We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel -great place for a holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Pine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lone Pine Hotel to your Saves list
Lone Pine Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel -great place for a holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Lone Pine exceeded all our expectations. I recently spent 10 days here with my husband and 88 year old father. The atmosphere, surroundings and general ambience was beautiful. The rooms (Premier beach front rooms) were absolutely amazing-we could hear the waves crashing on the shore and when we opened the shutters, there was a welcome sea breeze. Breakfast was an incredible array of all kinds of food. Anything you wanted was on hand and fresh eggs were cooked to our liking. From the Batubar, dinner and lunch in the restaurant-nothing cold be faulted. Service and variety of food would satisfy even the most critical of holidaymakers!! The staff couldn't be more helpful, even when my father became ill, the offer was made to get a doctor or drive me at least to the Pharmacy to buy some medication. The reception staff were welcoming and very courteous at all times, with the general manager, his assistant manager and executive staff roaming and chatting with all the guests. We met many of them at the welcome Cocktail Party. My husband and I participated in the cooking class and had a wonderful time! The Chef was great in helping us to emulate his wonderful Kopitan Chicken curry and squid appetiser. Hawker markets are within easy walk if you feel the need to venture out, plus the hotel have a shuttle bus which takes you into Georgetown. My opinion...don't stay anywhere else, go to The Lone Pine at Batu Ferringhi! We will be back, really soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Hobo56,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia's Premier Boutique Beach Resort.

What a fantastic review! We are so happy that all of you have arrived back home safely. If I must say on behalf of everyone here we do miss all of you very much, especially the energetic 88 "Young" Man! We really appreciate your kind and encouraging words that can only motivate us further to reach new heights in our service and product.

We shall hold your last few words of your review and look forward to see all of you back at Lone Pine very soon. Please do take good care of yourself and family, especially our lovable 88 year young man. Cheers!

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    323
    90
    40
    25
See reviews for
242
434
41
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Lone Pine earlier this month and they could not do enough to make our stay memorable. The buffet breakfast each morning was diverse and very delicious.

While we were staying at Lone Pine we saw a dying kitten and the hotel staff drove me back to the kitten and arranged for a vet we could take it to. They completely went out of their way. They not only care about their guests but also animals too!

Awesome stay!

Room Tip: The rooms on the beach front. We had beach views but had a bit of a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Lisa T,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia's Premier Boutique Beach Resort.

Thank you for such a wonderful review and we are so glad that you and your friend had a "PURRRRfect " stay with us. Hope you don't mind my little sense of humour.

Anyway, we look forward to see you again at Lone Pine so please do visit us again soon. Have a fantastic year ahead with best wishes.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Lone Pine from 15 to 21 September. We originally stayed at the old Lone Pine for New Years Eve in 1970. Of course the hotel has been mostly rebuilt and refurbished. It is still very new and the architecture is great. The old bits and the new ones function seamlessly together. Great sea views from our room on the third floor. The management is obviously doing a great job because not only do the staff perform faultlessly but they seem happy working together and interacting with guests. The way the staff interacted with two disabled guests was wonderful to see. Guests were invited to a very enjoyable cocktail party. We had no trouble with the wi fi and after the National Day weekend the jet skis weren't a problem. One of the best hotels we've stayed at, in fact.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Barry Turner,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia's Premier Boutique Beach Resort.

Firstly we are glad to know that both of you had a safe trip back home. We are delighted that both of you had enjoyed your stay and experienced some wonderful and memorable moments with us. If I may, I have only one special request from you...........

Kindly please don't take another 42 years to pay us another visit! See you next year as the drinks at the cocktail party will be waiting for both of you.

Cheers!
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Usually I can find something wrong in any hotel, but here our stay was realy perfect. It's pricy, true, but Lone Pine delivers. Nice building, with attention to detail. Beautiful room overlooking the pines in the garden and the sea. A bath on the balcony (!?), nice pool with friendly staff. Good breakfast and a good set meal included in the price at the Japanese restaurant in the hotel.
There is no private beach and as soon as you step on the sand, the water sport guys will try to getbyou on the jetski's, but I realy don't mind. In fact, it still gives you the idea you are in Malaysia, not in a big secluded resort.
Batu Ferenggi itself is perhaps a bit touristy, but this you know when you go there, so nothing you can blame the hotel.
All in all, the smaller scale type resort, the interior and the excellent service, make it therefore a very recommendable stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear SasGuy,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia's Premier Boutique Beach Resort.

We are very delighted to receive such a wonderful review and even more where it seem like we have "nearly" managed to meet and exceeded all your expectations. Batu Feringgi has always been a popular tourist destination and I do agree sometimes you can get a bit "overwhelmed" with some of the over enthusiastic people who are plying their trade there but I'm sure you will agree that it is the same with other tourist destinations too.

Nevertheless, we hope that you will visit us again soon as we look forward to having you here again at Lone Pine. Please do keep in touch and wishing you a productive year ahead.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a lovely time and all the staff were v helpful and friendly to us and our baby. The room was delightful and we enjoyed the outdoor bath.

The only improvement could be the wifi which we couldn't connect to. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Lusean,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia's Premier Boutique Beach Resort.

We are very delighted to see that you andyour family had enjoyed your stay with us. I have informed my IT department about the wifi and they doing their very best to improve it.

We hope to see you all again and wish you a lovely year ahead.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Good points:
Location
Room is spacious with dip pool@ balcony
Swimming pool
Room service
Minibar free
Nice and spacious pine trees garden
Night market

Not so nice:
noisy with jetski at the beach from 9am till 6pm
Breakfast taste need improvement though lots of choices

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear SgnExp,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia's Premier Boutique Beach Resort.

We are happy to learn that you have found the property and the facilities to be nice however we are also on our wits end with the watersport operators. The hotels are working closely with the current government, who are doing their best to get them more organize, and even contemplating providing a designated area for them to operate on. This is not an easy task as they have been around for awhile.

As for the breakfast spread, I have conveyed the message through to our Kitchen Head to seriously look into your comment.

Thank you again and wishing you a good week ahead.

KInd regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had, one nightstand with nobody but Lone Pine ☺
It was a memorable stay and everything was great, except: we had joint beds instead of one single king size bed! Choices we had for mini bar (It's free!)...err...not so impressive as those we had in G Hotel.

We had our breakfast at 6.30am (one of the earlier); food was great; healthy choices with lots of variety. However, it seems to us that the staffs @ the White Bungalow needed some Espresso as the morning booster as they were not quite attentive.

Last but not least, the lobby/check in area is a bit crowded; it was not a nice experience to “squeeze” with the crowd especially at about 12noon… there was insufficient chair at the waiting area too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Karenzhia,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia's Premier Boutique Beach Resort.

We are very delighted to see that you had enjoyed your "One Night Stand" with Lone Pine. It could have been more "intimate" if we could have provided you the right bedding so please accept our apologies. We were running very high on our occupancy during that time. Please inform me on your next trip and I promise that you will get what you expect.

I also appreciate your other comments and we shall do the necessary to improve. I wish you all the best and again please inform me on your next trip.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lone Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Hotel

Address: 97 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Pine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Lone Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Pine Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Hotel Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lone Pine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.