We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The PLACE for Luxurious, Quiet & Relaxing Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Pine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lone Pine Hotel to your Saves list
Lone Pine Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The PLACE for Luxurious, Quiet & Relaxing Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway, this is the place.
The hotel is not crowded, good is service and basically all you need for a relaxing holidays within the premises. And, food is excellent.
The rate is a bit pricy, but, value for money with spacious, clean & well maintained room and complimentary drink & fruit daily.
Little things like wifi router in the room is very thoughtful and the design make you feel at home.
The only frustration is to be attended to close to 20min after sat down at the restaurant for a drink.
But then, it's not an issue if you're here for a relaxing holidays, right?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    300
    73
    37
    23
See reviews for
226
405
36
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Just spent 5 nights at LP. Room was very nice and bed was comfortable. Free shuttle to Georgetown was very good service. Tiny reception area where all staff tend to congregate. Not sure why they don't have office space you really shouldn't have maintenance staff ect in reception. The main bar is away from the beach which is crazy. Happy hour not big here as Bungaloe Cafe which is closest to the beach has no life - lacks atmosphere, no music, hard to see beach due to high hedge, happy hour prices not published, no bar snacks ect. Staff would ask me why no one come here for happy hour - just you? So I told them their manager should do some market research and visit places like Parkroyal, Bora Bora bar ect to see why they are always full.
Breakfast was quite good and pool very nice. Location close to everything.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We've stayed at Lone Pine once before in 2012 and had nothing but good things to say about it.
We went back for a couple of days over Easter to show some friends what luxury in Malaysia can be like.
The hotel occupies a prime spot on the beach at Batu Ferringhi - and at night is in a great location for the night markets and the hawkers markets (for food).
The rooms and hotel are spotless - and we loved the outdoor bath on the balcony. Taking a dip in there at night with the sound of the crashing waves ... the last word in relaxation.

The only slight complaint I have with this most recent visit is the service in The Bungalow - the onsite restaurant. The breakfast buffet was great, but with meals ordered at lunch and mid afternoon the service was very hit and miss. My partner and I ordered our meals and they came out 25 minutes apart. Indeed her Tiffin meal tool 1hr and 40mins to come out. This happened to other people during that sitting and food was being sent back for this reason, which is a shame.

But that aside, the resort is sensational, peaceful and a great spot to relax.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed at the lone pine for 5 nights. We stayed in a deluxe sea view room which was amazing. Extremely clean with a complimentary minibar full of soft drinks that was replenished daily. This added to the fruit bowl which was replenished daily as well. The rooms were spacious with a very generously sized bathroom. The shower room and toilet are linked by a glass panel but thee are two doors which can be closed to separate the room from the bathroom. The balcony was nice with an added bonus of an outdoor bath which added to the fun!
Our beds were turned down for us when we came back on dinner and the night market which was a nice treat too.
The staff were extremely helpful and were there to help wherever they can.
The hotel is well located and the night market is just outside the hotel entrance, along with a number of cafés and restaurants.
The swimming pool was clean and there were plenty of loungers available. Complimentary towels are available at the side of the pool. The food at breakfast was tasty and there was so much on offer to cater for all tastes.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place to relax.
Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the Lone Pine for a long weekend with the extended family and I have to say it was excellent.

The service in particular is first rate, even if not everything is going perfectly there is always a smile and a wonderful attitude. Staff are never anything but accomodating.

The rooms are good and spotlessly clean with first class aircon if you need some relief from the heat. There's even a small plunge bath on the balconies.

The pool area is excellent with a good kids' pool also. Service around the pool is also very good as it is at the outdoor restaurant adjacent.

There's a couple of things that the hotel could work on such as the general upkeep of the grounds, a few more TV channels wouldn't go amiss either and a properly stocked minibar would be nice too. The toilets next to the pool could do with being a bit cleaner also.

The only gripe I really had was that it's a bit noisey. You can generally hear a fair amount of noise - general banging and hotel noises - as well as music from outside the hotel. There is a bustling beach close by and the hotel is also immediately on what is a very busy and vibrant main road. The walls do appear to be dreadfully thin so you need to be aware of that at least.

It's a very charming hotel however and you will definitely have a good stay, worth checking out.

Room Tip: I'm not sure how possible it is but if you can get one that isn't adjacent to the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear DuffnGuff,

We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and found our services up to your satisfaction. We have taken note of your feedback on some areas that you have highlighted. As for the minibar, the drinks that we provide are all on complimentary basis unlike other hotels who give you a well stock bar but is chargeable. The recent drought has taken a toll on our grounds as many trees, plants and grass died due to the extremely hot condition. We are now looking into this and prepared to spend some money to get it back to prime condition. Thank goodness the rain is back especially in the evenings. We hope to see you again soon and wish you a wonderful year ahead.

Kind regards,
Khoo BL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

stayed at lone pine for three days during the school holiday...check-in were smooth & welcome drink provided...the staff were friendly & attentive...the room were spacious & clean...there's welcome fruit in the room & the complete amenities provided such as toiletries, slippers, umbrella & even the sarung...my kids love the plunge bath at the balcony..the hotel surroundings makes me feel calm & relaxes...the breakfast were quiet good & tasty..there's a variety in it & i personally like their char kuay teow...we're also used their in room dining services...the price were reasonable but the taste is average...the only problem i've facing during my stay is there's no astro channel in the room because they're upgrading their system...so we borrow the dvd from the hotel for free but the dvd player inside my room is not functioning...the hotel also has a poor wifi connection in the room...during my check-out the hotel charged me with the wrong amount which they included the room service in my bill that i've paid with cash earlier...other than that we're satisfied with the services & facilities provided by the hotel...kudos to the staff...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Lone Pine for 10 days and thoroughly enjoyed it. From the friendly staff to the spacious rooms with comfortable beds and balcony (complete with plunge bath) and also little extras (chocolates, bottle of wine, cookies and free mini bar soft drinks, daily fruit) we could not recommend it more. The hotel was 'boutique' so never crowded, always plenty of room around the pool, breakfasts were plentiful and offered a great choice from Western to Malaysian (try the roti and curry and the Penang noodles - yum). The hotel was in a great position to enjoy the night market and hawker stalls for dinner. The manager Khoo hosted a happy hour cocktail party for guests which was very enjoyable. We would recommend a stay at Lone Pine, more suited to couples rather than families.

Room Tip: Second or third floor gives better view of beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lone Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Hotel

Address: 97 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Pine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Lone Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Pine Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Hotel Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lone Pine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.