We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That is what I call "value for money"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bayview Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Amman, Jordan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“That is what I call "value for money"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

A very nice location, very friendly staff, clean rooms, fantastic views. Breakfast is exotic too. However, air-conditioning equipment are a bit noisy (including those at nearby hotels). But I'd go there over and over again! I'd suggest that they provide free wifi as it's available for free in busses on the island!

Room Tip: The partial sea view rooms are as good as the sea view ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBRPenang, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Thank you for your positive input of our Resort posted in the Tripadvisor and we're glad you have found value for money and enjoyed your stay here.

Further to your comment on our wifi charge, we have adopted a user-pay policy rather than hiking up the room rates to include this service, of which many guests do not use. This is similar to the telephone charges we levy for external calls based on a user pay basis. We believe this is a fairer pricing policy and many guests who need to use the service didn’t mind paying it accordingly rather than paying a higher room rate as in other hotels.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    448
    210
    66
    40
See reviews for
400
352
38
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leics
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed here on a room only basis for four weeks - the whole of Februaury 2012 & are just back. It is an excellent hotel with caring & friendly staff. The rooms are spacious & clean; the large gardens and pool area are beautifully kept and ideal for relaxation. Plenty of sun beds are available. We particularly would like to praise Eric, the Operations Manager, who transported my husband to the nearby doctor's clinic and subsequently to hospital in Georgetown. My husband received first class medical attention following an injury to his leg.

We ate out for lunch and evening meal. We recommend the beach shack to the left of the hotel for very low cost lunches - superb scrambled eggs,nasi goreng, & kuay teow - Rosie is an excellent cook. To the right of the hotel along the beach (15 minutes walk, behind the Mosque) is Oregano's - go up the white steps for superb views of the sunset & the fishermen. The coconut juice there is superb & also the food. We would recommend Yam's - opposite the Hard Rock Cafe with yellow & green table cloths. The juices there are freshly squeezed and the mango is just amazingly good. We really enjoyed the beef rendang there but ask for 'mild' unless you really like spicy food. Down the main street we would also recommend 'The Boatman', 'The Living Room' and 'Helena's Cafe' plus also Long Beach Market which is such an exciting, busy place!

The buses go frequently to Georgetown an intriguing place with so much history. It is also worth catching an early bus before the heat of the day to visit the National Park, which opens at 8.00am - the hiking trails are well laidout. Catch the bus opposite the hotel & ask for The National Park. Bus fares are very cheap. We also recommend taking a taxi for the day & visiting the rest of the island- cost about 250 ringitts, but stipulate the places which interest you & what you wish to see.

Room Tip: The side rooms away from The Hard Rock Cafe are excellent as they have a part sea view. Also we wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBRPenang, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Thank you for your nice write-up and we are delighted tht you have enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We strive to give sincere and friendly service to our guests and we have been constantly complimented with excellent customer services from guests of different nationalities.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Just got back from Bayview Hotel, What can I say but we will be back, the hotel is set in beautiful grounds and a fantastic view of the beach. The hotel itself is stunning the entrance is amazing and it is kept so clean in fact it is spotless.The hotel staff are very helpful and nothing is toooo much trouble. We went for our 30th Wedding anniversary and we were greeted in our room with fresh fruit and the next day a beautiful cake. Thank you. It was very touching. The only problem that this hotel has and you get it everywhere but best mention it. Is the road noise the traffic is 24 hours. I would pay for the upgrade and have a view of the pool/beach once you have seen that you have been bitten, its the view and the hotel etc that makes you want to come back.....The Hotel is 10 out of 10 the best.
We had room only so we had all our meals out.....one of the best places for Breakfast was Ferringhi Garden makes a very good cup of coffee as well. Anthonys is great to drop into from your stroll back from the night markets for a chilled Tiger Beer. the Hotel has a good bar and you can relax and also enjoy a chilled pint the bar manager is very friendly and helpful (thank you) our family enjoy many a good night playing cards/pool.
All the night market traders are all very good and very friendly and understand that you are only looking and do not keep on at you to buy (take a hint all you beach boys).
We took taxis and used the buses, we also got our washing done R5 for 1kg, so it made coming home even better no 3 washing machine loads to do....... :)
We did the trip to Penang Hill, it was a great trip and a must if that is all you do pick this one. We also did Monkey beach and went at 3.00 so included a sunset trip back in the boat again excellent, this was booked at the gates onto the beach which is part of the hotel, very helpful. Thank you could go on you but if you wish to find out go you will not be disappointed so book it. We are planning to return next year.
I c

Room Tip: Pay for the up grade of the seaview..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBRPenang, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay at the Bayview Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of tour of Malaysia. The hotel is a long way from the historic centre of Georgetown for serious sightseeing but as a beach resort it is ideal and I have since discovered that transport into the centre is readily available. We were very pleased to be given a well appointed, spacious and clean room with a seaview. The bathroom had a separate shower cubicle and a good range of toiletries and towels. Bathrobes were not provided but we were given them on loan basis. No problem with this as we understand some selfish people regard them, as well as other contents of the room, as freebies. We did not eat dinner in the hotel, having had a large lunches elsewhere supplied by the tour company. We did however see several restaurants outside the hotel as well as a laundry and a small supermarket selling a variety of snacks and beer. We can not however praise the buffet breakfast enough. There was such a choice of food served in an attractive dining room overlooking the gardens. The only flaw was someone smoking which caused us to move tables. We are not sure of the smoking/ non smoking policy in Malaysia but a ban in eating places would be surely welcomed by people from countries where such rules exist. Thus saying we were really impressed by this resort, the staff were very pleasant and efficient, the outside space was well maintained with ample beds at the pool as well as shady areas for relaxing. To make this perfect free internet would be the icing on the cake!

Room Tip: Request a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBRPenang, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments of our hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your positive ratings of our staff and services are most appreciated.

Further to your comment on our wifi charge, we have adopted a user-pay policy rather than hiking up the room rates to include this service, of which many guests do not use. This is similar to the telephone charges we levy for external calls based on a user pay basis. We believe this is a fairer pricing policy and many guests who need to use the service didn’t mind paying it accordingly rather than paying a higher room rate as in other hotels.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Bayview Beach Resort in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I have been a guest at Bayview Beach Resort for approximately the last 20 years, which speaks for itself! My husband and I, also our family and friends have enjoyed the hotel's facilities, beautiful gardens, pool and most of all Management and Staff, who have made us welcome and looked after us in every way during our stay. Many friendships have been formed over the years and one looks forward to going back. The rooms are comfortable and spacious as is the dining area, with a wonderful selection of cuisine. For the family with children, there is a Kids Club and for the older ones a great Game Room! My children and now my grandchildren always have a great time.
The hotel is only a short walk to the Night Market, which runs every night and there is a bus at the front of the hotel, if you wish to take a trip into Georgetown for sightseeing, shopping etc.,
The GM at this hotel is one of the best, with high expectations. I can highly recommend the Bayview Beach Resort, without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBRPenang, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
On behalf of the teams at Bayview Beach Resort, we thank you for been our returnees and for your positve and encouraging comments about our facilities and services. I appreciate specially your nice comments and we will work even harder to be better!

All of us look forward to welcoming you "home" on your next visit when you return again.

With best wishes and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We were really disappointed with our stay at this hotel, perhaps we had been spoilt with the other hotels on our holiday but we found the Bayview to be a bit of a let down, we booked this hotel because we wanted a 2 bedroom suite with balcony and a lot of hotels in this region don't seem to have balconies, the rooms are large as are the beds, but it all seems slightly grubby especially the bathrooms, there was even a false eyelash left in the bathroom from previous guests, the hotel ground are large with plenty of sunbeds and plenty of shade, but this was spoilt from the constant banging of errecting conference marque's, one day putting it up the next day taking it down then the next day errecting another one, as the frames are made from alluminium you can imagine the noise, not very pleasant whilst trying to relax, also opposite our rooms was the staff accomodation and garages, we were woken at approx 5.30am each morning with the staff shouting to each other. The food for breakfast was adequate with plenty of choice but not very warm. We ordered cocktails in the Bayview lounge (very expensive at 51 ringgits for 2, much cheaper in Anthony's bar over the road) I have never seen a more miserable barman not a hint of a smile whilst ordering or serving drinks. The rest of the staff did not seem too happy either. Please do not think that I am a person who constantly moans as this is the first time I have ever posted a bad review about a hotel, a lot of people on here seem to like this hotel but we would not return here. By the way you can swim in the sea outside the hotel we never saw any jelly fish and quite a few people were swimming. The Jet ski outside the hotel is very good at 140 ringgits for half an hour, also the laundry opposite hotel only charge 5 ringgits per kilo for washing clothes or 8 ringgits if you want it ironed. As I mentioned earlier we were disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBRPenang, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you for your input and I sincerely apologise for the housekeeping’s oversight, staff’s inconsiderate behaviour in the morning and the “unfriendly” barman and we will take necessary actions to prevent such recurrence. I am also very sorry that the erection & dismantling of the outdoor marquee for another client’s annual garden dinner had caused disturbance to your enjoyment of our garden. We had just reviewed the outdoor marquee procedure and will now only allow later hours of installing & dismantling to prevent disruption to the peace & quiet to areas closer to the event.

I know we can and will do better in the future and we are disappointed that you did not have the quiet stay when you were with us. As you rightly mentioned, there are a lot people who liked this hotel and we hope we can make you one of them too if you allow us another chance to make it up to you. We will send a message through Tripadvisor to collywollyWirral in conveying our apology and extend an appropriate offer for their next stay with us when they are in Penang again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

All in all we were very satisfied with our stay at the Bayview Beach. Check-in was completed within 2 minutes and we were immediately informed when our luggage finally arrived (Malaysia Airlines lost it somewhere in KL). Staff were always friendly and eager to satisfy all guests, we once phoned housekeeping to get some more towels and they arrived less than a minute after our call- amazing.

Our room was spacious, clean and quiet with comfy beds, although the bathroom was superficially clean, a decent scrub would be nice.

We didn't have dinner in the hotel, so can't comment on that, however breakfast was overwhelming, haven't seen that much choice for quite a while. Hot items varied from day to day and one day they even had chicken nuggets for breakfast, strange for us, but a lot of guests seemed to enjoy them...

You should be aware that the hotel is at the very end of Batu Ferringhi, so if you want to go to the night market or one of the restaurants you will walk 15-20 minutes or have to take the bus. The hotel offers a complimentary one-way shuttle to the night market at 7:30pm.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBRPenang, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
On behalf of the teams at Bayview Beach Resort, we thank you for your positve and encouraging comments about our facilities and services. I appreciate specially your motivating comments to remind us that good and consistent work always get noticed and appreciated by our guests. We will work even harder to be better!

All of us look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Beach Resort

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bayview Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Beach Hotel Batu Ferringhi
The Bayview Beach Hotel
Bayview Beach Resort Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.