We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suitable for honeymooners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Pine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Lone Pine Hotel to your Saves list
Lone Pine Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Suitable for honeymooners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a business meeting. Room was very spacious with bath tub at the balcony. Pillows and mattress were ultra comfortable. Spacious bathroom with all amenities provided, very helpful indeed.

They do not have private beach, as does all other hotels in Batu Ferringhi but they have spacious garden area overlooking the beach with hammocks.. very comfy for just chilling out and read books. Swimming pool was OK.. not much to shout about. adequate for adults to do a few laps.

Breakfast does not meet expectation, considering it is a top notch hotel. The variety of food is a lot but the taste is a little bit disappointing.

Overall, recommended for honeymoon or adult getaways.. not so much for family with small children vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Haelin,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia's Premier Boutique Beach Resort.

We appreciate very much for your review and respect your opinion of some aspect that did not meet your expectations. We will try harder and do our best to improve. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves. I agree that we are suitable for honeymooners, adults but we do have family style rooms that will accommodate a small family comfortably. We also provide a games room that has Sony PS3 play stations, pool table, foosball and computers for our guests to use.
Anyway, please accept our best wishes and have a wonderful festive season.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    300
    73
    37
    23
See reviews for
226
405
36
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in the Deluxe room and was very happy with our stay. The room were clean and spacious. They even provide slippers for walking to the pool.
The breakfast buffet was good, the staff were friendly. Unfortunately when we were there the spa was closed, didn't get to try the spa(would loved to try though). Location wise, it was close to night market and it's also a beach front hotel. Lovely pool and overall ambiance of the place was great.
We also dined at Matsu, the japanese restaurant in the hotel, and it was refreshing. It's worth visiting if you are staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Zetster,

We are most delighted to see such a wonderful review from you. It is with much satisfaction to see that we have managed to meet your expectations for the property, product and services, however I am surprised to read your comment about the spa being closed. I am not sure when exactly you were there but they are supposed to be operating 7 days a week from 11 am to 8 pm. Anyway, I will have a word with the operator as this is the only outlet in the hotel that we actually contract out to a third party.
Anyway, I wish you have a great time celebrating this festive season. Cheers!

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I was looking forward to the perfect long weekend break at Lone Pine as described by many reviewers. The bed, day-bed and bathroom were great but there were several issues that made us rethink whether it was really worth paying more than USD200 per night. Sure, the hotel was near the night market but we didn’t find it easy to get decent food. The food at Long Beach foodcourt was not great. You might want to try out Living Room Café or Helena’s which are about 10 minutes’ walk away in the direction of Holiday Inn.

Excitedly, I booked the hotel because I really liked the idea of having a plunge pool in the balcony. What you wouldn’t have expected is to smell cooking fumes when you step out onto the balcony. Mr Ismail offered us an upgrade to a premier garden room which was the only room available (for some reason, the garden also smelled of bbq!) but the room was right beside a wedding reception to be held the next day as the hotel was running at full capacity. I must however commend Mr Ismail for his attentive service for the next 3-days of our stay.

Our room was on the third floor, a corner deluxe suite facing the bungalow and every morning and evening, we were subjected to sounds of kitchen staff cleaning the crockery and stacking the plates. For some reason, the noise really travelled. On Saturday, fireworks were set off till early in the morning, making sleep quite impossible if you are a light sleeper. The aircon also kept coming on and off throughout the day due to some issue with the thermostat. Understaffing was a key issue at the bungalow during breakfast over the weekend, and be prepared to wait for your coffee or tea. The food was also sub-standard by Penang standards.

All in all, I find I cannot recommend Lone Pine. This is our second trip to Penang this year and perhaps because we enjoyed a fantastic stay at 23 Love Lane in Georgetown previously, we felt really underwhelmed this round.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the middle of the central building on level 2 or 3 to get a pool view. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear ToffeeBee,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia's Premier Boutique Beach Resort.

I am equally disappointed that you have found your stay with us unsatisfactory as we always do try our best to ensure all our guests have a pleasant time with us. I have taken note of the points you raised concerning the hotel and have advice the respective departments to be wary of it. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to change your opinion of the hotel. Should you do so, please contact me so that i can make the necessary arrangements for you.

Thank you.

Best regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have just returned from a delightful 4 day stay at Lone Pine. Our booking was made very spontaneously halfway through our Penang holiday yet, with very little notice, we were accommodated in a Super Deluxe room and made very welcome.

Other reviewers have discussed the advantages of this room so I simply reiterate the positive comments made previously - great amount of space, terrific guest amenities ( loved the fresh toothbrushes each day) and a lovely sense of proximity by the ocean.

We greatly enjoyed the Bungalow restaurant with a comprehensive breakfast, very enjoyable al la carte menu and personable, helpful staff. In fact, all the staff at Lone Pine were marvelous and their friendliness and courtesy was a highlight of our stay.

A previous reviewer made fairly negative comments re the mini bar arrangement; we thought it great to have some drinks available but to also have space for our own drinks as we aren't fans of the traditional mini bar which costs an arm and a leg.

This part of out trip was intended for relaxation and Lone Pine provided this in spades. The environs are cool and calming but there are ample opportunities to explore the world outside Lone Pine and the hotel is perfectly situated for this as noted by other reviewers.

It is no exaggeration to say that this is one of the loveliest hotels we've ever stayed at. We're now planning our return next May. Thanks Lone Pine for a wonderful end to our holiday.

Room Tip: Higher floors in the new wing would have great sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Baileybum,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia's Premier Boutique Beach Resort.

What can we say for such wonderful comments but a BIG "Thank You". It is always so fulfilling to receive such reviews as we know our efforts are well appreciated from the product to our services. We try our best to provide the small touches and glad that guests like you do take notice of them. We really look forward to your visit in May next year but meanwhile please accept our well wishes and blessing to you and your family for the coming festive season.

Best regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Tucked in between the large resorts of Golden Sands and Park Royal, and not to mention the hundreds of souvenir stalls lining the main road on Batu Feringghi, the Lone Pine Hotel is like a much welcome oasis in a parched desert. Even after its recent renovation, where a brand new 5 storey block was added to the existing 2 storey-high blocks and old bungalow, it remains quietly understated.

It is probably one of the best choice for resorts in this part of the island, if you are looking to be away from the crowds in a typical beach resort.

Being an architect, i especially like the textures of the brickwork and the perforation blocks used throughout the resort as well as the lush hanging landscaping flanking the entry foyer to the hotel. The green lawns surrounded by the low rise blocks of rooms with quaint wooden louvred windows reminds me of the scale of a Malaysian Kampong (village). And the balcony bathtub in our deluxe room with a view of the sea was quite a nice touch as well.

The breakfast, with a mix of the international standards and local Penang favourites (char koay tiau, freshly cooked on the wok upon request) was one of the best I have had in any hotel.

Room Tip: Because the Lone Pine is located almost at the end of Batu Feringgi, one must not miss the chance to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear SFR6262E,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia's Premier Boutique Beach Resort.

We are so happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we really value your comments on the design and service of the hotel. In fact, the architect firm who did the job, received an award for the best commercial building this year in Malaysia. We do try our best to provide good food and service to all our guests as we feel that this is the only way to distinct ourselves from the other establishments in Penang.
We wish you and family well and enjoy a wonderful festive season.

Best regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just left the hotel yesterday afternoon and it is a much better experience than the last hotel. Lone Pine is a remodeled hotel. It has old school charm with modern amenities. If anyone ever watched "Dirty Dancing", the place feels like the summer lodge in the movie. The rooms are big, doesn't feel cramped even with the three of us. We hanged out mostly in the verandah overlooking the Strait of Malacca. The staff members are amazing, so patient with our rowdiness. (It is an open bar wedding!) The wedding took place on the lawn adjacent to the beach, although it rained the previous night, someone was thoughtful enough to cover the grounds. I would recommend this place to stay for those who like Penang for its rich history and yummy street food.

Room Tip: Ask for the wing with elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear TravelasFamily,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia's Premier Boutique Beach Resort.

We are so glad that you have experienced a memorable and wonderful wedding reception at the hotel. The property is indeed blessed with the perfect location and ambiance to host such wonderful events. It is also wonderful to hear that you really appreciate the product as well as the service you received.
We wish you all the best and look forward to see you again on your next visit to Penang.

Best regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose a ground-floor room in the old wing - with a patio looking on to the garden and the sea beyond. A good move since it gave immediate access to the garden. And it was quiet. The patio provided a great place to 'chill-out' with a glass of wine (or two!). Very relaxing and peaceful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Ronda 2_2,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia's Premier Boutique Beach Resort.

We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The Premier Garden room is indeed my personal favorite too and it is actually the original room of the first block of rooms that was built in 1948. Apart from maintaining the original structure, everything have been refurbished and upgraded.
Please keep in touch and we hope to see you soon again for another relaxing stay with us.

Best regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lone Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Hotel

Address: 97 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Pine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lone Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Pine Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Hotel Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lone Pine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.