We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic room but F&B needs improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Pine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lone Pine Hotel to your Saves list
Lone Pine Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic room but F&B needs improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We're staying here for a period of 3 nights and as I write this we're still at the hotel. Reason? The dreary weather! It has been raining intermittently for the past 48 hours since we reached here. We got a sea facing room and the room itself is simply fantastic. We wonder why more hotels don't place fans in their rooms as this is a very nice touch.
Service upon check in was great and the staff were very helpful overall. However, the F&B at The Bungalow requires some improvements. Breakfast service could be improved by ensuring food served are not past their expiry date. We were about to tuck into our yogurt when we realised that they had expired 3 days ago. When we informed the restaurant, the staff nonchalantly took the yogurt and just said 'thank you' and walked away. Offering us an alternative would have been a nicer touch, considering the hotel is one from the higher end. We hope to enjoy the rest of our stay here.

Room Tip: Enquire if there are any garden weddings scheduled to ensure some peace and quiet during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Travel_Pooh68,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

On behalf of everyone at the hotel, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation for taking your precious time to compliment our services during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel.

All of us here are so happy to hear that you have had a wonderful stay with us however I understand that there were certain issues that did not meet your expectations. We have seriously taken note of this and will take immediate action to improve those shortcomings. We do appreciate such constructive comments as it will only further motivate us to strive harder to provide a higher level in the service industry.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable and more fulfilling.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.


Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    325
    91
    40
    25
See reviews for
244
435
41
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed from 21 to 24 August 2011 and must say that the Lone Pine Hotel website does not do justice to the reality of the hotel (my apologies to the Marketing Department for saying so)!

The moment we arrived, we just KNEW we had made the right choice. From the understated charm of the architecture to the friendly-but-not-fake hositality of the staff, the bright, cheery, spacious and very well thought-out rooms, the more-than-adequate breakfast buffet, the large and clean swimming pool, the gorgeous beach front... Everything consipired to make this the perfect holiday!

There is a convenient shuttle into town (to the sister E&O Hotel), and lovely little touches like the turn down gift of a box of freshly baked mini cupcakes added to the positive experience.

The very comfortable beds and pillows ensured very restful nights and delicious mid-morning and mid-afternoon naps! The day bed in the balcony of our Deluxe Room was also very good, and we spent many hours reading there on the occassional rainy day we were there.

The only thing I found a bit wasteful was the sunken bath tub also located in the balcony. Being out there, there was no way to soak in the tub without being seen by outsiders! Nice idea, but not very practical.

We would definitely be back the next time we are in Penang!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Amy1909,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I trust that the week has been wonderful and productive for you and your family. It was really fantastic to have read your wonderful comments during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel and that have made it more satisfying for all of us to learn that we have managed to fulfil the expectations of another guest.

The hospitality industry is indeed challenging but most fulfilling when we have a guest like you expressing your satisfaction to the whole world and pledging to return and visit us.

Please rest assured that your comments have been acknowledged by the management of Lone Pine Hotel and have been duly passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Taking a few days out after a hectic business trip, the Lone Pine provided a perfect respite. The rooms are gorgeous, with balconies to lounge around in, and views of the ocean. The breakfasts are superb, and the ambience is one of comfortable, stylish relaxation. Everything else is in walking distance. The pool is well located, close to the waterfront, but with enough space to escape when the children's pool gets too noisy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Travelesse,


Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I trust that you have had a wonderful and productive week. We would like to extend our sincere appreciation to you for taking some of your precious time to compliment our services during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel.

All of us here are delighted to hear that you have had a wonderful stay with us and we have managed to have met or exceeded your expectations. Your wonderful comments will only motivate us to work harder to deliver a higher level of service in the hospitality industry.

Please rest assured that your comments have been acknowledged by the management of Lone Pine Hotel and have been duly passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Relaxing hotel with a high standard of accommodation and friendly and efficient staff...it was one of the better places I've stayed in my regular travels around the world. Can't recommend it enough

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear pfoye,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

Thank you for taking the time to compliment our services during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel.

I am indeed delighted to hear that you have had a wonderful and satisfying stay with us. All of us here greatly appreciate your comments, as it’s always a pleasure to know that we have met or exceeded our guests’ expectations.

Please be assured that your comments have been acknowledged by the management of Lone Pine Hotel and passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff in recognition of their hard work and dedication in the hospitality industry.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as fulfilling and enjoyable.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

From the wonderful welcome by the young Italian management member of staff to the gorgeous rooms, this is the one to stay at. Right on the beach, good food, luxury rooms with fabulous balcony bath and stunning updated decor. Great staff, good food. Quick service, and free yummy boxes of cakes each night. What more could you ask for?
Yes, there are bigger hotels but THIS is the best, by far. Thank you, Lone Pine.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Welshgirlinparadise,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I trust that the week has been wonderful and productive for you and your family. It was really fantastic to have read your wonderful comments during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel and that have made it more satisfying for all of us to learn that we have managed to fulfil the expectations of another guest.

The hospitality industry is indeed challenging but most fulfilling when we have a guest like you expressing your satisfaction to the whole world.

Please rest assured that your comments have been acknowledged by the management of Lone Pine Hotel and have been duly passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

This is certainly a beautiful hotel with a beautiful renovation. It's right at the beginning of the night markets and a 2min walk to palm beach food court which has a fantastic choice of food incredibly cheap.

Saying all of this the hotel feels a bit sterile and really lacks "Malaysian charm" we found at other hotels. The room cleaning was quite poor and we constantly had to call housekeeping for things. The food in the hotel is average for the price and much better food choices can be found outside.

All in all a nice hotel at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear bubblyblonde85,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

On behalf of everyone at the hotel, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation for taking your precious time to compliment our services during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel.

All of us here are so happy to hear that you have had a wonderful stay with us however I understand that there were certain issues that did not meet your expectations. We have seriously taken note of this and will take immediate action to improve those shortcomings. We do appreciate such constructive comments as it will only further motivate us to strive harder to provide a higher level in the service industry.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable and more fulfilling.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.


Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We spent 8 days in Penang and could have stayed longer. There was plenty to see and do. Staff at the Lone Pine were exceptional - Danielle, Casey and Esther on the front desk and Iris, the managing housekeeper were consistently helpful, pleasant and friendly ... nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is delightful with spacious, comfortable and clean rooms. The meals were fresh and delicious and reasonably priced. The grounds and pools were well maintained.. Definitely recommended AA++!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Retireejonesflynn,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I trust that you have had a wonderful and productive week. We would like to extend our sincere appreciation to you for taking some of your precious time to compliment our services during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel.

All of us here are delighted to hear that you have had a wonderful stay with us and we have managed to have met or exceeded your expectations. Your wonderful comments will only motivate us to work harder to deliver a higher level of service in the hospitality industry.

Please rest assured that your comments have been acknowledged by the management of Lone Pine Hotel and have been duly passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lone Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Hotel

Address: 97 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Pine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Lone Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Pine Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Hotel Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lone Pine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.