We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe an off day?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Pine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lone Pine Hotel to your Saves list
Lone Pine Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Maybe an off day?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I've read the other reviews and also booked a stay at this hotel, based on the reviews. However, I was very disappointed with our experience.

The hotel is very pretty, sitting a little back off the main road. At night, due to the Christmas period, there were lovely lights in the reception and foyer area. Upon checking in, which was a fairly neutral experience, we were handed a piece of paper to inform us that a wedding would be taking place at the hotel that evening and that music would be played until 11pm. Our room turned out to be next to the beach, but also next to the wedding. Terrible.

The website for the hotel includes no pictures of the beach. That is because the beach is a very public beach, very crowded, very gritty sand, quite steep down the water and crowded with jet ski's, horses and speed boats. Not only that, due to how steep the beach is, it doesn't make for the best walking beach, not to mention the hassle from the jet ski operators.

The rooms are quite basic. More in line with a basic Holiday Inn typo room than a boutique resort. We were most disappointed with the cookie-cutter rooms that were uninspiring given the potential of the resort with its history, location etc. Our wifi did not work in the room and despite repeated requests, it never worked the entirety of our stay.

Breakfast was uninspiring.

We checked out a day earlier due to the terrible night sleep due to noise and the disappointment with the room. The person at checkout made no attempt to understand why we were leaving early....it was as if it was a fairly common practice.

This hotel, given its location, history, potential could be an exceptional hotel. However, we did not experience service that made it stand out in any way, a room that was very uninspired and a general experience at the hotel that felt more like a 1950's holiday camp than a modern day boutique hotel. There are some amazing options for Boutique hotels in Georgetown that i'd recommend above this location.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    300
    73
    37
    23
See reviews for
226
405
36
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My family & I stayed at Lone Pine Hotel from 20th - 22nd Dec, 2014. As soon as we parked our car, the concierge came with the trolley without being asked! This is what I call attentiveness. And it does creates a very good 1st impression especially when this is the first time we're staying with this lovely hotel. More so after a long drive from Kuala Lumpur. Checked in was efficient and we were served with juice and cold towel. What I really like is the front desk staff explained on everything that we need to know about our stay. We were escort to our room by the front desk staff and as we walked, she explained to us about the facilities of the hotel. Since I'm travelling with my husband and 2 teenage kids, we stayed in a Premier room which comes with 2 Queen size bed. I must say the room size is just nice for the 4 of us. I especially like the balcony which is overlooking the garden and sea view. The bathroom is huge with complete amenities. There's 4 pairs of flip-flops and we were told that we can bring it home! There's coffee, tea and even Milo and the minibar has 4 can drinks - Soda water, Tonic, Pepsi and 7-Up. And it's complimentary! There's fruits basket as well. And all these were replenished daily. We were here attending our relative's garden wedding on 21st Dec so we've got wedding package rates. And for the rates that we are paying, it is really worth the stay. We had breakfast on 21st & 22nd at the Bungalow. Breakfast spread is good and there's 2 coffee machine for our cuppa. Unlike most of the hotels where they pre-prepared the coffee. We checked out on 22nd and again, the check out process was done efficiently. We really miss this hotel and we will definitely make plans to come again next year. Our sincere heartfelt thanks to all the Front Desk, Concierge, Housekeeping and F&B staff. Our stay has been a memorable one thanks to all your great job! Till we meet again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What a lovely hotel this is!!! Upon entering the lobby (which was small, with a personalized feel, airy space with ceiling high windows), we can tell this is going to be special). The room we had was on the premier garden (2 queen sized beds, and a lounging sofa) on the ground floor, provided easy access for the older folks. It is a few steps from beach and right next to the pool, but was quiet and private enough. Let's say, we were fully satisfied with the room location and size! Meals at The Bungalow (also very near our room), was pricey but was good with large portions. To sum it up, this is hotel is comfortable with spacious rooms, although a bit up-market. Oh btw, my 80+ year old dad wandered off, and tried the mee rebus across the road from the hotel, he says it was delicious!

Room Tip: I would call the hotel to ask for room rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Penang is famous for its blend of old and new especially since it is a Unesco heritage site. Lone Pine takes its lead from this. The site is a old heritage (1940s?) bungalow (or maybe two bungalows) with new buildings added to them. Rooms are lovely with a old style balcony but modern bedding and bathroom. We've 2 early teens and got a deluxe twin-bedded room that sleeps all 4 of us comfortably. Comforters used. 4 pairs of flipflop with take-me-home messages were given with the room too. I thought it was a pretty innovative idea as all guests using the beach or pool or breakfast are easily identifiable by the flipflop. Breakfast is a good spread of both local Malaysian and western options. I absolutely love the covered area for fruits and bircher muesli as flies are often an issue at the beachside. Beach is small compared to the other larger beachfront hotels on Batu Ferringhi but the pool (not really saltwater is it? Wasn't salty at all which was a good thing as I didn't fancy getting pickled hehehe) and the cabanas around the pool more than make up for it.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for 3 nights here. Not cheap. Food served is good. Room size spacious and nice with generous helping of complementary hot beverages - milo, nescafe and several different types of tea. There is a VCD player but unfortunately my unit didnt work so had to get an exchange. We can also rent VCDs for free from reception but not much choices; and some with missing CDs. The phone mouthpiece in my room smells, obviously they didnt take notice to disinfect it. There is a veranda in my room which we like very much. Newspaper is supplied every morning. At night, we were a bit disturbed by the noise made by a nearby pub that has a license to operate late into d night. So this is a bit of a let down coz they were loud and we could hear them even from closed up room.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterworth, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the best design with preservation of the old 70s that I have ever seen. The reception/ lobby is outstanding with huge glass door that sees through the well design outdoor.

The room is so cosy and very nicely arranged. There is even an open bath tub at the balcony onlooking the beach!

The pool is contemporary design for the whole family regardless of age. And the walk along the beach accompanied by the Pine tree can be rather nostalgic.

We dine at the Bangalow and the food serving Are professionally prepared with good range and free flow of wine.

Overall it can be rather expensive but it worth the effort spend by the people there trying to make it better. Highly recommended!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had 7 nights at Lone Pine and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff were very friendly and very helpful. The property has extensive lawn areas and a good sized pool for swimming. Our room and balcony on the 3rd floor overlooked the pool area and was large and well appointed. Breakfast provided each day was very good. A good hotel and we would stay again. The only negative was the sound of the jet skis in the bay that were fairly close to shore. Apart from this we enjoyed the hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lone Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Hotel

Address: 97 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Pine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Lone Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Pine Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Hotel Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lone Pine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.