were so cold, my husband was about to catch a strong cold..not adjustable no matter how hard we tried ...

other than that everything was perfect :)

Room Tip: a Tip Choose a sea View room, perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris6800, Public Relations Manager at Hydro Hotel Penang, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent holiday in Penang !

We at Hydro Hotel Penang would like to express our sincere thank you for the wonderful comments expressed in your review and your wonderful feedback will certainly help us to keep moving further towards improving our product and service standards.

It is with comments from valued guest like yourself which will further help us to progress towards ensuring that all guest enjoyed themselves while on holiday and as the General Manager of the Hotel, it was indeed a great joy that you have enjoyed your stay here with us at the Hydro Hotel.

We have however taken note of your feedback with regards to the air conditioning in your room of which the Engineering team will be looking into the matter.

On behalf of the entire team at Hydro Hotel Penang, we look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Warm regards,
M. Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandown
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Booked a package with Air Asia and cetainly wasn't disappointed with the great value for money at the Hydro. Check- in very prompt and efficient given a fantastic upgrade to a junior suite, absolutely wonderful on the 10th floor with a lovely view out to sea and the wooded area to the right, two huge rooms in lovely condition. I must comment on the housekeeping which was the best i have ever experienced, room service, laundry and calls to reception answered promptly. The breakfasts were adequate with the omelette chef a star. As the hotel was quite quiet during our stay if was difficult to judge the bar and band atmosphere. The pool is bigger than the impression given on the website, though beware, the wooden decking gets very hot. I only ventured down to the beach once and unfortunately the beach cafe was closed. The shuttle was great, free to the night market, though we would have liked it to be a little later on the return journey, you can, of course also go into Georgetown with the shuttle bus if you want Guerney Plaza the bus will drop you off but you have to make your own way home.All staff where very friendly and helful on the various occaisions we needed assistance. The only cons i have is that the swimming pool changing area down the stairs was not the best perhaps a little attention to this would be welcome, and the reception area furniture needs upgrading. In conclusion the hotel is great value for money, however some my find the lack of nearby facilities a drawback.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris6800, Public Relations Manager at Hydro Hotel Penang, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Penang.

We wish to thank you for the wonderful feedback expressed in your review which will certainly help us to ensure that we constantly and consistently deliver the best to all our valuable guests.

Your commendable comments on the services rendered by the Housekeeping Department have since been relayed to the Head of Department and the team.

We have however, taken note of your feedback on the swimming pool changing room and the reception area which will be one of the priority to be look at during the next refurbishment exercise. It is definitely with feedback from valued guest like yourself which will help us to ensure we improve our product and service standards.

We, at Hydro Hotel Penang hope to welcome you back with us when you next visit Penang.

Best regards,
M. Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hydro Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydro Hotel Penang

Address: Miami Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hydro Hotel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive and luxurious Hydro Majestic Hotel Penang is located in Penang, along the renowned Batu Ferringhi beach stretch. The property is surrounded by a wonderful landscape with a breathtaking view of the Andaman Sea. On-site facilities include a restaurant, a bar, outdoor swimming pool, pool table and table tennis. This Penang beach hotel is the perfect place for all those looking for an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hydro Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Majestic Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Hydro Majestic
Hydro Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hydro Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.