We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with beautiful beach front” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bayview Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Melaka, Malaysia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Hotel with beautiful beach front”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Comfortable big swimming pool and we could view the pool and the sea from the room balcony.
Breakfast was excellent with a variety of International menu. The staff are friendly and helpful.
Hotel is along the Ferringhi Beach where there is every evening a Night Market.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive commendation on our pool and breakfast. The resort has one of the biggest free form pool and garden in Penang. We have received numerous compliments from other guests particularly enjoying the INDIVIDUAL BALCONY (like the one you so enjoyed) which we provide for each & every room here, a rather special feature that no all hotels along Batu Ferringhi have.

We look forward to welcoming you back again when you can enjoy our friendly and helpful service, hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    449
    211
    66
    40
See reviews for
400
353
38
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel is the last hotel on Batu Ferringhi beach right after the Hard Rock Hotel. There are a number of restaurants within easy walking distance from the hotel as well as mini markets and a night market. The pool , and garden areas are great. The breakfast offered a good variety of food and the staff were very pleasant. A disappointment was the sea itself as it is quite polluted and no one swims in it.We were there for 7 days and only once did I see anyone up to their waist in the water. There is a sign warning of jellyfish in the water but the main problem is the garbage in the water and on the beach. A local person explained there are freighters going by all the time and they probably dump their garbage but I also saw many other people just casually littering as they walked along. The area by the small fishing boats was particularly polluted with what looked like oil. There is also a stream that flows into the sea right next to the hotel so maybe this is also a source of the problem, There is a fence along the sea front so when you go through a small opening to the sea, you are met by 3 horses that are used to give rides and to the left is the sport shop that is also quite a mess so the whole beach area is unappealing. There is a bus that goes right in front of the hotel that can take you into Georgetown at a very reasonable cost. In Georgetown you can tranfer to other buses to get around the area. The air conditioning worked well in our room.
The concerns I have besides the condition of the beach and the sea water are:
1. There is no fan or window in the bathroom so when the shower is used, it is very foggy and can lead to structural problems.
2. The furniture is very tired in the room as well as the carpet.
3.The wifi did not work . Staff helped me twice in the lobby to get into the wifi and then it would disconnect from the server almost right away. Othe guests had also given up on the wifi.
4. The mattress covers only covered a small part of the mattress.
5. The toilet leaked when flushed and the bathroom door did not close.
6. The well located cabanas are rented out by the week or the month so they are not available.
7.The pool loungers are made of plastic and for many of them , they are dirty or the webbing is stretched.
8. The noise from the road was very loud particularly from the motor cycles so it was hard to get to sleep. I had asked to move rooms but the additional cost would have been 80 MYR. per night.
9. There is a transportation and tour company working in the lobby so we appproached them to find the cost of a trip. We gave all the details of location, time,etc. and were given a rate. When we went to use the service, the rate had increased substantially. We explained the earlier cost but to no avail. We then went to a neighbouring hotel and used their service at a much reduced cost.
10. They are building a new pool area so they were jack hammering the old tennis court when we were there. It was quite loud and not enjoyable. To compenstae guests, drinks were offered at a 30% reduction.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Dennis07,

Batu Ferringhi is located along a busy shipping route, the sea water quality has the unpredictable presence of jelly fish and the beach fronting all hotels is for public usage. Regrettably, this area is not known for pristine sea water & beach. Hence, all hotels compensate this situation with a hygienic and safe swimming pool for our guests and a restful garden to unwind.

I am unable to ascertain the room you have stayed and I would appreciate if you could advise, via TA message service, the room number you have stayed for us to rectify the shortcomings highlighted. I suspect that you have taken up one of our standard rooms which are all due for a refresh this year to lift up the rooms. I believe the mattress cover you mentioned (which we do not provide) is actually a bed runner we use for decorative purpose of the bed.

I apologise for the inconvenience of the slow speed Wi-Fi you encountered as earlier this year , we have had some technical issues that has now been resolved. We currently have stable connection and provide a free limited bandwidth of a combined 2 Mbps download and 1 Mbps upload shared by prevailing guests. This normally will be sufficient for emails communication and general browsing. However, faster internet bandwidth is available at nominal fees for guests with a higher download & speed requirement.

As to your comment on the rental of cabanas, it is chargeable for exclusive usage only, otherwise we will face the previous difficulty of guests fighting daily to take “territorial possession” of the “free for all” cabanas. However, we still allow the “first come, first served” basis for any free cabanas that have not been rented out and those guests who wanted exclusive use have accepted the fair charges levied. With this fair arrangement, we hope to keep everyone happy as those who want exclusive use have to pay for the privilege and those who are not willing to pay should not begrudge the option to do so.

The price of RM80.00 to move is to a room of a higher category & quieter location away from the main road. I wish we have the details over the poor service of the Tour Counter that you had mentioned so that we could have an opportunity to make it right.

I am pleased to report that the Fun Pool construction has moved to the quieter phase and to date, we have not receive any complaints from our prevailing guests. Our current main pool, meditation pool and kids pool areas are all not affected by the present works at the Fun Pool and all facilities are open for usage. When the Fun Pool is in operation hopefully this early May, we will be able to draw the “noisier” children away from the main pool area, offering enjoyment to both adults and kids alike.

Thank for staying with us and for the various positive comments on many aspects of your stay here..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for the sixth time and once again our expectations were met.
Some staff recognised us from previous visits and as all the staff made us feel most welcome. Staff were always friendly and helpful. We stayed in a family room with two adult children which was enormous and clean. Breakfast as always, was impressive and plentiful.
I've read people's reviews about where the hotel is situated re - for the markets, but after a ten minute walk you are in the middle of the action. An alternative is to take a taxi to one end and walk back. Taxi is about RM10.
There would be no hesitation in booking this hotel again for our seventh visit, may it be soon!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Clarks09,

Thank you for returning for the sixth time and we are delighted that you rated us with an excellent score of 5/5 when we have again served you well. We are ever mindful (and work hard on) that our friendliness, efficiency, service standards, varied facilities and consistency that will count in winning our guests in recommending us to others and in returning to us.

For the convenience of our guests, we are providing a free one way shuttle every evening for guests who opt for a short ride to the night market.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your 7th visit soon for another enjoyable holiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel is in a great location with a good breakfast spread, the rooms pool beach side are all great. The only thing lacking was the housekeeping. They negotiated 2 towels for my family of 5. When we asked for water they pointed out that we'd b charged for it which we said we had no problems to doing, the water still didn't come 2hrs and 4 calls later. How long can people keep their kids thirsty in a hotel! Their excuse again was that it would b chargeable! Room-service for a big 5star hotel seemed to b running it like a motel. After paying a good price we were made to feel lucky to get 2 towels and 2 small bottles of water for 5 people.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Nausheen A,

I am delighted you liked our location, our spacious rooms and enjoyed our wide buffet breakfast spread. And I am disappointed that our housekeeping team had not responded efficiently over your towels and extra water needs. I would appreciate if you could let me know your details (via the message service at Trip Advisor) of your recent stay with us so that we can identify the errant staff to ensure we do not repeat such shortcoming. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience and the poor impression that incident had caused.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will allow us to welcoming you and your family back and enjoy all aspects of our Resort, particularly our usual efficient housekeeping services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed in this great hotel during our 2013 new year eve holiday vacation. To my honest this is really a big hotel, the lobby is spacious, rooms are stacked up with windows facing the street and the beach and we can see the lobby from the room corridors. The rooms a big enough for me, my wife and our 2 kids.
An easy access to the pool and the beach for those who want to spend their time in the hotel is a plus, but after we spend our time with beach activities another problem came :(

To our dissappoint this hotel and its surrounding are lack of local night hawker. Rain everynight during our stay. Foods are our problem as we are not quite suitable with the Iranian dish at the front of hotel, so we have to take the bus to downtown. We booked our room withour breakfast so I have no idea about the buffet breakfast....

Our conclusion is if you want to relax & spend the time lazing in hotel and the beach away from routinity, this is a great great place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Z3r4tuL,

We were a bit disappointed that you rated us 3/5 despite been happy with many aspects of your stay here and summing us as a great great place. Though we are about 10 minutes’ walk to the night market, the hotel provides a free one way shuttle every evening for guests to the night market where you can find lots of interesting shopping & eateries. Should you stay with us again, please check out our Light & Easy “Happy Hours” dining between 6.30 pm to 9.30 pm at our La Veranda Restaurant where we add value by reducing our menu pricing to lower or similar pricing than the unlicensed outlets across the road. We also reduce the beverage pricing by 30% during the same time whilst we serve food hygienically prepared and served in china crockery at “simply value” pricing. Perhaps you would want to book a room and breakfast deal the next time to try out our popular buffet breakfasts with over 70 hot and cold items which is normally well received by most of our guests.

We hope to welcome you and your family back again to sample the great variety of delights that you had missed out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at the Bayview again as it meets our travel needs and we were more than happy to do so.

We stayed in the Family side-sea view room and they welcomed us back plus we got the same room as our previous stay which was lovely. The room is very spacious and travelling with teenagers we like the fact they can be in the same room but have there own space too.

The hotel is a littel dated compared to others and the rooms are a little run down but I understand that they are upgrading/renovating the rooms. For us it suits our needs - we love the space, the gardens, the friendly staff, the fact that it is on the quiet end of the beach and of course the value for money.

Again the staff were awesome and some of them I think remembered us from our last visit.

Breakfast - there is a huge variety, there is no reason why anyone could not find something good to eat - although I must say despite the signs asking not to waste food - it was disappointing to see that there was so much wastage.

The complimentary shuttle down to the markets was fantastic and very welcome.

The free wifi was quite slow, but seemed a little better during the day when people were out and about.

The pool and gardens were as lovely as always with plenty of sun loungers. During our stay there was some work being done on the lower floor toilet and construction of a new children's pool so happy hour was extended from 12 noon to 6 pm which was an added bonus. Plus the foot reflexology that they allow in the grounds is an extra bonus too - Ricky is fantastic and very friendly. We even used the pool towels when we went off to Monkey Beach without any dramas.

We highly recommend Bayview Beach and like many others on this site we may even make Penang our go to place for future holidays and Bayview our hotel of choice

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Canguys,

Thank you for endorsing the Bayview Beach Resort as your preferred choice of hotels and I am delighted that you have enjoyed your return stay with us.

Yes, we would try to accommodate returning guests in the same room according to their availability or request. Indeed, travelling with a family, it will be more convenient to stay together in our spacious family room. Our progressive renovation will continue to freshen up our rooms to be enjoyed by our current & future guests. I am glad our staff have served you well with our attentive and friendly services.

We regret the inconvenience of the slow speed Wi-Fi you encountered as we only provide a free limited bandwidth of a combined 2 Mbps download and 1 Mbps upload shared by prevailing guests. This normally will be sufficient for emails communication and general browsing. However, faster internet bandwidth is available at nominal fees for guests with a higher download & speed requirement.

Thank you for highly recommending us to others and we look forward to welcoming you & family back to the Bayview Beach Resort on your next visit to Penang!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a few years' ago and have found that the hotel has not changed much. Love the spacious entry to the hotel which always have the cool breeze blowing from the front to the foyer. The room is spacious with a huge bed (the largest bed we have ever slept in - you could easily do 4 rolls before you roll off the bed!) with free wifi. We have found this hotel caters all our needs. We had a swim in the pool, a drink at the pool bar (can I suggest that the hotel gives the bar bench a good clean), a Malay massage, para sailing, jet skiing and a stroll along the street away in the evening as there have a pasar malam (night market) each night. Staff on duty at Reception was friendly. So if you want to have a relaxing holiday by the beach (where you can't swim in) this hotel is recommended but do bear in mind that Georgetown is at least 30 minutes away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear InSearchOf09,

Thank you for returning to stay with us again after your last visit several years ago. Though the hotel building structure remains more or less the same, we have gone through an extensive make-over to freshen-up our rooms. New flat screen TVs and furnishings were added to the rooms which I am sure that you would have noticed. I am delighted you liked our huge 8’ bed and our swimming pool which you had comfortably enjoyed.

We look forward to having you and your friends here once again should your travels bring you back to this region. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Beach Resort

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bayview Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Beach Hotel Batu Ferringhi
The Bayview Beach Hotel
Bayview Beach Resort Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.