We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bayview Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fun stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed in a family apartment with a view of the water. We found the staff to be very helpful our rooms were cleaned daily with no issue.

If you do stay and are in need of a massage make sure you find your way down by the gate to the beach - there is a masseuse there with wonderful skills. You also have the availability of reflexology massage by the poolside or sit in the pool at the bar - the frozen raspberry daquiris are yummy.

There is an excellent tailor onsite and on travelling up to Bangkok found Penangs tailors wayyy cheaper and great quality.

Also keep in mind you can use the service lifts if the other lifts are busy and they are just around the corner - not everyone gets this.

I would stay at Bayview again :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear walknlove,

We are delighted that you and your family have enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for endorsing the traditional massage provided by the husband and wife team (Sazali and Fatima) that cater to both male and female guests with more privacy in the vicinity of the hotel, offering their skilful treatment handed down from generation to generation. I am sure our onsite tailor is pleased their pricing and quality are better than Bangkok and we appreciate your input.

Thank you for alerting other readers about the availability of 3 other service lifts whist one of our bubble lifts is undergoing extensive upgrading for the convenience of our guests in the future. Hence, we still have 2 guests lifts and 3 other service lifts (total 5 lifts)in operation during the lift renovation. Indeed, despite ample signage, some of our guests seem to miss that alternative option.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again to have another fun stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    526
    253
    79
    43
See reviews for
480
399
51
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hi, My wife and I have just returned from 10 days at the Bayview and had a great time, The rooms were great, the pool terrific and the beach and gardens very restful.

The staff, once approached were good, friendly and helpful, but they seemed to lack a sense of direction, We travel to various parts of Asia about 3 times a year, but this hotel was the only one where there seemed to be no surpervisiobn of the staff by anyone. We never saw anyone who appeared to be in charge and as a result felt a liitle abandoned.

The refreshment staff at the pool area seemed to number up to 7 people at times, but apart from sitting in the shade talking to each other they did not appear to be taking any interest in the guests.

On two occasions I had to approach them in their Hut for drinks and food, never did they wander around asking patrons if they would like to order anything, consequently we ate out at other venues.

Drink prices were a bit steep, but as the resort catered to a lot of private functions and confrerences it is to be expected.

The staff in the breakfast area although helpful when approached seemed bored and not interested, the only exception was on one morning when a bunch of trainees were on duty and eager to please.

I would suggest that a wake up call to management whould greatly improve the image of this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear David1804,

I am glad in general you found our staff good, friendly and helpful and they are indeed empowered to serve our guests without overt management presence. However, I am disappointed about the Kelapa Bar staff’s lack of engagement in offering our services. We will take corrective action that this will not recur. I am sorry you have the wrong impression on the lack of management presence but rest assured we are serious about offering excellent services and facilities and we rely on strong teamwork of ALL staff to achieve that!

We thank you for your constructive feedback as this assists us in our endeavours towards achieving consistent, caring and excellent service standards. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Bayview Beach Resort in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very Helpful staff, especially in light of the mistake we initially made in booking the Bayview in Georgetown, the Georgetown staff were excellent in resolving the problem, and sorting our stay at the beach resort.

The hotel is a little tired and showed signs of a vast gracious hotel from a previous time, but sadly it has not been kept to the original state of opulence, and is looking bare.

We had a nice stay, the kids enjoyed the pool, they were immediately put off the sea by the big sign warning of the jellyfish, so that was off limits in their eyes.

We have been travelling a fair bit around south east asia, including Malaysia, and to be honest the drinks prices are set up to profit off the unsuspecting tourists! which are basically the same as we pay in London. They know they are doing this judging by the vast number of signs dotted around the hotel forbidding the consumption of anything bought off the premises

Now I am happy to pay London prices in London, but not here, so we went shopping for some beer and wine back in Georgetown for a tenth of the price, a shame, but clearly a common solution to the pricing, I would happily pay twice the price of a drink from a local bar to illustarte the finer surrounding etc. but not this price!

all in all a good stay, but not in any way special

Room Tip: Good for a high floor, and doesnt matter too much whether you have a sea view, the rear views over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Jamescole,

Thank you for your nice comment on our Bayview staff who had assisted you with your booking.

Indeed we are very different in style & look from the modern day hotel and we do try to maintain our retro feel as part of the hotels concept. Emphasis is always placed on the substance of our caring & efficient service and good value which is what we are well known for.

I regret we are unable to compete with the prices if you buy your own from wine shops. Our business reaction is to offer a convenient and hygienic place to have your meals and drinks with Happy Hours offers at certain times in the various outlets. Regrettably that there is also nearly a 400% tax on alcoholic beverages in Malaysia making them very expensive when comparing to many countries who have lower or no tax at all.

We affirm our policy for banning outside food and drinks as they conflict with our business interest of serving our own food and drinks at our hotel’s premises. This is a common policy practiced by many hotels to protect the survival and livelihood of our business and staff respectively.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to Penang again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole, uk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

after a few years i will be returning to this hotel. it will be bringing back many happy memories. although i remember it as one of the older hotels it was more than made up for by the excellent service and food. although it is at the end of the strip it is conveniently positioned for cheap restaurants and for the night market where after some bartering you can get allsorts of bargains. roll on the 11th november for some sun and relaxation.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Rooms Division Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear mike60poole,

Thank you for staying with us again and we are delighted that you have always enjoyed our service and food. We look forward to your return again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Was in Penang, 23 Oct 2012. Booked Bayview baru ferringi becaused of its sea view scenery. First nightmare the moment I entered the place was that one lift was under construction. Lots of people were queing up for the lift. I was wondering, gees is this gonna be everyday. The front line reception was under managed by a male staff, almost friendly. He must have been too tired thou, with lots of tourist checking in and out. The international buffet for breakfast was alright for the firs day, until it became the same menu for the 5 days that I stayed there. I was so sick of the food. Being in malaysia, I would have expected some local asian food, none !. There were more Arab food then anything else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Front Office Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Shariffable,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. One of our guest lift is indeed currently closed for upgrading and we apologize for the inconvenience caused. The upgrading work should be completed by year end, currently there are 2 other guests lifts in the front and 3 guest accessible service lifts at the mid section. Each lift has the capacity to transfer up to 17 persons per time. We have also put up numerous signage to inform our guests of the additional lifts available.

From your comment, I'm unable to determine if the reception was manned by 1 or more person but normally even during the low season the counter will have a minimum of 2 staffs at all times and this will increase up to to 5 if necessary during peak seasons.

I am sorry that our breakfast may have been a disappointment to you, the morning spread has over 70 items which includes Malaysian favourites like Nasi Lemak, Fried Rice, Fried Noodle, Plain & Chicken or Fish porridge, Roti Canai or Capati with dal gravy, karipap or samosa or spring roll and much more. We do have Arabic food as with the continental or western choices but there are always ample of Malaysian choices served.

Thank you for staying with us and we do hope you will visit us again in your future travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is in need of refurbishment, many of the general service areas are out of date (reception, lounge bar, main restaurant, bedrooms). The feeling in the hotel is one of neglect and lack of attention to detail, the main restaurant for breakfast is more like a factory company cafeteria, than a hotel restaurant. Many of the reviews here say that the breakfast is good, I thought the presentation of the food was uninspiring and very sterile, there is no atmosphere in the restaurant and I always dislike having to get self service coffee. The pool area and garden are well kept, but seemed standard and cheap to me, the lounge chairs where old and there was no feeling of care or luxury. The hotel location is good and has a great outlook from the beach area, probably one of the best beaches on the strip. The rooms need renovating, although a good size. The hotel says things are old world charm, I would say they are just old. The occupancy was only 30% and the wifi in the room was loading web pages at a snails pace, imagine what it may be like with 100% occupancy. The service was generally good and all the staff I met were friendly and helpful. The saving grace for me, was "Sagar" - the Indian Restaurant, the food and service were excellent and the atmosphere was great, as with all Sagar restaurants, probably run independently of the hotel. I had a nice stay, everything worked fine, however - if you want that extra service and touch of luxury - check-in at the Shangri La Rasa resort down the road.

Room Tip: high floor facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Front Office Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear s_pearceHoChiMinh,

The Hotel has budgeted significantly and is undergoing progressive renovation which will be completed before the year ends. The Deluxe rooms are fully renovated, the Superior is partial and even the Standard rooms have been updated. As I am unable to ascertain your room number, I am unable to comment further on the room.

I am sorry that our coffee house and our breakfast spread which is one of the biggest along the beach was not to your liking. Our coffee house is designed to seat more than 500 guest at any 1 time, hence there isn't a need to queue to get a place to sit during breakfast even during high occupancy. It is also divided into 2 areas which is the pool facing semi alfresco side which is actually the main dining area and the atrium which serves families better due to its size. There are 4 separate coffee & tea counters which is in easy reach and 3 of them is equipped with instant coffee grinding machines and not only ready made powdered coffee.

We thank you for your comment about the pool, garden, location and beach. We have noted and will look into the necessary areas as needed. The resort which is built in the early 90's has mostly maintained its original design along with antique furniture, carvings and handicrafts scattered around the resort hence "the old world charm".

I concede that the complimentary wifi connection has been slow of late and we apologize for the inconvenience caused. I can assure you that we are currently looking at other alternatives.

I am glad you found our staffs helpful and friendly and we have also copied Sagar your compliments.

Finally, I have to agree that the Shangri La's Rasa Sayang which is almost 3 times our price range is indeed luxurious with all the extras included and the Bayview on the other hand offers affordable quality along with friendly and efficient service for a fraction of the price.
It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and i am happy that you had a nice stay. We look forward to welcoming you back should you decide to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If this place could get any cooler, it would explode rainbows and unicorns and lollipops and happiness and sunshine. With excellent service and the best banana splits you will ever let your taste buds experience, this place is the best. Also, they are right next door to the night markets, WHICH ARE EPIC!!!! So if you are going to Penang, you should defs stay at this place!!! :) I now know what heaven actually feels and looks like!!

Room Tip: Spend extra to go to the penthouse! It is AMAZING!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewBeachResortPg, Front Office Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear asdfghjkl186419,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on Tripadvisor, I am so pleased that you had an epic stay with us! We look forward to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Penang!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 13 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
1.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
1.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 13 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
4.0 of 5 stars 620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#4 of 13 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 stars 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Beach Resort

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Bayview Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Beach Hotel Batu Ferringhi
The Bayview Beach Hotel
Bayview Beach Resort Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.