We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bayview Beach Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bayview Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Bayview Beach Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed here at Easter in a family rooms which is two rooms in one. Very spacious.They are a bit strange about how many people you can have in room. We were with friends so we put a bed in their room to accommodate our youngest and that resolved the issue but she still slept in our room. We had a huge bed which four could have slept in.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. As soon as we asked for something someone was there to do it for you even the kids. When they asked for drinks and the staff always knew who they belonged to and came to get a signature. They loved the pool and the gardens where you could sit if the sun was too hot
The only negative thing about the hotel is the the rooms need updating just a bit dark and worn although still serviceable. The staff at breakfast are a bit miserable the take your room ask your room number as though it's some military exercise. Think I only saw one girl smile and then the restaurant manager told her off in front of customers. Poor. She also worked at the pool bar and smiled there too as did all the staff .
For lunch try Enca opposite the hotel, doesn't look much, but the food is excellent they also have the Tandoori at the food court in Long Beach, also worth a visit.
My wife had her toe nails painted at the spa. What a mess even I could have done a better job. Having paid for it she promptly took it off and did again herself. The nail lacquer was of poor quality and uneven.
Would use the hotel again too noisy on the strip at night with kids even the hotels there you can still hear it.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a family room higher up the building for the view, like a mini suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-at-Bayview, Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear ewtbml,

Thank you for giving us a very good 4/5 rating on your recent stay at the Bayview and for commending our spacious family room, huge bed and friendly staff providing good service. The pool is indeed the biggest attraction in the hotel with its spread out garden and shaded cabanas cluttered in strategic locations for guest use. We are glad you enjoyed it.

All our rooms has been continuously updated to provide guests with comfortable and convenient accommodation. By end of last year, we have completed adding additional lighting in our family rooms as previously we did have some complaints about the dim in-room lighting so I am surprised to actually receive this feedback. I would greatly appreciate it if we could communicate further details of your stay at chelvakumar.c@bayviewhotels.com and we discuss further as to how we can make your future stay with us better.

Finally, I am sorry about the poor impression we have given you during breakfast and also at the spa. As we are aware of the breakfast incident, I have personally spoken to our Food & Beverage Manager to improve where we can do better. As for the spa, I have written to the spa operator to remind the spa associates be more mindful when serving guests.

Once again I do apologize for our shortcomings and I know we will do better in the future. Thank you and i do look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    486
    230
    73
    41
See reviews for
438
382
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

I was a little disappointed after arriving. The room could do with a lick of paint and the furniture was a little shabby. However, the room was quite large and the bed was enormous but with awful pillows.
The gardens were quite large and there were plenty of sunbeds around though April is the quiet season. Breakfast was a range of cereals, fruit and the usual sausages, bacon eggs etc, breads and cakes, yoghurts.
The pool area was nice and the beach nice also. There was a sign up just before you reached the beach basically warning swim at your own risk because of jellyfish. Straight opposite the hotel are mini marts and a couple of cafés/basic restaurants. Hardrock hotel is right next door where you can have a drink and most nights they have an amazing band on. Next time I would choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-at-Bayview, Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear sm4rtgirl,

Warm greetings from the Bayview! We are saddened over your disappointment with your room during your stay with us. I am sorry that you felt that the furniture was shabby and the pillows are bad. As a standard practise, all rooms are inspected frequently for any defects or required upkeep or spring cleaning. Pillows and other in-room items are constantly checked and replaced regularly. It is most unfortunate that we are unable to ascertain your room number so that we can check and improve further.

Our breakfast buffet spread is normally a hit with our guests and so is our pool and garden area. April is indeed a quiet month for us but normally due to our size, even the busy month doesn’t look busy around the garden. The jelly fish warning signage at the entrance to the public beach were simply put up to express our concerns for our guest comfort and safety. As there have been jelly fish cases before in and around Penang island it is in our opinion that our guests should know.

We are disappointed that you may not stay with us again on your future visit to Penang but nevertheless we thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review us on this forum. We wish you happy travelling 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My first impressions of this hotel.
Arrive by taxi, no one in sight to help with bags. Have to cart them all up yourself, bell boy arrives to assist AFTER we had already lugged them up the stairs. hmmm
Check in...... tick tock tick tock soooo slow.
We were lucky enough to receive an upgrade to a Seaview room on the top floor (10th room 1017). The room looks lovely, it is dated and the carpet is old, but in general everything appeared clean. We were very happy with our room, that was until night time when it seemed the air con (whilst on 10 degrees) is blowing out warmish air. Call to reception someone comes to look, says he fixes it both my partner and I were up all night sweating. Next morning complain to reception, they send someone else to fix it. Still no different. We were then offered an 'upgrade' by the reception staff, interestingly enough the upgrade was a downgrade back to the original room around the back of the hotel with no ocean view. We went in and checked it out the room was no cooler than the one we were in.
We decided to stay as at this stage our room felt cooler. Go figure during the day the room is cooler in the heat of the day than at night!
We requested a fan and to give the staff praise anything we asked for we did get and quite quickly.
Second day our safe stopped working, that had to be replaced.
Third day the fridge stopped working.
It just seemed like we were constantly thinking what next!
Saying this the pool was great, although in full sun during the day, there are amble chairs for you to sit and enjoy (dont leave chips or food near the pool crows ripped our sealed chip packet open and ate them) the location is right on the beach we really enjoyed the jet ski's. Across from the hotel is a 7/11 and the restaurant right next to it Enca we ate at and quite enjoyed (nice and cheap). Go into the hawker I think its called Long Beach or something like that Its amazing have the pancakes they were to die for.
The staff in this hotel were amazing (reception staff), and they assisted us with a fan which helped sleep a little better at night,
If you can afford it stay somewhere nicer and closer to the night market.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-at-Bayview, Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear MelisaP779,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your review on Tripadvisor. It is never a pleasure for us to know that we have left a poor impression on one of our guest. I would like to express my sincere apology for the list of things that did go wrong during your stay with us and would like to assure you that this is not our usual standard. We have discussed in length with our management team, the issues that you have faced during your stay with us and we will carry out the appropriate actions to avoid similar incidences

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback about our pool, garden and staffs, indeed these are our biggest assets and what we are best known for. We are also ever so grateful for your feedback as it is how we can learn to improve ourselves to be able to serve you better. Kindly do contact me at chelvakumar.c@bayviewhotels.com should you be visiting Penang again in the future as I do hope that my team and I would be given the opportunity to restore your confidence in Bayview!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sungai Petani, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had a two night stay here in February 2014. The room on the 5th floor was good sized, however its overall ambiance left much to be desired as the furnishings and the add-ons were of a mediocre quality. The presence of a small balcony was a welcome thing, as we enjoyed an early morning cup of tea sitting there.

The breakfast was the usual array of western and local cuisines. The choices were the usual and nothing wow, the egg counter could be better organised. The dining area opens onto the swimming pool, but the general get up was not very inviting, nor the cleanliness was of satisfactory level.
It is very popular resort because of the access to private beach though I would like to rate it as of average value.

Room Tip: Room facing the beach side and at higher level could afford a better view, though there is no differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Front Office Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear albatross-549,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor! I am disappointed that the room you stayed in did not meet your expectation as most of our rooms have recently completed progressive updating and minor renovation work. Balconies which is available in all rooms do provide the perfect location for a cup of tea, especially if you are in of our western facing seaview room during sunset.

Our buffet breakfast is varied on a daily basis with over 70 items served every morning and normally it is well received by most of our guests. We thank you for your feedback with regards to our egg counter and cleanliness, we will look into the areas to analyse and improve if there is any shortcomings. Thank you once again for staying us and for sharing your views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I took my 2 teenage grand daughters in September and it was pretty disastrous! The hotel was great but they weren't once able to use the pool or the beach - weather at fault not the hotel!
Breakfasts were more than substantial but only had dinner there once in 8 days and once was enough. The main restaurant wasn't open whilst we were there so had to use the "café" - not a great dining experience. Staff were really friendly and helpful and our junior suite was really great. On the whole we found 8 days too long and were quite happy to return to Australia at the end of it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Front Office Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear iris k,

Thank you for choosing the Bayview Beach Resort as your choice of accommodation in Penang. Though I am saddened that your stay with us was dampened by the unfortunate weather, I am glad that the room and the service crew has met your expectations. I am sorry the Marco Polo restaurant was closed on the day you decided to dine in, the All Day La Veranda serves a variety of local and international selections with a view of our large swimming pool on the ground floor.

Usually, Penang Island when explored offers a good mix of modern tropical island meets old world colonial charm and of course great food everywhere you go. That and our multi-racial heritage and culture makes the island as one of South East Asia’s most visited destinations. I am sorry that you may have not had the chance to experience these fully due to the weather condition. We thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

2nd visit in 14 months here.

Great to see some of the staff recognised us too!

Again, nice family room up on the 9th floor and excellent weather.

Rikki the reflexologist again was superb!

I am sure we will be back again some time soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Front Office Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear David D,

Thank you from all of us at Bayview for rating us 5/5 on Trip Advisor! We are glad that you had yet another great stay with us. Our ‘celebrity’ in-house foot reflexologist Ricky is indeed very popular among our guests and we are happy that he has made your stay more enjoyable. We thank you for returning to Bayview and we will be waiting for your return home here once more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at the Bayview beach resort for 4 nights. The room was not very clean. Small bugs were visible everywhere. The staff was helpful and did spray bug repelent, but it didn't help.
Some of the plugs in the room didn't work. Breakfast is not great, everything tastes below par.
The rooms are nice and big. Swimming area is also very nice, and for the price it is not bad, but it can be better.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Front Office Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Tsvdheever,

Thank you for staying with us at the Bayview. I am concerned with the lack of cleanliness comment about the rooms as I am unable to ascertain if it is due to housekeeping cleaning or the insects that were seen in the rooms which probably came through the unclosed balcony door. The resort has a large amount of flora surrounding us and there are occasion that insects can get in to the room through open balcony doors.

I am sorry that you had issues with the power points in the room and I am unable check if they were rectified. I am also disappointed that our usually well received breakfast buffet spread was not up to your expectation.

Please do contact me directly via the messaging service with details of your stay so that I can personally look into the concerns and ensure that your future stay should you return to us will be a memorable one.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Beach Resort

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Bayview Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Beach Hotel Batu Ferringhi
The Bayview Beach Hotel
Bayview Beach Resort Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.