We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonable and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia to your Saves list
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
MyKad Great Savings
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“reasonable and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

had a really nice stay, but i wouldn't describe it as outstanding and expected a little more 'pizazz' for the money. great location though. would recommend getting a room that does not front the street, as quite noisy in the mornings.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    582
    190
    67
    29
See reviews for
490
587
43
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

I recently stayed at the Park Royal as part of a group on a sporting trip. The hotel facilities are good, rooms comfy and sea-facing room views are fantastic. What really sets this hotel apart is the customer service. The staff smile not because they are told to but because they want to. They genuinely are interested in you and delviering great service. The hotel is also quiet, not the drone of motor boats, jet ski's and activity on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Had our fourth stay here as a stopover on the way back from the UK in January. The staff, facilities and atmosphere are always consistently of a high and friendly standard. My husband and I arrived late after a long trip and the staff were very attentive and kept us informed of progress as our room wasnt ready. Hotel and grounds are very well kept, excellent position, rooms are a little tired but still extremely clean and comfortable(being senior citizens we did find the noise from the Mosque did disrupt our sleep) but everything else was wonderful.
My daughter and I are looking forward to staying again in September 2010 as she hasnt been there before but I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and am confident we will be happy with our stay again.Also has the best nacho's and Satays ever!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed for four days but we did not spend much time in the resort being out most of the day. The locations was excellent close to a restaurant strip. The food was very good and very cheap in the food hall nearby.

The pool scene was very good and the water slide was lots of fun!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We have visited Penang 8 times in the last 12 years and have stayed in a variety of hotels. The Parkroyal outshines them all in terms of service and a focus on customer satisfaction. The staff from front counter to those servicing rooms is friendly and efficient. Every request we made was actioned including late checkouts at no further charge and a day room to stay in when our flight arrived early in the day several hours before check-in. Bring your own wireless or broadband device - connection is free. The breakfasts are scrumptious and are consistently good every day and over successive years. We will stay again on our next trip to Penang. Night markets and Long Beach add to the Penang experience. Enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

on my third trip to penang stayed at the parkroyal, we had a wonderful time, the deluxe sea view room was beautiful, the breakfast had everything you could want and the location and service were excellent, really enjoyed the cooking classes!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

This was our second trip to Penang and have stayed at the Parkroyal both times. It is such a great resort that we are planning our next visit early 2011. The staff are a major asset to the hotel, some of the staff even remembered us from our last visit. Ask for Najib at the poolside bar, he makes a mean Mojito (take advantage of ecstatic hour ;-)
They have a new Asst GM, Richard, very friendly Aussie who goes beyond the call of duty. If you want a romantic dinner, book a table at Uncle Zacs on the beach foreshore at sunset, fantastic experience. Or try the Nachos from Cool Bananas. Food is great value for money compared to Australian resorts.
Parkroyal has the best pool and gardens out of all the hotels in Penang, our friends are sadly staying at the Holiday Inn next week and they will most likely buy a day pass to use the Parkroyal facilities. The street markets start right out the front of the hotel, so very conveniently located.
The best improvement from our first visit is the increased security at the front of the hotel and from the beach access. As we have young children, it made us feel more secure and relaxed during our trip.
This trip we had 3 rooms facing the beach but overlooking the Mosque. Based on comments I had read here I was a bit apprehensive, though I only noticed the noise on our first night/day, it didnt bother us after that, in fact it added tmagic of being away.
Yes, the hotel could do with a coat of fresh paint, but once inside, whether its in the piano bar at night or poolside or enjoying the best buffet breakfast, its a great place to stay and relax. Cheers, Matty.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery in Batu Ferringhi beach or "Foreigner's Rock," PARKROYAL Penang Resort is an idyllic retreat offering delightful hospitality as warm as tropical sun. The resort is situated right on the beach and within walking distance to Night Market, well-connected to island-wide attractions including the Geogetown, the oldest colonial city in Malaysia, temples, Butterfly Farm, Penang Hill and many more. It is also situated 45 minutes from Penang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Penang, Malaysia Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Parkroyal Penang Malaysia Batu Ferringhi
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.