We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, solid choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Pine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Lone Pine Hotel to your Saves list
Lone Pine Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good, solid choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Rooms were well decorated and modern. Lovely outdoor bathtub on the balcony big enough for both of us. Complementary soft drinks in the mini bar, although we had to keep chasing them to refill.
Lovely pool and jacuzzi pool. Right next to the beach. Plenty of bed chairs and umbrellas.
Free shuttle service to the sister hotel E&O in Georgetown which was easy and convenient.
WiFi works throughout the hotel which is rare.

Restaurant food is of very high quality. We were there for the CNY eve dinner buffet which was amazing variety and standard. Breakfast was less spectacular and it seemed on both occasions that there was only a small amount of everything available and they didn't seem to be re-filled. We did ask for more and they got extra from the kitchen, which makes us wonder whether the staff were just not proactive enough to top up or whether they were under instruction not to bring out more unless requested to do so.
The service in the restaurant was sometimes over-bearing with waiters swarming and wanting to take your plate away before you'd barely finished. The prata chef was also a novice and made a hash of the prats that we requested. He was clearly not of Indian decent and clearly not a seasoned prata expert either!

The street outside the hotel is lined with a hundreds of night market stalls. The stall merchants were not too pushy and we did not feel threatened at any time, even walking with our 3 year old daughter. The locals were very friendly. There is a very nice Hawker Centre next door.

Overall a very pleasant stay and good value for money.

Room Tip: try and get a pool/beach view room on a high floor. although a pool side room may also be nice but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    300
    73
    36
    23
See reviews for
223
405
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

For 100%, you will have an amazing time in this hotel. Everything is perfect. Service is amazing. People are nice and helpful. Food is fantastic. Location is great. In addition, they will amaze you with their set up if you book for your honey moon or anniversary.

Room Tip: The corner room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Basem_Alquhidan,

Thank you for such a nice, sweet, short comments on our property and services. We look forward to have you as our guest again and wish you a pleasant and productive year ahead.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had a five-night stay in Batu Ferringhi and ended up staying two nights in the Shangri-La Rasa Sayang (thanks to some discount vouchers) and three nights at Lone Pine. These two locations are numbers one and two on the Trip Advisor list for Batu Ferringhi but there is a significant difference between them. You can’t compare them because the Rasa Sayang is a fair bit more expensive and is a true world class resort. After staying two nights at the Rasa, we did find Lone Pine was a big step down in accommodation but again we shouldn’t compare the two. Also, when reading these reviews you must consider who the reviewers. We are a family with 50+ parents and we brought our teen age son and also our two sons in their early 20s. The boys loved the Rasa Sayang but couldn’t get excited about Lone Pine.

There we two very strong positives about Lone Pine: the service and the rooms.

From the moment we checked in I could tell there was something special about Lone Pine as the staff were always smiling and always helpful.

Secondly, the rooms were very comfy. They were large and well supplied with amenities. We were on a 42-day round the world holiday and I think our sleep at Lone Pine was probably the best we had. In other hotels we always struggled to get the right sleeping temperature but the individually controlled air conditioner and fan in the room allowed us to get the perfect temperature. The shower was great with a wonderful flow.

The rooms do have a nice view of the ocean but this comes at a cost. During daylight hours there is a constant hum – or rather, roar - of jet skis and motor boats. If you’re after a quiet, tranquil beach then Batu Ferringhi is not the place for you. On the other hand, we did not hear any of the motor sports while staying at the Rasa Sayang so it does seem to be amplified at Lone Pine.

As mentioned here many times, we weren’t terribly impressed with the buffet breakfast. The selection was average and the quality was average when compared to other hotel buffet breakfasts. But there certainly was no wow factor there. We found many of the trays were empty. So breakfast was fine but not great.

The pool area was fine but the gardens really didn’t excite us, but this is because we were coming from Rasa Sayang and its magnificent pool area and tropical gardens. Our boys simply weren’t too keen to hang out at the pool at Lone Pine.

So whereas we were happy with Lone Pine and have no major complaints we just didn’t share the enthusiasm as others did. But as I mentioned above that could be because Lone Pine just might not be the place for three young men between the ages of 15 and 23. If we had to do it all again, I think we’d rather have 3 days at the more expensive Rasa Sayang than 5 days at Lone Pine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear 123Felix,

Thank you very much for your constructive and honest comments. I am glad that you do agree that these are the 2 best hotels up at Batu Feringgi area. Well I must say that we are constantly trying to improve further on our product and services as we are only less than 3 years after the major make over as compared to our fellow neighbor who has been existence for a long while as top resort in this region. Nevertheless, this will only spur us further to find our own niche. We hope that you and family will visit us again so please do keep in touch and we wish you all a pleasant year ahead.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Lone pine is a perfect hotel for a relaxing break.The manager and the staff were all very helpful and want to make sure everything went well for us. The room was lovely with good lights for reading and the bathroom had plenty of space. The balcony was most enjoyable with seating and a bath. The night market was fun and gave us entertaining evening. The pool was large with seating on the lawns.The beach was active and the sea was warm. Would love to go back

Room Tip: Do catch the local bus 101 to Geargetown. It is a great way to meet the local people as they like to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Mickey39,

A BIG thank you for your nice comments and we hope you will find time to come visit us again. It is guests like you that make our work more enjoyable and we will do our best to keep on improving. Have a blessed year and wishing you all the best.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bankstown, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My better half and I stayed for two weeks at this establishment in January and we were very happy with the Lone PIne.
Some of the reasons - The management went out of thier way to make us welcome. The reception ladies were extremely helpful as were the porter staff.
The breakfasts were generally good except for a few hiccups which were of no great worry.
The pool and surrounds are clean and well maintained as are the gardens.
We had a room on the second floor overlooking the pool and a view of the beach through the trees.
The room was generally well cleaned by the staff but we once had to ask the cleaner to clean some mould from the shower area.
By having only 90 rooms this hotel/resort this is small compared to most of the resorts in the area which IMO gives it quiet charm.
There were a mixture of guests ranging from mature couples to families with kids.Everybody seemed to get along.
The hotel is in a great position as it is close to the Long Beach hawkers and restaurants, also the night markets are right at the front of the hotel.
They offer a free shuttle to Straits Quay and The E & O hotel in Georgetown, we recommend the High Tea at the E & O.

Room Tip: Prefer the third floor for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Ello1946,

We are very grateful for your kind comments about your experience at Lone Pine. I am glad that you have found the product,services and of course the staffs up to your expectations. However, this will only motivate us to do better and try to improve further in the future. We hope that you and your better half will pay us another visit again and if so, I will try to arrange the room on the 3rd floor since you mentioned that you prefer that better. Please inform us if you decide to do so. We wish both of you all the best for the year.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark, england
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

At first was disappointed as not of the same standard as the Danna at Langkawi but it grew on me. Staff are friendly, including the general manager, Guido, and it has a nice unfussy & unpretentious feel. Rooms are huge and have a lot of extras from flip flops to sarongs. The best bit is the huge balcony with day bed and tub, just great for sitting out on especially in the evening when there is just the noise of the waves. A ceiling fan out here would make it even better. The fridge is restocked daily with complimentary soft drinks, the room staff take a lot of trouble to find out what you like & left us more " revive" cans and extra coffee as that was what we used most. There were a lot of kids when we were there but they were a delight. It was nice to see well-behaved children of many different nationalities having fun and playing together. That was something I noticed, how nice all the other guests were, perhaps its the kind of guests the hotel attracts or perhaps the friendly staff and the surroundings bring out the best in people. There are a couple of drawbacks, a lot of noise from the watersports on the beach and a lot of noise from the busy road but I don't think you would escape these in any other hotel in Batu Ferringhi. The hotel is very convienient for shops, night market, restaurants etc and there is a very good pharmacy across the road & to the left behind the Eden plaza block. Very helpful female pharmacist who speaks very good English. The Friday and saturday buffet nights in the bungalow are well worth going to. 115 rm for great food and free wine, beer or fruit punch and a band. Our glasses never even approached empty as the staff were zealous in keeping them topped up. Another slight query is that there are not that many books in Lepak corner, I'm surprised they don't have more as we left about 5 just from our week. Breakfast was lovely, huge spread. I particularly liked the charcoal grill for making toast with the Bengali bread - delicious. It is well worth using the free shuttle to Straits Quay. It is a bit of a soulless place but has surprisingly good reasonably priced restaurants including ones that serve pork! The Power Up juice bar to the right has delicious juices and you can just get a sandwich for lunch there. Dinner there was very nice, Chinese dishes appeared very fresh and we thorough;y enjoyed them, also very cheap. Our rooms were 317 and 318. Great view of the pool & beach. Couldn't quite work out why our balconies were not next to each other. Turns out there was a living room inbetween which turns it into a 3 room suite but we didn't have access to this room. Don't understand why we were not given the oppotunity to make use of this room as it was not lettable to anyone else.

Room Tip: 317 and 318 have good pool and beach views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Newarkgirl,

On behalf of the General Manager and the staff, I am so delighted to receive such good comments from you on our property, staff and service. We do try our best to provide personal service and make our guests stay as comfortable and memorable as we can. We look forward to see you again and hopefully this time we are able to offer you the same rooms you last stayed with the addition of the extra living area next door. I am not sure why you were not given access the last time as it could be due to some maintenance work but let me assure that I will do it for you on your next visit. Of course it would be much appreciated if you could give me a heads up on your visit first.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This sort of hotel is difficult to find. The staff is incredibly friendly; service is smiling and efficient; the rooms are comfortable and have a bathtub on the balcony. Most come with a sea view. There's a big pool and spacious lawns to stretch out in lounge chairs or a hammock. The breakfast buffet is excellent, ranging from standard Western fare to local wok specialities. There's also a sophisticated Japanese restaurant with an exquisite wine list. In front of the hotel are inexpensive restaurants, a food court and night market. We had booked for two nights initially and ended up staying more than three weeks. We loved this place. That being said, there are also some shades of grey. Wireless reception tends to be slow and patchy, and the beach is dominated by roaring jet skis. But never mind, all in all this is an excellently run hotel to which I would return any time soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Weltenbummler2,

We are so glad to received such great comments about the property and especially the staff and the service. We do try our very best to ensure all our guests enjoyed a pleasant and relaxing stay with us. We have taken note about the wi-fi service and will get our IT people to improve it. We hope that you will come stay with us again soon. Please contact us if you need any assistance on your booking. Please accept our best wishes for the year and again a BIG thank you for your wonderful comments.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lone Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Hotel

Address: 97 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Pine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lone Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Pine Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Hotel Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lone Pine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.