We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service fills in the gaps” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Pine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Lone Pine Hotel to your Saves list
Lone Pine Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
“Excellent service fills in the gaps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the Lone Pine for a long weekend with the extended family and I have to say it was excellent.

The service in particular is first rate, even if not everything is going perfectly there is always a smile and a wonderful attitude. Staff are never anything but accomodating.

The rooms are good and spotlessly clean with first class aircon if you need some relief from the heat. There's even a small plunge bath on the balconies.

The pool area is excellent with a good kids' pool also. Service around the pool is also very good as it is at the outdoor restaurant adjacent.

There's a couple of things that the hotel could work on such as the general upkeep of the grounds, a few more TV channels wouldn't go amiss either and a properly stocked minibar would be nice too. The toilets next to the pool could do with being a bit cleaner also.

The only gripe I really had was that it's a bit noisey. You can generally hear a fair amount of noise - general banging and hotel noises - as well as music from outside the hotel. There is a bustling beach close by and the hotel is also immediately on what is a very busy and vibrant main road. The walls do appear to be dreadfully thin so you need to be aware of that at least.

It's a very charming hotel however and you will definitely have a good stay, worth checking out.

Room Tip: I'm not sure how possible it is but if you can get one that isn't adjacent to the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear DuffnGuff,

We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and found our services up to your satisfaction. We have taken note of your feedback on some areas that you have highlighted. As for the minibar, the drinks that we provide are all on complimentary basis unlike other hotels who give you a well stock bar but is chargeable. The recent drought has taken a toll on our grounds as many trees, plants and grass died due to the extremely hot condition. We are now looking into this and prepared to spend some money to get it back to prime condition. Thank goodness the rain is back especially in the evenings. We hope to see you again soon and wish you a wonderful year ahead.

Kind regards,
Khoo BL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    300
    73
    36
    23
See reviews for
223
405
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

stayed at lone pine for three days during the school holiday...check-in were smooth & welcome drink provided...the staff were friendly & attentive...the room were spacious & clean...there's welcome fruit in the room & the complete amenities provided such as toiletries, slippers, umbrella & even the sarung...my kids love the plunge bath at the balcony..the hotel surroundings makes me feel calm & relaxes...the breakfast were quiet good & tasty..there's a variety in it & i personally like their char kuay teow...we're also used their in room dining services...the price were reasonable but the taste is average...the only problem i've facing during my stay is there's no astro channel in the room because they're upgrading their system...so we borrow the dvd from the hotel for free but the dvd player inside my room is not functioning...the hotel also has a poor wifi connection in the room...during my check-out the hotel charged me with the wrong amount which they included the room service in my bill that i've paid with cash earlier...other than that we're satisfied with the services & facilities provided by the hotel...kudos to the staff...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Lone Pine for 10 days and thoroughly enjoyed it. From the friendly staff to the spacious rooms with comfortable beds and balcony (complete with plunge bath) and also little extras (chocolates, bottle of wine, cookies and free mini bar soft drinks, daily fruit) we could not recommend it more. The hotel was 'boutique' so never crowded, always plenty of room around the pool, breakfasts were plentiful and offered a great choice from Western to Malaysian (try the roti and curry and the Penang noodles - yum). The hotel was in a great position to enjoy the night market and hawker stalls for dinner. The manager Khoo hosted a happy hour cocktail party for guests which was very enjoyable. We would recommend a stay at Lone Pine, more suited to couples rather than families.

Room Tip: Second or third floor gives better view of beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My Husband and I stayed here for the last 4 days of a 2 week holiday, a lot of time before which was spent trekking in rainforests and exploring cities, so we were really looking for somewhere to just relax and unwind - well this certainly delivered! I work in a 5* hotel, so have high standards when it comes to luxury hotels, and as this was my little treat after 10 days of more basic accommodation I had high expectations as well, but both were more than satisfied!

The room was amazing - huge, comfortable bed with gorgeous silky smooth sheets, and an actual duvet rather than just a sheet or a heavy bedspread - this combined with the excellent blackout curtains meant we had the few best nights sleep of the whol journey. The other facilities were also fabulous - huge, powerful shower, fluffy towels and bathrobes, plenty of complimentary goodies incluidng the flip flops and a wide range of toiletries - we also appreciated the selection of teas (and hot chocolate!) and the complimentary soft drinks.

And the balcony?! Wow! Fantastic view overlooking the sea and with a huge outdoor bath! This got used every day - the water pressure was so high it made mountains of bubbles and the novelty of lying in the bath on a warm evening was just brilliant! The area immediately in front of the bath was screen for privacy, so you had a chance to wrap a towel around yourself before anyone could have seen you - only the very prudish would have felt on-show out here! The daybed and table and chairs were also lovely areas to use whilst reading a book, and we ordered room service one night and had an enjoyable evening eating and drinking out here.

The pool area was lovely - lots of loungers, plentiful fluffy towels and the poolside drinks and food were yummy! I agree with other reviewers that the beach wasn't brilliant, but we came to Penang for the food and culture and not the beaches, and I personally prefer walking along beaches than lying on them, so it didn't affect us at all!

There was a free shuttle service into Georgetown which made exploring easy, and the immediate Batu Ferringhi area (although a little tacky) was fun at night - there was an excellent Hawker centre right outside the hotel, and the night market was fun, and whilst the majority of the wares were dodgy knock-off handbags, watches and DVD there were a few nice pieces amongst them and we picked up some nice laquerware, carved wooden items and jewellery.

We tested the spa one afternoon and had a fantastic facial and massage - again, the prices felt very reasonable by UK standards - there were cheaper options available in Batu Ferrnghi, but I doubt the experience would have been as relaxing or the products as good.

However, the main thing that made us enjoy this hotel so much? Hands down the food! Breakfast was just incredible - the biggest selection of any hotel I've ever stayed at - whether you wanted fresh Nasi Goreng, Curry and Roti (which you could cook over a BBQ!) or wanted a bit of home comfort with the Full English or freshly cooked pancakes, all were provided, along with a huge slection of fresh fruit, bread, pastries and spreads, yoghurts, fruit juices, iced chocolate, porridge, continental cheeses and meats - anything you could possibly want for breakfast! It was served from 6.30 until 11am, and you really could stay for ages, reading a book and grazing - fabulous!

We ate out for a couple of nights, but ended up coming back to the bar afterwards - it had a very cool retro 70's vibe and the cocktails were yummy, and by the local standards not too expensive at all.

We also attended the Friday night unlimited buffet - the unlimited wine was very good quality, and they also served unlimited beer, and the food quantity and quality was similar to breakfast in the amount of choice - a variety of different types of curry, rice and noodles, Chef's barbequing meat to order, a make-you-own soup station, and a huge selection of fresh seafood! There was also an amazing display of desserts including a chocolate fountain and inc-cream station - not exactly fine dining, no, but really fun, and very tasty food, and for the price we felt very good value!

The only negative I can find was that the wifi was a little slow sometimes - that didn't really bother us most of the time as we were there to relax - it was only an issue when I ran out of books and it took 15 minutes to download a new book to my Kindle - something that usually only takes 2 minutes!

However, overall we loved this hotel - it felt luxurious without being stuffy and the staff were all very professional but still friendly. Our room felt like a little coccoon away from the world, but it was also very easy to relax by the pool. That and the food made this place a real gem!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher-floor room as the views are better the higher up you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My partner and I stayed 7 nights at the Lone Pine and found it to be very pleasant.
We had a super deluxe room which was excellent, spacious and well appointed with nice views of the beach from the balcony.
The hotel overall had a lovely relaxing feel about it
Staff at all levels were good and dealt with a few minor issues quickly. The little touches such as complimentary minibar,fruit etc set it apart from other hotels we've stayed at.
Met the the manager a few times and found him to be a warm welcoming guy.
All up an excellent choice

Room Tip: Level two or three for views of beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 9 nights as part of a Singapore/Malaysia trip, accompanied by our 10 year old son. Too long with not enough to do for everyone, especially him. Better suited to Honeymooners/couples or families with smaller children who will be happy with the excellent paddling pools.

Room ok but no better than hundreds of others we have stayed in. Had intermittant difficulties with the tv which were attended to promptly.

Location is sandwiched between the beach and busy
Main road, itself lined with cheap open air cafés/restaurants and novelty shops/stalls. The night market adds to the commotion and personally there did not appear to be anything displayed beyond cheap t shirts and fake designer bags/watches etc. Not a genuine crafts market.

In house menus quite varied but theme nights, especially Tepenyaki, not discernibly different from any normal buffet.

Service charges slightly annoying at 10% on absolutely everything, even in the bar. For a 9-day stay that amounts to a very tidy sum, with no discretion to reward individuals for their efforts to make your stay enjoyable.

Attractions beyond the hotel can be covered in 2 to 3 days max so unless you want to dose by the pool would not recommend an extended stay.

Overall, definitely not an "exclusive" hotel and nothing to differentiate it from many others. We made the mistake in booking it given our accompanying son
so the over-riding message is be careful to judge how you want to spend your valuable vacation time. A location for couples who are just wanting to relax but expensive for what you get.


  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

I am well traveled stayed in 100s of hotels around the world. But never fell like going to the trouble of writing a review. But I am 75% through a 12 night stay at the lone pine. I just want to tell anyone thinking of staying here to ignore any of the bad reviews of this hotel is a top hotel. from the ambience to the really pleasant and helpful staff great inclusive add ons like complementary soft drinks water fruit and cold towels at the pool little gifts a couple of times during our stay. Wine and chocolates. A invitation to meet the management for drinks nibbles and a chat.free wifi courtesy bus great value wine and dine evening including entertainment free flowing wine and beer for 115 mr. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have had Malaysian Western all good food. We had a room right above the events arena and garden there have been 5 weddings this week all quite and finished by 11 pm no disturbance to us in fact enjoyed the fireworks etc.you do hear the odd jet ski race about 5 pm when the locals come out but it does not cause any problem. Just outside The hotel is the long beach cafe its worth a visit a food market looks horrible plastic chairs and tables. Fluorescent lights busy and noisy. But the concept is simple sit down somebody comes takes your drinks order brings them puts the beer on ice you pay.go and order your food from one of the stalls note table number they bring that you pay really cheap. Good food all sorts available. Straights quay is also worth a visit nice smart bars and restaurants at about the price you would pay in the UK the courtesy bus goes there several times a day. To some up a great stay well worth the money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lone Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Hotel

Address: 97 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Pine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lone Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Pine Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Hotel Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lone Pine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.