We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience overall, but minor things that should be improved.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Pine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Lone Pine Hotel to your Saves list
Lone Pine Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good experience overall, but minor things that should be improved.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This is my second stay at the hotel. After a pleasant stay last summer with my girlfriend, this stay was with my parents and sister.
Our experience with the hotel overall was good, the rooms were clean and spacious and was well located to face the sea. The bar had good range of drinks on offer and we enjoyed the shisha. The pool was pleasant and I really enjoyed my naps in those little shaded rattan huts by the pool.
The following issues I think the hotel can seriously consider improving:

1)The wifi, reception was weak in most places except in the middle of the restaurant and lobby, even inside the rooms signal was weak. I would seriously suggest the hotel invest in upgrading the system.
2) Breakfast quality was a disappointment, some of the food felt like they were hastily prepared, in fact I did find the food quality at the Bungalow to be the biggest weakness of this hotel, consider we were in the middle of Penang, a food paradise.
3) While staff were generally friendly and helpful, service speed and response tend to be slow, I had to call multiple times to get my safety box fixed, and it was noticed that sometimes when staff clean the rooms, there are small bits that they forget, say a towel, or a floor mat or a bottle of water. nothing major but small details. Sometimes small details does tell the difference. Even in the restaurant, staff were slow to take away finished plates, and sometimes food doesn't come with the right cutlery, so we had to ask for them, while not a big deal, it is something staff should be trained to do automatically.
4) We stayed in a deluxe room, there was a lack of convenient location for hanging our used towels, please add more towel racks or hooks on the wall.

Room Tip: Most rooms come with a small tub on the balcony, which is pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    300
    72
    36
    23
See reviews for
223
404
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

A converted colonial building right on the beach. This was our first time at the Lone Pine and we will be back again.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and it was good to see section managers out talking to guests. Perhaps my only criticism was that response was sometimes slow, so you started to wonder if they had been diverted onto something else. Maybe it is the Malaysian way
The breakfast buffet at The Bungalow was excellent with a wide choice and much cooked to order. The Japanese restaurant was also good.
There is a busy night market outside, if you want to negotiate a bargain and do try the Ferranghi Garden restaurant, just a short walk away, if you want a different dining experience (see Trip Advisor).

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is a very lovely Hotel, we got used to stay their when ever we go to Penang, and always we take a corner room with Day Bed inside the room.
The all staff are very good, nice, helpful, Thanks Husainia (hope its correct spelling) from front reception, room cleaning boys, concierge and all other staff

Our last stay was in December 2013, the Hotel was busy due to school holiday they have, but we enjoyed the stay, the sound of ocean during night inside your room and the sea view are very nice.

Sure I recommend

Room Tip: The Rooms with Day Bed inside the room specially in the middle or the left side are very good third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels I had ever stayed. Modern & minimalist interior design, generous & impeccable service, top notch facilities and a beach to die for. The price is very competitive compared to other 5 star resorts around this area. What I loved most is the great variety of food served at The Bungalow, crystal clear waters of the swimming pool and also the sound of waves pounding the shore heard from the rooms at night. Looking forward to my next awesome trip here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Shaun,

We are indeed grateful for your kind compliments of the hotel and its services. We do try our best to provide all our guests a wonderful experience at the hotel and the best reward for us is when we have a satisfied and gratifying customer like you, telling the whole world about it. Please do stay in touch and let us know of your next planned visit. On behalf of the hotel and its associates we would like to wish you and family a very wonderful and blessed festive season ahead.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I'm just back from my holiday at penang & stay 2 nite at long pine hotel , feel so disappointed my hsb get food poisoning on Sunday morning after the breakfast at long pine hotel .. The food no hygien n got fly fly n ants . Inside the hotel can see ants everywhere ...not looks like 5 star hotel

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Kellyquck,

I am sorry to hear that your husband came down with some food poisoning while you were in Penang for a holiday. However as a reputable hotel, we are very serious in our hygiene practice and we do our best to ensure that all the measures are strictly adhere to by our employees. Furthermore as part of our Risk Management profile, we are subjected for regular reviews and improvements by our internal auditors. We have conducted some inquiries with many of our other guests, especially all our long stay guests, and it seems that yours is the only isolated case we have received. Food poisoning will normally take effect after several hours rather than shortly after a meal. While we are not denying the possibility, food poisoning is rather subjective as I'm sure both of you had consumed drinks and food elsewhere and not only in the hotel. We are a resort style hotel and like many other reputable resort establishments in a tropical environment, we do have our challenge of insects and ants invading our space as we are not operating in an enclosed area like a city hotel. In fact we do pay a substantial amount of expenses to hygiene and pests control vendors to conduct regular checks and work on our premise. As much as we welcome all feedback's, we do hope that using some common courtesy in future would be a much better option rather than out right condemnation.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Came to Penang for a wedding dinner at a nearby hotel, took a gamble and stayed at Lone Pine. We were tired of the same drabby thick carpets and dark walls of the 'usual' 5 stars nearby...

We knew were will not be disappointed even as we were parking our car. The parking lot is like a botanical garden, with tall shady pines and brick lined pavements. The lobby was spacious and clean.

My room, an intermediate deluxe, was modern, white-walled with a huge bed. The balcony had a bathtub with a view of the ocean. The washroom and wardrobe was fashionably designed with sliding doors to ensure privacy when need. They even provide complimentary (free to take home) sandals for the beach and sarongs and Thai - style umbrellas for beach visits.
The breakfast buffet was at a seafront bungalow, spacious and carefully laid out. The pool is simple with a smaller pool for children.

There is a gym, as well as games room.

Every corner of the hotel is great for a photograph.

A small stain on the otherwise extremely satisfying stay was that we were locked out of the hotel room as the battery of the lock mechanism died. It took about half an hour to sort out.

Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Chong R,

Well I'm glad your "gamble" paid off as we are so happy to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. During the renovations, we clearly make a point not to remove any single tree and in fact added more. It is indeed a challenge maintaining them but it's all worthwhile as we believe in the preservation and appreciation of our green environment. Please do stay in touch with us and should you need any assistance in future, please contact me. Thanks again and wishing you and family a wonderful and blessed festive season.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruinisse, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

we were this year for the first time in Lone Pine Hotel in Penang
Our stay in Lone Pine was great,
We had a very nice room Premier Garden room is an excellent room right next to the garden overlooking the sea, we enjoyed our holiday even though the weather was not so good a lot of rain, the staff at the hotel was excellent very friendly and helpful, everything is perfectly arranged really fantastic. perfectly clean room every day, eat in the restaurants is of excellent quality.
I want to do compliments to everyone who made our stay memorable
a small hotel of 90 rooms where guests still really guest feeling
we come back next year just booked our room.

this members of staff we want to thank particularly for the unforgettable holiday,
Mr. Guido Farina, Mr. Khoo, Mrs. Husniza Husin, Mr. Pierre Boudville, Mrs. Ann Ann,
and all the staff of Hotel Lone Pine

Chris and Johanna Hirdes
Holland

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Chris,

It was really great having you and your lovely wife at Lone Pine and we were rather sad when it was time for you to head home as everyone here misses you both. Nevertheless, we will look forward to your next trip to Penang. On behalf of the everyone here, please accept our sincere appreciation for giving Lone Pine such a nice review and we would like to wish both of you, Merry Christmas & Happy New Year. May you be blessed with much love and happiness always.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lone Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Hotel

Address: 97 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Pine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lone Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Pine Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Hotel Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lone Pine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.