We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holidays at bayview” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bayview Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Holidays at bayview”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Really bad service for waiting an extra bed almost 4 hours n twice reminded also no response!! Still waiting....I booked the room thru online, the package was including extra bed, wounder why they have to take so long time to prepare an extra bed?

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Chew A,

We apologise for the inadvertent inconvenience caused in having you to wait for your extra bed as the hotel was fully booked on your day of arrival coinciding with the long weekend public holidays and very heavy demand for extra beds. I am not sure what happened in your case that you have reported waiting for almost 4 hours which we don’t seem to have any record of such long wait. In any case, we are so sorry to have inconvenienced you. We hope to be able to get it right for you the next time you are with us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    450
    211
    66
    40
See reviews for
400
354
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here for four nights 7May 2014 a very well run hotel clean and comfortable big rooms good food selection good size pool and a good size kiddies play area nice gardens which leads onto the beach good location being just a short bus ride into Georgetown but plenty of bars and Restaurants locally Staff at this hotel are very polite and nothing IS to much trouble to them always happy to help. We will stay here again when we revisit Penang

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view from your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear grenvillestead,

We appreciate your excellent endorsement of our friendly and caring staff, clean spacious rooms, landscaped garden, good location, free-form swimming pool with swim-up bar and our popular childrens Play-Pool.

We are delighted you have a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your definite revisit soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a 4 star hotel with Non sea facing rooms costing RM250 and Ocean facing rooms at RM400. Rooms are clean, but drainage was blocked. Got in house plumber to solve it. Breakfast is average. Recommended for budget travellers

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room if you are a non smoker. ask for a partially ocean facing room for the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Francis K,

Our lowest lead in pricing along the Batu Ferringhi stretch indeed has made us the preferred and value for money choice from our satisfied local and international guests; especially those travelling with families enjoying the wide ranging facilities.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to a better rating the next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Been to this hotel couple of times for company trip and personal stay. Very spacious room and reasonable price. Ask for ocean view room if budget is allow. Buffet breakfast-I would consider not bad with this price range. Great hotel for family trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear HLGoh605,

Thank you for being our returnees and I am delighted that you liked our buffet breakfasts which many other guests have also enjoyed plus all the facilities we offer to make us a value for money resort along the beach for family holidays.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back when you are next in Batu Ferringhi for another enjoyable holiday at the Bayview Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Wife and I recently spent ten days in a Ocean View Superior room on 8th floor. Room was great with very large bed. Only criticism of the room was the large lounge chairs which took up too much room and the bedside lights which were both controlled from switch on right side. View to west was great for sunsets and also of the ocean and hotel grounds and pool (both of which are great). Very good gym. Too hot to sit on balcony in afternoon until about 6pm when heat started to go out of sun. Breakfast was a average and mostly catered for non Europeans. Quite location and value for money. Staff were excellent. Local buses are easy to catch and cheap as (rm2.70) to Georgetown.

Room Tip: Look for 8th floor or above and spend extra for Ocean View. Most of these rooms if not all have bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Bill M,

Thank you for recommending the Deluxe sea facing rooms as they do provide value for money with its amenities and its settings. I am glad the gym meets with your approval and our attentive & friendly staff served you well.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Penang is a major tourist destination and competition between hotels is high. Bayview, whilst not on the top rung of accommodation options on Batu Ferringhi, is a very comfortable and well appointed 'resort' style hotel probably most suited to family holidays.

A spacious and glassy atrium serves as the lobby with glass lifts serving all the accommodation floors. The rooms are large, especially the family suites... with two bedrooms, a living area and small kitchenette.

Staff are great. Helpful, polite, well presented. The hotel surrounds include a great pool well monitored by staff. Beach access, as with all resorts along Batu Ferringhi, is good, however the beach has been neglected in recent years.

Very satisfied with our 'family' stopover for two nights and would have no hesitation to return to Bayview again. Very competitive room rates for the standard of accommodation and facilities supplied.

Room Tip: Views not fantastic from any level, although a beach view room is better from the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Mark B,

Thank you for giving us a very good 4/5 rating on your recent stay here and your nice review of our large family suites with the extended living room that accommodates very well for families, plus all the highlighted recreational facilities we offer. This make us one of the most preferred resorts along the beach for family holidays. Our resort has a variety of rates and packages offering the most reasonable rates along Batu Ferringhi beach in comparison with other hotels in the area. I am glad this suits you well.

We are delighted you are confident in returning to stay with us and we look forward to extending you another pleasant stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

What is nice?
(a) Pool is about the only redeeming feature in this hotel. It is around 15-20m in curvy length. So, for those who wish to swim laps, the length is welcome.
(b) Location. As hotel is located along the end of the Batu Ferringhi beach area, there is the nearby night market (15 mins walk away), access to restaurants and eateries, buses to town / airport, etc.

But even at the beach, there is another unique practice.
When I wanted to use the beach chairs, I was informed by the staff that certain chairs and tables were already occupied. The staff said that reservation is available at RM50 per day. Another interesting money making practice.

What could be better?
(a) Jaded look in the lobby, restaurant and in the room. I guess it is about time to redo the hotel.
(b) Room had no room sandals, towel card, dirty balcony chairs, etc. I wonder where is the supervision and whether there is any quality check on the room upkeep.
Note: Hotel had a strange practice where pool towels can only be obtained with a towel card. I guessed this resulted from too many stolen towels. But I wonder if this should be the solution.
(c) Food in the restaurant tended to be expensive and not something one would look forward to eat again.
(d) Wifi in room is chargeable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear IamQingfa,

Thank you for staying with us and particularly finding our pool delightful.

If you are referring to the cabanas and sunbeds been taken up, they are actually for rental for exclusive usage. As explained in earlier postings, reserved cabanas are rentable for exclusive usage to prevent previous difficulty of guests competing daily to take territorial possession of the free for all cabanas. However, we still allow the “first come, first served” basis for any free cabanas that have not been rented out. This way, we manage to keep most guests happy as those who want exclusive use have to pay for the privilege and those who are not willing to pay understood that they have an option to do so if they want exclusive usage. I regret this system has somewhat caused you the wrong impression.

We have taken note of your comments over the cleanliness of the balcony chairs and remedial actions have been taken by the housekeeping department to be more vigilant when checking rooms. For your information, bathroom slippers are available on request.

Regrettably (as mentioned in our previous posts regarding food and beverage prices) and like all hotels in Penang, we are unable to compete with the illegal and unlicensed operators with no compliance costs selling at cheaper prices on the streets. However, the Hotel provide a convenient and hygienic place to have your food and drinks with Happy Hours offers at certain times in the various outlets.

We have extended free in-room wi-fi with effect from 1 September 2012 so we are confused when you said we charged for wi-fi usage in the room. We only charge guests for using our computer (PC) at the Business Centre for those guests who do not have internet connectable gadget thus preventing guests from hoarding the PC for long periods.

We hope to welcome you back when you next visit Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Beach Resort

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bayview Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Beach Hotel Batu Ferringhi
The Bayview Beach Hotel
Bayview Beach Resort Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.