We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bayview Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Värmdö
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very friendly staff and quick service. Wonderful garden with clean nice pool and near the beach. Quiet location but within walking distance to the city center and night market. Opposite the hotel there was a nice restaurant serving everything from breakfast to late dinner for a cheap price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear camreser,

Thank you for your excellent 5/5 rating of your recent stay here. We are ever mindful (and work hard on) that our friendliness, efficiency, service standards, varied facilities and consistency that will count in winning our guests in recommending us to others and in returning to us.

Though we are about 10 minutes’ walk to the village centre where the night market is, the hotel provides a free one way shuttle every evening for guests who opt for a short ride instead. We have a “Light & Easy Happy Hours dining” available in the evenings from 6.30 pm to 9.30 pm at our La Veranda restaurant offering a simply TASTY value menu where the pricing are similar if not lower than the illegal outlets opposite the hotel. So please check us out on your next stay here.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    450
    211
    66
    40
See reviews for
400
354
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our stay was comfortable eventhough it was during one of the most crowded time in the year, December. Since it is by the ocean, the guests tends to 'bring in the sand' from the beach into the tub which clogs the drainage. We had to call in the servicemen as the AC wasn't working. They gave us a couple fans which helps.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area Geenral Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear MotoMeMotoU,

I am glad your stay was a comfortable one during our yearend festive season. We apologise for the inconvenience caused by the faulty airconditioner and fans were put in whilst it was being fixed. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucknow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

nice location in a quiet area ,especially good for kids,situated on the beach, although the beach is just average.cheap multicuisine eating joint just across the road if you want to eat out.hard rock cafe is also next door

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear prashantLucknow,

I am glad our quieter location suits you and your family. Regrettably our beach is a public one and it did not appeal to you. Hopefully our safe swimming pool and a well maintained & restful garden offer you a lovely place to unwind. We will be introducing a Children Fun Pool scheduled before May this year so the next time you return with your kids for a splashing fun time here!

We offer a Happy Hours dining at our La Veranda restaurant between 6 to 9.30 pm in the evenings, offering simply TASTY value menu with pricing similar if not cheaper than the illegal eating joints across the road.
So please check that out on your next stay here.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

OK, i feel i should introduce myself before i write this review. I am an open minded and reasonable boy, also im British so, as you know, i love to moan but hate to complain. However, i found myself checking us out of this hotel after only 1 night of a 5 night stay.

Check in was dealt with professionally and with a smile but then no help was offered with our luggage or to find our room. The whole lobby area was deserted which amazed us considering it was Chinese new year, and although decorations were present this just led me to try to imagine how miserable the place would look without them. A very uninspiring welcome

We went over to the glass fronted lifts but when we pressed the floor number the doors decided to just open and close at there own will. Not wanting to use a lift with a mind of its own we went in search of the others which turned out to be the stainless steel service elevators. The set up of the hotel with all the rooms opening onto a central atrium, gave the impression of a prison rather than that of a grand entrance and the dullness of the corridors did nothing to rectify this. The room was huge but the two dim wall lights it had just made the space look gloomy, it was hard to even read a book in bed so getting any work done at the desk area was impossible.

We arrived quite late but not unreasonabley so, therefor we found it quite disconcerting that we couldnt find anywhere in the hotel to eat. Everywhere seemed closed up and no staff we around to offer advice of where we could get dinner (obviously room service was out of the question as the light in the room meant we couldnt read the menu). It was when we went out in search of a restaurant that we discovered just how far away from anything this hotel is, sure there were plenty of roadside eaterys and market stalls but nowhere that we fancied chancing. Opted for a steak at "The Ship" as a last resort but were not impressed.

It wasnt untill the next morning, in the daylight that we discovered the state of cleanliness in the room. There was think black grime in every hidden space, the shower head was hanging off which meant it leaked a lot during a shower, cobwebs were festering in the corners of the high ceilings and a poor little lizard had shuffled off this mortal coil but had been left where it had met its maker.

Now i know that on any other occassion my Britishness would of prevailed, i would of bit my tongue and generally made the best of it, no doubt without any harm befalling me. But this was the last part of a multi-stop holiday where we had traveled around Malaysia and, i think, been spoilt by Malay hospitality and quality hotels. Neither of which was present here and while it has been awarded the same star ratings as our other stays was in a different leage. Without wanting to spoil our otherwise terrific holiday on this last leg, we decided to check out and into an alternate hotel.

Another point to note, because it surprised me, was how unfased the reception staff were at my checking out 4 nights early. All i said was that we had decided to move into another hotel yet no follow up questions came leading me to belive that it wasnt something that only happened rarely.

It really isnt in my nature to moan for moaning sake and wouldnt normally vent my disaproval publicly in such a way, but, i hope that if youre reading this in advance of booking your dream holiday to Malaysia like we did, you will reconsider your choice of hotel in Penang.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Steve O,

I sincerely regret the missed opportunity to rectify the poor impression you have posted in your review of us at the Trip Advisor whilst you were with us. We managed to locate your reservation details based on your review and we can now offer some explanation to some of the issues that you have brought up.

Your arrival day was 2 days before the Chinese New Year where traditionally the hotel occupancy will dip right before the peak and sorry that had caused an uninspiring welcome for you. We also regret that your perception of the lobby, atrium and corridor was not up to your expectations.

The three lobby lifts were newly commissioned recently and they were tested by lift engineers just last month. We retested the lifts after receiving your comments but we were not able to detect any abnormalities.

We actually have 4 sets of lights (1 light on the pelmet, 1 light by the dressing mirror and 2 lights on the bedside wall) in the Superior room that you stayed in which has sufficient lighting for most people and we are in the midst of adding a separate controlled pelmet light to cater to the needs of guests who prefer brighter lighting in the room. This room is due for an upgrade this year and we apologise that it was less than perfect and that better cleaning details was not provided by our housekeeping attendant.

We are puzzled that you were not able to find the La Veranda coffee house, the Marco Polo restaurant or the Sagar Indian restaurant which are all located on the Ground Floor and are manned until 11.00pm daily and that no staff were around to assist you. For snacks and drinks we have the Lobby Lounge which is open until 1am every evening.

The location of the hotel is indeed about a 10 minute walk to the night market area where it can be busy and noisy. This is also the very reason why some guests prefer our location as it is much quieter. We also have a free shuttle to the night market which runs at 7.30pm nightly.

It is very unfortunate when you checked out unexpectedly the following day around 6 pm that your clear intention to move was not made known to us much earlier where we could have been given an opportunity to suitably, fairly and reasonably resolve your dissatisfaction with any issues whilst you were still with us. That would have been a preferred and much better outcome for all concerned. We do hope however the remainder of your stay in Penang was enjoyable and eventful and we wish you well in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and wished I hadn't. While checking in we overheard that the hotel was full as it was Chinese New Year so were surprised that we were given an "upgrade". All I can say is I dread to think what the other room would have been like. When we opened the door there was a strong smell of damp and the damp was evident along one entire wall. My husband persuaded me that it was ok, but it really wasn't. My own fault I suppose for being too British to complain. I know we only paid £40 a night but it just wasn't good at all. By the end of the stay even our clothes smelled foisty. On the plus side the gardens were lovely and it has a good location next to Hard Rock Cafe.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear boogienites02,

It is unfortunate that we are unable to determine the room that you stayed in; thus kindly advise us the room number you had stayed via the Trip Advisor message service so that we can check that particular room with the appropriate rectification. It appeared the room had an air-condition over-cooling that may have caused the condensation described and please accept our apology for not having an opportunity to rectify it whist you were with us.

I am glad that you found our gardens lovely and that we are in a good location. Please contact me for your next visit and I will ensure your room will be in tip top condition with a personal assurance we will make up for the disappointment you encountered . Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton Keynes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We was very pleased we chose this hotel after 2 nights in KL. We had Hill view room for 10 days and we could not fault it at all,especially lovely balcony
As we are fairly fit we did not have a problem with the 10 min walk into centre,but there are bus's that run down to centre
The staff were great and pool and sunbeds were always available
We stayed room only and found that there were some good restaurants around hotel a lot cheaper for brekkie.The breakfast room looked really busy after Chinese new year and food looked good though.
Had a few problems with my credit card in cashpoints down town and hotel reception were very good helping me sort on phone etc
I would definately stay here again and would recomend it....super.!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Swanny7,

As mentioned previously, though we are about 10 minutes’ walk to the night market, the hotel provides a free one way shuttle every evening for guests who opt for a short ride instead. Perhaps you would want to book a room and breakfast deal the next time to try out our popular buffet breakfasts with around 70 hot and cold items which is well received by most of our guests.

Many thanks for recommending us to others and for definitely wanting to stay here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Nice hotel. It was clean and the service very good. I liked that you could get a very nice lunch at the deck chair out in the garden. And you could play ping pong in the shade with the kids when the sun was to hot. We enjoyed that. They have a lot to do for the kids.

The beach was not what I expected. It was kind of dirty and the water very murky. We took a walk along the beach and passed by a couple of fishermans sheds. They tossed out garbage in front of our feet and then the waves swept it out at sea. That makes me sad.

As I said, the food was good but breakfast was a little noisy. A couple of hundred guests in a big room with hard floor and other hard surfaces. And I think the big part of the guests is from Asia. If you like Asian food for breakfast you will not have any problem at all. But if you want a Scandinavian (youghurt, cereals and sandwiches) breakfast you can be disappointed.

Overall this is a very nice hotel in a nice location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Backmansinhanoi,

Thank you for your very good 4/5 rating of your stay with us. Batu Ferringhi is located along a busy shipping route and regrettably our sea water is not known to be pristine and the beach is open to public use. The Local Council provides a daily beach tidy up in the morning that be spoiled by errant inconsiderate users. Hence, our hotel compensate this situation with a hygienic and safe swimming pool for our guests and a restful & well maintained garden to unwind.

I am sorry for the large crowd during breakfast time and that we do not provide sandwiches at our breakfast buffet but we feature a rotating menu of around 70 items that include yoghurt, cereals and a variety of bread available amongst a good selection of hot local and international items which I am glad you found the food good.

Thank you for staying with us recently and in finding us to be a very nice hotel in a nice location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Beach Resort

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bayview Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Beach Hotel Batu Ferringhi
The Bayview Beach Hotel
Bayview Beach Resort Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.